Rent Surf's Up for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Surf's Up

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.0

1010 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Interestingly Enjoyable

posted by 3vPorsche (CLARKDALE, AZ) May 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Honestly, I managed to have a blast playing this game (1000/1000gs). The overall controls and combos are simple, yet the graphics, powered by Epic's Unreal 3, are beautiful. The water was very believable, and the individual characters and courses were exquisitely designed.

The draw was that this was another game in which 100 or more collectable's were needed to finish off the game. I actually distaste that with vigor - I really don't enjoy playing the same level over and over again, but thankfully, they were short and easy.

A bit of advice for achievement junkies:

Go for the main goals first, then work on the idols. It was more appealing that way. This game is an incredibly easy 950gs, and that last 50 is moderate, but very doable. It all depends on whether or not you are a completionist or gamerscore junkie.

I was glad I played this game, and would expect that many of you would be willing to play it other than gamerscore.

Graphics: 8
Controls: 7
Gameplay: 9
Replay: 4
Overall: 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Surfs Up

posted by AZDeath (MUNDS PARK, AZ) Jun 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not bad for a rental. Probably wont want to buy it though as it has its limits. One of the quickest Gamer points games. Can hit 950 in about 5 hours. The last 50 points requires some looking and hence more time. Game play is pretty fun. For those 10 hours anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surpriseingly Funnnnnnn

posted by blacklabel (FLORENCE, KY) May 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very fun game for the family and for adults, very easy if your into achiv. Would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

kids version of "kelly slater"

posted by kevinwpbfl (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Oct 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

surfs up is a fun and under-rated kids game.
its basically a easy version of "kelly slater"
easy for kids to pick up and hit the waves.
didnt feel like a typical movie tie-in game, since it doesnt follow the movie story line.
controls decently and as i said kids will find it amusing and fun as there isnt too many super-long combos to learn.
graphics are decent, nothing outstanding but nothing bad either.
sound is ok, the songs get old real fast though. \
its an easy 1000 gamerscore as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

surf's up review

posted by bugsant (LAKELAND, FL) Sep 22, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i liked the game a lot i thought it was neat how each step took you to a further challenge i found myself going back a doing each level that i had played over. in all it was geared more for younger adults but it was a good game it kept me challenged for a few days while i waited for another game.... lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Like "Tony Hawk" if Tony were a surfing penguin

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2003

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This cute game is not surprising in any way, shape or form. You can bet it was pretty much mandatory that a surfing game be made from this. The game is short (my wife beat it in 2 days on non-continuous playing and my daughter was getting pretty far too), but fun while it lasts. Other than surfing, there is a leaf-sliding mini-game but that too is limited.
Out on the surf, you perform stunts to nab points. Grabs, "grinds", flip tricks and others are at your disposal depending on the button pushed and stick direction. You do have to land the trick successfully though or no points for you. So, yes it's alot like Tony Hawk. The only "un-Tony" thing is the wave that sometimes covers bonus or stunt areas if you're not careful. Surfing the pipe can get you major points by corkscrew stunts.
The graphics are nice and the voice-overs are well done (albeit repetitive). you'll surf at night time, near a volcano and in jagged-rock waters, so the environmental changes are nice.
Controls are okay: It would have been nice if linking combos were easier or if you could rotate mid-trick with the R-stick.
Unlockables are the expected costumes, characters, boards and paint jobs. What's nice is that the unlocked characters do have their own unique stunts and animations.
Multiplayer is really limited. I wouldn't go there.
Another bonus (depending on how you look at it) is the ease of receiving the 1000 achievement points. My wife racked-up the full thousand in 2 days whereas I'm still collecting what I can in Condemned and Gears. But hey, this game is fun for the family...while it lasts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Much Better Than Expected

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Oct 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Well, outside of Harry Potter, the crop of movie tie-in games have been quite bad, to be generous. When I put Surf's Up into my 360, I wasn't expecting much of anything.

I will not claim it is a great game --- but I will give it a ton of credit for being a lot better than I expected it to be.

Rather than try and do the traditional sub-par platformer, the developers decided to make it a surfing game. That, alone, is inspired. They made a game quite unlike all other tie-ins and should be commended for it. And the surfing isn't bad. It's not going to rock your world, but it is a fun little diversion.

The game, however, is short. Not significantly longer than the movie itself, which is a bit of a concern. The visuals are pretty good, but there are major clipping issues and the game has a really hard time making a wipe-out when the wave curls over you look, well, less than horrible. The surfing levels are fun enough and the tricks are rather easy to pull off. The leaf sliding actually was more of a challenge (challenge being a very subjective term) and was actually a bit more fun to me.

The game is custom-made for rental. It is a fun diversion for 2 or so hours. You will not be bored as nothing lasts long enough to be tedious.

Easily the 2d best movie tie-in of the year. But that isn't exactly high praise.
-=Mike

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for young kids

posted by Medusa512 (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

My 7 year old son and his friend liked this game because they could play against each other. Controls are fairly simple to use.
You can unlock some other fun characters which both boys enjoyed.

I don't think they cared, but it was fairly repetitive game play throughout and similar to skateboarding type games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great rental

posted by 360chik (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

While I would not buy this game because once it's done, I was over it, I've found it to be such a fun rental. I recommend doing the tutorial, because you learn the fun tricks. I only use the hard tricks and the stoke, and you can really rack up points on the waves (as well as some achievement points). You can also do some go thru some pipes on some of the courses, and there's tons of grinders on every course.

there was also a leaf sliding game that I did not find to be fun, but if you are totally into achievement points, you might want to do it. I wasn't worth the frustration for extra 100 points for me.

This is a totally cute, fun, kind of different game. And you will get achievement points. great for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is not an Action/Adventure Game

posted by Nightmare2 (TACOMA, WA) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

Gamefly has this game listed as an action/adventure game, when in fact it should be listed under sports, because all you can do is surf in this game. Now that being said it is a really fun game the tricks are easy to preform and the replay vale is fair. I did enjoy this game, it was fun to master all the tricks and stunts in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game

posted by GoHokies (ROCKLEDGE, FL) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

To be honest I only got this game for the easy 1000gs. I knew everyone said the game was good but I didn't really think it to be true. I was happily proven wrong. Every single place I surfed at was great. The sceney and graphics in this game were great for a kids game and I actually got into the game. The only time I was bored was during the tutorial and you don't have to do it. There is also a mini game accesible through the main menu called leaf sliding in which you are on. A leaf sliding down courses around a volcano. This was very fun, somewhat frustrating, but fun. Overall I enjoyed this game and recommend it a must RENT for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good

posted by thegodtwon (STANTON, KY) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

I look for basic elements in the games I play: fun, replayability, easy to learn controls, challening but not so much as to be frustrating and not fun. This game has all of the above. I would recommend it to young and old gamers alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great kids game

posted by jaynut6260 (BARKHAMSTED, CT) Sep 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

this a good surfing game and kids like it !! also it was a easy 1000 achievement points!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SUPRISINGLY REFRESHING

posted by Barrow20 (HENDERSON, NV) Aug 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

Surf's Up, the game that follows the animated movie release of the same name, is surprisingly refreshing. Surf's Up provides decent gameplay, above average graphics, and easy achievements to make the game interesting enough moderate gamers to play while being easy enough for rookies. In Surf's Up, you surf and leaf slide. While surfing, you try to pass through a certain number of gates, collect a certain number of surf idols, and score enough points to move on to the next level. In leaf slide, you try to make it down a hill in certain amount of time while collecting surf idols along the way.

This game is a refreshing children's game, that brings fun to the moderate to rookie game, or the achievement addict.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Rental Easy Achievements

posted by Its4me2n0 (SANTEE, CA) Jul 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This Game Was Pritty Fun I Recamend It For Kids And People THat Want Easy Achivements. Its A Easy Game 2 Beat It Took Me About 5 Hours So I Wouldnt Buy It, But Its Worth Renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Like an achievment Slot Machine.

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Jul 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

This game is cute and actually pretty fun to play. My 5 yo daughter loves this game. Very easy to pick up and play. Graphics are pretty good soundtrack is good but can be a little repetative.

This game is an achievement junkies dream. This game spits out achievment points like a kid spits out watermelon seeds during the summer. Within about 2 hours you will have at least 500 achievement points. And the game will be finished in about 4-5 hours, unless you are like my kid and like playing the same levels over and over and over. Overall Surf's up is a pretty cool game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

At first fun, but gets repetitive

posted by jasper7788 (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Jul 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game was ok at first, but after the third or fourth level it gets very repetative. At points you have to play the board over and over and over if you want to get everything. There are alot of ways to get through each level and each way gives your different things. There are alot of points where you cant do many tricks cause you will crash into overhead stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

EZ

posted by Dabler11 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 2, 2007

Member since May 2007

RENT This if u want rele ez Gamerscore points!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Players view

posted by Fireflex (PALMYRA, IN) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game is one of those, where you have to play a bit to get into it. It is not that bad after awhile. I got 950 in it in 5hrs, and the other 50, will take a little longer, but overall this is a game I reccommend for other gamers to give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »