Rent Target Terror for Wii
view large frontback

Target Terror

Not Rentable
GF Rating
3.8

375 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

I should hate this game...but I dont

posted by KNICKS2030 (WARWICK, NY) May 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Call me crazy but I love this game. Everything about it screams that I should hate it...but I just cant, I keep playing. The hit detecation is terrible, the animations suck, the music is generic and repetive, the games short(although thats expected in a light gun game), and the framerate is horrendous. Even with all those negatives about the game, I WILL buy it when I can get it for under $20(although its tempting at $25). Playing this game brings back so many amazing memories of Area 51 and other old school arcade shooters. But like what one of the other reviewers said about the game, this most reminds me of and is probably why I love it so much is Lethal Enforcers..probably my favorite light gun game of all time. If you can overlook the games flaws(which will be hard for most) you will enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice Shooter

posted by JCDRAC (TOWNSEND, TN) May 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is similar to a Time Crisis. You see the guys with the guns and you shoot them while avoiding the innocent bystanders. The playability is good if you like these games as I do but the graphics are not like the arcade due to the WII limitations with hardware. It's a fun game anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Such a horrible game.

posted by CaptColon (SHIRLEY, NY) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had bought one of those cheap Wii Zapper guns for $5 and wanted to rent a shooting game to try it out on...I don't know why I picked this one.

We'll start with the graphics: They're bad. The characters are pixelated badly, especially when up close, and the pre-rendered backgrounds are just really poor. The 10 second long FMV clips that play before each level are also horrible (both in picture quality and the acting ability of the lady playing the news anchor). The frame-rate gets really choppy at times, which can affect your aiming accuracy. I know nobody buys a Wii and expects high quality HD graphics or anything, but this looks like a game for the original PlayStation.

In the sound department there really isn't much to say. The characters scream as you shoot them just like in every other shooting game. One of the mini-games plays background music that sounds just like the Benny Hill theme. This game proves that contrary to popular belief, the Benny Hill theme does NOT automatically make everything more fun.

The controls are good, although as mentioned above the choppy frame-rate can mess up your accuracy. And that is the only time I will use the word "good" when describing this game.

The length of the game (like most of these types of games) is short. It will take just over an hour to beat all 10 levels, probably less if you play with a second player. The game gives you 40 continues, so even a novice player can beat this. There are a handful of mini-games you can unlock by doing different objectives in each level (such as shooting 10 explosive barrels, or shooting out 25 windows) but none are very fun. Probably the least fun one is where you are hitting exploding golf balls at people driving back and forth in golf karts.

Some people would consider this one of those games that is "so bad it's good", but no, it's so bad it's....awful. Just avoid this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Off Target . . . .

posted by kydad81896 (CATLETTSBURG, KY) Jun 18, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played the arcade version of this game and I always liked it so I was excited to see it released for the Wii. I was going to buy it but I am glad that I didn't. This game is fun at first but gets old quick and after a couple of days with it I was ready to part ways. OK rental but I wouldn't recommend buying it unless you like a lot of repetition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Reminds me of Lethal Enforces

posted by louie77 (WETMORE, CO) May 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is perfect if you like a typical rail type
shootem up game. Graphics are good enough and controls work as expected. Two players is the way to go than by yourself. I would say that this game and Resident Evil Umbrella are the two best rail shooters out. However, Target Terror is more of a challenge and will take some time to beat. Overall I would say that this is a good rail game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not "Target: Terror" but Target: Terrible

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Target: Terror is your basic rail shooter. You see a bad guy or gal, you shoot him/her. You see an innocent bystander, you don't shoot him/her.
With a simple setup, how could Raw Thrills mess this up?
First, put in some awful graphics. This game looks very much like their MAXIMUM FORCE arcade game that came out in 1997. Over the ten plus years since, the looks have not improved at all.
Next, make the presentation flat. Bad guys vanish after you hit them, the background isn't interactive. And after you get through a level, the game says the level is complete, and gives you a bunch of bland awards, then lets you pick your next mission.
Then, cut on content. You can get through all then levels in about an hour.
But the worst problem Target: Terror has is even with bad graphics and bland game play, it can't run smoothly. Several times during a level the people on screen will jerk about, making the game play very tough and a chore to watch.
If you're into shooting terrorists, I suggest you get GHOST SQUAD and skip this lazy mess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lethal Enforcers 2.0?

posted by layzieyez (ATHENS, GA) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I'm sure this title will receive many negative reviews. I, on the other hand, really enjoyed this title.

If you always wished that they had released a version of Lethal Enforcers onto the console systems, then this is the game for you. It's a really fun old-school light gun shooter. It can be frantic at times, but I really like the low-fi graphics and cheesiness of the presentation. The controls are pretty straight forward for a light gun shooter on rails. It's alot more fun with one of your buddies playing with you. There are additional mini games triggered by completing certain objectives (there's one mini game that reminded me of Crossbow, where you had to protect the civilians walking along the screen by shooting the dangers ahead of them).

The gore level is pretty high on the default so if you don't want your kids watching buckets of blood and parts flying around, you might want to tone it down.

Give it a try if you're into light gun games. Just be ready to take everything light heartedly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Looking for a great game?

posted by cheesyD (FLAT ROCK, MI) May 23, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Do you love action packed games that you can't stop playing? Don't get this game then. This was easily the worst game I've played for Wii. Sent it right back in the mail. Horrible controls, extremely boring, have to reload every two seconds. Rent Resident Evil Umbrella Chronicles if you like arcade style shooters, skip this game. House of Dead returns was ok also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

....... rlly this game sux

posted by vadic06 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

this game is like the worst wii game the shooting is like to hard when your like shooting the guy he barley gets hit this game is kinda sucky for a wii game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not the best, but a heck lot of fun!

posted by MUAMan (METAMORA, IL) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I played the arcade version, and I thought that it was exellent! It was easy, fun, and frikin Hillarious! If you aren't good at First Person Shooters,(Like me) then you will love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow!...

posted by 3DO1984 (UNIONVILLE, IN) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I first saw this game in an restaurant around 2004. It was awesome to see a game that is a throwback to the old AREA 51's and other FMV shooters I loved growing up.
It also turned me on with it's combo system of being able to shoot the terrorists like 20 or so times in the head as opposed to just a one shot system.
The fact is that this port is REALLY off.
The game lags almost like it was a SEGA CD game. The graphics are the worst I've seen on the wii.

The fact is it is that FMV games never come out anymore. I am sick of games like timecop and all the stupid new technology so...
I still gave it a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

target terror

posted by skizzo5317 (BREWSTER, OH) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

this game is horrible its like playing a game right out of the 90s i dont recommend this game at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG What the F#$K

posted by bwez36 (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

this game is horrible useless you like 16bit graphics and the feeling of you being in 1980. What the F#$K man this 2009 get with the program.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stupid

posted by jamesbaliu (GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

this is probially the worst game I have ever played the graphics bite there is no real story line and no point I would not recommend the game to anyone on any basis

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It is like playing in the arcade game room.

posted by tropical (MC ARTHUR, OH) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game is like putting coins into one of those arcade games and getting credit. There is nothing else to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The fun's still there, but the graphics aren't

posted by thinkbomb (KAYSVILLE, UT) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

it's simple enough to explain, a port of the anti-terrorist shoot-em-up in the gameplay style of Area 51.

Unfortunately most everything looks considerably worse than it does in the arcade ... almost laughably bad in some instances.

Still, it's a faithful port, and the game plays good enough to easily make it a really fun rental. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Campy Light-Gun Shooting

posted by cusman (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

This isn't the best light-gun arcade game [House of the Dead 2/3] on Wii but it is also not the worse [Chicken Shoot].

[Target Terror] is a port of the arcade game of same name but unlike the [Ghost Squad] or [House of Dead 2/3] game ports on Wii this port lacks technical polish in the controls, frame rate, and it has loading.

Those issues aside it still stands apart due to the campy style, the ability to shoot many varieties of urban terrorists in the groin, head, etc. Completing the game gets more possible with each use of all credits as the number of credits avaialable will increase with each successive attempt (similar to House of Dead 2/3).

There are no boss type characters or multiple paths to choose. Just shoot more and more bad guys and try not to shoot innocents. The game has many weapon pick ups (shock, freeze, grenade, rpg, etc) and there are mini-games that can be unlocked by doing things within each mission like shooting lot of monitors or drums or something.

This game is especially enjoyable in light company and for the co-op play. Don't expect to play and enjoy it for more than 3-4 hrs so rent it, enjoy it, return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

target terror scary

posted by daddyhulk (NORRIDGEWOCK, ME) Aug 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

It has a great chance of have been a good game but no sorry line and really no skill need or thought process it is based on pure luck of who pops up first if that is who will shot first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by scootshot (ENID, OK) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

I rent alot of games that my son and I can play together. This game was horrible. the action of the controller takes too long to respond. You can shoot three rounds before they ever register with the game do not rent this game it is a waste of your time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game, just not as good as the arcade

posted by Paoloa (PLAINVILLE, CT) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Where can i start :)

game is pretty much identical to the arcade...except for some major con's

wether ur aiming with the wiimote or the Nykogun or wii zapper
you basically have the move with the crosshair on the screen...not with the guns
shooting into corners as well
when the action got heavy, the framerate would slow down..and i mean slow down. it hiccuped often.
no awesome wrist shots here.
sometimes an enemy can appear instantly,and well you get hit...not enough time to shoot them.
Accuracy...forget that, u can have ur crosshair on the guy and fire and there are times where you'll be like ummm did i actually shoot him?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but gets boring

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jul 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

Target Terror is the average arcade game with the gun and your killing people. This is basically the same thing that you find in every bowling ally with the gun. But instead of the gun you use your wiimote. Everything is basically the same besides you dont have to put a quarter into it. You still go around places like air ports and stuff and you kill terrorists. You still have to reload and i think the pistol should have a bigger clip because i kept running out of ammo and people were throwing granades and stuff at me and i kept dieing. Its fun with a bunch of friends but if your alone its not very fun. Also for me it kind of got old fast. Its a good game for staying up late at night and partying with your friends. Its a good rent but its not good enough to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Definitely not too terrifying

posted by ang323 (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

Okay, started playing it, and thought, okay, graphics not the best, but it's kind of entertaining. 5 minutes in and I was done. I managed to stomach the game through all of the airport and realized that was enough for me. Too many times to have to reload, reload doesn't register as you take your off screen shot, causing death. Shots don't register. I don't know how many times you can shoot someone in the head before they die. Not recommend unless you like cheesy and repetitive game play. House of the dead and Resident evil are much better shooters. Packed this one up right after I finished the airport and wrote this review. Don't waste you time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wow this sucks

posted by Kellen (COLUMBIA, MO) May 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

First of all i thought this game looked great but the first 15 minutes of playing this it sucked. please and trust me and dont waste your time playing this game. Go play another game on the wii like House of the dead 2&3 or super smash bros

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

target terror

posted by ramstyle (WARD, AR) May 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

one of the worst games i have played on the WII
there was lag during the game play the game didn't register half the hits against the bad guys and the reload time was horrible and having to hit off screen several times just to reload was what made the game so bad. i couldn't recommend this game to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst light gun shooter on Wii...

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) May 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

Comparing this game to House of the Dead and Resident Evil:Umbrella Chronicles, this game sucks. It's got a terrible frame rate so you'll be shooting and suddenly the screen will go at snail's pace. This game is not fun at all. I was bored after the first mission. I dunno what Konami was thinking when they released this, but it was a big mistake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse