Rent TMNT for Wii
view large frontback

TMNT

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS, Xbox 360, GBA, GC, PSP Games
GF Rating
6.0

564 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better The Prince of Persia Rival Swords

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Sep 24, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dont underestimate this game (it is fun and tricky at the same time). Good puzzles but can use a polish on the graphics department. Very well put together. I was never a fan of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nostalgic Fun

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros
- Controls work well
- Fun turtles graphic style
- Very accessible to casual gamers

Cons
- No replay value whatsoever
- Linear gameplay may be disliked by some

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

From back in the day!!

posted by huggybear (DRAPER, UT) Mar 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I know quite a few people disagree but i think this game is sweet!! Not many moves, AI is not great, the story is weak and everything is a little cheesy, which is why it rocked. It reminds me of the old turtle games from back in the day, not much thought...just run and fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A sight for sore arms.

posted by Virtuater (IRVINE, CA) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I rented this game with high hopes, I really did, and immediately they were met to a degree. I hadn't played any Prince Of Persia style game before and I felt this was really unique. The attacks were cool, and the level design was neat. I was sitting tight and waiting to do some fun gaming!

Then, about 5 minutes goes by, and you begin to notice a scary trend...

There's only about 4 attacks, and the one you'll be using the most is similar to button-mashing, but instead you're waving your arm back and forth. The combat is kind of like Ultimate Aliance, but much, much less viation in attacks in this one. Probably my biggest gripe.

Enemy AI is horrable. They pretty much stand there to get beat up. Granted, like I said, it's fun for about 5 minutes, but then fight sequences become annoying, and tend to drag on. No matter what set of moves you pull off, it's still going to take a couple minutes to beat down all the baddies...and that's a long time.

This game was built for younger gamers in mind I believe. Everything's just so simple that it failed to keep my attention. There are a few neat things, like the level design I like, however the camera angle is very cumbersom, and makes simply walking around sometimes rather difficult.

If you're a TMNT fan, you might enjoy this game for the sheer nastalgia factor...but if you're a regular gamer looking for a new and challenging game, this one's not for you. Thanks for reading!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BOGUS!

posted by coqui81 (MERRILLVILLE, IN) Apr 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was sooo not BOSANOVA! It's a good game for kids who don't like challenges,(psst the only way you can lose is if you want to). If their target was children from 2-5 they hit it, but the thing is that MOST TMNT fans are in thier MID TO LATE 20'S!I only got two words for this game, WHACK! I ain't mad at ya Ubisoft money is green, but you won't fool me again. The movie was decent though.

P.S. GNARLY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by thekatz35 (WOODBRIDGE, CT) Apr 1, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is fair. The fighting is very very repetitive. Even tag teaming with your brothers isn't fun in the game. Each character has one string of attack, meaning that no matter which way you shake the wii remote the character performs the same moves over and over. The game is a lot like Prince of Persia making the player get through a maze before fighting. But TMNT's maps are not challenging at all, it spells out what you have to do, Prince of Persia is much more challenging. I really easy game that gets boring, i am glad that i only rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Needs Multi-Player

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is not a Wii specific complaint but this game really needed multiplayer. After all, former TMNT games proved to be a blast when they were multiplayer, not so much when they are single. Overall it was an above average game by making clever use of the Wii remote, but not something that can be played for long duration. Worth playing at least once or for younger children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

dumb

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

well this could have been a great game. feels to me a rush game and not much time money spent on the game. boring boring about sums it up. dont rent waste of time thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth it!

posted by Watermelonman (MINNETONKA, MN) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

TMNT is a great game with great graphics, I love that you can play as all 4 Ninja turtles which gives a lot of variety with the 4 different weapons (pole, nunchuks, sword, and daggers) I highly recomend this game and you really should buy it. It is not at all a waste of money. BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Good

posted by attilio (East Elmhurst, NY) May 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I really enjoyed this game. The controls had the perfect balance of motion and buttons which was great. The graphics are pretty good for the Wii (a lot better then some games I've seen). The overall game play is good. The fights are a bit easy, unless you are trying to get Ninja status all the time. Even so, I never got anything less then an Excellent rating. At some points in the game I died like 10 times by falling off of something because I was moving too fast and not paying attention to what I should be doing (I know I'm not a very good ninja), but eventually I got it.

I was also very happy that they stuck to the storyline of the movie. I played some movie based games that seemed to have very little to do with the movie.

Overall I was pleased with this game, especially that they brought back the elevator battles (like in the old TMNT games where you would be in an elevator and enemies would come in to fight). The final bosses were a bit difficult until I realized their weakness (after about 20 tries lol).

ITS NINJA TIME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Arcade Anyone?

posted by TiredTeach (BINGHAMTON, NY) May 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

As a 90's gamer I miss the classic arcade style of the NES and SNES versions. I will wait for download on the Wii. This game is interesting if you have hours upon hours to spend trying to beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nice looking but clunky game play

posted by pinkcubitt (SOUTHAVEN, MS) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

For the wii - TMNT. Those of you back in the 80's can remember this successful cartoon containing the names of some of the most prominent artists throughout history. This game is an interesting attempt at making the TMNT franchise spring into the 21st century. Unfortunately it has failed. The graphics are beautiful and well done. That is about the only thing this game has going for it. The Wii struggles to bring across a complicated move system onto its controllers. The complicated combat system, sometimes finds you striking at completely the opposite direction of an attacking enemy. There are extremely difficult levels because of this. NOT ALL OF THE TURTLES ARE CREATED EQUAL TOO. 3 of the 4 turtles are normal... 1 is completely different looking as if the game developers rushed the programmers to get the game out before it was ready.
Over all if you are targeting youngsters...this is a failed attempt.

4 out 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

my tmnt review

posted by link32 (LEBANON, CT) Jul 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

tmnt wasn't bad it's just that it could suck less.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lots of fun

posted by Jakentink (OSKALOOSA, IA) Jun 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Our 7 year old son had a blast playing this game, as did we. A friend who played this game on another platform played with our son and said it is much easier to play on the Wii.
Just as much fun to watch as it is to play. Might be a bit simple for the 10+ rating, but our family loved this one, and we'll probably end up buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty good

posted by tyzilla (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

game play:fun
controls:fair
replay value:fair
fighting:repetitive
story:good
graphics:average

the game isn't worth buying, maybe renting the fighting is extremely repetitive and there aren't any awesome attacks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Waggle your Wiimote

posted by jonathano (LANCASTER, PA) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

I wanted to like this game like I liked the TMNT newest movies, and the nostalgia of arcade turtles.

I think the biggest disappointment in this game was the fact that it was single player experience. I mean with four turtles, it should have been four player, right?

Overall the game looked good graphically, some places felt like the movie sets themselves. But the controls were just waggle your wiimote to attack or the nunchuk to kick, and sometimes it wasnt that responsive. The level design was go here fight, repeat. I think I died once in the whole game, but it would just start you off from the check points which were everywhere. Also the level design got frustrating sometimes because of a too far away camera, no direction of where to go next or what to do from time to time.

This game was ok, average, and sometimes bearable. A few hours in I was 50% done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great, Addictive ... but Repetitive

posted by Kryogenyc (GAINESVILLE, GA) Oct 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

I rented this game after a recommendation from a store salesman, never listen to those guys again, the game has a good interaction and develop of the story, u can get caught on in the easy to solve and go trough levels, thats the addictive part trying to find a level that is really challenging, is true no matter how u shake the wiimote the caracther will do the same everytime, same thing with the brother combos, i found myself playing for 7 hours straight and finishing in an also repetitive way, clue: Mickey can defeat all bosses fairly easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Awful

posted by Mossax (LUBBOCK, TX) Sep 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

As a child I think it is safe to say I was the one of the biggest TMNT fans that there was. I had all the games, videos, action figures everything. After they died out so did my love for them so you can imagine how excited I was to see them trying to make a comeback. I could not be more disappointed with said "comeback." If this is Ubisoft's idea of bringing back the Turtles then please just leave them where they were. This game was so boring I found myself watching episodes of Frasier on my laptop while I mindlessly played through this game on mute. Don't get me wrong when new things are introduced such as jumping and and racing around the city rooftops I had a good time but once I got the hang of it I was back to watching T.V. and playing this game just to finish it. I beat this game in about 7 hours which can be a good thing. If you want some nostalgia from the old days then 7 hours with these turtles is kinda nice but I was tired of the "Sweet dude's" and "Heeeeeeeere's Johnny's" about 1 hour in. Also don't expect to be playing this with your friends like ALL of the other ninja turtle games that used to come out. This game is all about playing solo which was a huge disappointment in itself. If your confused as to how I felt about this game after this review I'll sum it up here, IT SUCKED. If you want to run on walls and jump from rooftops, play Prince of Persia because that's basically what TMNT tried to copy. Cowabunga my foot this game sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overall, not bad...

posted by voelcker (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I liked the graphics, and the game play. This is one of those games that should have either made better use of the Wii remote, or use the Wii Classic controller exclusively. The only thing that the Wii remote is used for is for aimlessly swinging a weapon at the enemy, and maybe you'll hit them. The first level with Leo is OK, but the 2nd level with Raphael is too much. There are fights like every other block, and with each fight are between 6-10 enemies. Swinging the Wii remote around becomes way too tiring.



The final straw was when I beat the boss enemy on the 3rd level with Donatello (should have been easier considering it was the 3rd level..) but on the way up the fallen scaffolding I fell off and died. Rather than starting the level at the point where I just beat the boss, I had to fight him all over again. I turned it off and mailed the game back to GameFly, I had enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than i thought it would be!

posted by GonzalJ13 (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

this game is easy, and the wii control is perfect with this game. i beat this game in a matter of 3 1/2 hours. the graphics could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good after a few levels

posted by ferrarif1 (CHULA VISTA, CA) Sep 8, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game is very fun until you get half-way it gets pretty frustrating. Like trying to climb walls but you keep falling or trying to zig-zag up tiny slits. The hard part is trying to know everything but they only give you a photo with buttons and master sensai telling you them. Overall it's good but it will get fustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this is a game!!??

posted by yoshigamer (VISALIA, CA) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

i can't belive i wasted money to buy this lame game. this game dosn't have anything please people don't get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Was expecting more

posted by AzSoLO (CASA GRANDE, AZ) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

Had to give it a 4. Game play wasn't all that great. I prefer the old TMNT games over this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The combat in this game was very boring, running a

posted by frost2680 (TAMPA, FL) Jun 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

The combat in this game was very boring, running around the enviroments would have been fun and have made up for the poor combat system if it wasn't for the glitchy controls. Movement was very jerky when transitioning between movements. Once again a game that could have been very fun was ruined by the Wii's poor controls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Turtle Trouble

posted by Nahima (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jun 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

Hearing that a new TMNT game was going to be coming to the Wii I was ecstatic. I was hoping for the old classic game arcade game. But to my surprise I was sadly mistaken. As soon as I put the disc into the Wii it became apparent to me that the game was going to blow...badly. To start off not being able to control each turtle or picking which one I wanted was a problem. Then came the sloppy camera, fighting you or just being to lazy to get out of its own way. The major thing I had a problem with was the controls. The Wii is supposed to have innovative controls allowing the player to feel like part of the game and character. The only thing I felt was anger. Having to fight with the camera and shakes, push and pull the controls around wasn't worth my time. After about 30 minutes my wrists hurt so much I didn't pick the game back up.

Now the game did have some good points showing that the Wii can have some nice graphics, no matter what people say. The voice acting did come from the movie but the same 5 lines over and over got stale real fast. The story line did follow the movie which gave the game something only fans of the movie would want. But after those few good things all that is left is a basic plat former with a lazy camera, horrible controls, same one lines, and a rush for movie release. That's why I gave the game a 1 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse