Rent Tak and The Guardians of Gross for Wii
view large frontback

Tak and The Guardians of Gross

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
5.6

103 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

"Tak and the Guardians" of Bland

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've never seen the TV show, and this game doesn't give me a reason to check it out.
Tak and the Guardians of Gross is your typical 3D platformer done many times over (namely other games based on TV shows).
You do the basics: jump, beat up enemies, find stuff, and solve puzzles with different magic types.
The game plays just like the 3D platformer; the controls work for the most part, and the combat is a simple button masher that does the job.
But the designers just have to toss in a few extra hard jumps in a weak effort to stretch out the meager content. Without said jumps, this game might last three to four hours.
Another problem with this game is the magical moves are there just to solve boring and repetitive platforming puzzles. There's no exciting attack/defense move or a thrilling moment where I felt Tak was a strong magic user.
It's too bad; the boss battles are interesting and fun, and there's a great first person shooting level early in the game.
But I've seen 3D platforming far too often; Tak and the Guardians of Gross doesn't add anything new or exciting to the mix. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Has A Glitch

posted by michelle43 (MOSES LAKE, WA) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Once You Reach The Slime Level There Seems To Be a glitch And You Cant Progress From There I Was very Disapointed All Of That Work For Basically Nothing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

okay considering

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Oct 3, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

I have played all the Tak game there is.
This game is not based on any of the original games it is based off of the new Nickoloden seriouse Tak.
So it is not the game you thought it would be.
Oh... they changed Taks voice! I can't belive they did that.
It is a very slow game and I wouldn't recomend it unless you out and about you see a blockbuster or something and you want a game for the afternoon or day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Didn't have the heart to really play it

posted by DharmaBum (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

First of all, this game was like number 40 on my game queue. When I got the e-mail notification that this was coming instead of Just Cause 2, Crackdown 2, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, Resident Evil: Umbrella Chronicles, Ratchet and Clank: Tools of Destruction and a huge list of other recognizable, well reviewed top tier games, I was a bit confused and disappointed.

Between that and being all too aware of the sharp decline in quality of the Tak games over time, I just didn't have the heart to play the game longer than 5 minutes. Was the game good or bad? I don't mind that I don't know. I guess that's the important part of this review to take away: I could not bring myself to care about this game. FIVE OUT OF TEN'D!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok, but...

posted by copperfuel (MARIETTA, GA) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Compared to the original Tak games for the Gamecube, this is one is really short and really easy. We managed to beat the game in one afternoon in about 3 hours. I know its a kids game, but this is still really really easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

way too easy

posted by retic67 (CONNEAUT, OH) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Compared to the first Taks this one doesnt measure up.The whole game is way too easy beat the whole game in a couple hours.Even the bosses were easy. need to go bac k to earlier Tak.Good for kids but not adults.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tak and the Gaurdians of the gross:Review

posted by Chris333 (TEANECK, NJ) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Tak and the Guardians of the gross was a preety good viedo game for the action adventure category.This game has what you normally see in those type of viedo games beating up bad guys solving pussles,and lots of running jumping and climbing.The storyline behind the game I thought was pretty good. It was mostly based on the T.V. show (which is pretty good).The only think i think the creates should have improved on is making tak have a health bar.To make the game more challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's A lil...

posted by ENVYME1 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

boring I thought it would have more excitement than the last game but it was kind of worst...Try again in a few year!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Several Elements From Other Games; Makes This.....

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

{OK}. This is the first Tak game on the Wii and THQ has taken lots from other games...

Wall running from Persia, the collecting of orbs from Crash, the enemies from Elebits and Crash, wall climbing from Galaxy and TMNT, and killing enemies from Geist. THQ also added the the genres of on rail shooters and puzzles.

This might sound like a great game but it is not. The levels are lackluster at best and short, the story is average and the voice acting gets on the nerves (even when they they "I knew this was a bad idea). Also it does have 9 levels and not much in the mini game and challenge dept.

I like these types of action platformers but this one might be ok for kids. After 30min I got tired of it and put it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »