Rent Tank! Tank! Tank! for Wii U
view large frontback

Tank! Tank! Tank!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.5

122 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOO

posted by Loki_del_sol (BELLINGHAM, WA) May 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Awsome!Awsome!Awsome! Just plain Awsome!
Docking a point for the arcade cabnet being better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't waste the time

posted by kooj (SALISBURY, MA) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game looks nice, it has decent sound and graphics but thats the only good thing I have to say about it. There is no online multiplayer which definately could've helped it, but it's the controls that bring this game down into complete worthlessness. I don't mean they are difficult to manuipulate or broken. I mean they have sucked any bit of possible challenge or fun out of this game by over simplifying the controls.

Aiming is done automatically, which leaves you with nothing to do but drive and mash the trigger to keep shooting. The driving controls are so incredibly bland for a game where all your doing is driving, driving any tank or jeep in a current first person shooter has far better controls. Seriously, this game wouldve been alot more fun in a halo warthog, at least those build up speed and skid around.

They made the controls simple enough for any small child to figure out, they just aren't very responsive. You can get anywhere you want to go by using the left stick alone. Adding a press left or right on the right stick will help you turn a bit faster, mash triggers to shoot, and thats it the entire game in a nutshell. It's entertaining for about 5-10 minutes. This is just a case of garbage getting put out for a consoles launch because there isn't a games catalogue for it to compete against. Id expect this title to be one of the first wii u games available at a heavily discounted price... It is a complete ripoff and not worth the space in anyone's game queue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair game, could be better.

posted by VampyrM (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was hoping this game would be like the old family computer snes kinda like battle city, but it only lets you drive around killing enemies and there's only local co-op, there is no online multiplayer. They could have make this game like an improved battle city tank battle kinda thing, with bases to guard and walls to smash but not easily broken like in the old days of battle city. Too bad. So I give it a 5/10 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by jdubb77 (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Love games like this....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very upset

posted by mrburnstick (WEST RICHLAND, WA) May 31, 2013

Member since May 2011

no online multiplayer mechanics run this game. single player gets boring real fast and being that you have a certain amount of time to complete the missions is very lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sadly, I guessed it right...

posted by zakluv_145 (LIBERTY, MO) Feb 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I rented this game with high expectations. Sadly, they we're not met. Though the graphics aren't all that impressive, it's not what makes a game in my eyes, the game play experience is.

In my opinion, the game play experience for Tank! Tank! Tank! was horrible!!! The bosses are insanely hard, the metals are almost impossible to receive and I found myself screaming at my Wii U when I couldn't finish a mission in time.

DO NOT PAY THE $60!! A new copy is not worth it. Wait a few years and MAYBE risk the gamble of paying $20 for a pre-owned copy. With this game play, I doubt anyone would keep this game after purchase...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Tanks are not enough for Tank! Tank! Tank!

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

It was so nice, they had to say it thrice – I mean, three times.
Tank! Tank! Tank has a simple concept – you play as a tank pilot and your task is to destroy the invading robot army (or large robot creatures) within a time limit.
The story mode takes place over 36 stages, and you can unlock many, many tanks (there are up to 20 to get – most you’ll have to unlock after finishing a certain number of levels.)
Each tank has a standard attack, a spread attack (like a shotgun) and a very powerful narrow attack (like a laser). The game makers come up with some very inventive weapons for all these tanks.
And it’s a good thing that a second player can join in – but only as a standard tank, not one of the other 19 specialized tanks.
Another problem is that to unlock some of the tanks or finish some parts of the story, you’ll have to play some missions dozens of times. That’s way too much.
Also, the action can get more redundant than the title. It can feel like a chore going through some of the very short levels – and watching some really bland looking cut scenes. (This game looks like a Wii game, not a WiiU game.)
And I still wonder why there’s a time limit on these missions. Why do I fail if I don’t destroy a set number of enemies within that set time limit? It’s just a weak excuse to make the game harder.
The multiplayer segment offers some options. First, you can fight against each other in a free for all match or two teams of two. But you can only get the standard tank, and any special weapons you get is by luck, not skill.
You can also team up to take on certain story missions three at a time, but that pesky time limit appears again – if you don’t finish each of the first two levels within a certain time, you won’t get to battle out the third one (which has a really tough time limit on it).
Tank! Tank! Tank has the tanks, but it needed more varied levels, better graphics, and better presentation. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just Misses The Mark

posted by HotInEER (FREDERICK, MD) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This game had the ability to be one of the best games released on the Wii U. The graphics are pretty decent, you have multi player ability, and you can take picture of yourself using the tablet for your character and they have quite a few different things you can do with the pictures.

However, this is where the fun ends. There are not enough levels, and not a lot of different monsters, and the biggest fail is that the system aims for you. You just hit your button over and over while it shoots. The game could have been so much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »