Rent Tangled for Wii
view large frontback

Tangled

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
5.6

510 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent movie tie-in

posted by PeteA1 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Typical Disney Tie-In Game that seems a bit rushed.

PRO:

Has a descent story where the two playable characters follow the story line of the movie to get from point a to point b.

Uses the actual actors and there are quite a few lines of dialog (Really hate when a game uses lame voice actors saying the same lines of dialog over and over and over).

Graphics are quite good (for a Wii game).

Should be fun for both boys and girls.

Worth renting if a fan of the movie. Enjoyable.

CON:

Bad controls.
Often hard to move the characters to do what you want, often resulting in unnecessary "deaths" (quickly disappear and then reappear with a few coins lost) or having to redo several steps (especially tedious with timed missions when one misstep/jump often means having to restart the timed mission to get a decent score).

If playing alone, the second character has little intelligence. This means constant switching between characters to do things or holding hands to get them to follow along (Often Jumping, Swinging loses the second character). The mindless second character often wonders away when you need them to stay put (Put one character on a see saw, switch characters to put the other character on the other end... to find the first character has gotten off the see saw. Aaarrrgghh!)

Little replay value except for trying to find EVERY hidden object (Making this the perfect GameFly rental). Game should take a few hours, about the length of the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not recommended for kids under 7 or 8

posted by State307 (GILLETTE, WY) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My sister, whom is 5, had some trouble with this game. I do not recommend it for younger children, but it seemed like it would be easy enough for kids around 8 to understand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

One big Tangled mess

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 3, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I have a feeling that Tangled, the movie, is going to be good. Not because of all the great reviews it’s been getting, but because the game attached to it is very bad.
Tangled, the game, lacks in the creativity and innovation. For the main part of the game, you - and one other person or the AI - take part as Rapunzel and Flynn as you go from Point A to Point B in a 3D platformer.
There are some good elements in this game that mostly has to do with Rapunzel’s hair. She can swing across gaps, grow flowers, move some heavy objects, light up darkened areas and help Flynn climb up barriers. In better hands, these powers could’ve been utilized in a thoughtful way.
But not here. This game only asks you to do the basics; climb, jump or swing over minor obstacles that repeat themselves far too often.
As for Flynn, he’s your usual hero; he climbs walls, digs up treasure, beats up enemies and chops down bad looking bushes with his sword. Heck, we don’t even get to see his smolder.
If you play this game single player, you’re in for a special treat - I mean headache. The AI doesn’t do much with the character it controls, so you have to constantly swap between them in order to get both of them through the levels. The final boss battle is extremely boring and anticlimactic.
Along with the main mode are several challenges that I found to be bland - and only up to two players can play, despite the claim that this game can be played by up to four players.
To top off the train wreck, the main mode can be finished in 2 to 3 hours, and there’s little reason to go through it again except to find basic colors or get more dull pictures for a journal.
All this in an overpriced package; being asked to pay up $40 for this is the financial equivalent of getting smacked upside the head with a cast iron frying pan.
See Tangled: the Movie and avoid Tangled: the Game. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Stinker

posted by Jaws (FONTANA, CA) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The worst game I have ever played. Repetitive and boring. Don't waste your rental time on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not sure why the low user ratings here...

posted by mudixon (GRIMESLAND, NC) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2004

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sure, this game is not for the serious console gamer, it's targeted at the 7 year old girl (plus or minus a year or so).

It plays much like the Enchanted Princesses Disney game, although this time you can control two characters (a la Lego games' toggling between the two). It's easy enough for the youngsters, yet challenging for the older youngsters. Voice acting is good, although there is some repetitiveness there and in the soundtrack.

There is a tad bit of violence, like characters sword fighting or banging a guard's head with a pan to knock him out for a bit.

Animation is solid for a Wii game. Not as crisp as I like it (PS3) but my 7 year old daughter is the gamer on this one.

Definitely a game to rent (at first) to see if your child (or inner child) stays interested.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Let your hair Down

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and was excited because i really enjoyed the movie and thought the game would be just as much fun. When I turned this game I knew the graphics would be good cause it was developed by disney and I was right the graphics were beatifully done. The gameplay controls were easy to use moving with the nunchuk, switching caracters with the z button and attack using the b button. The cut scenes were like watching the movie. The levels of this game were fairly easy but also frustrating because you had to keep switching between characters to complete the puzzle often losing your way. I would not recommend this game as nothing more than a rental if you are a fan of the movie. Disney needs to stick to making movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I loved the movie and the game

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

the puzzles of this game were really cool and fun rent it right now and like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad

posted by lorijkf (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

There is not a lot of depth to this game as far as puzzles and story line go. However, the characters were easy to manipulate and even my five year old could figure it out without getting frustrated. So it's a great game for younger kids who loved the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun game if you are a fan of the movie

posted by whatexitvideo (RANDOLPH, NJ) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

My Girls enjoyed the game. They are to young to realize that the graphics aren't that great on the game. The game play is pretty fun and simple. It is a co-op style game play. You take turns with the man (i forgot his name) and Repunsal (i spelled her name wrong) and you help each other with hair by dropping it down for him and swinging across stuff. He has a sword and beats up guards and hacks down bushes. It is pretty fun for a rental and like I said My girls enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not a good game

posted by sharon (BRONX, NY) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

my daughter didnt enjoy the game at all. the function was very confusing, dont rent this game its a waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

don't have any objective

posted by srazalee (HALETHORPE, MD) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

don't have an objective.. my kids don't like it but may be some one like it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tangled

posted by gin04 (SPERRY, OK) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

was to hard for my 6 year old

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay game

posted by Reccalizzy55 (SAPULPA, OK) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

My 9 year old neice found this game a little hard. 1'm 15, and its A pretty good game. But for kids under 5 there is help on it, but knowing they dont have patients. Might find a different game for them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tangled should be rated 10+

posted by juicypirate (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

the game is a fun game were you have to solve puzzles to get tangled to the floating lanterns in time to see them. which is fun for me but my 6 year old brother a little to hard and he got a little bet mad so i say you rent the game for some one 10 or up. But other than that its a good game by the way the people who made it incorporated so much from the movie and how you can use tangled's hair to help flenn rider get around. the finnal conplant i have with the game is tangled cant smash or knock out anyone so she is useless so all ways be flenn rider he is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tangled

posted by care3453 (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game is amazing!I love the kid race!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »