Rent Supreme Commander for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Supreme Commander

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.0

1553 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not your PC Supreme Commander

posted by Lizard (COLUMBIA, SC) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Supreme Commander was my favorite strategy of all time for the PC, well if you don't count its spiritual predecessor Total Annihilation. It was a brilliant strategy game, deep and rewarding for those who took the time to delve into its features. So it came as no surprise that I would want to try it for the Xbox 360. After all my gaming rig bit the dust, and it wasn't that great a PC anyways so the chance to play SupComm at a decent rate was another seller. So how does it stand up against the PC juggernaut.

Pros -
- It retains all of the units from the PC version as well as throws in a few new ones.
- The Selection wheel really works well giving the time to get used to it. They had to fit a ton of commands to the Xbox controller after all, from a game made to make use of a keyboard.
- The graphics aren't that bad really. (More in Cons section)
- The online multiplayer ran smoothly without any lag other then the stuff you'd find in singleplayer also.
- Truly great scale, once you get used to the zoom out feature its hard to play other strategy games.

Cons -
- Game suffers some severe slowdown and studders at times. Its like playing my PC all over again, just with medium settings instead of low
- Game takes a graphical hit in many departments, specifically the texture resolution and animation department.
- The Analog stick control is rather jumpy, can be hard to select small units amongst large ones.
- PC unit cap of 1000 lowered to 500 for the console.
- Lack of hyping up the game means the game from what I've experienced, being generally dead online.

I just don't have the text space to write all my feelings. Generally I'd say if you were a fan of the PC version or even Total Annihilation, you will love this version (Though if you got a PC to run it to its fullest don't bother) But for the rest of you, I suggest C&C which is a faster paced, easier to play game. SuppComm is really a love it or leave it experience that fans will mostly get the most of

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unusual yet Unique

posted by GamerFan114 (ELMSFORD, NY) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Supreme Commander is not your normal RTS. Instead it has a few aspects that make it stand out . First is its high unit cap reaching to 400 units per player. Som imagine a 2 on 2, thats about 1200 units on the battlefield which is insane. Next is its currency. Instead of money you have two things, Mass and Energy. Energy is in my opinion how fast your construction is and the more generators, the faster the unit rate. Mass is more like the game's currency but the unusual thing is if you're the negatives for both mass and energy you can still build but the process will take forever. Next is the units. If you're looking for a real RTS then you'll love the epic land, air, and navel battles. The feeling is so mind blowing and the scale is epic. Up next are the three factions. Without going to much into details, each one is diverse and unique in its own way. Like the one faction can have it's navel units walk on land, that's crazy! You'll also have fun with the super weapons like nukes,artillery cannons, or experimental units. Supreme Commander is a astounding game with great replay value so try it out today!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bad and good

posted by theroguard (GOLD BEACH, OR) May 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well supreme commander was a good game but it took forever to build a lot of building.I think they should make it so the air and ground vehicles buildings chould be in tech 3 and the mass extracter should give more mass.But I like the super X weapons except the strategy artillery. I could never build it's same as the heavy artillery for the UEF there super weapons take for ever to build and there heavy artillery i built it ones i like the aeons the best but i think there equel in power but building speed is definly the aeons or cybran but the UEF is the down fall of the group but there are good things about them. like there defence they have a realy good heavy sheild and tech 2 weapons are powerful. aeons have speed.cybran have good distence weapons.I hope i wasent spoiler this is my first review report i hope you like the games and i can't wait to try supreme commander 2 i hope that they fixed the problems in the game but if if you don't belive me try the game for your self.If you like this game i think you would like the command and conqur series is good to. have fun with the games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as Bad As People Say

posted by ChuckSea (BATON ROUGE, LA) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

People are saying this game is not playable. That is not true. If you look at when this game was released, the release date was very unfavorable for this game.

Let me explain: Xbox 360 NXE was released on Nov 19, 2008. This update on the xbox allows you to install any game on the xbox hard drive. This improves performances marginally for some games, and drastically for others (mass effect, dragon age etc...). Supreme Commander is one of these games that benefits

However, Supreme commander for the xbox 360 was released was released on june 6th, 2008, about 5 months before xbox NXE was released. The fact that you can install the game, and improve its performance was not factored into almost every review by any critic. Obviously that caused supreme commander to have atrocious reviews.

If you are like me, and you do not have a computer capable of playing Supreme Commander, i highly recommend this alternative.

Although the controller may be a bit sluggish controlling the many aspects of this game, do not be afraid of the many technical issues that most say this game have

All in all, it is not perfect though, as the graphics are a bit nasty at times, and the game does have troubles with its save system. But it is very bearable to play, at most, and can be quite fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game kicks but it rocks so hard that wow

posted by pwnzer (MORGANTOWN, WV) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game rules if you know what your doing you really can dominate i advise playing on Xbox360 it really rules alot of other games i play and it also has some sea sombat that is new to me and its very fun so i give it 10 of 10 it really is a king of strategy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Should have stuck to the PC

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jul 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

20 out of 26 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This kind of strategy game just doesn't work well on a console. I've played so many great strategy games on the PC, it's hard to enjoy the wishy washy control schemes that they have to come up with for using a controller. In this case, the graphics were mediocre also so what you end up with is an unremarkably typical strategy game of collecting resources, constructing buildings, churning out units, and then going into battle. Same as it ever was... Without something to make this game stand out, I couldn't help but remain focused on how I would rather be playing a strategy game on the PC. The zoom in and zoom out feature was so unforgiving it was almost pointless also. Zoom in to the normal view that you will see most of the game or zoom out so far that you can't see anything at all. Nice job...

After playing Supreme Commander on my 360, I reinstalled Age of Mythology (2002) on my PC and enjoyed playing that much more. I lost track of time and soon forgot all about Supreme Commander. That's the perfect way of describing how I felt about it actually. It's not good or bad. It is easily forgettable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

has its points

posted by jim53shs (RALEIGH, NC) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

supreme commander is a really cool game for the strategist who loves to waste time. in this game building massive armies is freakin awesome with all the big robots and nukes it is really fun,

but this game is far from perfect it controls can take some gettin used to and there are a few lockups but i feel that a patch can easily fix these problems,

but heres a funny thing lockups only occur on the 20 by 20 km levels with a >350 population cap so hold the horses and knockdown the pop and play the 15 by 15 levels and u will be fine

this game is a love it or hate it so i would recomend renting it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

World Domination

posted by YoungCali (ARLETA, CA) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is like star craft on drugs the shear number of unit allowed on the screen at once, along with the hundreds of custom options make Supreme Commander a force to be reccond with in the video game world i would defently recomend this game to and old Star Craft or W.O.W. players out there. It will put ur Commanding officer skills to the test.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Badly implemented!

posted by JRSUSA (WISCONSIN RAPIDS, WI) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

While the core of the game is kept from the PC version, the insensitivity of the 360 controller makes unit selection nearly impossible. Menu use is slow and awkward. Also the graphics look inferior to what was seen on the PC. It locked up my 360 the first skirmish I played on it, pathetic. Don't let this sour you to the game though. If you have a powerful computer try it on PC it's much much better with a keyboard and mouse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good overall

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jun 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played World Assault which is a commanding game that was kind of like this game was horrible and i cant believe they actually put it on the market, but this game is much better than that game. One thing i didnt like about this game is the guy only tells you what to do once and if you miss some your kind of left out for yourself. And if you pause the game it doesnt tell you what to do. The xbox live is ok. The graphics are average. I still think the controls on this type of game are really bad because there are so many controls to do and it gets confusing until you understand it. This game is ok though and its ok to buy because its cheap but i would prouble suggest that you just rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just plain bad

posted by serodon (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I'm going to make this short and sweet. Poorly done, froze about 30 times before it would let me play the game. Not to mention the massive lag throughout the menu. Terrible frame rate, horrific camera. Oh and it tried to kill my xbox. It wouldn't turn on for an hour after I put the game in.... never happened before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I cant see a anything

posted by BuzzLiteYr (ESSEX JUNCTION, VT) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I'm not going to make this too long, but rather hit on the highlights.

Very slow at times. Like a program where you can hit all the keys you need long before the computer catches up with you slow.

Really bad zoom feature. Once again it's slow and when you zoom in to see the action you cant see anything because you cant find a happy medium between zooming in to see detail and zooming out to see enough of the screen. This causes you to have to zoom out to a point where all you see are icons of the units. This makes for a very dull battle. Nice intentions though. They obviously wanted you to be able to move across the screen quickly.

Pretty descent design on the build queue though. Once you know the design you can find what you need very quickly.

Some cool units and features. My favorite is the fairy feature with the air transports. You can have one air transport go back and forth in a pattern bringing your units to a location automatically. Another notable feature is the patrol feature where units obviously patrol an area that you designate.

Overall I can't say that I got very far in the game because I bored very quickly with it. Not being able to enjoy seeing the action was a real downer. So I would say that most of my issues were all camera related mainly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A real Stinker

posted by spondie (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is difficult to control. The controls themselves are choppy and the graphics are the worst I have ever seen on a 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game. Bad Reviews? Please

posted by Twitchy (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Lag can be bad as with the Frame rate, but if you clear ur 360 cache you should be okay. Some Technical difficulties but nothing a patch cant fix.

Every unit kill Big or Small gives you a sense of accomplishment. AWSOME unit variety as well; Air, Land, Naval. NUKES ARE AWSOME!!!!

There is sorta a steep learning curve but you need to keep playing and you will reap the rewards trust me. This is a good rts game that has much potential as long people don't listen to what others that compare it to the pc say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Supreme Commander

posted by VegaSwizz (HERSHEY, PA) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is possible the worst rts i have ever played and is hands down the worst console rts i haVE PLAYED. the game has extremely long games that are in comparison with civilization revolution. this game was perfect at making a game that has no assets of fun. i love rts games but this made me cry on the inside. also their is no skill involved because you can barely micromanage your troops and the option of having prebase is dumb, so the game is pretty much lack luster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Supreme Commander

posted by roadfly1 (Alachua, FL) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

command&conquer its not controls are not easy to figure out and when you do game over man...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So bad it made me cry

posted by Pendino77 (PALM BAY, FL) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Supreme Commander for the 360 is a horrible game even thou u can have a massive amount of people the frame rate drops so low you can hardly move the camera around. every building and person builds so slow i had to change the game speed to fastest to have troops comming in at a good pace and even with the game speed all the way up a single skirmish match will drain hours out of my day. the 3 races are similiar and different in their own ways but moastly similiar and every RTS is pretty much based off StarCraft (if you dont know what that is you have been deprived of fun) 3 races the humans, the creepy wierd aliens, and the cool mystical aliens. the maps are quite big but it takes forever to get across them with ground troops (even in dropships) thats why i always won the match with airplanes... this game is as bad as Drake and the 99 Dragons!!!! DO NOT RENT OR BUY THIS GAME... EVER!!!! i give this game a 0 out of 5000

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Supreme Commander

posted by s21hanelee (OLATHE, KS) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is by far the worst game I have rented on gamefly yet. Its controls are horrible, the zoom function is horrible. Everything in the game moves very slow and the frame rate goes way down hill when there are more than about 20 enemies on the screen. I would not waste my time on this game unless you are a die hard fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG, Bad

posted by LordRaven (BROCKTON, MA) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game is so bad i mailed it back the day after i got it. I played it for about a half hour before i couldn't take it anymore. The lag was insane from the get go. Even with no units on the screen, the frame rate was very choppy. I couldnt beleive how bad it was for a new console release. The worst part is the graphics aren't even that good and the maps are awfull.

I rented the new C&C the same day because i am a fan of both franchises. C&C is a way superior game and you should get that one instead, because it is the bomb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

supreme commander

posted by joth4life (VILLA RICA, GA) Jul 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was BADDDD..... There are some games meant to stay on the PC, and this was one of them. Bad Game.....Just BAD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Supreme taco without the cheese

posted by Gotrek (ELK GROVE, CA) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Sigh.....Oh supreme commander how you shame this genre. You stand atop the worse games i have yet played on the 360. Your controls are the worse; graphics are horrid; sound is wholly forgettable.

Controls:,why do i have to fight to target an engineer behind a building because the reticle wants to stick to the building?

The UI: why does someone underneath my command talk to me like i was an idiot,"I think you should check your objective" we need to retrive the black box" This happens every 5-10 mins. it also blocks vital battle and buildings. why cant i switch it off!? how does the enemy have my number and is able to keep calling me.

The graphics: are so bland it crashes the game after the saves and the xbox at times.

resource gathering is so wrecked in this game it is never ending. so the enemy is never ending.

The game is just a bore and you have to use unorthodox battle tatics to win, i build a ton of Anti air and point defense to overwhelm the enemy as the enemy will send 1000's of units your way nonstop. On one map you can score a few achievements for doing nothing after your base is fortified because you will fight off a never ending wave of units.

I sure did try to go online with this game because it literally will give you a headache because it is so...so so gawd it should never of been made and i feel bad for these makers because they take the time to trow up 42 company logos that cant be skipped everytime you turn on this game.

shame on anyone who enjoyed this game or its PC counterpart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't waste your time!

posted by NwTabers (LYNNWOOD, WA) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Supreme Lame! A complete C&C rip off, laggy as heck in single player if you have more then 100 units on screen, the zoom and pan were either too slow or too fast to see what you want. Dont waste your time get C&C and you'll be much happier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best strategic games ever.

posted by player22 (DETROIT, MI) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Sep 2008

The game is great overall. The controls are perfectly setup. The story and characters were outstanding. The graphics were some of the best. While it has some trouble with performance, I still recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

please read

posted by dman112233 (DOWNINGTOWN, PA) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this is a great game would not buy it on xbox buy it on pc way better or buy this 1 for pc and then buy supreme comander 2 they did a good job with the moving around and selecting units in supreme commander 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excellent controls & RTS gaming, boring setting

posted by ATLgamer (ATLANTA, GA) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

As someone who has been playing RTS games on the PC since the first Warcraft, C&C, and Dune, I can say that the core engine is quite impressive for a console port. The controls make sense, and other than a small amount of lag, this game is quite enjoyable as far as "core mechanics" are concerned. The AI seems to present a decent array of counter-attack units and strategies, but honestly I didn't play enough missions to truly validate that.

The problem is fundamental on a different level -- right from the start, it's just "yet another bunch of sci-fi robots, fanatics, and tech-aliens". The voice acting is fine, but there's just nothing interesting about the easily-expected types of units and gameplay. The missions are long, and ultimately that makes them boring.

Kudos to Chris & Co for the engine, but perhaps it would have been better used in a fantasy setting, or with no predictable human-mech-army races?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse