Rent Supreme Commander for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Supreme Commander

Not Rentable

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.0

1552 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as Bad As People Say

posted by ChuckSea (BATON ROUGE, LA) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

People are saying this game is not playable. That is not true. If you look at when this game was released, the release date was very unfavorable for this game.

Let me explain: Xbox 360 NXE was released on Nov 19, 2008. This update on the xbox allows you to install any game on the xbox hard drive. This improves performances marginally for some games, and drastically for others (mass effect, dragon age etc...). Supreme Commander is one of these games that benefits

However, Supreme commander for the xbox 360 was released was released on june 6th, 2008, about 5 months before xbox NXE was released. The fact that you can install the game, and improve its performance was not factored into almost every review by any critic. Obviously that caused supreme commander to have atrocious reviews.

If you are like me, and you do not have a computer capable of playing Supreme Commander, i highly recommend this alternative.

Although the controller may be a bit sluggish controlling the many aspects of this game, do not be afraid of the many technical issues that most say this game have

All in all, it is not perfect though, as the graphics are a bit nasty at times, and the game does have troubles with its save system. But it is very bearable to play, at most, and can be quite fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game kicks but it rocks so hard that wow

posted by pwnzer (MORGANTOWN, WV) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game rules if you know what your doing you really can dominate i advise playing on Xbox360 it really rules alot of other games i play and it also has some sea sombat that is new to me and its very fun so i give it 10 of 10 it really is a king of strategy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Should have stuck to the PC

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jul 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

20 out of 26 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This kind of strategy game just doesn't work well on a console. I've played so many great strategy games on the PC, it's hard to enjoy the wishy washy control schemes that they have to come up with for using a controller. In this case, the graphics were mediocre also so what you end up with is an unremarkably typical strategy game of collecting resources, constructing buildings, churning out units, and then going into battle. Same as it ever was... Without something to make this game stand out, I couldn't help but remain focused on how I would rather be playing a strategy game on the PC. The zoom in and zoom out feature was so unforgiving it was almost pointless also. Zoom in to the normal view that you will see most of the game or zoom out so far that you can't see anything at all. Nice job...

After playing Supreme Commander on my 360, I reinstalled Age of Mythology (2002) on my PC and enjoyed playing that much more. I lost track of time and soon forgot all about Supreme Commander. That's the perfect way of describing how I felt about it actually. It's not good or bad. It is easily forgettable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse