Rent Tales of Xillia for PS3
view large frontback

Tales of Xillia

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $24.99

GF Rating
8.4

805 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game

posted by FullMetal7 (BRONX, NY) Aug 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was truly amazing and i mean every word. There is so much they did right in this game. If you truly go through all the side missions and all that its a really long game on this generations standards. The story was well thought out, combat is the best I've seen in RPG's, it's actually fun and does not get repetitive at all you get tons of different moves that you can combo together by yourself or with a team member. Another aspect i like is that you can play as every member in your party, not many RPG's let allow you. Overall the game really made me give RPG's another shot because most of the recent releases are trash to be honest even the latest FF series have been dull in many aspects. Definitely a buy if you can or rent if you are not a RPG fan i recommend this game to any gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tales of series gets better and better

posted by xXShYnXx (IRVINGTON, NJ) Aug 19, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off i will state that im a HUGE tales of fan played everygame that came to the states even imported a few, and the others that got english translations i.e The real Tales of Destiny 2 not the US ToD2 "which is tales of eternia in Japan". With that out the way the review might b kinda biased so I'll try to keep it short. This is a great game for anyone who love Jrpgs and who like the tales of series. You get to pick between 2 main characters jude or milla kinda like star ocean on the PSX but it dont effect what characters you get. Depending on who you pick you start from there perspective jude is in medical school and milla is on a mission with the four spirits. Don't want to say to much about the story but it's good. Now for tales of fans we love the battle system and trust me it's great. You have your typical artes n such this game uses a system kinda similar to graces with the cc but in this game it's called AC. You use up AC everytime you normal attack and use artes and artes also use tp. They have this link system which IMO is kinda similar to chrono trigger. Depending on who you link with you can do link artes for ex: jude and milla linked up you can do demon fist then go into a new arte that you n milla do together. Theres all type of different artes you can do depending on who's linked with who. Once you go into overlimit you can do link chains ex:jude n milla have a lot of link artes and u can chain them all together one after the other, or you can start with jude n milla then quickly link to someone else and do there link arte. Its so much fun and once you get it down pact you can do all type of combos do a atk arte,to a heal arte or buff arte if needed etc. It's the best battle system to date of the tales series. They also brought skills back if you played vesperia you will be right at home. Trust me if you like tales of series you will love this game and we are getting xillia2 early2014. This is my first review ever I hope it helped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Tales game

posted by whatnow12012 (NEWPORT, TN) Aug 13, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

People who bash this game obviously do not like JRPG games or do not have the patience for them. I have beaten every single Tales of Game minus those that havent come to N/A yet.

People will love Tales of if you are into JRPGs, the Music is really good, awesome characters, and new Ideas make Xillia Unique & Diffrent. I also like the fact that you can choose 2 diffrent characters, this was also seen in Mana Khemia 2 on the PS2 days.

But if you dont have patience then TOX isnt for you, this game is massive, taking about 50Hrs to complete, the futher you go, the harder the game will get.

Mainly Tales games are for die hard fans of the series, also keep in mind TOX -2 will come out in 2014 but it will not feature all of the characters such as Jude.

New characters, done in a diffrent way such as LR will be compared towards 13 & 13-2 thats just the way sequels are.

So if you want something that will kill time get TOX, if you dont have patience or not into JRPGs then skip TOX more than likely this means you are FPS fans of games such as COD to Halo meaning JRPGs aren not your cup of tea.

Overall excellent game I give a 8 out of 10.

Excellent story, cast of characters, and new upgraded system make this one of the best Tales since Tales of Vesperia. Also Way, way better than Tales of Graces, which was the weakest of the Tales games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Solid, but Unspectacular RPG

posted by rshadix86 (DAYTON, OH) Jan 28, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Tales of Xillia is pretty much what you've come to expect from the Tales series. Not much here offends, but not much stands out and makes this game a must-own. The level-up system is basically the Crystarium from Final Fantasy XIII done right - simpler and with less hassle. There's some truly hilarious dialogue that comes out of left field, but it's mostly confined to "skits" - brief interludes during overworld exploration where you can watch the characters' heads chitchat. For a system as powerful as the PS3, there's really no excuse to watch dialogue unfold in such comic book like fashion. Everything else is pretty much bog standard - you're on a quest to save the world from a mysterious entity, set in a high fantasy world with creatively designed towns and villages. After about 30 hours you'll be glad you rented, instead of bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Until the 31 hour mark

posted by doortothe (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 17, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Tales of Xillia starts with a lot of positives. A good story in a unique world where we are constantly learning new things and the characters are all great, with MVP honors going to Milla (the female lead) for both being able to act like an alien in human skin (which she is, you'll understand when you play the game) while also getting character development that makes her sympathetic.

The combat is great too. Its both chaotic and strategic and the linking system works great to make things even more chaotic and fun. There's a bit too much grinding but the story kept me engaged enough to not care. Also the Lillium Orb level up system is great too. To put it simply, its the Crystanium from Final Fantasy XIII done right.

At first, Tales of Xillia is truly a great game, an easy 9 and a must-buy for any Tales fan, until I got 31 hours in. 30 hours in there's a great twist that inspires a good character driven set-piece, but almost immediately after that, the story began to slowly fall apart.

Subplots were dropped with no warning at all and the game generated false tension by making other characters act like complete jerks for no reason. The final straw was when the story devolved into a worse version of the final parts of Tales of Symphonia. It felt like the game didn't get as much development time as it needed.

Overall its still a good JRPG and well worth the rent, but I would not recommend buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by nero9880 (HOOVER, AL) Aug 29, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is really great game cant wait for tales of xillia 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game with a satisfying ending

posted by guamson (EL PASO, TX) Oct 10, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Tales of xillia is a great jrpg that reignites the flame in RPGs other then skyrim. With a deep story line, interesting character development, lovable characters, and epic moments this jrpg will without a doubt win many people over. Using a real time action fighting system and a link team up system so you can team up with other members of your party to create cool team attacks keeps you focused on the action. The characters have depth to them you can hate the enemies yet understand and even pity them at least the main ones. Now the bad the story line while expertly written the side events are too easy to miss like when your on a quest to learn more about the history of a certain place its easy to forget what to do because your focusing on another quest. The game has pop in so if that bothers you might drop a score. The normal enemies are easy almost too easy while the bosses at least feel like bosses. All in all this is a game that reignited my love for RPGs. And I hope tales of xillia two is the same if not better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A refreshing change

posted by cag151 (GRANITE CITY, IL) Sep 25, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

This is a refreshing reminder & break from the normal of MP & FPS market. Reminds me of the reasons I love RPG games & gaming in general. The story is a great tale of friendship & destiny. The battles are easy & fun. The quests aren't as tedious as some quests are in most games. I high recommend this game. Can't wait to play Xillia 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An amazing adventure and a most for jrpg tales fan

posted by Jetknight (CLEVELAND, OH) Jun 20, 2014

Member since Nov 2008

What can I say and how do I start? I could start by saying this tales title is amazing from the moment it loads on the ps3. Amazing graphics, amazing sound and music. The story is unforgettable and who would had thought the little girl with the puppet is a time traveler all the way from the sequel. Of you are a fan of jrpg and the tales series this title is a most and if you aren't or haven't play a tales game please I encourage you to start with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I loved this game!

posted by David18012 (NEOSHO, MO) Jun 13, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game is so much better than I was expecting it to be. I have a hard time believing anyone could dislike it. The story is great the characters are even better. Then it's topped off with an awesome world. The battle system is a lot of fun with many different combos. Just take my advice and start with milla the chick instead of Jude. Still loved it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by KouOkami (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 9, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This was the first time I ever got to play it thanks to gamefly! The storyline was really engaging and i fell in love with the characters. The plot was definatly interesting. I plan on buying the collectors edition for the goodies and then i'll 100% the trophies!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but not amazing

posted by AquaOrange (OJAI, CA) Apr 25, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

As a 21 year-old, I found this game quite corny. The characters are not very likable or believable and the humor is very childish compared to other Tales titles. I've played a number of Tales games, including their most successful titles Symphonia and Versperia and I believe Xilia reuses a lot of content from them such as plot, locations, and concepts, but does it in a much worse way.

Positives:

+ The combat is improved from previous titles, giving a more complex way to go about fighting enemies. It seems a little slower paced which isn't a bad thing.

+ Character development is quite grandiose, giving you an almost limitless way of leveling up your character.

Negatives:

- Filler. There is no "world map" and instead there is a transitional zone between locations that is nearly identical to each other one. You spend 60% of your game time in this zone, avoiding monsters and picking up loot that respawns which makes it very monotonous. This is one of, if not the worst part about this game. The lack of world map makes you feel isolated and does not immerse you, and this zone makes it even worse.

- Extreme clichès. Every JRGPs has its gimmicks but this one has many more than previous titles. Some of them include:
-- Powerful little girls. I'm not sexist, more of a realist.
-- Talking and floating cute doll things. Looks like Tales started taking ideas from Final Fantasy.
-- Strange humor. Not bad by itself, but not successful in this game (in my opinion).

- Cringe-worthy dialogue. This game simply not flow. Every dialogue seems to have 3-10 seconds between responses, making it a very awkward game. Combine this with characters with poor personalities (besides Alvin) and you have conversations that are not entertaining.

Overall: 7/10. Although with my bashing it might seem like it's a bad game - it's not. I figure most people will enjoy it, especially if you're new to the series, but compared to other games it is poorly made. Rent it and see for

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A so-so RPG experience

posted by bigjake12345 (FOREST HILL, MD) Mar 10, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

This game is like Tekken and Final Fantasy had a baby that turned out to be a just a watered down version of each game melded into one. The story starts off very intriguing but eventually falls into character developments that don't make sense and by the end the story falls prey to that of countless JRPG's where the developers need 40 hours of main story but really only have enough creativity for 20. Be ready for many plot elements, especially late game, to be a reach. Oftentimes during the game I felt like maybe there was some dialogue that didn't really translate over into English.

I played through with Jude......and did not exercise the option to play through again with Milla.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Get out of here Ivar

posted by Grettles (LITHONIA, GA) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

At first approach I was thrown off a little bit by the amount of cut-scenes ( it's a jrpg I know I know), but it does a great job telling a fantastic story. The combat is a lot of fun, and becomes extremely fluid later in the game. You will develop a bond with certain characters although some of the voice acting is a little spotty. Boss battles are a load of fun and the further you progress the further you truly get to enjoy this game. If you love Rpgs and a great story this is a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simple and Sweet

posted by kgfan3 (MCKINNEY, TX) Feb 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

Tales of Xillia is not for the gamers looking for a great challenge overall. Sure the extra dungeon gives you a decent run for your money, but the rest of the game almost gives you a nice path to the finish.
The story, however, is one for you to use your imagination on while at the same time piecing together the many side stories that come with the game. I found myself adding in plot lines and wondering what the game could be if I were to get a hold of it, which in my mind means that I am intrigued with the game and what it is bringing me.
The best part about the game were the artes. The way you can link together MANY combinations of artes with everyone one of your teammates every time makes the game worth trying to see what you can string together. Very well done system.
Terrible review done right here, but if you like easy and fun, this is a GREAT game to run through while you may be looking for an RPG with some in your face emotion and, while bland acting scars the game a bit, gives you a sense of understanding of what they are going through, then do it. Highly recommended for some Tales fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Extremely Enjoyable to Play

posted by Valinur (BOISE, ID) Jan 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

-Completion time: About 75 hours with very little farming, moderate sidequest completion
-Game type: RPG with four-character parties; every character can be played in battle
-World type: Mostly open world, linear in certain storyline sections
-Difficulty: Not overly difficult for experienced RPG players; played on hard until end (except last boss)
-Interest level throughout game: Held my attention from the start to the end
-Comparison to similar games: Much better than Tales of Graces F, slightly better than Tales of Vesperia, better than FFXIII-1 and 2
-Replay value: Better than previous Tales games, since you can select a different primary character and get a different perspective on the game's events

Good features:
- Characters are the best characters I've encountered in Tales games, even slightly better than Vesperia (full disclosure: I've only played Vesperia, Graces, and Xillia 1)
- Battle system is honestly enjoyable to play, although it is a bit repetitive after 40-50 hours of gametime. Still, you can play a different character and mix it up a bit, so it shouldn't get boring.
- Storyline moved fairly quickly; a little slow in a couple sections, but it was well-done. The characters behaved in a mostly believable fashion, and the main characters actually experienced personality progression, which is a step up from Graces/Vesperia.
Bad features:
- Abrupt ending, although Xillia's ending video at least provided more closure about the individual characters than the previous games.
- Near the end of the game (encountered this in previous Tales games as well), the storyline seems...rushed. It's difficult to describe, but the plot just becomes less enjoyable near the 85-90% completion mark.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »