Rent Tales of the World: Radiant Mythology for PSP Games
view large frontback

Tales of the World: Radiant Mythology

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

687 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun kids rpg for the psp

posted by ZooKeeper (LA CROSSE, KS) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a fun game for kids that are around 9 or 10 years old. It has cheeky dialog that make the kids laugh, but is still age appropriate and the fighting is not bloody or violent. It is just hard enough to make it challenging, but not too difficult for a kid. And for a psp game the load time between cities, and dialog is pretty fast, considering. The graphics are classic rpg, and kind of cartoony but it is still a fun game and completing the missions for the towns people is fun. My kids have beat the game a few times, but still it is the first game they choose to take with them on road trips! If they made a part 2 we would buy it the day it came out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Give a little and get alot

posted by WarMonger9 (BRACKENRIDGE, PA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At first look a "tales" series lover would think this is a Godsend, well it is a good game but there are a few losses when it comes to playing this game like the story line is rubbish and that every time you complete a quest that your party gets dismissed every time.But there are also some gains to this game ,like if you get far enough you get access to better classes and super armor like the raidiant armor so if you think this game sucks give it an hour or two and you'll find the gold hidden in the cracks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome for fans, great for others

posted by shadowmist (IRVINE, CA) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I picked this game up because I was just starting into the Tales universe, and it seemed like a good idea. I have to say, this game is very good.

My first impression when I plugged it in was that it was very beautiful. The opening was high quality, something I don't quite expect when it comes from a handheld. The game itself also looks very nice, and I was very impressed with how it handled.

There isn't any horrible loading time like some other PSP games played on the fat PSP, so I imagine playing with a slim PSP would cut the loading time to negligible. On my fat PSP I didn't have to deal with long loading screens every so often, so I didn't mind a few. The game controls quite tightly, and responds well.

Gameplay is good old tales style. You run around like in standard RPG, then you go into battle where you have free control of all your actions. I've always liked the Tales battle system, so this appealed to me a lot.

The sound is pretty good on the PSP. The music isn't to my taste, but it isn't bad so listening to it didn't grate on my ears, like some other games.

Story is there, but not really a strong point of this game. It's your basic save the world scenario, with a few twists. What really would draw people in is the fact that characters from other Tales games play a big role in the game. You run into characters from the popular Tales of Symphonia almost right off the bat, and Tales of the Abyss characters make a brief appearance soon after.

This is a game that is designed to appeal to fans of the Tales series. That's not to say it won't appeal to others though. It's a very good game, and I think everyone should give it a shot. A nine out of ten score from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty good, could've been better...

posted by Giraffe (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I was really excited when I first turned on this game.The load times are some of the best i've seen on a psp,i was in love with the opening movie(as i have been with all of the movies from "tales")Making my charactor was a lot of fun, although not to deep, picking things like head, voice, gender, skin color, job,(mage, priest, warrior, theif) etc. gave me a sense of putting myself in the game. Once all set up, the game starts off by introducing your charactor and giving you a little background info.Basically you are a hero created by the "world tree" of your world and your job is to defend your world from the "devourer" and along the way you'll get help from "tales" charactors. yup thats as deep as its gonna get. From there on out you are zapped into a battle, introduced to your guild in the nearby town of Ailily (which is inhabited by many familiar "tales" faces) and sent to do a multitude of jobs. This is where the game starts to get dull..and fast. You simply chose a quest, go to your destination required,and hack and slash. Wether it be retreving an item, rescuing a person, gathering an item, whatever,they all feel the same: gather a party, which can consist of "tales" charactors,or "mercinaries"(either of which can frustratingly reject your invite any time),charactors very familiar to your own, some looking rediculous. Once your party is created you simply go out and do your quest..thats it, go back get your reward, break up the party (no choice)and repeat.there are storyline quests that appear every so often, but they arent really too special. This game was definately created for a VERY hardcore tales fan, because only the charactors, and their lengthy, time consuming, oftentimes annoying "skits" will give interest to said fan, leaving the rest of us bored witless.A six because the job system, abilities,and battles are (somewhat) fun but the rest is rather meh and dragged out. so if you pick up this game be patient and please dont take your anger out on mormo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Highly Impressive! :)

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a wonderful addition to the 'Tales of...' series. I really like it. It's so cool and worthwhile.
And they even got Llyod in here! Wow...Lloyd. :p Soooo cool...
Eh...anyway, I love this game and it's fun and all. But one thing kinda dampens the mood:
.........................................................THE QUESTS ARE SOOOO POINTLESS! -.-
Well, I'm done. BTW, Llyod's easily the hotest guy hands down! ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nice game

posted by yohmaster (RIVERVIEW, FL) Apr 20, 2010

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was great it kept me busy for a while just watch out for the last boss or else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tales of has come to PSP!

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have always enjoyed the Tales of games. Tales of the World was not a let down. Takes all of the elements that makes the Tales of series great and puts it on the PSP. The only thing that might be said bad about the game is that doing the quests gets boring after a while. There is always some story in there but you find yourself grinding missions just to make money and get the best gear possible. This game is a must have for any Tales of fan and a must rent for any RPG fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game...at the Time..

posted by SterITuP (CYPRESS, CA) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong this game is great, yet it's not like the other Tales of etc. type of games.

U create your own character which is great and you choose your class(yet you're limited at first)

But you soon find out that the World Map has no free-roam element it's just a map that lets you choose which dungeon you want to visit, and the missions are pretty short if don't want to the story missions. and the story is descent.

Yet beside all that b.s. this game is very entertaining when your bored and you need something to play on the go. You should buy this if you want a game that you know you won't rush, any other reason..Just rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best!

posted by Azraelrs (MOORESVILLE, NC) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

this game is one of the best rpgs on psp! its a must try. the story line is great and the characters are wonderful! easy, but not too easy and i recommend it to all rpg fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

COuld be better

posted by Ninjalord (BIDWELL, OH) May 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of the Tales of Series but this one didnt cath my interest, the missions were a little unclear sometimes and it rubbed me the wrong way, I did like the fact that the game had many diffrent people from the tales of world but this one just didnt work out for me but id say you have to try it out for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!

posted by bigahmed06 (RUTHERFORDTON, NC) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

18 out of 25 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

wow, I have had this game recently and it is wonderful! The A.I. is great and it brings back the same battles that you fought in many of the other tales games! I highly recommend this game to anybody who has a psp and who likes rpgs! RENT THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its like candy.

posted by WarauOkami (MOUNT KISCO, NY) Jan 31, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

its fun, its pretty, but it has little substance.

The quests are repetitive, and are only loosely related to the over all story line.

But, the real time battle element is fun, and interesting. Supposedly, you can unlock a few classes, but I haven't figured it out yet.

The story and progression is a bit slow... and the game does get redundant, but its fun!

its very fun, like I said, its like candy. So if you want a big fun tasty jaw breaker to munch on for a while, pick it up! Its very long, lots of content, much to do, and not a bad rent at all despite its flaws. In fact I ended up buying this one, its a nice thing to play when I dont want to think too much and just wanna have some fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Over-hyped

posted by dracopdine (LOMPOC, CA) Sep 28, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was pretty excited to get this game in the mail after seeing how highly it was rated on G-fly. However after playing it for a few hours, I am starting to get pretty bored with it.

Graphics are good, story line is OK, but what really bugs me is that you spend hours and hours going to the same dungeons over and over and over playing new missions. This reminds me of dungeon maker game where I got so tired of seeing the same maps that I never finished the game.

Don't get me wrong, this is worth renting at least to make up your own mind. I personally don't think I will finish this game unless it improves quickly.

I should add that one thing I really enjoy about this game is that every time you equip new equipment, the player graphics change. I wish more games would take advantage of that.

Nonetheless, this game is over-hyped as far as it has been rated here on G-fly. Usually I agree with the ratings on here, but this time I don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tales of the World: Radiant Mythology

posted by DolfanDon (PITTSBURGH, PA) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good graphics + good controls + decent, anime inspired story + familiar RPG trappings + poor game design = average game.

RPG's are my favorite, and this isn't the worst one that I've played. But the general design (go to a town, find another menial quest, delve into the same dungeon you were in thirty times already, and accomplish whatever it is you were to accomplish [defeat X amount of this kind of enemy, find herb X, ect.])

The characters are well defined, and the story is definitely serviceable. The fighting engine is everything it should be for a Tales of X game. But, overall the game gets dull after the first 3 hours or so. It's the same thing over and over and over and over and over and.. (you get the point)

Also the shops are on a map, and you have to select which building you want to enter. There is no wondering around towns. This took me out of the game...

Why a 6, and not a 4 or 5? Because the game technically plays very well, it's the reason that the Tales games have done so well on various consoles. Just because something is repitive doesn't mean that it isn't fun. It just gets old after a while is all. I can see some RPG fans getting into this; I, however, will not be one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

an generic fan script becomes a really good game

posted by RydelB (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the fan-fiction-esque story aside (fan made character teams up with a variety of 'tales of' heroes to stop a world devouring evil) this game is a definite good game with a few flaws. It sports good graphics, and battles straight out of the recent Tales of the Abyss (including a lot of recycled enemies) and some deep character customization from a visual and game play standpoint. if this game has a glaring flaw, it's the mission structure. basically players must accept missions, and then go and perform them, there are a few basic mission types: kill 1x, kill 10x, craft , gather , and then the story missions. sadly, the most interesting category, story missions are separated y large chunks of the other missions, which can be wildly random, you might accept one of the crafting or resource gathering missions, only to find that you already have the items and thus finish the mission without having done anything, or you might find the same mission taking 30 minutes of searching a dungeons search points repeatedly for one item. likewise you might find those monsters you need to kill two steps into the dungeon, or spend 30 minutes fighting every other conceivable monster without hide nor hair of the beast you're looking for. simply put, the game is to random in every way, excluding dungeon layout ,(although it feels awfully random with their fairly drab and corridor heavy design) to have any consistency, which can lead to being extremely frustrated on one mission , and then finish five missions without blinking. this aside, its a good game, it can just get really frustration really quick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tales of the World

posted by ChaosFlame (CHAPEL HILL, NC) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed by this game. I normally love games in the Tales series, but this one in my opinion was a fail.

The storyline was slow, boring, and lacked excitement. I did however like how you could customize your characters appearance, and job. However, I did not like how if you changed your job that your level went back down to zero.

I would NOT play this game a second time, and I'm so glad that I did not go out and purchase it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

same ol

posted by greenman30 (CONYERS, GA) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

typical tales game nothing new here

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!

posted by RPGPimp (SAN JOSE, CA) May 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is like a free MMO. All you do are quests. There is no storyline. All you have is a town, and 2 dungeons. You do quests over and over. Only reason why I played this was because I loved Tales of Vesperia for the Xbox 360. Boy was I wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Too Repetitve

posted by RPlayer (RIVERSIDE, CA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2007

Maybe I'm missing something, but this game seems very repetitive. It's not bad and does pass the time well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Unexpected Disappointment

posted by CloudyCody (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I have played quite a few tales games like phantasia,eternia,symphonia,abyss and vesperia. I loved them all! I'm a huge tales fanatic so I'll try anything tales related but,when I tried this game...I could tell why its a spin off and why its mediocre.

First off I really hate giving a bad review about a tales game but,I have no choice. This game is tedious and gets boring quick. I mean sure you would think that making your own character and having a party full of different tales characters would be sweet! But,sadly its not what you expect...

The customization is bad. The main battle theme is annoying. The graphics could be better but,not bad for psp..I actually liked the character models though. Also the story is shallow and isn't really original. Most of the time you do the same sidequests just different names.

Anyways lets get to what you really wanna hear about and that's the battle system! Everyone says its similar to tales of the abyss but,only the free run is actually similar. Control of a character is decent at best but,kinda slow and you sometimes miss the target. Also the game can be real easy or just plain stupid hard,you can't have it in the middle. The unison system is like tales of symphonia but,crappier and not really exciting. The overlimit is the same in abyss but,the mystic artes/hi ougi take forever to obtain and are awful because there is no anime cut ins. They are short and boring.

Overall the story sucks,music is decent except for the main battle theme,graphics aren't too good except for character models and the battle system may seem alright at first but,is a real pain and sluggish.

If you're looking to play a spin off with tales characters..then I would wait for radiant mythology 2 or import it. Its a LOT better than this game. They improved and changed things from the 1st game. Making it more enjoyable for tales fans than a chore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

They ran out of "Tales" heros...Heh..heh heh

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Jun 26, 2011

Member since May 2010

Well good, I am tired of traditional Tales Heros!! We don't need to be told who we are, and how to play a game! You can now choose to play as a mage, priest, warrior or archer if you like! All the Tales games to date have always told you who to play as!! Ya know? I guess they ran out of ideas, and that is a good thing! They also threw in their favorites from the old cast from past games! You decide where to go, and what to do, how to do it, not to mention the fact that how you want to play as .. For those of you NOT in the know, the basic premise of most Tales games feastured pre-render characters who followed a fairly predetermined script of predetermined characters(with the players characters usually being a swordsman, or a warrior of some sort), but THIS game bucks that trend to a degree by let you make your own character! You are a free lancer for the most part who takes on odd jobs to complete the story. Trust me it is worth it to at least rent it, and see for your self to determine, you never know you might like it! Not all is perfect, however, It seems you have to unlock some of the character classes, but I will leave that to YOUR descretion... TRY BEFORE YOU BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slow and repetitive

posted by FlyingElf (UTICA, MI) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

I'll preface this by saying that I did not finish the game and perhaps it really picks up in the later stages. However at about 5 hours into the game all I found myself doing was running repetitive and boring quests for random villagers. By that amount of time in an RPG should have more than enough time to start immersing you into a story and a world, instead I have a vague idea of some sort of cookie cutter villain, been introduced to characters I've already met and played as in other Tales games, and played as a bland main character with no personality or development to speak of.

Still as a fan of the Tales games its not a terrible game. The real time battle element from previous Tales games remains fun even if it does seem a bit toned down and a fan of the series will appreciate seeing some of their old favorite characters again.

Ultimately though I just feel that the game is way too repetitive and slow to really be enjoyed by any except the hardcore Tales fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nah!!!

posted by DWise0 (BEAUMONT, TX) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

Dis game started out interesting. Da main reason I tryied out da game was because I like playing games where you can create your own character. I played da game for a hot minute but put it down after I discovered that there was no targeting system for the battles. That made it exceedingly difficult for attacking enemies. That was the game's main fault. Also the regulations for passing some missions, such as gathering herbs, were made difficult if you didn't have a sickle or to get ore, a pick-axe. If you didn't have either item, finding the required itmes were a feverent dream. Basically this game was a let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So-So

posted by callfax (Hobbs, NM) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

A real disappointment as far as a "Tales of" game. The real disappointment was the story line. It was at times just a rehash of every other RPG out there. But it nostalgic to see all the characters from previous games in the series, and thus its only saving grace to get above mediocre and hit just above average, if only by just.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it's alright

posted by TsuDaibido (WINTER PARK, FL) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

I'm a fan of the "Tales" series but I didn't like this as much as the other Tales games.

It feels like a offline mmorpg.

go to some place ask for quest go to the same place you've been though in your other quest. go to newer place for asking for quest... repeat.

the story is fine, it could have been better... spoiler

really hate the whole "I've lost my memory too... Let's be buddies" from many of the characters.

I know it's from the game that they are from but this is a different game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »