Rent TNA Impact! for Xbox 360
view large frontback

TNA Impact!

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
4.5

2644 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slow, Tedious Flawed Game

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Oct 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

33 out of 38 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I'll start with the positives. This is, hands down, the best looking wrestling game I've seen. The models look really solid --- the usual problem of "sweaty" looking the same as "plasticky" is a problem I don't think anybody can ever fix --- but the models look a lot like their real-life counterparts.

That being said, NOTHING else is terribly good.

You have to create a guy for the story mode --- and you have really limited options. Now, if the list of moves was robust enough, this would be a minor concern, but the list of moves is both unbelievably shallow, have very few moves unlocked, and you can assign very few moves to your character.

OK, I admit to being a bit negative towards TNA --- but guys not having a lot of moves in their repertoire is NOT a problem for them. When you have Samoa Joe with, maybe, 10 spots, you have a majorly messed up game.

Even worse, the developers are known to have spent a lot of time motion-capturing thousands of moves --- but then decided to throw most of it out and your guys have similar moves. Kevin Nash, who hasn't left his feet this century, is pulling off missile dropkicks that look IDENTICAL to --- well, everybody else's missile dropkick.

The story mode has you facing off against random scrubs and TNA name guys. The biggest complaint is that the random scrubs are every inch as difficult as the TNA guys, and the TNA guys are laughably difficult. The computer will reverse 60% of the moves you do, bare minimum. And their timing for moves is nearly inhuman.

The game, in a nutshell, is bad. Quite bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Big Disappointment.

posted by Suiton23 (Elizabeth, NJ) Sep 15, 2008

Member since May 2008

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

As a TNA Wrestling fan, I had high aspects for this game. Unfortunately, it didn't deliver. The game has great graphics, and the motion capture was great. It also has a pretty good story mode. The bad, well, the lack of moves, short ring entrances, and the gameplay. The opponent never stays down.. no matter how hard you hit them. You also feel like you're always playing as the same character cause of the lack of moves. The CAW is just LAME. You have a minimal selection for your attire. At first glance, I would give this game a 7, but when you think about it, this game was announced in summer of '06, plenty of time to whip up a great game. Has great potential, and I am thrilled to see them with their own game. I just hope Midway delivers for the sequel (if there is one) because this game pales in comparison to the SVR series. For Midway's first wrestling game, it is fair.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a bad first attempt... BUT

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Sep 17, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I find the controls to be the biggest problem with this decent looking game. They aren't very intuitive at all. Even after about 10 matches, I found myself having a lot of trouble just remembering the basics of the main buttons used.

The game runs on the Unreal Engine and uses the Havok physics engine so you know it will look good and people will fall down nicely. The animation is good and there are a few moves that surprise you from time to time, but this first TNA game sticks to the basics for the most part. There are a few variations of match type, but nothing nearly as deep as a WWE game.

And that's probably the biggest drawback here. If you've ever played a WWE game before, you have to feel a bit let down. But there is a foundation here to build on. If TNA keeps building every year, it won't take long for them to make a really great game. They definitely need to work on the control scheme though.

The biggest plus in this game for me was to be able to play as Sting. Sure, he's 48 years old now, but it just feels so old school to have a match between say, Sting and Scott Steiner. By the way, Sting won.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The TNA game is a waste of time

posted by Nightmare2 (TACOMA, WA) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

In my opinion this is the worst game in the history of video games.
The storyline is good but the controls are horrid, and the fact that you have to unlock everything through story mode to upgrade your charecter was the worst idea in game history.
If your thinking about renting this game, do me a favor, Get a hammer and hit yourself with it, trust me it would be a better experience then this game.
I hope TNA does better with their next game then they did with this one, although after this one I don't know who would try it.

If you create a bad game, I will be your worst Nightmare.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TNA iMPACT! has a lot of problems

posted by Jsnwwf (PITTSFORD, NY) Sep 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

23 out of 32 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

The good:

-Graphics
-The motion captured moves runs smoothly on gameplay which is good

The bad, and I mean BAD:

-Online play = 1 on 1 and 1 on 1 Ultimate X
-Online play = NO Created wrestlers
-25 wrestlers in game unless you want to buy downloadable content
-No tag moves
-Entrances stop at the ramp ie: Smackdown 1
-only weapon is a chair, which you can use and not get DQed for
-No referee
-NO TITLES???!?!?!!! why midway, why?
Storymode is the same once you placed it the 1st time
-You can only use you created wrestler in storymode
-Only 1 gimmick match, for TNA thats a shame, TNA is the king of the gimmick match
-They advertsed a King of the mountain match and its not in the game
- NO Booker T ax kick, No scorpion deathdrop, NO ANKLELOCK, No petey williams yet, no knockouts, and NO TURNBUCKLE MOVES
-Wrestlers get up after every move and have no stamina bar

Oh and by the way, this game has been in development for 2 1/2 years

DONT BUY THIS GAME because it isnt worth $60

Its an incomplete game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super nintendo quality

posted by WWEFAN1986 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

All the wrestlers are the same size

Story mode is extremely........under developed

this game is super nintendo quality.

FOR AN INNOVATIVE WRESTLING COMPANY...............................

THIS GAME IS NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT INNOVATIVE

again...super nintendo quality

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth the wait

posted by NineSeven (CORONA, CA) Sep 19, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm not a TNA fan really, but I did hope for the best with the TNA videogame. Unfortunately this game let me down in almost every area.

Graphically, the game is pretty good. They captured the wrestlers likenesses pretty well for the most part and I thought the motion captured moves were good as well...and that's about it.

In my opinion, the gameplay is pretty awful. I was hoping they'd approach the control scheme similar to that of the old WCW and WWE games on the N64. WRONG!! I also was annoyed with the fact that after I'd hit a big move, my opponent would hop up immediately as if nothing happened...and I'm talking like hitting a major move from off the top rope. Playing any match where there was more than two players in the ring was irritating to me due to the fact that if I was performing a move on one opponent, another wrestler could walk across the ring and put me in another maneuver while I had someone up in the air for a suplex. I thought adding the Ultimate X was cool, but, again the controls and gameplay turned me off of what could have been the games saving grace. The create a wrestler is a joke, and a bad one at that, and the commentary is downright abysmal.

All in all, I was quite disappointed in this game as I only held on to it for one day, and please believe I tried to find something about it to make me like it, but I got upset every time I looked at the cover. It has a real arcade-like feel to it, which I could see could be appealing to some gamers, but not me. I know a lot of people have said it's "pretty good" for it's first shot out, but I'm not letting Midway off that easy. In my opinion they could've used and refined the plus factors from the Smackdown vs. Raw games a made a more solid effort, especially considering the length of time they had to put this together. The gameplay completely ruins this title. If you've played Fight Night Round 3 and recently tried out that terrible game Prizefighter, you'll know EXACTLY what I'm talking about!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really bad...

posted by herostyle (MISSOULA, MT) Sep 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I hate to regurgitate what a lot of others are saying about this game, but it really is bad enough that I feel like I should say something.

The Bad:

1 - Create A Wrestler: This is one of the best things about wrestling games, and something that the WWE games have always done pretty well. When you create a character you feel like it's yours, and your character feels unique. In TNA Impact, you have a very limited selection of moves to choose from, a very limited selection of clothing, and it seemed to me that all of the wrestlers I created looked -old-. This is due to not being able to change the facial features in the game (ie; complexion, age, etc). There is also no height adjustment, so all of your wrestlers are the same in that aspect. You'll never be able to create someone as tall as Kevin Nash, or as small as Rey Mysterio. There is also no preview for the entrances when you are designing your character.

2 - Gameplay: Every character feels the same when I'm playing. There's no mechanical difference between AJ Styles, Kurt Angle and Samoa Joe. There are cosmetic differences, but they all play exactly the same. Also, many trademark moves are missing from these characters (such as Kurt's Ankle Lock - or if it's there I just can't figure it out).

3 - Difficulty: Ever played against people who seem to counter everything you throw at them? I was in a match where I had the entire upper half of my opponent's body in the red and suddenly he went on a counter spree, ended up stunning me after a while, drained my Impact! meter and then finished me to end the match. Doesn't happen often, but when it does it makes me want to throw my controller out the window.

With those complaints out of the way, the game does look good. The moves are motion captured and many of them flow very, very well.

I don't think that this game, even with the fluid movements, is anywhere in the same arena with Smackdown vs. Raw, however, and I will definitely hold off until '09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wrestlings Little Gimmick B4 SVR09

posted by jdollar1 (DEVON, PA) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Hey dudes if you really enjoy smackdown vs raw but just hate how the online set up just blows because of non-stop glitching and you just want to try something new, just seriously wait until November for smackdown vs raw 09's release because this is nothing but a let down. For true wrestling gamers listen this is nothing like svr, its more like an arcade game with nothing really fun about it. Settings are hard, really hard and super all madden with the A.I. settings at its max hard. The pin system is whack and if u get hit with a simple clothes line then match is over dude. No CAW online, only one on one matches online, no move sets, everything is pretty much for you child because there is really nothing about this game thats violent. No blood plus the entrances are about ten seconds long and the reversal system is the worst.
If you want to just try the game out i strongly recommend you rent or borrow and save your money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

tna impact major dissapointment

posted by dbarrsnc (FORT WASHINGTON, MD) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

1.when you hit someone the yell like it was ther old nfl blitz
2.why do you have to unlovck superstars
3.why cant you use a tna superstar for story mode
4.where are the tna knockouts
5.and why was i teamed with showtime eric young

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

tna impact

posted by misterhalo (SERGEANT BLUFF, IA) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is terrible in my opinion. The game players can reverse any thing yet when i hit the button to reverse nothing happens and its not my controller i have tried all my controllers on the game and other games the button is fine. entrances are like 4 sec. long i went to watch my guys entrances he comes out like normal he gets to the ramp and its over im like what the heck. Over all with the graphics and every thing else this game gets a lousy rating of 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed

posted by Kade88 (COVERT, MI) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I saw the graphics for this game I had high hopes for it. Then when it was released and the initial reviews came out my excitement and hopes were dashed. So when I decided to play the game myself and realize that my hopes and excitement being gone wasn't a knee jerk reaction.

From a graphics standpoint the game is pretty solid. Maybe one of the better ones I've seen. No complaints if any there. My problems are more with A the grappling system, B the amount of moves, and C a combo of the entrances combined with the available roster at first.

Now my complaints for the grappling system is maybe that's to simplistic which might because of my second problem. I'm use to Smackdown vs. Raw. So to go from that to this was a huge shell shock and not a good one.

The move set is completely lacking. You have a ddt, belly to belly, a hip toss. There just isn't a lot of variety. It makes the game repetitive. I used Sting at first and his best moves were a belly to belly and a Death Valley Driver.

My last problem is like i said a combination of the entrances and the initial roster. You only get the start of a entrance and that's it. Which is annoying because of like I said I'm guess I'm babied by Yukes and SvR. The other thing is the roster is just really small to start playing with. Now obviously I watch TNA so I wasn't expecting a huge list but I was hoping for more then what we get at the start.

Overall I'd say it's a okay first try. If there is a second Impact and I hear they are working on improving graphics I'll probably not even bother playing it because the graphics aren't the problem. They are the best part of the game. The problem is a major lack of variety in the game. It just made me really, really disappointed and I had to rate it a 1 because with what SvR has done and is doing, for TNA and Midway to put that out is a embarrassing effort, first time or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Repetitive

posted by Lmetal (TUCSON, AZ) Sep 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pros
um storys kind of interesting

Cons
Repetitive every wrestler has the same moves
have to unlock full roster
story mode create a wrestler is limited
teks forever for stry mode to get interesing

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS

If your looking for a real wrestling games wait for the wwe game in november.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

TNA=Total Nonstop Aggravation

posted by prmtyme (LANCASTER, PA) Sep 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

what can i say this game was not what i was expecting. wrestlemania 21 for the xbox is better than this. the controls are horrible for the game and may i add the counter system? the computer counters 85% of the time and some of the wrestlers are superman if you ask me. for instance jeff jarrett is a beast in this game in story mode. i had to repeadtely do the same cheap move which couldnt be reversed over and over again to win against jeff jarrett. th story mode was short and the online play i gonna guess sucks.and let me not mention the hit detection problems found with in this game. i give it 5 of 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good but OMG WTH??

posted by PlayRoy (LAKELAND, FL) Sep 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its a good decent wrestling game but OMG the controls are evil. id rather have more buttons to push then to hold 3 or more then plus to do one maneuver.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What happened?

posted by cholera (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Sep 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As an avid fan of wrestling of the past fifteen years I have played nearly every wrestling game from WCW/NWO World Tour, WWF Attitude, WCW Mayhem, WCW/NWO Revenge, WCW Nitro, Wrestlemania 2000, WWF No Mercy, and the latest brand Raw and Smackdown vs. Raw modes I was excited what TNA Impact had to offer, seeing the screen shots of the characters I thought wow. This was one game that I was anticipating for the near two years that it was in development. As my excited and nervous hands placed it in my 360 I saw intro, OK so far so good, however when the main menu came up is when a bit of panic started to set in from its Busch league looking graphics.

The Good: I'll give the game it's due, the moves seem to flow, and I like the six sided ring, it's something that gives a new aspect to a wrestling game.

Now that that's out of the way...

The Bad: The Create a Wrestler is a complete Joke. When did A.J. Styles move set become almost identical to Kurt Angle's, come to think of it way are all of the moves the same as the other guys!! The complete lack of weapons, different matches, wrestlers, in depth entrances, ref, and visible announcers. The controls are difficult; the CPU play is near to difficult. And something that might seem small, but makes a huge difference in games of today...the music.

For one who has been so passionate about wrestling games, even being able to see pass the flaws and finding some joy out of the wrestling games like WCW Mayhem or Nitro I can't find any satisfaction from this game.

I have no hesitation in saying that the makers of this game have done nothing short of setting the wrestling/gaming industry back nearly 20 years. Their "attempt" at a first game is laughable to the point of criminality that anybody would have to fork out any honest or dishonest pay for this piece of garbage of a game. A great injustice to TNA and its workers; I’m just thankful that I rented this and didn't pay out to have this take up space in my trash can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boo

posted by Nothing (CLEVELAND, OH) Sep 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game play is difficult even on the easiest setting. You don't start off with much of a roster - wrestlers and moves need to be unlocked with progress. The problem is, your move set sucks, so winning in order to unlock more moves/wrestlers consists of tedious matches of doing the same moves over and over and running away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Started out great...then it "Reversed" on me...

posted by Dwoop33 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Sep 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the graphics and the experience really the Smackdown series a run for the money...then, you start playing the story mode which is good at first until you get to the flagship characters like AJ Styles and then the computer becomes relentless to nearly "impossible" to win against. I had dominated the entire match for nearly 5 minutes and then have the AI not let me pin them and just turn on me like it was the start of the match again. And this is what ruins the game overall. It just becomes frustrating to not fun...

C-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't even think about trying this game

posted by Gigeron (LOS ALAMITOS, CA) Sep 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game is horible..I play WWE all the time and I hoped that this game would be good but it is really,really bad....maybe if your not used to WWE you might like it but otherwise, forget it....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by andrewlrc (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 22, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I dont know why everyone is complaing about this game its not that bad i thinks its actually better than SVR

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TNA: Impact

posted by RnR351 (BROOKLAND, AR) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I tried this game to finally play as Sting again. Though he IS on the game, well...that's really the only cool part. Don't waste your time with this game. Stick to the WWE games. Jeff Jarrett should have not put this game out, at least this version. It.....Sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TNA Impact!

posted by Matrias93 (MANCHESTER, PA) May 23, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

umm.... i think this game isn't that good, i thought it would have almost the controls as Smackdown vs raw 09 controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TNA DOA

posted by thirdshift (FLOWER MOUND, TX) Sep 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you dont mind the fact that this game has almost no wrestling moves, lack luster create a wrestler, boring enterances, frustrating game play, no free form in story mode, and that even on easy the game is pretty hard then TNA is for you. If you are a fan of wrestling and want the game to reflect that, then you may want to wait for Raw vs Smackdown 09

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Like it.

posted by TeRAWR (ENCINO, CA) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game is not bad i do agree that the controls can be improved. It has very good graphics and good game play. Excellent story and very good detail. All in all its not that bad of a game. It will have more downloadable characters so that should be good and the first game to have DLC.So thats what i think.
Sincerely,
The TeRAWR

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It has problems, but its okay

posted by Chuckelz39 (WINNETKA, CA) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

im a huge TNA fan i tivo it every week and i love it. they have advertised it for 2 1/2 years and now im excited and then i play it........ extremely difficult and frusterating. when u know u have the win...... they hit a finisher out of nowhere. but if u r a huge fan like me u might enjoy i just wish they had title matches king of the mountain matches 6 sides of steel oh but most of all terror dome but still i would give it chance and maybe ull enjoy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse