Rent Syndicate for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Syndicate

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.5

2293 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

SYNDICATE NEEDS EXPANSION PACK/ SEQUEL

posted by GAMEBLARG (BEAUFORT, NC) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Syndicate is a good game, with the potential to be a great game. The various abilities of the implant is is what makes this game so good. The third weapon aspect of the implant is the fun part.

The cliff hanger ending doesn't answer enough questions, and leaves you wanting more. The opportunity to upgrade your implant more often in the game would make an awesome improvement to the game play.

As the game stands now, the action is stilted somewhat by the constrictions of play and the limitations of the ending.. I finished this game in one night, found it too easy on some of the earlier levels and it only really starts to get hard on the later levels.

On the whole, I found this game to be fun, but some DLC and/or a sequel would push it over the edge into a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly good

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Feb 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2011

21 out of 25 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

If you didn't already know Syndicate is a reboot of the old successful strategy game, although the game is nothing like it's predecessor its an amazing and refreshing FPS

Syndicate is a futuristic FPS, In the campaign you are the agent Miles Kilo and you work for the Eurocorp syndicate. The story itself is not very great, but its better than most FPS poor story lines, and the game looks and plays amazing its a must play for all FPS fans out there!

In most shooters campaign is just a little add on, and multiplayer is were its at, Syndicate is no exception, but there is no Player VS Player modes, its all online co-op with up to 4 players, this is were the game truly shines.

In online co-op you will have enemies attacking from all directions and you always have to stay alert and work together with you're teammates to survive. Syndicate has 9 co-op maps and they are all great and alot of fun to play, the missions are challenging, but not too challenging, its like a perfect mix. In Syndicate you want to be aware of were you're enemies are at all times, but also were you're teammates are in case you need a reboot(heal) or other assistance.

Another unique thing with Syndicate is that you have this so called "dart 6 chip" which allows you to breach all sorts of things in you're environment. You can breach a turret so it shoots the enemy, you can breach an enemies grenade so he blows up, you can breach a grenade thrown at you preventing it from blowing up etc. There is tons of stuff to do! There is a good amount of weapons and powers you can add too you're ship such as squad heal which heals you're entire squad, shield which gives youre teammates a temporary shield against enemy fire and tons of more stuff.

Pros:
- A refreshing FPS, just what the FPS genre needs!
- It looks beautiful
- Tons of stuff to unlock.
- Great game for teamwork
- Nonstop action

Cons:
- Not a very good story.
- No player VS player(depends on how you see it).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interesting new gameplay mechanics

posted by Wutangboomya (NORTH GROSVENORDALE, CT) Mar 2, 2012

Member since May 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Deffinetly an awesome rent,i doubt many people will be playing it with Mass Effect 3 so soon though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Online freezing a PROBLEM!!!

posted by ArchAngel7 (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Single player has a alright story line with hard boss battles. Online, if you don't have 3 to 4 players is rough going. But the worst off all is the online freezing, that happened 3 out of the 4 times my buddies and I tried it.
LAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant, Sci-fi Shooter

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Feb 27, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love well conducted Sci-fi stories that have a practical, realistic scenario... And Syndicate delivers a brilliant conception of the future. It reminded me of Deus Ex, but strictly orientated around First person shooter. With Co-op ability to engage the entire storyline with some friends.

The year is 2068 and corruption grows along side with technology. Corporations strangle hold on technology, keeping it from the public... Enforcing people to stay on the lower end of life, keeping the tech for the wealthy and law enforcement. Enabling the corrupted corporations to barter with countries in many different ways.
You are an agent, one of the very few selected to help protect the assets of a private military. Armed with augmentations--you confiscate technology that terrorist are attempting to duplicate while acquiring information about the terrorist's source's and direct motives.

This game was very fun... The replay value is sorta moderate... The storyline is pretty interesting but it does leave you in gray areas of trying to figure out the point... Mainly because you do a lot of shooting and interaction with the game is very moderate. You shoot; figure out where to go next; shoot some more and use an augment to operate something; admire the futuristic detail... Sometimes I got to thinking Im just a futuristic commando that can interact with wifi devices... There is many gaps in the storyline and you often forget about the storyline while walking through out the well detailed gameworld.

But if you pay close attention, you do find that the story is very interesting... I only wish they would have implemented more user interactions and goal orientations... Possibly using the augmentations more for investigating... That would have helped keep the story part of the game.

Either way the story is great, the graphics are great(even though Xbox has trouble in some areas) ; if you want a co-op, sci-fi game... You would love this one. Syndicate is very fun and uni

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Seen it done a thousand times................

posted by uninfluenced (FAIRPORT HARBOR, OH) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Syndicate is a game no different then most first person shooters,you run and gun and etc...its got a good story but average storytelling.graphics are just average and sound effects are nothing special.its also got a co op mode which supports 2-4 player.co ops got a leveling system that lets you earn skill points like the campaign and your able to create a clan called "your syndicate".the co op is the best thing about syndicate in my opinion cause the story is only 4-5hrs long even on hard.to me its not worth buying for $60 ,rent or wait till its cheaper.Also you dont need a online pass for syndicate so its free to play online.NOTE if you play in a xboxlive party it sometimes will cause your game to freeze (multiplayer co op)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost perfect

posted by BigPappy (NORRISTOWN, PA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Syndicate is an amazing fudgin game with nice graphics and a good story but it only has a co op online function which has its own story which is also good but lacks in length. The only thing this game is missing is a multiplayer player vs player mode :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Deus Ex clone with a action slant. I liked it.

posted by MrPipkins (South Sioux City, NE) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

No multiplayer other then a surprisingly fun coop mode. Straight cyber-punk story straight from the 90's so if you are in your 30's then you will appreciate the setting story more then current youth. Rent it or wait for a price drop. Otherwise I liked it alot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Syndicate - An element of it's own

posted by R0e (RIO LINDA, CA) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Dispite negative review feedback, this game is actually great for recreational playing and excitement. Before graphic demands and P vs P standards, games like Turok had the lead interest. When it comes to original gaming means this game can not be disputed for following a traditional and modern concept. This game is not HALO or CALL OF DUTY, this game is a trend of it's own. Many systems of different games can be the insiration or the mimics in the gameplay and how it is carried out; but it does not hold back the thrill. The story is respecfully moderate that it is not full of mystery as the same way as C.O.D, yet it makes a good guideline. Original and modern game expectations are definately different. There is no gray shade in the concept of the game's story to displease. There is no MLG involved in this game either, considering why so much money is not being pushed tword it. Overall, this game is worth a great deal of apretiation for the new and old fans. If the satisfied demands were not enough, then they would have NEVER made this game if it was going to get flammed too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stay away!

posted by Bigjwpac (COCOA, FL) May 4, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game is awful.If you like FPS this game sooths your soul but online play is terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Most likely better on PC.

posted by coolcat2999 (BUCKHANNON, WV) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

It is a great game, but the controls are really touchy. The story is great, and concept is even better. I know it is a remake of an older pc game. Which is why I know the controls on PC would be much better over 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

E.A.'s best work.

posted by Cman236 (RIPLEY, TN) Nov 29, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

Really fun game! Syndicate is THE best F P S game I've ever played! The only problem with this game is that when you beat the game, you don't have all of the upgrades you got before. Keep it up E.A.!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Good.

posted by MachineMan1992 (DERWOOD, MD) Jun 24, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

It's nice to see a modern FPS that bucks the trend of brown, boring, and tedious.

The combat is very visceral and satisfying, the DART overlay is an interesting feature, as is breaching. The guns are all well designed, and "feel" real.

Granted the story is a bit weak, but shooting things and making people explode with your mind is so much fun it didn't bother me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent overall

posted by AvengingCrusade (SPOKANE, WA) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game did pretty decent overall, awesome graphics and unique story. But it lacked in keeping me entertained throughout. I found myself getting pretty bored at a lot of the repetitive boss fights. Its not a bad game overall, but not really something I would play a second time through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Syndicate, the EA model

posted by Irongiant72 (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

First off, I played the co-op demo and really enjoyed the game. I've moved to a part of the country where the only ISP available (Hughes Net) on purpose, throttles upload speeds by .7 seconds making multiplayer sessions impossible. So, now I really like to sink my teeth into single player campaigns. The production values of the this game are very sharp, however they tend to lean far too heavily on the lens-flare effect to make everything look more high tech, almost gave me a headache. The gameplay is fun as you have to think which power is best suited for the current enemy. However the game wants you to play certain sections only one way. I also had little investment in my character as he seemed fine with his "partner" killing civilians just cause they're in his way. Maybe the plot twist coming would have given my character some morality (I doubt it though) but I wasn't having fun with the linear gameplay. My wife asked me how I liked the game, I answered " I feel like I'm being trolled by the game." She smiled and gave me a knowing wink. God she is so much smarter than me, I really lucked out. That knowing wink made me evaluate my statement, if I feel like the game is trolling me, then why am I playing it?? Good question, one I answered by taking the game disk out and shipping back to Gamefly. I am so glad I didn't pay retail for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this was a great game

posted by thatfunneycom (SALEM, OR) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

syndicate was the most funest game i have play this year and worth playing again and the co-ops inline to is very fun to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Basic Shooter

posted by Jester907 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Dec 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I remember playing Syndicate Plus on my PC (not to date myself) and with such fond memories I rented this title. It played fairly well but is basically just a generic shooter. The powers were ok but the upgrade system felt lacking. The biggest problem I had was how short it was and the anticlimactic ending. Even my 6 year old who was watching me beat it said "wow, that was boring".

PROS:
-controls were fairly tight
-decent weapon selection
-powers were useful albeit repetitive
-offered choices for storyline progression
-voice acting was decent

CONS:
-too short
-ending was nothing short of a fizzle
-exploration limited and not rewarded
-enemy AI very basic (cover fire repeat)
-environment looks interactive but is not really

overall the game is worth renting if you just need a quick shooter to fill that gap between releases.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good

posted by endxofxsound (RACINE, WI) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I had never heard of this game until browsing around on Gamefly. I watched the video and really like FPS games in general so I gave it a go. The game graphics are really good and being a sys admin, I really enjoyed all the futuristic computer hacking that goes on during the game. My only complaint is that it's pretty short as it only took me around 4 - 5 hours to beat the game on Normal. It does offer 9 campaign missions in online Coop mode but I didn't have anyone else with the game so I didn't get a chance to try. I really wish they would have incorporated an online multiplayer mode as I like the weapons and the game structure. All in all it's a cool game and definitely worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So much potential yet such a let down

posted by ThatGamerCraig (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This premise and storyline of this game have so much potential and are actually quite good; a futuristic world with a population of 16 billion people, 3 different corporations competing for power and control.. you get the point.
The game in a nutshell lacks variety. Every boss fight is predictable, no interesting/original "futuristic" guns, and you spend more time competing against the actual game then you spend actually fighting enemies (navigating where to go, opening trap doors, etc.)
Then there is the IN GAME CONTENT... The amount of time I spent opening doors and trying to figure out where the heck to progress through the level on top of how long it took me to figure out how to throw a grenade was absurd. The game provides little weapon choice, although most weapons have an alternate shooting style/mode, such as an underslung grenade launcher which justifiably pretty neat.
The boss fights typical; weak and very predictable. The game seriously lacked variety amongst enemies and foes and there were not enough perk options to be able to put into your character.
The GAMEPLAY is also haggard, constantly getting caught in corners, bullets often times not hitting enemies because of invisible walls or obstructions. Plus it was extremely annoying every 5 mins when you have to hold and constantly tap X to open some sort of doorway that leads to another frustrating maze of elevators and power switches.
Overall, a huge disappointment. Such a great idea for a video game that has so much potential and room for expansion but a terrible execution. I would really love to see a sequel but the developers really need to make some changes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Game Idea, but Poor Follow Through

posted by vengfulsolice (JUNCTION CITY, KS) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I enjoyed the story, yet many portions of the game became stale, such as combat. the weapons were great yet nothing was intense about firefights. The graphics were pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Be glad you rented it

posted by Prisoner_No_6 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

While the action in Syndicate is solid, it always feels like little more than a shiny version of outdated FPS techniques. Anyone looking for stealthy or tactical gaming should look elsewhere, this one is purely about guns blazing and how much damage you do with your hack techniques while doing it.

However, once the allure of turning the occasional enemy to your side or just straight-up exploding wears off, there's literally nothing else to the game. The plot is vapidly simple, (Corporations are big and fight each other, you're on a quest for freedom), but barely even pulls that off with no dialogue or choices available from you.

Being a supposed sequel in the Syndicate franchise, all they have in common are literally the word "Syndicate" being used.

While it wasn't the worst thing I've ever played, it was predictable, mundane, incredibly short and woefully uninspired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Syndicate

posted by Halodudecool1 (HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game was fun.
It was hard but the gameplay was exciting and amazing
I liked the upgrade feature
I would recomand this game to people that have played
Deux Ex

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Everything you want in a shooter

posted by Tkepunk (CARROLLTON, GA) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2005

This game didn't blow my socks off by any means but as shooters go it has everything you're looking for. A pretty good story, some cool characters and some intense action. There's a sadistic thrill when you hack the enemies so that they detonate themselves and everyone around them.

If Syndicate has a flaw it's that there's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before. It's linear and predictable. But that's not same as sucking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Waaaaaaaaaaaaay to short

posted by Rob_shaw18 (EL DORADO, AR) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Almost everything about syndicate was great. The only bad thing about it was the length of the game. It was way to short with hardly any character development. I did not even get to upgrade fully before it was over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly good, way better than expected

posted by Kahnvex (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

After reading all the professional reviews of this game, I expected it to be absolute trash. For the $10 dollars I paid for it, I figured 6-8 hours of passable entertainment, and I'd be alright.

What I found instead, was a stylized shooter that felt like a blend of Blade Runner, Deus Ex, and Minority Report. The voice acting was nicely done, with well known hollywood names providing the dialogue.

The combat was similar to Deus Ex: Human Revolution, with a faster pace and more active combat abilities.

Blade Runner definitely springs to mind for world the story inhabits.

Minority Report for the filtered look of the graphics and the overabundance of bloom (read: glare) the permeates the entire game. They did it on purpose, and I know it was going for a "style" but it's one negative I can truly agree on.

There are some uneven boss battles, and the story is nothing you haven't seen before, like in, say Deus Ex: Human Revolution.

At the end of it, the ending is a bit too compact to really make you feel anything but meh, but my experience can be summed up thusly:

Came for the Co-op, tried the single player and was pleasantly surprised.

It's a definite buy for sub $10 so grab it the next time it goes on a Gamefly sale.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse