Rent TMNT for PS2
view large frontback

TMNT

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360, GBA, GC, Wii, PSP Games
GF Rating
6.7

569 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but at times it holds itself back

posted by Darodd1 (AKRON, OH) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a very fun game. although many of the very aspects that made it fun also held it back. The lack of camera control made many parts of this game almost impossible to play. I did enjoy the fact that every character had his own special moves, but again this was held back by game design. Leonardo is able to climb walls using his sai but on every board you play as this character you are repeatedly forced to flip climb walls. If you are able to get past these hang ups it is in fact the best TMNT game to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Turtle power showing signs of a comeback

posted by JDC2k7 (HARPER WOODS, MI) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I read the professional reviewers of TMNT I wasn't sure if I wanted to keep this game on the top of my Q list since they said the game felt like it was gear to the younger gamer community. But my first run through of TMNT I find the game very enjoyable, and by far the best Ninja Turtle game out for the Playstation 2. The controls are very easy to learn, the graphics outside the matching color belts the Turtles themselves look like the turtles from the movie, the areas you flip, jump and wall run are good, the bad guys outside the foot ninjas look repeated it feels like you beat that same thug before. Story, much like Spider-Man 2 and Star Wars revenge of the Sith TMNT stuck closely to the story of the movie toss in in few clips from the movie. As for sound the Turtles from the movie lead their talent to the game and some of the effects are alright..

As for the younger gamer factor well I notice a couple of things, one when you encounter alot of bad guys they act like they're waiting for you to make the first move instead of attacking you on sight, and TMNT is very forgiving if you fall off some where the game don't end, and you leave off where the very last checkpoint which was the last place you fell off it does not make you play the whole level over, as I mention the bad guys it takes a lot of hits from them to see any real life damage to the turtles, and if your turtle lose his health again the game doesn't end much like Superman Returns you need to mash the living daylights out of the X button to get the turtles back on his feet. Overall TMNT isn't a ground breaking game but for TMNT fans and people who just like to beat on nameless baddies this game is just plain fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

TMNT

posted by green71 (WEST FARMINGTON, OH) Jun 16, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game is very challenging intellectually and is excellent for hand eye coordination. This game is a lot of fun. Once you have the moves down pat, the game comes fairly easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

TMNT - you may want to rent it before you buy it

posted by Kakarat1 (MATTOON, IL) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Their are several mixed reviews out there, and this game does leave the player with mixed feelings as well.

I appreciated the graphics, being very close to what is in the movie. Ubisoft's attention to detail is close and does deserve some praise as a "last generation" game in that respect. They also took a different approach story wise, which made it interesting. Being able to use your surroundings for a "Prince of Persia" type feel is very different of the TMNT games as well. Also being able to play all 4 turtles within a level is great!

The negatives involve the game play itself, and it can be summed up in one word..."Frustrating!". Very short gameplay, enemies not very challenging, and lack of variety in attacks/controls. Also the camera angle if by far the worst aspect of this game. Most of the time you are jumping on rooftops and running along walls. It was great for the first 5 minutes of gameplay, but going into hour 4 it gets annoying. The turtles are very limited in moves, pressing 1-2 buttons to attack, and not much variety meaning it gets old quick.

My thoughts:
I was hoping this game would be different than its predecessors, and be one of the more top notch games to come out recently. Really in order to fully understand what is going on, you need to see the movie. I played the game before seeing it, and it really made more sense after watching the movie. If your up to a short game, this is the one, but also be ready for a few headaches. Overall it is an OKAY game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

TMNT was fairly good game with few annoyances

posted by msuspartan (WHITMORE LAKE, MI) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The overall graphics for the game were pretty good. The character models were decent and the environments were pretty detailed. The fighting controls were smooth with some awesome moves. Only a couple of things that were kind of annoying. The wall jumping controls could have been more fluid. Found myself jumping away from the area I was trying to climb. Enemy character models were bland and they seemed to just stand there as you were hitting them. Otherwise a solid game with some decent replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dawgs Thoughts

posted by dawgpound (WOOSTER, OH) Apr 21, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Man its Turtles so you know it rocks. The only that sucks about this game is that there is only 16 levels. Other than that it is a must rent. I would not worry about the turtle shells the 1st time throw I waited so I could go back and play all the levels again......Great Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

it's so awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by pokemonhd (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 27, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

this game is the bomb!it has an okay graphics other than that it's really great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy Gameplay cool graphics

posted by dol_rice (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I kind of sucked at first trying to play this game, but I played a second time and at some levels. It is easy gameplay. Raph and Leo are funny characters. I wish they had more into it like boxes of pizza because of course that's what is required in TMNT. But I like the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A decent game for Turtles fans

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

Unlike most other Ninja Turtles games, "TMNT" mixes things up a bit by providing fast-paced platforming action as well as brawling. This helps it rise above the more simplistic TMNT brawlers (the ones based on the 2003 TV series) released during the PS2/GCN/Xbox generation, but it still lacks a certain variety and gets awfully repetitive. The combat is mindless button-mashing, and the platforming doesn't have enough going on. Also, the Turtles repeat their battle cries way too often. (Apparently, "Booyah!" is the new "Cowabunga!".) Still, it's got a good narrative, and the levels are fairly well designed. There's nothing intrinsically bad about "TMNT", but only patient gamers and/or devoted Turtles fans are likely to see it through all the way to the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible.

posted by tmacella (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Ok, so I pretty much never write reviews or give 1's to games but this game was infuriating. I have be a lifelong gamer and and a lifelong TMNT fan but this was terrible. I actually thought the mechanics were pretty good and the fighting system was not too bad... for the first two stages. Then, the difficulty of the platforming grew exponentially in my opinion. Simple moves like the wall jump from one to another suddenly became much more difficult.

As for the fighting, the simple bad guys are pretty easy to dispose of and then the first boss fight was not extremely hard but in comparison, it was almost too challenging.

I got to about the fifth level and then got stuck, they made what should be a relatively simple task extremely difficult (the stupid wall jump). Also, the camera angles didn't help, many times I would miss a ledge or a rail to swing from simply because I couldn't tell how far to leap. Also, while the camera does usually rotate to help you figure out where to go, there were times I got confused as to where I came from or where I needed to go. This would have been easily remedied by allowing the right analog stick (which does nothing) to rotate the camera.

I love TMNT, I grew up on the old arcade games for NES and SNES so I had high hopes for this one... It was a HUGE letdown.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible,Horrible,Horrible

posted by Gamerguy8 (HOLMES BEACH, FL) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Went I played this for the first time I thought it was cool, so I decided to rent it a second time a few years later... I can decribe this game with 4 words, BAD, HORRIBLE, STINKY, STUPID. The graphics are a disgrace to video games, you can't control the camera, making some parts impossible, plus the fighting is stupid. If I were anyone that ever liked video games, don't get this, I't will make you burst into tears the second you start te game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cowabunga

posted by furby25 (LOCHBUIE, CO) Aug 27, 2009

Member since May 2009

Playing this game takes hand-eye coordination. On hard difficulty you need to be a ninja with your controller. Literally. A problem is you can't always see dangers and you are graded on team work and speed. Each level is timed. It's crazy. I want to play a game where I'm not timed if it's psychotic!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Reminds me of ninja guiden

posted by WolFMan666 (MAHOPAC, NY) Dec 14, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

its not bad but could be a little harder... overall its a decent game. great for kids 16 and under

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ninja Turtles fans might want to rent first

posted by GamerNevet (EUGENE, OR) Jun 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is a 3D Platformer where you play as 1-4 Ninja Turtles. You can preform Ninja-like actions such as Wall jump/run, pole swing, and grab ledges. These are all executed quickly with haste, making you feel like a Ninja... most of the times. Sometimes the level design makes you frustrated, while others make you feel like one bad dude. The combat consists of a combo and team attacks. The combos are repetitive, with the rest of the it.

Overall it's a rental if you aren't a fan of TMNT, if you are, you still might want rent. But the turtles talking ingame would any fan want it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not really what I was hoping for

posted by defrox336 (GEORGETOWN, KY) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

What happened? The movie was awesome, but the game just sucked. The graphics were way too blocky. If you don't know what I mean by blocky, rent the game and you'll see what I mean. The overall challenge was incredibly easy to me. It took me as much as about 8-9 hours to complete. The quality of the game overall was definitely not satisfactory for me. I'm sure that most people that have played this game will agree with me. The way too short duration combined with the brain-dead combat just insanely reduced the quality of the game. Come to think of it, the previews of the game weren't really that good, either. I have some advice for Ubisoft. Just stick to the Rayman series. Rayman is obviously your specialty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ITS TURTLE TIME

posted by drummerboy (CARTER LAKE, IA) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

its turtle time awesome game
great graphics just like the movie i say 10 to this game its kinda cool how they made the the teenage mutant ninja turtles come back with there new thing i say this game is worth the rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TMNT -- TOO MUCH LOADING TIME

posted by caglenon77 (SANTEE, CA) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This game took too long to load on the PS3. Was a bunch of hurry up and wait every few minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

why they give bad rates

posted by gaminigpro (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

this game is action packed with just 16 levels but they take 10 or more minutes to complete leonardo rocks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

almost great

posted by upyerdress (NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL) May 2, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

this game has like a ninja gaiden/prince of persia style to it when you run around the city, which is cool. its fast paced, i like the cinematic camera that does its own thing so you dont have to control it. i also like that you can switch between turtles easily.

what i dont like is the fighting. its 1 freakin button. just tap O as fast as you can and you'll clear a room. then there was like 1 boss. and the game was over... wt-f!

this game coulda been great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

TMNT

posted by mcbortz534 (MC DANIELS, KY) Apr 26, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

These 4 turtles appeal to my childhood, so no matter what any title that is released with this name I will at least take a look at it. TMNT is too easy, there are no classic villains which both hurt the game for me. I like it but would not recommend anybody to buy it unless they are a die hard TMNT fan from back in the day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

TMNT is a basic game.

posted by MFSFNBIR (SENECA, SC) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

this is a very basic game.

Graphics- the graphics were very good. 10 out of 10

Game Play- wonderful. 10 out of 10

The reason I gave it a six is because after a while it gets borning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »