Rent Swords for Wii
view large frontback

Swords

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.7

152 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Swords that can’t cut through tissue paper

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 24, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The idea’s really simple - take the fast action of Punch Out and give the combatants swords to bash each other with. Given that there are several players who dream of using the Wiimote like a sword, the makers of this game really can get the attention of a huge audience.
However, Swords, the game, is an absolute mess.
The first thing that has to hold true about Swords, the game, is the controls have to be perfect with exacting calibration and a one to one swing ratio.
But this game’s controls are far from perfect. Even with Wiimotion Plus, I had severe trouble holding the sword at the right position to block an attack, so the AI got several cheap shots in.
Attacking is just as bad; sometimes my warrior would swing twice in the direction I swing my Wiimote, sometimes he would swing in the opposite direction, or (far too often) he would not attack at all, leaving an opening for the opponent to counter attack.
Making a bad game worse is the AI who is an expert blocker, even at the easiest difficulty setting. Almost every attack I put on the AI warrior gets blocked - and some are blocked perfectly and I take damage. I’ve lost several battles because of the damage I take from these perfect blocks.
There is some sort of story attached to the game, but it’s just you battling your way through what looks like seven other warriors (I can’t get past the third level because of the bad controls and the annoying AI).
But wait, there’s more to the game - but not much more
You can take on another player, but whoever wins does so more by luck than skill
Or you can take on some forgettable challenges like chop wood into a shape or cut down a few zombies.
This could’ve been the next Punch Out, but instead it gets punched out. Swords, the game, is a strong candidate for my WORST WII GAMES OF THE YEAR list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No. Just don't do it.

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Unlike most people, I don't think all the games they call garbage on the wii are actually garbage. Half the people just don't like the game, or can't play it, then label it shovel ware. Don't get me wrong, there ARE games that are truly shovel ware, and Swords is a glaring example. Sadly, the game was already on the way when I finally read these reviews. I figured, nah, maybe it can't be that bad...
Well, the moral of THAT particular story is some rare times, you should listen to the reviews. This is one of those times. It's uh...pretty bad. If you want to play a good slasher, get that game that first came out with wii. I believe it was called Red Steel, and there is a sequel out too. It was more swordsier (i don't think that's a word) than swords. BTW If you're going to take the time to give a bad rating, at least warn your fellow gamers without excess flaming. It does help. Listen to the warnings, this game is not worth a weeks wait.
Congrats to Swords for being one of the few games that gets a 1 rating from me. If you are as you should be and want to try it for yourself, go ahead, thrill seeker. I just hope I helped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This should've been my favorite game ever.

posted by reddragon1 (MAPLE GROVE, MN) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I saw that there was a game just called "Swords", I have to admit, I got a little giddy. Afterall, this is what I had been looking for, right? Nope. They got the idea right. Sword fighting, unique enemies, bacon. Just kidding, there was no bacon. It would've made this game better, but frankly, anything would make this game better. You basically have seven different strokes, and so then there are seven different blocks. So that's already a problem. Where is the thrust? Can the wii-mote plus not do that? 1:1 ratio my backside. Oh, and then you dodge thrown weapons. What was the point of that? You go through a quick tutorial and this game starts immediately. The unique characters were forgettable. You just memorize each guys pattern and then exploit it. (if you can, since the controls are a bit clunky) It's like "punch out", except there's not history, no sense of accomplishment, no engaging game play, and frankly, no reason to play. Here's the biggest problem, at no point do you feel like you're sword fighting. And why do I have to be the Japanese guy? Why can't I be a knight? Or a pirate? Or the ridiculous Arabian Princess? The sword fighting game that comes with the new wii sports operates almost the exact same way, but at least it doesn't take itself seriously. This game should've been my favorite game on earth. But it wasn't. There's nothing more that a 30-something male wants to do than anctually feel like they're in a sword fight. Except maybe kill zombies. And if I could kill a zombie in a sword fight, that would pretty much be the best thing ever. But until a sword fighting game comes out that actually makes me feel like I'm sword fighting, these games will get a rating of one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Play At Your Own Risk

posted by WhiteDraco (GREENSBORO, NC) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're thinking of picking up this game...don't do it unless you want to get dissapointed. I played this game for only 1 hour & I already beat it. The game sucked big time. At first it may seem easy, but then it just jumps straight to "this is way too hard, I give up!" difficulty in the blink of an eye...literally!

I don't know about you, but that game was lucky it was a Gamefly Rental. If it wasn't, I would've tossed it into the Atlantic, a mine field, a woodchipper, or the Mississippi River! It was THAT bad!

The graphics were horrible! It looked like they slapped junk together, fixed it up in a hurry, & sent it out. My little sister, Juno, could've done better...& she's only 9 years old! When I first looked at the game's screenshot's & videos, I thought it would be loads of fun. Well shoot me 2 times, cause I was dead wrong.

Gamers world wide, never pick up the game Swords. It has a pathetic choice of blades, you can't create your character, pick their gender, name him, there's no story line, it's just nothing but pointless sword fights, you don't get that special feel or rush a REAL game could give you, & it just plain sucked. On a scale of 1 to 10 on the How-much-it-sucked scale. I'd give it a harsh 20...& I just did. If I could, I'd stamp a big fat EPIC FAIL on that game's case. They could've, would've, & should've done better...but didn't!

So let's wrap this up: Don't buy this epic fail they call a game unless you want to feel dissapointment & knowing the fact that you just wasted about an hour or 2 of your life trying to get some real action out of this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nope

posted by luke723 (SALEM, NH) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Plain and simple, all I have ever wanted since the day the wii came out was the chance to experience the good ole days before guns when men had to fight with pure strength and couarge using only their trusy blade. Well this game, it ain't it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

like others

posted by yuckyjake (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

Like others I found this game lacking. so much graphics put into a simple wii resort swordplay game, and the resort game is funnier. the remote needed recalibration too often. the story line was weak. best to skip it this time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

CALL THE VIDEO GAME POLICE! SEND THIS GAME TO JAIL

posted by aeroman2 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

This is the worst game i have ever played! I would rather play almost any game other than this one!

pros: I can't think of any.

cons: terrible graphics.
short gameplay.
enemies block every single attack.
controller is very unresponsive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »