Rent Tales of Vesperia for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tales of Vesperia

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

7419 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Life rot worth it.

posted by Jacket (MILLINGTON, TN) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

134 out of 138 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

This game will make you lock everyone out of your house and tell your life to wait a week, you'll need it.

The best part about the game, is it immediately pulls you in with a gripping motion and a plot that's easy to follow. You don't spend your time wondering what's happening or who's doing what, or anything. Its all so clear to you. The character design is beautiful, the environments are breathtaking, and just some of the visual effects of Spells, Attacks, Environments, or anything capable of being seen, can leave you in awe. The combat isn't repetitive, as you are constantly learning new abilities, and skills may be changed on the fly. Characters are interchangable, and so many customization options are available within the later part of the game.

The only thing I can really point out as a negative aspect is the fact that the game's achievements can be frustrating. Once you get involved in a boss fight, majority of which contain this, a "secret Mission" is available. Its a small objective within the fight that you must achieve. Some of them are very simple and should be used to win the fight regardless. But some are outrageous, and can leave you angry. Like hitting them at an exact moment, or making attacks hit a specific spot. It can be nerve wracking. Its well worth it though, as every mission awards a good item in the game and the achievement points that you oh so desire.

Above all, the game is amazing. I bought it, and I don't regret it period. I took my time, taking 83 hours to beat it the first time, Majority of the bosses fought in Hard difficulty, the remainders in Normal. It is very fun, and there is so much to do!!

I give it full recommendation, whether you are a fan of the Tales series, or you just like good games. Its absolutely amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game! -so fresh-

posted by N4STYfresh (NORTHPORT, NY) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

49 out of 50 gamers (98%) found this review helpful

I give this a 10 because i had a great time playing through the whole game!

~OVERVIEW~
Im a major gaming enthusiast and i love a great adventure, if you're an RPG fan of any kind this game is for you. I enjoyed every bit of game taking me 58 hours to beat. Just like every RPG i've played on average it takes me about 5-6 hours to really get into the game...after that get ready to spend every momment of free time playing through an amazing tale. Theres a great cast of characters all with their own unique abilitys and personality. Once you have the freedom to really roam the open world there is just so much to do and see, theres just so much replay value. I got hooked!

~GAMEPLAY~
The combat system is awsome! A fresh start for me because im used to the oldschool turn based, all the combat in this game is done in real time. Later in the game you'll have the ability to change your group leader and characters during battle to add more depth to the combat. I like how you always see the enemy first so you're always prepared. Every boss in the game was awsome to fight, even the giganto monsters you stumble upon roaming around the open world are wild to battle. Overall the game is a lot of fun to play!

~GRAPHICS~
I will never nit pick! Overall this game is great looking the environments, characters, bosses, combat artes, spell effects, EVERYTHING! If you have an HD tv your eyes will be in for a treat!

~SOUND~
Just like any other RPG...epic soundtrack! Great battle music, every environment has a good tune, boss and giganto monster music is totally EPIC, and the voice acting is good.

~CLOSING COMMENTS~
I recommend any RPG fan to give this game a play through, i know you'll have fun playing it. You'll get attatched to the characters and never want to stop playing until you beat the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Terrific Tale!

posted by Gamepro3 (CAPE CHARLES, VA) May 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Tales of Vesperia is beautifully done RPG created by bandai namco.First I will begin this review with the story.I don't want to spoil anything for anyone so I will tell like this.The story begins on a planet called Terca Lumeris.The games protagonist Yuri Lowell is a downtown boy from the worlds captial Zaphias.Born and raised in the lower quarter.Who sets off on a journey to recover the aque blastia from the lower quarters fountain.Which was stolen by some unknown thief.This small task turns into a full blown adventure when he meets princess Estelle.A naive pink haired noble from the castle.Yuri & Estelle later meet karol, Rita, Judith ,& Raven.All the characters are very endearing, you will find yourself loving them all.Overall the the story is very good! The graphics are just absolutely stunning.From the character models to the towns to the lushly colored environments.This game looks like a Saturday morning anime cartoon,& the character expressions look realistic, & believable.Just pure eye candy! But the battle system is what makes this game shine the brightest. It's just pure fun! Most of the battles are button smashing,but some require a little strategy to win.Each member of your party has magic type abilities called artes.Which are fun to use & flashy looking.There are also fatal strike moves that you can use that kills most enemies in one hit. The voice acting is topnotch for an English dub.I thought it was going to be mediocre at best.But I was wrong.The musical score is marvelous,and fits the game well.The world of Tales of Vesperia is littered with hundreds of hilarious skits.That are just a joy to watch over, & overt again! The dialogue is very clever & well written too.Nothing childish & silly.The sound affects are great the controls are finely crafted, & the puzzles are great,but not very challenging but they are fun to solve nontheless.All in all this game is just an epic enjoyable adventure,and the best RPG on the 360. This tale is wonderfully told

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Still happy with the Tales series

posted by Kream86 (PLANT CITY, FL) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I've been a huge fan of all the Tales games released so far. This title was definitely not a let down.

One thing I look for in RPGs in general is character development. This game had a very good story that worked out perfectly with the diverse cast of characters. The protagonist was amazingly likable for me personally. I'm usually annoyed by most protagonists in RPGs are they often play the dumbfounded close-minded individual in the game. Not this time!

All in all, an excellent game. There is a great deal of replay value to this title too. I won't get into why for spoiler reasons, but its definitely going to take a good while if you want to finish all there is to do in Tales of Vesperia.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing story!

posted by CheeseMania22 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The story in this game is amazing! The characters are lovable and fun. The graphics are very pretty and smooth. Some parts of the game i was in awe of how amazing it looked. The game is long and im probably not even half way done with it. Their is coop, local and online.
Me and my two sisters play through it with me. The battle system is NOT turn based. It's real time fighting, so it feels like a fighting genre game. The more you progress the more combos you can do, so the fighting feels fresh and new. If your a RPG fan, fighting fan, Anime fan, and just love a great story. This game is for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best of the tales of series

posted by Ninjalord (BIDWELL, OH) May 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I have played alot of the tales of series but this one was as good as they said it was. The anime like qualitys and voice work was done amazingly not to mention the opening, if you have liked the prvious Tales of series i suggest playing this one and newcomers should play this o get a taste for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tales of Vesperia

posted by CaptainX79 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

23 out of 26 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I usually don't review games, actually I never have before, but this game has compelled me to do so and hopefully if you play this game it will do the same for you.
I traditionally go for more western RPG's like oblivion, mass effect, or even games like Fate on the PC but something about this game drew me in. The characters are pretty good and the voice work is top notch especially yuri I love his confidence and sarcasm mixed with the fact that he's just an average joe from the wrong side of the tracks who's got nothing to prove, he is who he is. so far the rest of the cast is pretty good too and they all work good together, Anyways enough about that.
One of the first things that I noticed about this game was the graphics, they are so good that I thought I was playing a saturday morning cartoon. Speaking of playing the battles are fast paced and fun, no turn based nonsense here its all real time and that is a fresh breath of air from same old same old RPG's out there (you know who you are...) Villages are not so huge that it takes hours just to find the weapon shop instead they are on a small scale and easy to navigate and find what you need.
I am only about ten hours in but I can already see myself spending 10 times that much exploring and enjoying this game, hope you can too...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic....

posted by kronicuser (SAINT PETERS, MO) Jan 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is coming from someone who is new to the vesperia series. Epic is just one word to desribe this amazingly done game. Picture final fantasy but in combat mode you can do combos yourself instead of relying on the A.I system. Graphics, characters, storyline, and gameplay all amazing. I would highly recommend to rent this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A really good JRPG.

posted by Psychei (SPANISH FORK, UT) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great JRPG, this game is as Japanese as you can get from the Anime graphics, to the colorful storyline, if you are a fan of Anime or JRPG's this will not disappoint.

This game was a great addition to the Tales lineup!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Decent game. Not perfect, but decent.

posted by MasterDragoon (HADDAM, CT) Dec 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Tales of Vesperia, what is it? a game in which your thrust into a world in which the plot changes from one to another? Or is it simply a game that really likes to knock you around and annoy you with all the bosses & dungeons?

The answer to that is both. Tales of Vesperia has a very good storyline, but its hard to follow. The final boss isnt who you think it is. This isnt revealed until literally towards the end. Tales of Vesperia:

Difficulty: 9.5
Gameplay: 8.2
Overall: 8.7

Tales of Vesperia, characters, they are decent. But once you get them all, you really start to wonder: who's the main character?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great game

posted by whboi334 (MONTGOMERY, AL) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Was not disappointed by this game. Great!!! I suggest you invest the time to give this a try. Interesting story. Good dialogue. And good character selection to boot. The only thing that interrupts gameplay is the constant dialogue cutscenes. While they are funny at times they do not progress the story any. Good game overall though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!

posted by Tanzindentod (BRISTOL, CT) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was AMAZING! the plot (which changes a lot, one day you're on a side quest, then oh my, it's a full-scale battle), the characters (the skits are funny, the characters show a wide array of personalities, I honestly fell in love with Raven like I did with Zelos back when I was playing Symphonia) and the many, MANY things you can do before the final battle (monster book, giganto monsters, guild sidequests, dog map thing, costumes/titles).

I recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a game that will keep you engaged for days. The graphics are beautiful, the movies are well rendered, and it reminded me a lot of Symphonia, somehow it had the same elements (up to you to make this comparison!), but it feels like a completely different game. I'm glad I rented this game. I wasn't into it at first but then it got better and better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tales of Vesperia. Stunning Classic!

posted by jsalomon89 (RENO, NV) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overview: if you just read the title at a passing Glance you'll most likely think that this is a sub-par unknown game. that is a mistake my friend a Very bad Mistake. this is a game that can compete with the best RPGs on the market today, and can even be ranked in the top 10 RPGs In History.

Plot: this game revolves around Yuri Lowell a Ex. Empire Knight who does his best the help the lower class in his own calm way. after Learning that a Precious item was stolen from the lower class he embarks on a search and retrieval mission that get real complicated real quick and it's up to him and the friends he meets to sort through this mess.

this is a game that is highly engrossing that will make you play deep into the night. It's a high action game with a pull-you-in-and-never-let-go-Story and a believable Cast of Chars. The voice acting in this game is top notch. and its a long Juicy game that even if you speed right though it it'll still take you more that 30 Hours to complete and if you try for 100% Completion it's come to around 60 hours of playtime.

this game is well worth your time and money. Just pick it up and see for yourself. I guarantee you'll never what to put is down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection at its best

posted by Tommicter917 (MARGATE, FL) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great, if you like jrpg's and Anime BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!! Nice long story and this game can take you hurs to beat so not a waste of time and over great gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's okay

posted by Typhon117 (LITCHFIELD PARK, AZ) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Tales of Vesperia is a really good game, with fun combat mechanics (think of final fantasy strategy with more fluidity) good story (I admit to not finishing it) with some very overshadowing flaws.

Graphics: Nothing new, nothing we haven't seen before, not in a bad sense at least.

Sound: Background and fight music can be very catchy, but repetative later on. Characters themselves don't sound particularly annoying.

Gameplay: Very fun, what makes this game even better is that is has 4-player couch co-op. Although they can only lend a hand in combat you will be glad to have friends over bots (seeing as how even with the strictest settings, AI would gladly let the big bosses rip them a new one). No random encounters, you can finally influence who and what you fight (bosses exempted)

Replay value: Unknown of, have to finish

Overview:
PROS~
-4 player coop
-Story isn't half bad
-Very long game
-Unique fighting mechanics

Cons~
- Bosses are a b!itch in this game, very unforgiving
- Levels are very linear, with the occasional chest that's like 5 feet off the main path
- No side quests whatsoever, if you want to level up your characters without progressing too far in the main story then you have to GRIND GRIND GRIND GRIND GRIND, not fun.

Worth a rent, not a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best RPGs out there

posted by LrDUltimte (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Looking for a long engaging story with great characters and fun combat? This is a gem of a game! Tons of stuff to do, great voice work, engaging plot, very likeable characters, the list goes on... RENT IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If i had 3 thumbs they all would be up.

posted by Culex7 (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First and formost this game is one of thee best rpg's i have ever had the honor to play. I have been a huge fan of rpg's since dragon warrior 1 for NES; so thats saying alot...atleast in my mind. The story totaly pulls you in and you never want to leave, the characters have alot of depth (probably due to the fact that they have little cut scenes through out the game where the characters interact and have conversations). The main character Yuri is a solid bad"donkey" ;) with a dark brooding heart of gold, estele is a great healer/cleric type person,rita's a pure mage who has devestatingly amazing spells, and raven is one of the funniest dirty old men ive seen in a game. As for the other characters Judith,karol,rapede are all just as good but my team are the ones i mentioned earlyer; thats one more thing that makes this game a hit,options, there are so many. Options are even optional. The fighting leaves you wanting more and more beasts to tear to shreds, not to mention the fantastic idea to make the fighting co-op with up to 3 other friends, thats right 4 player rpg; now those are rare my friends. Moves you learn are called artes, the more you use them they actualy get faster and do more damage and can even help you learn new moves by equiping certain moves together. The combo system is a deffinate plus, you go from physical attacks to base artes->altered artes->arcane artes-> incredibley nasty combos lol. Mystic artes and burst artes are your bread and butter over-kill which this guys is a huge fan of; and yes your teammates that are playing with you can do them too which leads to some devistating team-ups. I have logged over 70hrs into this game(with 2 of my budies) and we are going to play the game all the way through again its so good, they unlock a harder difficulty after you beat it as well as some other ingame content. I now own this game! And so should every other rpg fanatic out there, you all know who you are and your social life will suffer greatly lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game full review

posted by DreKane (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Aug 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Alright a classic jrpg. I would say a must play for any fan of rpg's, animes, and stories. This game has a lot of replay value i beat it 3 times each time loved it. alright.
STORY: the story is long intricate there are some twist some plot turns and there is an entire fantasy world to explore not any mistakes where it doesn't feel real. There characters are unique. I quickly fell in love with the characters and truly believed it all. the story is smooth and theres a ton to do. 10/10
Gameplay: i like the gameplay its basically like you run into monsters then it cuts into a fight scene mode w/e and from there you move around straight to your opponent or away like in most fighters unless entering free run by holding a button down u can jump while not in free mode while in defensive mode you can learn techniques like backstep where u will jump backwards long story short its intricate there's a lot of room for growth to get better and if u want to make it challenging it can be if u want casual more for story it can be. I think its very intelligently done. it gets repetitive and isn't immensley satisfying but moderatley. 9/10

those 2 things are the most important to me this game will instantly grab and bring you into an awesome fantasy world with epic battles great characters and a creative story one of my favourite rpgs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Grandia all over

posted by KevinKnowsMost (CHARLES TOWN, WV) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very entertaining RPG. No surprises while running from point a to b. Enemies can be stunned and attacked to gain an advantage (big plus) Party is 4 people and your stuck controlling one of them until you make a special item to be able to swap leaders in battle. Skills are learned via equipment, you wear a sword with "Ultra super awesome boost" well not exactly that but you get to learn soooo many skills that you have to literally select your passive and active skills. They have it where you can set the strategy of each member of the party when attacking, tell who to use what spell or item and to flee. Story line is pretty epic. Never a dull moment and they provide you with a synopsis of what to do next. Either way Yuri Lowell and his trusty sidekick Rapede ( a dog whos got a pipe hanging from his mouth only to flip into a KNIFE!) keep this story thriving to the very end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Give this one a shot

posted by staab1981 (WESTPORT, WA) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Took me a while to enjoy this game. After a couple hours though, I consider this one of the better RPGs ever made. Great story with awesome visual style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good RPG

posted by Trepko (SAN ANGELO, TX) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its a pretty interesting RPG. I stopped playing most RPGs after PS2 because most were really fail. Tales of Vesperia has great characters and a good developing plot. Off the bat it'll be sorta lameish the first couple hours as most JRPGs are, but once you get about 5-6 hours into it the fun starts. Its really hard to put the controller down for me when I start playing which hasn't happened to me in an RPG for a long time now. Overall its a good game. The only quarrel I have is the dialogue there is just so much DIALOGUE. You have a cutscene and right after the cutscene you always have another dialogue amongst the characters. Gets a tad annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Such a great play, bought a copy after returning.

posted by Vadgebender (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Couldn't freaking leave it. 170 hours in about a month. Bought the game from XBL after returning it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Surprised

posted by thoga3tl (ASHBURN, VA) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just finished the game and have to say I was pleaseantly surprised. Excellent story with lots of twists to keep you interested. The characters also hold your attention with quite an array of personalities(although the dialogue can get a little corny at times). There is enough customization (weapons, armor, accesories) to keep any RPG fan happy. The world in which the game takes place is very diverse with plenty of different citys, towns, and factions. The only complaint that I had (hence the 9 as opposed to a 10) was that there were one or two places in the game where I knew my objective but couldn't figure out how to advance the story. A walkthrough would help with this however.

All in all I am usually a very biased Square Enix/Bethesda rpg kinda gamer. However, Tales of Vesperia has gotten me to put a couple more Namco rpgs in the queue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by izzey64 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you play any kind of RPG you should pick this game up. It's just fun. plain and simple. I still haven't beaten it and i've put around 8 hours into it so far. It's easy to get into, but hard to put down. The controls, are simple the AI on your team is great, and your objective is usually pretty clear. The story is also very rich. the worst thing i could say about this game is that the armor you make/buy doesn't show up on your characters, but your weapon does. That's the worst thing i could think of for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The great J-rpg

posted by negimafan7 (VENICE, FL) May 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is quite fun and also very long. It took me a few weeks to get through it...not including the side quests. Its about a 60 hour game and a fun one at that. The battles near the half way point start to feel tedious but thats some what expected seeing the half-way point is like 25-30 hours,luckily moster avoiding potions are cheap and always available to you.Some characters make you cringe with the cliche moments but its still managable..to a point. the game could easily be a 9 if they let you skip cutscenes, seriously you have to watch a cutscene again if you lose to a boss. Seeing as this game is more strategy than grinding the fact you can't skip cutscenes is unacceptable.

Graphics:8
Sound:8..repetitive tunes
Difficulty:7
Replay:5..Id imagine not high considering you can't skip the cutscenes.
Buy or rent: If you have the one game rental plan buy, two game plan rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse