Rent Tatsunoko vs. Capcom: Ultimate All Stars for Wii
view large frontback

Tatsunoko vs. Capcom: Ultimate All Stars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

1831 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tasonuko vs. Capcom

posted by zeke8241 (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Man this game is awesome and when i started playing nothing else around me mattered. this gme is cartoon heaven. My favorite characters are Ryu and Zero. Im not that good at it though. My level is Super Rookie, but I was suprised when a king level person couldve been beat with ten more hits but sadly i didnt get that far

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tatsunoko vs capcom ultimate all stars

posted by antonio200 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is the true succsesor to marvel vs capcom dont rent BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best VS Game ever

posted by gdub3182 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I was impressed with this game since I first seen the preview. I'm a huge fighting game fan and this new vs. from capcom sets the bar.

Pros
Stunning graphics very fast pace no glitches or slow downs
Easy to do combos and special moves
Chain supers and team combos

Cons
Weird control configuration would prefer 3 punches and 3 kicks like Street Fighter 4 and previous fighting games
Needed better end boss
More Street Fighter characters like Akuma should have been added.
Need versions for the PS3 and XBOX360 consoles

Overall Tatsunoko vs. Capcom is a must have for your collection, you’ll love and play this game years down the road.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tatsunoko Vs Capcom or Tatsunoko Vs Failure

posted by Diynamic (DETROIT, MI) May 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

We sure know that Tatsunoko Vs Capcom is good but is it?
Marvel Vs Capcom has the same menu,HUD, but TvC is on Wii.
I have no farther reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must Have!

posted by ryno27 (VICTORVILLE, CA) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Well I thought this game was really well done personally I should've just kept it i had for 5 months..but anyways i highly recommend it to anyone who likes fighting games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

1-1 tagteam fighting.

posted by batlrangr8 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

the controls are ok. i use the wiimote and nunchuck so the controls are responsive. though there are some things i dont know so its best to get a hold of the manual of the game. yet it feels strangely familiar to ssbb. direction + b = a special attack. theres this special meter on the bottom that when it fills you are able to do your mega attack. it can also go up to 5. each character has 3 mega attacks. 2 can use up 1 mega meter, while the other uses 3. they can be use by moving the analog stick left right or down, hold it, and pressing A and B.
gameplay.
each character has different attacks and abilities that take notice when you use or face. some characters are slow and give more damage, others are fast but give less damage. and of course there are the giant characters. luckily they made it fair by making them the only character u can use when fighting. there are known characters in the game, but the tatsunoku characters are the ones that you'll question who they are. as playing the characters i soon got interested in wanting to know more about the characters. each fight lets you choose 2 fighters or 1 giant fighter. with 2 fighters the other can do assists by pressing Z.
there isnt any story mode so thats not a big deal for me. there are different modes you can try. arcade, versus, wifi battles, training, survival, time attack. arcade is the simple series of matches with a boss at the end. after beating the end boss u get a special ending for the character who defeated the boss. so youll try every character and see each of there unique ending.
online is a good addition. yes you do use the imfamous friend code if you want a friend to face you online, BUT there is also a rival list. after an online match you can add that player to the list so you can face him again whenever he/she is online.
overall its fun, even better with friends. buy it if your an MVC/ street fighter fan. dont dismiss it for the tatsunoku fighters. its not bad to try somethin new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SUPER FIGHTING ACTION FUN TIME!

posted by HotJohnny (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2005

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is the spiritual successor to Marvel Vs. Capcom, so you pretty much know what you are getting into. If you like your fighters over the top, and somewhat easy, this is your game. There are some deeper elements that make it fun for people who want to delve deeper into this games fighting systems, but it is obviously made for people who just want to jump in and be able to come up with some pretty cool combos with minimal work. In fact if someone uses the wii-mote as a stand alone controller, this game is way too easy...like one button special moves too easy...like two button super-moves too easy. I wish the "super-easy" control sceme didn't exist at all, but i does, so i will deal with it. I just hope people online have enough self-pride to not use this mode, but i doubt it.

This game is wholly Japanese, and i love it. Nothing beats getting a 15 hit combo for several million points of damage. Giant mechs, comedic super-villains, yo-yos, this game has it all. I love all the characters, even though i am not familiar with several of them. Don't limit yourself to the Capcom side, I actually think that Tatsunoko has a stronger cast, well if not for Ryu, the great equalizer.

I must admit i am bias though, i love anything with Morrigan in it. I just wish there were more Darkstalkers.

pros:
Morrigan
Tag team action
Beautiful stylized graphics
Fun for beginners and pros
Superbly Japanese

cons:
Lame end boss (imho)
Easy control mode way to easy
Needs more Darkstalkers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Fighter

posted by Wiii (LAS VEGAS, NM) Feb 14, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Great fighter game with anime like power moves and easy to learn. Works best with wii remote not GameCube or Classic. It's between this or Guilty Gear X. However, it has only a few characters to select unlike mortal combat Armageddon. Plays similar to Tekken Tag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best fighting game for the wii

posted by 49yroldgamer (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Aug 27, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

My husband and i love this one and its a shame its not for sale, the fighting moves are smooth lots of characters to choose from and a few to unlock which we did. For those who like street fighter this maynot be for you but its good enough to try it out i've actually lost several times to my husband its great for friends to challenge worth the rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by mattman7 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

this is a good fighting game if you have play the v.s series before. it has some good characters but the creators could have put in more people though. i just wish there were more street fighter characters but thats just me . aside from that its pretty good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tatsunoko vs Capcom

posted by Bluegoron (TAYLORSVILLE, KY) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This was a pretty solid street fighter type fighting game, I thought it was pretty solid and would recommend it to anyone who likes those types of games. But its the same old concept with some new characters and graphics. Some of the attacks are very useful while others boarder on useless. The story mode is okay but its pretty short and there are very few unlockables, the characters are fun but I found myself getting kind of bored of it pretty quickly. The main good thing about the game is playing with your buddys so if you have a weekend free and a group of people to do a tournament with then I would recommend this game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun

posted by rmfreeman (NEPTUNE, NJ) May 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A fun, if somewhat shallow game. If you played Marvel vs Capcom 3, then you've pretty much played this game as well. The gameplay is very simple and straightforward, with moves that are very easy to pull off.

It'll be a little too simple and chaotic for a 'serious' player, but everyone else will have a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The New Crossover Brings A New Generation of Fun!

posted by Awesumness (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) May 1, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ever since the rerelease of the critically acclaimed Marvel vs. Capcom 2 on Xbox Live and PSN, fans of Capcom and fighting games in general have been waiting for the next installment in the crossover series. This waiting came to the reward of Tatsunoko vs. Capcom: Cross Generation of Heroes...but only in Japan. Not really tolerant of this little tease, the fans and multiple negotiations soon brought the new game across the waters as Tatsunoko vs. Capcom: Ultimate All-Stars fit with new content and a rebalance to make the game more playable on a competitive scale.
There's a valid reason why this game was only intended for Japanese shore, that reason being that half the cast of this game may/will be unknown to most American audiences as they are the star players of the legendary comic book industry Tatsunoko. After some quality time with some these characters however, players will easily accept them and begin to like them either for the biography or just for their playstyle. The Capcom cast of this game represents one of each game, so no multitudes of Street Fighters overrunning the cast. Among the cast are two giant robot fighters, PTX-10A for Capcom's Lost Planet and Gold Lighttan from Tatsunoko's Gold Warrior, called..well giants. Unlike the other figthers these two can't have partners, but as obviously seen, take up a quarter of the screen and can dish out serious pain when used right.
The game doesn't look half bad for a Wii title, but because it -is- a Wii title, the control scheme is a bit different. Players can play with the standard Wiimote-nunchuk combo, but expect effectiveness to pull off the elite combos to be limited and thus expect your team's behind to be handed to them via the elite players on Nintendo Wi-Fi. It's reccomended that players use the Classic Controller, or the new Classic Controller Pro or the Nintendo Gamecube controller.
Through the standard fighting game modes, Capcomers and Tastunoko fans will surely enjoy this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Quick

posted by dbnoho (ALHAMBRA, CA) Apr 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The controller is a bit different than I'm use to. It still works well, but it's just not as much fun as the regular 6 button set up. I used the classic controller. The game itself is fast, graphics work well, if your a fan of any of the "vs" series that capcom has produced, then you'll like this. The character list isn't huge, and it's a lot of Japanese characters, a small cast of recognizable faces. It is a VERY Japanese game however, from the time you start playing to the last battle it's influence from another culture is clearly apparent. Again, fun, never played two player, never played online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The closest to Street Fighter 4 on a Wii

posted by theKSMM (ATLANTA, GA) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first time I fired up Tatsunoko vs. Capcom (TvC) I was surprised by how much it looked like a scaled-down version of last summer's hit Street Fighter IV. Though the low-polygon models of TvC didn't have the fidelity of SF4's character models, they were still bright, colorful, and well animated.

Fights are full of fast, flashy moves that are easy to execute thanks to the simple controls. The arenas have bright animated backgrounds that give way to anime-style power-up screens when someone is about to launch a special attack. These sequences look a lot like a cross between Street Fighter IV and Super Smash Brothers Brawl.

I have played the game with the Wii remote alone, and it has made me wish I had a better controller attached. Unfortunately my Wii Classic controller is in storage and my nunchucks are in a closet somewhere, so I wasn't able to dig them out for this review, but I suspect that they would make moves in the otherwise simplistic control scheme easier to distinguish. As it was, I found it very easy to launch powerful multiple hit combos, but more difficult to do simple things like block and defend.

A fighting game demands an option to play against others online, and TvC does oblige, but it is hindered by the limitations of the console itself, which doesn't have good online options built in, thus leaving it to each game to implement its own multiplayer options. Unfortunately, I couldn't get connected to the Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection, so I haven't tried the multiplayer yet.

All in all, this is a great fighting game, and I highly recommend it for those who (1) only have a Wii for gaming, (2) are new to fighting games, or (3) who love the Capcom or Tatsunoko characters. This is one of the best fighters out in a while and one that can be enjoyed by a broad range of gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

one of the best fighting games ever

posted by willconque (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

its a really great game even though i had my doughts. i was think o great a nother capcom sort of a ride of game. I was rong great animation super easy to learn over all a good game note stay away for wi-fi to hard and no fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

About What I Expected

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Put simply it's what you would expect.

Marvel vs. Capcom - Marvel Characters + Tatsunoko Characters

The gameplay pretty much hasn't changed since Marvel vs. Capcom with improved graphics and less characters.

I wasn't disappointed but there wasn't anything that made beyond what I was expected.

Great fighting game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not bad

posted by shidowdawg (PORTAGE, IN) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2004

its not a bad its a love or hate relationship, But on line do suck it lags with moves input commands .
but other than that its a short good game for the wii line up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by ITSTINKS (WESTFORD, MA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

It is a great game,but gets old and boring after a week or so. The gameplay is fast-paced and fun,but the gamecube controller is kinda hard to use.All in all,good game,great graphics,but gets boring after a week or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Fighting Fun - For a Last Gen Game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 2, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

It’s Tatsu….something Vs. Capcom All Stars - but as I’m playing this game, I’m getting visions of the fighting game Marvel Vs. Capcom.
I know, this game is supposed to be a next gen version of Marvel Vs. Capcom, but I’m not seeing anything new or impressive here.
The game’s played very much the same; you pick two fighters from a vast assortment available. Then, you can either take on the Arcade Mode, a Time Trial Mode, a Survival Mode or go against a human opponent online or offline.
The control mechanism is simplified - pulling off a powerful attack is really easy to do; expert players can be turned off by this feature. And the rest of the gameplay is very much the same as in Marvel Vs. Capcom.
With each completion of a Survival Mode, Time Trial Mode or completion of the Arcade Mode, you get currency called Zenny. With this money, you can buy a three dimensional model of a fighter, different colors of their outfits, different posters of the game or two other “movies” that last a few minutes each.
But I was hoping for more; maybe a four on four fight like they do in Super Smash Brothers Brawl. How about different outfits for each of the players, and not just a change of colors? How about a better storyline introducing the game (the one that’s given I found to be lacking) How about different endings depending on the pairing that you pick. Next gen, this is not.
Still, the game does give plenty of last gen fun, and for those of you who love Street Fighter and the Marvel Vs. Capcom games, then this is one game you simply have to buy
But the rest of us might want to rent Tatsunoko Vs. Capcom All Stars first and give it a try before deciding to buy it or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

y vs c

posted by 6scotty (SAINT CLAIR, MO) Nov 17, 2012

Member since May 2011

THIS GAME IS SILLY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a bad game, but controls difficult

posted by TrainerBob (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

The only other fighting game I've played is Smash Brothers, so the controls for TvC were very hard for me to pick up. Unlike Smash Brother's simple direction and single button, TvC uses quarter-circles, half-circles, and a "z"-ish motion on the joystick, along with several different buttons to press for weak, medium and strong attacks. This allows for a large pool of attacks to use, but they become hard to pull off.

I assume these controls are standard for the verses series, but they were pretty unforgiving for a noob like me. When your having problems pulling of moves, it makes it hard to focus on the actual fighting.

Other then that though, the game looks/plays great and has a very arcade-y feel to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good...but it gets boring

posted by ap2195 (CORTLANDT MANOR, NY) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

For the 1st hour or so i played it, i though it was amazing. I loved the choice of characters you can play as and special moves in the game. I'm a little disappointed that you can't play against computer controlled opponents freely. After playing the arcade mode a couple of times, it begins to get a little tedious and boring.

I would have like to see a story line with a plot like in super smash bros brawl.

The controls are hard to get used to, you find yourself using the same one or two moves over and over again. The special moves are simple to pull of which is much appreciated.

Overall its a good game to rent and enjoy for a couple of days, but i would'nt invest into buying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good for the Wii Gamers, not them.

posted by cord339 (BROOKLYN, NY) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

I see now after trying it why it's good for the Wii. The game had to be much better in every aspect if it would of been developed for the other two top dogs (XBOX 360 and PS3). If you own only a Wii, this game will be quite satisfying. On the other hand, if you own any of the other two or both (PS3 and XBOX 360); you will be well disappointed of it's caliber.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

great game ruined by ill suited controllers

posted by cokeisec (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

great game ruined by ill suited controllers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse