Rent TRINITY: Souls of Zill O'll for PS3
view large frontback

TRINITY: Souls of Zill O'll

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

1013 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Strange name, Fun game!

posted by zargot (BURLINGTON, VT) Apr 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just don't understand the bad reviews for this game after spending 50 hours playing I can say I honestly disagree.

Controls in this game are simple and basic, which is just fine as it is a rpg after all. Graphics aren't anything special, they are what I expect for a sort of sleeper title. Story is interesting and there are a lot of side stories that really branch out. Music is enjoyable during the game, always seems to be very accurate in setting the mood. Game play is fun and addictive hack and slash mixed with combos and magic.

This action/rpg was simple in the areas I like simple and more involving in other areas. The simple parts I really liked are the map and town system. I like traveling for one place to another is simply clicking on the location via the map. This I find edges out a lot of boring walking from one place to another and allows for constant game play and therefore fun.

The battle system and questing was what this game is about. You will be undertaking quest from the guilds in various towns, everything from item searching to monster hunting, and have to complete the task in order to obtain money and items. The stronger you are the better the quest you can undertake and thus the better the rewards. Battle was simple but not to simple, you can control one of three characters, the other two will auto, and their unique set of skills at one time. Hack and slash or use skill points you obtain through battle to level up new abilities and form different attack combos.

Story expands as much as you would like it to as well, there are many npc's in the game that can offer unique quest, completing them will open new stories and new quest. With tons of weapons and monsters to data log along with a titles you can earn for your characters, and maybe even a challenging hidden dungeon, you will easily spend 50 hours to finish this one up.

Once again I am a avid role playing fan and I really enjoyed this game. Don't miss out on this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty good game

posted by darkwolf99 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was actually a good game. I found the graphics were pretty good (And to those who say nay, all games look very similar graphics wise to me) The story for the game was a little flat you could say seeing as you kinda knew how it was going to end in a way right from the beginning, but it was still told nicely. the controls are nice and simple (but the skill system was odd seeing as I never found Areus's last passive skill), but irregardless. I'd give this game a 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dragon Warrior + Sidequest City = This Game

posted by SirKoenig (HOBOKEN, NJ) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Reading one of the reviews before I actually got this game, I saw someone mentioned this being akin to Dynasty Warrior. This comparison is dead on, but with vast improvements to the Dynasty Warrior's formula. Leveling up skills, new character classes (which aren't even really classes, just additional skill trees), an engrossing storyline, and plenty of things to do outside of the main quest. The lengthy adventure took me 60+ hours and could've taken more because you're constantly looking around (or at least I did) for additional quests, loot, etc.

That said, there could have been plenty more improvements that were not made. You only have 6 skills selected at any time (your tree has 12 total, so half of your skills go to waste), combat is repetitive (when you get fireball, and it's early on, you basically use this spell all day long to lay waste to everything around you), your companions do ok SOMETIMES, but more often than not are useless when you're not in control. Sure, you can switch between them but the second you do, the character you were previously is nowhere near as strong as you were when playing as him/here.

Final Word - Decently fun game if you're in the mood for an action RPG where you just beat up dudes all day long. I enjoyed it because the story wasn't too intense and I could fight battles without having to put much effort in. It was fun, but I didn't have to be invested at all to know what was going on. Kill the bad guy who murdered your dad? Got it. Find the item? No doubt. Kill xyz monster in such and such a forest? Easy. While I do love very involved RPG's with lengthy, complex storylines and intricate characters, it was nice to just sit back, relax, and take down an entire legion of bad guys without having to pay attention to every little detail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

TRINITY: Souls of Zill O'll

posted by OldSkewlRPGer (KIMBERLING CITY, MO) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the best RPG's i've played in a long time, and I have played alot of RPG's this year. Big story line and 80+hrs of GP if you complete the majority of "sidequests". If your old school like me, and loved the "Ultima Exodus", "Dragon Warrior", and the Original FF games then you'll love this 1!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Who is writtings these reviews?

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Feb 26, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This is the game people like me, and my daughter, have been waiting for. Koei, who makes all the Dynasty Warriors games, finally takes that gameplay engine and put it in an RPG, with European themes. If you love DW, you'll love this, with the except there is no local multiplayer. If you don't love DW, then why are you playing this?

Now as for gameplay, it's identical to DW but you can instantly switch between 3 characters. In fact you eventually gain the ability to switch "in attack" allowing for combo's. However, you never obtain any more characters (to control) than the first 3. Furthermore, unlike DW, you never become so powerful you can just burn through quests, you're always at just the right level to complete a quest. Really though, the easiest way to play is to just upgrade the redhead guys shooting attacks and stand back away from danger.

Lengthwise, this is possibly the longest game I've ever played besides Final Fantasy 3. It gets to the point where you stray away to play something else, but then miss it and come back. Although some of that length comes from visiting every town repeatably to find the next story quest.

Storywise, the game starts-out familiar, but by the end has terrific and sad story.

The music is good, there's endless content, and even a sexy bounty hunter later on. I loved it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hack and Slash meet RPG

posted by SaicaFox (DUBUQUE, IA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First of all this isn't a bad game by any means. It just lacks in certain areas.
Game play- Its hack and slash but has RPG skills to use in combat. You run around kill things get xp and also get money and the occasional item drop. You level up and updrade skills with SP. You can block and evade, which is helpful. Some monsters are huge and you fight about 20 to 30 things at once. That about sums up gameplay.

Graphics- There seems to be some type of grainy filter applied to the overall look of the game. It makes the game look worse. Why they put a filter on i dont know. Unless your on a HD TV this game looks like bad its very dark and hard to see with no gamma option. But in HD it looks decent. Animations are average. Models both character and enemy look good. Effects are nothing spectacular but get the job done.

Presentation- Menus menus menus, thats all you see when your not fighting. Towns-menu, dialogue-chat boxes, and lots more. The only exploration you do is in the games zones. That do have multiple areas but if you don't like that idea watch out for this game. Not only are there a lot of menus but they are generic and plain. Nothing special something you would see on a DS or PSP game not a 60$ 360 game. If it was 40$ that would be the right price. Oh but there are cut scenes that are fully voiced and animated but there are few and they don't last long some only 20 seconds.

Lasting appeal- Well the game has tons of quests most are opttional. Quests are balanced and different. I would say there are about 10 different types of quests. They are fun and each one does feel unique. The game should take you about 20-30 hours if you do all the quests and try to max level to 50. Story is ok but nothing great.

Over all its a decent game. If your a fan of hack and slash rpg you will feel right at home with this game. Just dont let the simple interface and menu system get to you. Its definitely worth a rent or a buy at a cheaper price maybe 40$.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good action RPG, has some problems

posted by Cylanth (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is an action RPG with a heavy emphasis on combat and looting.

PROS: Lots of quests, good (although unoriginal) story, lots of loot, lots of character customization. Unique combat system. Plenty of things to do. Streamlined presentation.

CONS: Voicework is not very good, combat can get tedious, quests are mostly generic, no world exploration, boring characters.

Overall: I give this a 9, but that may be skewed because I am a big fan of Japanese RPGs. Most people will probably give this a 7. The game has some issues, but if you can overlook them, the game can be fun and engaging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Suprisingly good

posted by Bugman01 (FLORAL CITY, FL) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not too many games out there for PS3 like this. Granted the few there are are pretty good. However, this game does offer some fun things that some don't. The only game similar at all to this RPG/ActionRPG are Final Fantasy. In enjoy length in some games and this is one where it works. A Little repetative, how many GOW remakes are there, but upgrades happen fast and continously. I dont think the 6.3 is a good rep. of this game. For those of us looking for this game very good indeed. And we need more like it with improvements. A good start for PS3 in this genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Trinity: Bowls of chill

posted by Obscured (WEST BRANCH, MI) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

As a huge rpg fan i have played my fair share. Trinity offers nothing gamers havent seen done before. The story is bland and characters are very forgettable. You start out with your main character Areus thirsty for revenge for the death of someone close to him. Throughout your journey you will run into a few new characters. You can switch between characters the the push of a button. Each is designed for specific situations in battle. You have your tank, warrior, and rouge. The combat is strait forward you have 3 main attacks and it gets pretty repetitive. The graphics are ok nothing stellar. You pick up quests from a tavern or guild that are the basic go kill this collect this and return mission type. There are no towns to explore or openness to this game. Its all point and click where you want to go. With rpgs now days as open and free to do what and go where trinity offers none of that. Trinity just falls short on all aspects of what makes a good rpg. If you are a rpg fan looking for something to pass the time until something better comes out this would be good for a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

redundancy at its finest

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game claims to have a huge world, yet it isn't. There seem to be only a few levels to choose from, and all of the quests are repetitive and boring after a while. You don't get to choose different magical spells; basically all you get are fire and ice. The big dude has earth magic, and the vampire chick has darkness powers. Nothing special, although I did play this game through to completion it was just as I stated above: nothing special. If you rent this game, don't expect anything great, just something vaguely entertaining enough to keep you busy for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rock paper scissors

posted by AKWillis (WILLOW, AK) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a boring button masher.

You basically spam attack unless you come to a mini-boss in which case you use its elemental weakness when prompted then proceed to spam attack until you need to stun it again.

It's not terrible but it is very repetitive with awful voice acting and stupid dialogue. For an action game like this it is absolutely necessary that the combat be interesting, which is not the case here. Might have worked better as a turn based RPG.

I'd discourage anyone from buying this game.

5.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

An RPG? Action/Adventure is more like it.

posted by BaIIsweat (MEDFORD, OR) Sep 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I guess my biggest gripe with this game is that it didn't have the RPG feel I was looking for. It was primarily action based, but it claims it is pure RPG. If the title had said action/rpg under genre I would've been far less disappointed and far more ready to play what I got. I wasn't in the mood for an action game when I rented this, though, and so it probably gets an unfair shake in this review.

Graphics = 6/10.
Kind of blah, but not horrible. I'm not really a stickler for graphics, but when I'm playing something that is really fast paced action, hack n slash I expect it to be pretty to make up for my constantly having to mash X.

Story = 5/10
It's just blah. I couldn't have cared less for it, and as far as I can tell that's the only reason they slapped RPG onto this game, because it has a story... I always figured there was more to an RPG than just a story. Sure, you do increase your skills, etc., but it was pretty linear and boring in my eyes.

Gameplay = 5/10
I've pretty much stated my opinions on the feel of this game. It's just a re-stamping of something that's been done for a couple of decades now, but it doesn't contribute anything exciting, innovating, new, or even up to par with similar games that came before it. It's a limited strategy, button-masher.

Audio = ??/10
I've never cared much about the music in a game. Chances are if there is going to be nothing important and just BGM playing I've got headphones and some real music playing to keep me more attentive to the button-mashing.

Final thoughts:
Rent it if you're in the mood to try something. I wouldn't buy it. If you want to buy an RPG of this nature buy Nier. It's much better, and houses a lot more RPG elements to suit the button-mashing action. It also throws more strategy into the battle-system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unexceptable

posted by SCROTAL (DENVER, CO) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I try to give games a chance and often find the good in bad execution, however, we have come to the point in technology where bad execution should not be tolerated. This game would be something i would have expected on the ps1. You point and click on a map to go to places and towns, where there is a sub menu for building in the town, ie; tavern, guild, shop. With text based dialog. Treasure chests reload in the same areas, and quests often have you going back to the same places over and over again. This game could have been a DLC on market place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Clumsiest controls ever

posted by junkmail (ODELL, OR) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

First, it's not an RPG.
Second, the absolute clumsiest controls ever.
Immediately returned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Trinity Souls

posted by gamewizone (LEOLA, PA) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This game was like the worst RPG from SNES with PS2 graphics, basically a very weak game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Entertaiment for hours

posted by TallusTheKiller (OGDEN, UT) Jan 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

When I first got this game I was skeptical because of the low rating of it. However the trailers looked quite decent. Once I actually got the game and played it I have to say that the 6.3 GameFly rating does not do it justice.

The story behind the game is very well developed and the combat style was very well thought out. The controls were easy to master and the selections of different abilities makes the game more interesting. The only reason that there is a 9 instead of a 10 is because I believe that the characters should have talked more. But all-in-all, brilliant and well made game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game better then final fantasy

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Nov 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

morons say this game is terrible and have no sense for games. this games characters r not dogi and adol wannabes. there is a lot to this game.

and this game is defined as an "action rpg" not action and adventure. if this was action and adventure it would b an a lot more intense and harder. but its wicked easy and i'd say its worth buying and keeping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad mixing

posted by SageSix (JAMAICA, NY) Jun 1, 2013

Member since May 2013

This game is horrible. For one thing: when I put it into my PS3 the music and sound effects is too loud. Secondly, I cannot hear the dialogue whatsoever no matter how I adjust it. And I can't adjust any voice settings even if I wanted too. Even if I change the sound output .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lacking Substance

posted by Jason51x (EL CAJON, CA) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

So, I heard of this game from playing Warriors Orochi 3, which had Nemea Dyneskal in it, and was curious. I figured, at worst it would be another Dynasty Warriors clone; unfortunately it had even less depth than that, which I found rather impressive since even the worst DW game is mindless hack'n'slashin' goodness. Let's start with the good things there were: The concept was good, three member team that you can switch to at any point whenever you so desire, sounds good right? You could also custimize the equipment and abilities of all three with up to 6 skills or 5 if you don't count the normal attack, which yes takes up a skill slot. The game mechanics were smooth most of the time; there were a few issues with lagging when many creatures were on screen, though not enough to detract from the game itself. That is where the good ends for me though. I felt like the story was rushed and didn't make sense; it's your classic evil guy kills my father and I must take revenge....By leaving my mother and brother to fight in an arena in order to get strong and then my mentor decides I should become an adventurer and do random hunt/collect/escort/etc. missions. And somehow helping the innkeeper get his ring from the depths of a cave (why it was there in the first place I do not know) gets me closer to avenging my father. Sure. Then there is the actual combat: Koei game, should be moderate to decent combat. Noooope. You get the same basic three attack chain for Areus until you get enough experience to level it up you then get a 5-chain WOO! Unfortunately I found that upgrading to that took too long because I was constantly needing to upgrade my magic so that I could do any kind of damage up close with him. The giant man, Dagda, was the brawler/tank of the trio and he accomplished that perfectly. Selene was the rogue-ish character. Selene died easily due to low defense and eventually had more attack power than Dagda, who felt clunky. Neither one of which I used often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE THIS RPG GAME!

posted by ricosuave719 (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This is a GREAT game!!!!! I LOVE IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fine

posted by GameboyID (HOSCHTON, GA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

Interesting gameplay is all this'll get from me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been better...

posted by brandone (JESSIEVILLE, AR) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

There were aspects of this game I liked. They were few and far between. The one thing that really bugged me was the canvass filter. It made it look more like a graphics problem than an oil painting which I assume was the goal. If they would have made it free roam instead of the menu list in the town I would have gotten into the game a lot more despite the filter. I liked the arena, combat system and the leveling system which seemed challenging and easy to understand for the lay-gamer. The graphics were not all that bad, but they could have been a whole lot better with all of the memory they saved not having actual towns. I give it a 5 and that is being pretty generous...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Have we already been here???

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Nov 26, 2011

Member since May 2010

This game seems to be fairly full of standardized idioms and tropes.. The hero and his first companion look like Adol and Dogi wannabes... The gameplay devolves in to standardized hack, and slash with three kinds of attacks wich includes fast melee, magical ranged, and an Area of effect type attack...
Main plot the main character must kill his own grandfather, an evil emperor to avenge his parents death... Two others join up also apparently a big fighter, and a beautiful assassin .. all three of them are techincally brawlers and they each specialize in one weapon type... It seems that the magic meter is also an experience bar??? In a nut-shell, you will be doing a lot of grinding which means alot of basic attack spamming(by way of button mashing, which gets old fast.. Another game which forces you to use a generic crew of characters.. But it also doesn't feature alot of voice acting.. If they aren't going to give us alot of voice acting, then they could have given us a wider selections of abilities to fight the bad guys with... The monsters certainly don't drop a lot of coin either, which also seems to be the only thing they tend to drop.. I played on it for a couple of hours and I ended up putting it back out in the mail box... Well, that is why we always try before we buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible

posted by plague35 (GLASSBORO, NJ) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Please do yourself a favor and avoid this like the plague. It's games like this that are making JRPG's look more and more outdated and it's why western RPG's are dominating the market. The graphics are very dated there is an awful grain effect that is constantly on the screen. Cut scenes are pictures with text at the bottom with no voice over what so ever. the controls are clunky and unresponsive and you will face the same enemies over and over. Seriously it feels like they simply pumped out this game as fast as they could to move on to the next project.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Burlap Sack

posted by go4god (Marysville, WA) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

About this game,lets see,theres good fighting,if you don't mind a combo base style, I feel the story kinda falls flat,however the begaining is enough to draw you in,if you don't mind looking trough a burlap sack.So for you fighters outthere.Ill give it a five.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse