Rent Tales of Graces f for PS3
view large frontback

Tales of Graces f

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

2051 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best JRPG since Tales of Vesperia

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

24 out of 25 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

You are looking at this review because you are a fan of JRPGs. Well, I will keep this simple. This is arguably the best JRPG on the PS3. If you played the excellent Tales of Vesperia, this game is quite similar to that in terms of gameplay, although it has a completely different story and world. It starts off slow and full of JRPG cliches (including amnesia!), but the story and characters develop at a nice pace. Graphics are good, mostly pastels and cheerful. Music and voicework are well done. The highlight of the game is the combat: its deep, quick paced and exciting. Lastly, the character development system allows a ton of flexibility. I am someone who just finished Mass Effect 3 and was looking for a break from that very depressing (but outstanding) game, and Tales of Graces f arrived at the perfect time. its a light-hearted JRPG, but hits all the right notes. If you are a fan of JRPGs, this one is a no-brainer, you might not play a better one this console generation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

JRPG-ing at it's finest

posted by SirKoenig (HOBOKEN, NJ) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying that I've been a fan of the "Tales" series since I first played Tales of Destiny back on PS1. With so many series falling off, either in quality or in just producing games, in the same timeframe (Final Fantasy, Suikoden, Star Ocean, Dragon Quest, etc) it's refreshing to see that Namco has still been able to keep the formula fun, exciting, and fresh and produce an awesome game.

While the story is relatively predicable the majority of the way through this title, it's still a great story with excellent character development at nice, steady pace. Even better is that, the characters, while quirky, aren't nearly as annoying as many of the JRPG's released of late which is very refreshing. Combat as absolutely awesome and the level up system is solid and pretty addictive in terms of learning new skills and looking for new titles to learn those skills. Plenty of sidequests, included DLC (the game isn't quite over when you think it is and that's not even a spoiler), and New Game+ definitely make this an adventure on the longer side of things, but it's well worth it in the end.

Final Word - If you have a PS3 and are a fan of RPG's, there's no way you should miss this title. A guaranteed good time had by all (if you have the time to invest).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tales of Grace

posted by big_money_Mike (CASEYVILLE, IL) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't normally write reviews but this game deserve one. First i bought this game the day it came out but i really didn't know much about it and i don't play JRPG. It has a great story and game play. I love how in the story you actually learn to care about the characters. You can get lost in the story. The game play is very fun compared to others RPGs now a days. You level up your characters and you also level up titles for each of your party members in which gives them bonus moves and abilitys. The only bad thing I've seen playing 40+ hours is sometimes they don't give you enough direction there was a time in which i got lost and spent hour+ trying to find where to go. I don't know why some puzzles like the one i got lost on make you backtrack so much but others are straight forward. It was a wii game originally so the levels are pretty closed of and the graphics aren't the best but still pretty descent. The soundtrack is amazing if they ever have it for sale i would totally buy it. This is a must rent/buy if you like JRPGs or at all interested in this game. 9.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love the game!!!

posted by JmLegend10 (MARSHALL, MN) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Great game! I think I'm going to keep this because its fun and it supports namco to release more tales of games overseas. I reccomend this to all jrpg and tales of fans! 10/10 because its been a while since there were any great jrpg game like in the good ol ps1 and ps2 days and of course for a tales of games in the US. Hope more people see what a great game this is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tales of Graces f: Restoring Faith

posted by AdrianCC (AUGUSTA, GA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

It has been a while since Namco has brought over a fresh Tales of entry, the last being Vesperia for the 360. Although we missed out on the PS3 remaster of that title, we were lucky enough to receive the remaster of a different tale; Tales of Graces F for the Playstation 3.

At first, the game picks up a bit slow. You're introduced to the main characters (Asbel, Richard, and Sophie) as children and have to guide Asbel Lhant on his road to adulthood. Eventually things take a turn for young Asbel Lhant, and the game sets off on a dramatic note. Seven Years Later, the game truly begins. From a mission issued to him by his Kingdom, to assisting his childhood friend Richard on his own quest, and then struggling to find the power so that he may protect his friends, Asbel embarks upon a truly grand adventure.

The game offers extensive hours of content, with an expansive and grand story. The battle system created solely for the use of this game is not only intuitive and fresh, but highly addicting. Players may find themselves getting caught up enjoying the battle system in order to hone their skills and level their characters as opposed to progressing the story at times. The Dualizing system offers players the ability to upgrade their items, synthesize their items into even greater ones, and the ability to fuse monster drops into valuables that can be sold for a premium. The Title System is unique and refreshing, allowing players to also customize their character's growth as they see fit, while not having an exhausting amount of options.

I personally have found myself logging 100+ hours, and plan on spending more time with the game. Between DLC updates and the game's New Game+ feature, along with other side content such as a Trial Mode and Bonus Dungeon, there is easily tons of things for an RPG enthusiast to find within the game. Tales of Graces F is a must have for any RPG collection, and is also a great entry point into this extensive series. May you all enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by relic2j (CINCINNATI, OH) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Love the storyline. in depth game. I got attached to it. only con i see is battle system gets hard to get used to. Still a 10 star to me. wish another comes to ps3 soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great JRPG

posted by amobex (MARION, IN) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i can honestly say i signed up for gamefly just to play this game. i haven't played any of the other tales series but now i realize i have been missing out and will be back tracking. the games combat system was very well developed and the co-ordination of the AI was above average in most cases. the crafting system(dualizing) was very well put together with lots of outcomes thus providing a completionist gamer with a vast array of things to make and pursue. my only and very minor complaint about this game was the childhood arc, it was just really slow and didnt grasp my attention quick enough. but that's ok because as the game went on i really fell in love with the characters and the story. this game deserves the attention of the masses. PLAY THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is Way to much fun

posted by Lenny732 (BAYVILLE, NJ) Jul 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I never thought I would find an rpg with such a weird name to be enjoyable. I have never played any of the tales of games but after this I will have to reconsider and play the others. The story is a little kiddish and goofy but its still got a warm sunny feeling when you beat the game and get all the closure. Then BAM more story mode after you beat it. I mean this is what all games should be like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another Epic Tale

posted by DuskElezen (PINE BUSH, NY) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

20 out of 23 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I just bought this so I haven't seen much but from playing from 9am to 3pm, I have found this is another good installment.

Voice actors: "English" 10/10 very good actors usually I just use Japanese voice overs for these being I love JRPG and why not use the original voice?

Story: I know for a fact Namco and anything related with the Tales series has great story and from what I have seen already its original its not the same rehashed stuff we are usually fed by other games. 10/10

Graphics: First off loading this up I was amazed how they keep giving each game a cartoon look to which I'm usually not fond of because poor execution, however this was improved sense Tales of Vesperia 10/10 on Graphics.

System controls: Now my biggest issue usually! Controls they improved the interface when you hit the Triangle it shows a improved version from Tales of Vesperia, the in-game combat has been improved from the occasional button clicking to a more tactical style of play they gave even more improved AI style play with out the huge confusion of Vesperia AI style settings, you get CC you start with the lowest 1-2-3-4 and gear furthers this each time you make an attack you use a point and tapping X + moving the directional button changes the combo's making it a neat new style that allows you to even evade while in mid-combo allowing for a rush of fun each time, perfect evades also give CC back allowing you to chain combo's over all this is another 10/10 if I could it would have been 30/10, Never have I been so happy to have good controls.

I was initially planning to rent this but after playing a short demo 1 day before as well as Naruto Ninja Storm Generations (Demo) I bought this over Naruto, if your a fan of good story, great gaming controls I recommend you buy this game rent it if you feel the need but if you like this buy the previous ones I'm sure you will find a series that a generation will like and keep liking, Support bringing JRPG's to the states by buyin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tales of GREAT

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Apr 23, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I love this game.

FINALLY, after 6 years, the PS3 has a LEGIT JRPG that is actually WORTH playing and GOOD.

I will say, the game takes a bit of time. It's got a slow and long prologue where you play as a kids. It's cheesey, bright, terribly cliche'd anime and paired with bouncey, bad music. But trust me... it's necessary.
Once that part is over, (probably not even two hours), the real game begins. More abilities, faster, combat, better music, more serious story arcs and just awesome awesomeness.

The game looks FANTASTIC. You'd never know it was a port. And the gameplay? You'd have never guessed it was once a Wii-waggle game.

Everything has been translated so well. The voice acting is great, although it's not synced (who cares) and there's tons of little gameplay distractions from creating items, cooking, finding Discoveries and memories.

This game is great great great and will keep you busy for a long time.

Don't bother with the DLC. It will bankrupt you.

You like RPG's. If you've been dying for a JRPG, this game is absolutely, without question, what you need, what you want and what you have been waiting for!

Play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of The Best JRPG on PS3

posted by AdamCar (HONOLULU, HI) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game is so much fun i cant stop playing it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, not Great

posted by Schtiv (CAPE CORAL, FL) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a game that any RPG fan will enjoy. However it is not as good at the last Tales game "Tales of Vespiria". I was really hoping for greatness out of this game but it seems to me that they took a step back instead of continuing with the amazing success of Vespiria.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great semi rpg!!

posted by Devilsgrimice (ANACORTES, WA) May 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Now let me explain by saying the last real RPG I played was FF9. People get role playing games mixed up with ROLL playing games. If you will let me elaborate a bit it will become clear. Any video game could be considerd a role playing game. Givin the fact that when I play a super mario bros. game I play as either mario or luigi. If I play a legend of zelda game I play as link, character wise. This does not make these games role playing games. What makes a role playing game in my opinion is the aspect of a roll per action. Based on stats if I have an evasion stat of 38 and enemy has speed of 57 plus attack of 10 he should have an average of hitting me 21xaccuracy%divided by chance of the dice roll. Although all I have to do in a action/RPG is tap o/a button and completly negate that prosses. This game is great for story and combat but the fact that it's labeled a RPG is sad because the west doesn't know what that means, and has thrown the term around so much that americans think anything with numbers is rpg'ish. That being said, It is not somthing to pass up. Even though it was orininaly released on Wii it definitly shines on any other platform. The story is phenominal and character immersion is superb. The first few hours are a bit trying but, get past that and you have an instant classic on your hands. the battle system is awsome just like star ocean. but the random dialog between battles is LOL. I give this game a 9 1/2 out of ten because I haven't enjoyed a game this fun/long for an entire generation of console playing. Not a true RPG but the best compromise I've found.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game play dull story.

posted by jakejoseph (SANDY, UT) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Very fun game play, I had difficulty being captured by the story though. The hook never sunk in!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cant let go of the past

posted by vernula1deus (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This "style" of game is one that has appealed to me since my days playing my gameboy color way back when. The only problem is that ever since playing the game "skies of Arcadia" no game of this genre seems to live up to it. They try to hard to change an already perfectly good gameplay system. I do not recommend this game to anyone unless they enjoy battle scenes that are button mashing and yet not at the same time. plot was appealing but the battle system was my turn off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Real Time Battle ruins RPGS

posted by armadazero (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 4, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Real time battle systems have completely ruined RPGs these days. You could have the greatest story in the world, but as soon as you give the game a real time battle system you just kill it. The reason being is that you don't have the control over your characters like you do in previous RPGs. Turn base may not have the movement, but at least you can control your characters. In this game you can only control one character at a time, and the characters you don't control will just stand around waiting to get beat down by lizard men. Sure they throw an attack or two, but move often then not they will just stand around waiting to get killed by the enemy. The story is ok, but until the real time battle system can be perfected where the other characters in battle don't just stand around getting beat down by the enemies. RPGs need to return to turn based battle systems. That way a player has complete control of his characters, and no one is standing around dumb founded waiting to be killed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tales of Graces F falls short

posted by DragonDan2453 (CHANNAHON, IL) Jul 8, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

I played both Vesperia and Abyss, so I was expecting this game to be just as good. It turns out, that wouldn't be the case. Don't get me wrong, this game is still amazing, but compared to Vesperia and Abyss, it falls short. The gameplay isn't as good nor is the storyline. I had the game on normal difficulty, yet the boss fights were nearly impossible, no matter how many battles I fought beforehand. The gameplay was changed for this game, for reasons I don't know why. As for the story, it's not as gripping and surprising as Vesperia and Abyss. This game is amazing, but not as amazing as the other Tales games I've played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's meh at its best and disastrous at its worst

posted by keeton52 (PORTSMOUTH, OH) Jun 6, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

It only gets 6 of 10 from me. I liked it. Some of it. But the combat is what knocked a good three points off. While constant effing head bobbling the characters do chopped off the last point.

If it had kept Vesperia's less automatic combat system, the three points could have stayed but the one would still be deducted for head bobbles.

I generally liked everything else. (Note: I did not mean to say "Genuinely.")

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

slow

posted by thmswalk (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Slow moving game... Not bad concept a little one directional moving game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

not stinky poo its awesome poo!!!!

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Sep 13, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

k, my first point is u big bozos who trash talk this game!!

YOU DO NOT I REPEAT YOU DO NOT PLAY A GAME FOR 20 MINUTES AND SAYS ITS TERRIBLE U BIG IDIOTS!!

5 PEOPLE HATED THIS GAME AND U KNO WHAT? BULLCRAP IF YOUR GONNA TRASH TALK A GAME LIKE THIS ONE, DO IT LEGITMATLY!

THERE R TWO GOOD THINGS ABOUT THIS GAME:
THE PLOT: ITS DECENT AND HAS A NICE STORY IN IT
AND CHARACTERS: THEY R FUNNY AND HAVE A GOOD FRIENDSHIP IN THEM I LIKE THE PART WHERE THEY MADE A PACT TO ALWAYS B FRIENDS.
HOW IS THIS GAME A STINKY POO?

ALSO ASBEL IS A GOOD HERO HE WANTS TO B A KNIGHT AND HELP OTHERS AND SAVE PEOPLE

AGAIN DO NOT PLAY A GAME FOR 20 MINUTES AND SAY ITS A PIECE OF POO

TO THE 5 PEOPLE WHO HATED THIS GAME UR UNREASONABLE AND SELFFISH

THANK YOU FOR READING MY REVIEW!

and get a life.....instead of trash talking a good game that has friendship and helping people....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

need to play this game

posted by nero9880 (HOOVER, AL) Aug 29, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

nv did finish it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A weak Tales game

posted by Kapowne (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 18, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I am a big Tales fan, and when i saw this I just had to play it! The game starts off really well, but the beginning intro is just so long and unfortunately really predictable.

I play Tales games because the story just takes me in, and unfortunately this one was pretty stale. From the first couple steps into the game I had a great connection to Asbel, his brother hubert and Cheria.
But as the game went on the only character I came to enjoy was hubert (as horribly predictable as he was) because he was a character who I could actually feel something towards. there was just no flare to the characters in this game. there arguments all seemed to just drop off, and their relationships seemed only partly fleshed out. I really wanted to like this game but as I got closer and closer to the end it just got boring. I could easily guess for myself where the characters were going and what would happen when they got there and so on and so forth. By the end of the game I felt as though I no longer needed a reason to play it.
I really wanted to like this game but I just couldn't do it. Overall Weak

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Phenomenal!

posted by bettysfruityvag (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 26, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

The best parts about this game is,
1. Addicting gameplay- If you have played any Tales games or Starocean you would be very familiar with the core fighting which has only gotten better with time. Things worth mentioning about the fighting like titles, A and B art, dualizing, and if you step out of the main characters shoes and play another character, their fighting styles all vary. You don't even get all of your tools at your disposal until you beat the game and play the extra chapter.
2. Replay value- Again, sooo much here in this one disc it will have you hooked for days for one play through. After you beat the first storyline you have New game + or legends and legacies which picks up right where the first storyline lays off and brings a FULL HEARTWARMING finish for the whole game. Wonderfully done.
3. Storyline/ skits- This game has a lot of skits and extra scenes that are optional but draw you so much more into these charavters than any other tales game I've played. the beginning is drawn out, its not the type of game whrre you can just play for half an hour and expect to be satisfied, this game will take a lot of time.
Conclusion- Play this game. It is crazy fabulous. I'll be picking up the new Tales of Xillia game but I CANNOT imagine Xillia holding a candle to Graces (this game).
Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stanky poo...

posted by Sageous (COLUMBUS, OH) Jul 16, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

For all the fools who like the Tales series, you are all fools. All Tales games are poo on a disc. Just because only 1 good RPG comes out every 5 years, doesn't mean you should settle for poo. The Tales series, FF along with every NIS rpg fall into this category. Wasted Q slot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Reviews a bit late but..

posted by Blank03 (DEMING, NM) Jul 12, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

AHHHH, its been a while since I've played this kind of games since ps1. I didnt own ps2 but I've played quite a few games from a neighborhood rental ps2. Then when I bought my ps3, games were okay (a few great games but too far apart) but nothing with the oldschool RPG feeling and I'm a harcore RPG player. Buy it, I suggest(pre ordered it myself), lots and of playthrough value considering the age of the game and I only buy games that I would be spending a lot of time. Have fun playing. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse