Rent Tales of the Abyss for 3DS
view large frontback

Tales of the Abyss

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
8.1

532 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not an impressive remake of the ps2 version

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Jul 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

seriously this is not worth a rent the skits r not voiced but the cutscenes r and that is really disappointing, also fon master ion still sounds like a girl. and this game doesn't make sense just like the ps2 version.

waste of time to rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No voice in Skit, very disappointed

posted by Norsean (EVANSTON, IL) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Well, it may be a fun game, but I never bothered to play it through. Because as you should know, the fun of the Tales series is in reading the skits. However, I can not say how much disappointed I am to find out they cut the English dubs in the skits, to make it more worse when you play the skits you can not skip conversations and are forced to watch the characters moving their mouths without sound as opposed the original voiced Japanese version. So no, I will not play this cheap rip off version from the original PS2 version. Just find a English dubbed Japanese game and play it through Emulator. You will find much more fun.I assure you!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Long, but hardly portable!

posted by Danomeon (HUXLEY, IA) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

A typical game in the Tales series, with real-time action combat and your traditional JRPG elements. It's a lot of fun to play, with good combat and a surprisingly awesome story. While combat can drag occasionally, the game does give you an option to have the game fight automatically for you, which helps reduce the grind in some areas when you can go and do something else while the game gets through the more annoying encounters. The combat can be either easy or difficult, which makes the game possible for some easy, portable fun, and the option to grind is always there.

The only complaint that I have about this game is that it sticks pretty rigidly to its original PS2 iteration, which is frustrating because it is a portable game. I took this game along for a week of vacation that involved a lot of small spurts of driving, meaning that I needed a long portable game that I could play off and on as the situation demanded. I was pleased with the length of the game; it lasted me for most of the week at a total duration of 40 hours, and you have the option to play through the game again with perks that you can purchase using a currency you earn through battles. However, I was displeased that during long dungeons you cannot save except for at specific save spots, whereas in the open world environments you can save anywhere. Having these long puzzle and battle-filled segments in which you cannot save your game at all means that I oftentimes couldn't chip away at this game in partciular car rides because they just weren't long enough to assure that I would be able to reach another save point in time. This is frustrating, and had I been able to save whenever I wanted (or create a temporary save that owuld be erased upon returning to the game), I would not have had so many frustrating moments while playing.

Also, the game is not original for all 40 hours. Expect to do a TON of backtracking. I have all of the games' dungeons mapped on the inside of my brain now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Abyssal Screaching

posted by Hitster (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

Pros
- Combat
- Interesting-ish Story

Cons
- Characters
- Voice Acting

Short Review

I have played some of the previous Tales games and the combat is what distinguishes this game from other JRPGs. However, without the combat system the story is just a typical JRPG game. The voice actors are just as horrible as the writing.

If you can get over the characters/ lack of 3ds abilities then it is a decent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An RPG About the Meaning of Life

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

I've never played the original PS2 version, but I do know that it is a straight up port of the original but with an extra screen for maps and extra functions. it's still a good RPG with great artwork by "Ah! My Goddess" creator Kosuke Fujishima. I think it's worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tales rises above the Abyss of mediocrity

posted by Hongo999 (DENVER, CO) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Aug 2007

Story: While the story follows the typical RPG format, a hero who has to “discover” himself, a world in danger, and myriad complicated relationships and ideologies, it is convincing and easy to follow. There are times when the game drags on, especially with periods of running back and forth from town to town to get a short dialogue that generally provides very little to the core experience. (7/10)

Voice acting: The voice acting is a mixed bag with about half of the primary cast rendering rather good performances, one character sticks out as exceptional to me, and the other half ranging from annoying to downright rage worthy—the protagonist is among the worst of the lot. There are also a number of skits in the game, but they fall flat without voice acting to carry them. (6/10)

Characters/World: The cast is largely forgettable, only a few really stick out in any sense, but they all compliment each other well and carry the story well enough. The main antagonist is pretty cool, and his minions are well thought out and have varying personalities. The world itself is a little bland, but does allow for open world exploration and has varied locals and towns. (7/10)

Graphics: The graphics aren’t atrocious, but they certainly aren’t pushing the 3DS’s capabilities considering titles like the new Resident Evil. The world has a certain Tales flair to it that is nice to look at, but it is marred by considerably dated graphics. (7/10)

Game length/Replayability: The game is very lengthy, approximately 60-80 hours, probably 40 or so if you stick just to the main story, with long story segments and few save opportunities unless you’re on the world map. You’ll find save points at the end of lengthy dungeons, before bosses, but it often takes 30 minutes or more to get there. Boss fights can also be quite lengthy. The game touts a new game plus with additional difficulty levels and enhancements you can purchase to enhance subsequent experiences. (10/10)

Overall: 7.8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Charming little rpg

posted by jblovloss (NASHVILLE, TN) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

A very anime-themed RPG with a high production value to it. The music, graphics and voice acting are all very good. If you don't like things that are cute you might get annoyed by some of the game's elements. My one big complaint was the battle system being a little repetitive. But I liked it enough that I went and bought it so I definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very looong...

posted by Ameel81 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Asides from being a great entry into the Tales of series.. this game is very, very long. While most RPG's top out at between 20-30 hours of play this one takes about 60+ hours of play. If you love a good story with lots of very good vice acting and have LOTS of time to spare then this games perfect for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game but is very long

posted by DJCandy12 (MIAMI, FL) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is one of the best RPGs the 3DS has to offer right now. It has an enticing story line and it will always introduce you to new characters and new environments. The only downside to this title is that it is VERY long. If your looking for a short story to pass the time, THIS GAME IS NOT FOR YOU. If you are completely happy with a long story line and interesting plot that has twists and turns at every corner, you SHOULD get this game. The graphics are not the best, but the 3D is a pleasant surprise, making the environment you are in to look very nice and detailed. The fighting in this game may get a little bit repetitive to you, but your characters always get new skills and items so it never really gets boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow What a game!

posted by Kenjibaby (KISSIMMEE, FL) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Wow this was a looooooong game perhaps longer than any of the Kingdom hearts games. I rented this game Feb 13th and just put it into the mailbox to go back July 25th. Between school and work this game took a lot of time to finish. However, it's a really nice RPG I enjoyed it, although it can sometimes feel a little draggy but all in all very good game. I'm gonna go watch the anime now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow!

posted by Pockysticks (RANCHO CORDOVA, CA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

When I first saw the reviews on it, I thought this game was going to be mundane and similar to other games that I have played. My expectations of the game were not significantly high and I thought to be returning it the next day.

To my surprise the game play itself wasn't the only thing that kept me going, but the story-line was perplexing. The predictions I made ahead of time of what would happen were dashed as it unfolded bringing new ideas into my head.
The graphics weren't amazing, but with the 3D effect it brought it up to a level that I enjoyed.
The style of fighting is repetitive, but with the add on of new skills and items made it refreshed as my characters grew in level!
I hope many would consider to trying out this game and also experience the same joy I have received.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Yeah

posted by Tazh (KILLEEN, TX) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

First got this game really good game! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best rpg i have played on the DS

posted by tuck4733 (HILLSBORO, OH) Aug 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

this game has been the best rpg i have played on the DS. it could have had a few upgrades like character creation and stuff like that but the story line is awsome. I like this game so much i dont want to send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I don't usually write these reviews but..

posted by Straypuppy (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

This game is too incredible to pass up. Very addicting and gives you a sense of accomplishment when you're finished. Don't be surprised if this game strikes up some emotion. It's got a great moral lining as well. Everybody should play this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best RPG for the 3DS at the moment

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There are some good RPGs for the 3DS, but this game blows them away. Fun to play, never gets boring, story keeps you interested the whole way through, battle system is simple to understand but hard to master espicially the bosses which make you rethink and change your strategy. Love the story better then Vesperia but Vesperia still has a better group of characters in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse