Rent Surf's Up for Wii
view large frontback

Surf's Up

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.7

288 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

addictive even though repetitive

posted by emeraldin (NORTH BERGEN, NJ) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Surf's Up is fun to play, and it is rather addictive. You might find yourself thinking "if I could only squeeze one more jump/gate/etc. ...", "if I had just jumped a little higher...", and before you know it you've just been playing for 3 hours! But once you get the hang of it (pretty easily), there's little space for improvement and novelty, and it just becomes a matter of racking more points here and there. They may change the scenery, unlock songs/boards/characters/b- eaches, but at the end it's all the same.

I haven't had the chance to try the game in multiplayer mode, and I guess that could be fun.

Bottom line: It did kill a few hours for me, but then it became mindless. I don't regret renting it, but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

tis game sucks

posted by splitendz (WILMINGTON, DE) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it is so easy and repetetive i found myself beating this game in less than an hour. one more thing that sucks about this game is the controls i nearly threw my wii remote at the wall becuase the contols are so horrible.oh and the story and voice acting and graphics are horrible to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

IT SUCKES!!!>:0

posted by arbitor (SLIDELL, LA) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

It sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Licensed Game That's Actually Good

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) May 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

I usually despise licensed games. This one, I think is great.

Pros
-cool graphics (especially waves)
-very good humor
-pulling off tricks works
-no unworkable motion controls
-special moves
-variety of surfers
-addictive

Cons
-can be repetitive
-some levels have waves on opposite side of screen (I'm right-handed)

All in all, it's a fun surfing game that should be recognized.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Surf"s Up

posted by lilsis2002 (CINCINNATI, OH) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Very hard to figure out controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Little Game

posted by ElainaMo (CHULA VISTA, CA) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I enjoyed this game. It's not difficult to play but it's fun enough that I can play it with my kids who are 10,8, and 7. It is just challenging enough for the kids to play without being frustrating. Even my four year old nephew enjoyed playing this game, granted he played like a four year old but he was able to play well enough to have fun with the game. Overall just a fun little game to play without having to be intense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

unique take on a movie game

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

Pros
- instead of just making a platform game, they, naturally, made this into a surfing game, which works quite well

Cons
- not much depth
- not much replay value

Rental, unless your kids really like this movie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Surf's down

posted by yoshigamer (VISALIA, CA) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

yeah this game is not that good although i got to admitt it has nice graphics and it uses elliot from the open season game but there is barly any thing you can do you just surf do a couple of trikes and listen to boring news reports its not soooo bad its just not that good its kind of lame. so you make your choice is it good or not?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »