Rent Supreme Commander 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Supreme Commander 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.7

1485 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Supreme commander 2

posted by 911Gamer (SCHENECTADY, NY) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Supreme commander 2 it again like command and conquer but with a lot more weapons. There's a campaign mode Xbox live and skirmish as three different faction you can pick and compared to command and conquer. The AI actually helps you out in battle this is a great game. At first I hated it. But you have to give a game like this sometime. Gameplay is solid. The graphics are okay. I seem better. I would definitely recommend this game hope I helped

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Supreme Commander defines replay value!

posted by mistgamer (TINLEY PARK, IL) Mar 18, 2010

Member since May 2009

20 out of 23 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Supreme Commander 2 was an overall great rent, and a definite buy for fans of RTS games.

Campaign -The campaign was overall fun to play, but forgettable once you hit online. There are 3 campaigns you can play, and each faction is a campaign. Very good campaign to play, especially for an RTS game.

Graphics - An annoying, but convincing topic to many gamers, so here you go. Very nice visuals, and are very convincing, but not breathtaking. Effects are a bit odd, but overall a spectacular show to the eyes.

Multiplayer - Why!! The multiplayer consists of 2 game modes, 3 factions, and 1v1, 2v2, and 3+4 player Free For All. The game modes don't vary too differently. The maps are very nicely put together for a huge army to travel on. The biggest flaw of multiplayer was that there was only a quick match option for Xbox LIVE. With this, you cannot invite friends to a pre-game lobby and start the game. You can only search in Quick Match. The multiplayer is fun, but needs more balance.

Overall - Fun game to play, a rent for me definitely, but I can see how it can be a buy. Try it out, RTS fans!! Can't play with friends though and not much balance. Very fun though. Tons of replay value and lots to do!!

9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The first console RTS I've ACTUALLY enjoyed

posted by WMAzrael (BILLINGS, MT) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Now dont get me wrong; I'm a big fan of RTS. Civilization IV and C&C are always loaded on to any new computers of mine before I load Office 07. But never before have I found one that I've liked on any console, particularly the 360.

Lets face it- the first SC sucked HORRIBLY, so I was understandably leery of the second one. They finally got it right on the second one- good three pronged story line, multi faceted ways of playing, good graphics... and who doesnt like nuking an enemy into oblivion? I mean, literally nuking them off of a map?

This game may be a keeper just for when I have an hour to kill and just want to wreak havoc for a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great re-make

posted by Winterborn (GASTONIA, NC) Jan 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Fans of the old PC game Total Annihilation will love this game. It has the same basic rules, resources, and most of the units. The Commander has been re-named the ACU, and the resource Metal has been changed to Mass. Beyond that, it's the same game with much better graphics. The campaigns are excellent tutorials for each race and the stories are engaging.
Overall, if you like Total Annihilation, definitely buy this game. If you didn't like TA, try this one out anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Way better than the first!!

posted by racinmason (HESPERIA, CA) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a must buy for console RTS gamers. The first game in the series SUCKED!!! This one is like a totally different game! No lagging issues like the first. They did a great job with the commanding and building interface. Graphics are good, sound is good. What can I say only I bought it :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another epic RTS by Chris Taylor

posted by S0LBlack (TOWSON, MD) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

This game is underrated due to the sole facts that it was given very little advertising and didn't have a huge console fan base from the previous one. This game, while having to be cut down in scale to improve frame rate and lag issues, is a vast improvement for console RTS goers in the sense of size, simplicity, and balance.

There are 3 factions with varying units, abilities, and play styles. Fights can be on land, sea, and in the air with a variety of units and upgrades the way these games play out are almost limitless. The story is a little eh but I didn't really play it for the story but for the epic game play.

People may be turned off by one thing or another but should definitely not be deterred from trying this game out if they like RTS games and this is a must have for RTS console players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A rent or buy? You decide

posted by strykermp5 (KENNESAW, GA) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I tend to burn through games pretty quickly and then retire them to their destiny as shelf weights. For me, this is a renter. I will play one full campaign, maybe a part of the other two. Really get into the skirmish mode for about a week and be done with it.

For the console... SupCom2 is a HUGE improvement over the laggy and borderline junky play of SupCom. The only delay in action I have seen is about a second delay when a commander goes boom. Aside from that, excellent all around.

The unit cap is annoying but necessary and I always over build anyways. It has been simplified, but is still a game that makes you feel like strategy is heavily involved.

Online... well, you may want to wait for a few patches to balance out the game play. It basically goes like this... log on, start a game, and your commander is wiped out with a squad of 10-15 gunships. They are devastatingly lethal and have a tendency to brush off antiair fire when fully upgraded.

Overall... a great game that carries the full nostalgia of the old Total Annihilation series.

Play, Enjoy, Move On.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Alot of fun for rts fans

posted by Nightwolf6 (DUNLAP, TN) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game has alot of great features a good system for upgrading units and stuctures. The tech system to earn new units and buildings was a fun way to play it. Adding add-ons to some buildings i belive was a great idea to, I love good rts games where you can work on a good defence and its not all based off a "All in Offence" game play.
The only complaints i had was there could have been a few more units to chose from, nothing major just maybe some diffrent shock troop units or such. The multi players was decent excpet no way to ensure you and your frineds could play, perhaps adding a Lobby/Friend invite option would have helped alot. All in all a VERY fun game hated to send it back hehe.

James/ Hardcore rts/wargammer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Supreme Commander 2

posted by xAscension2111x (MINERAL WELLS, TX) May 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you played Supreme Commander 1 then you will love this game. Better graphics and gameplay. I Give this game a 10 i recommend this game if you like strategic games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

drasticly improved

posted by kjo013 (HARKER HEIGHTS, TX) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the first supreme commanders game was good but difficult to play and understand how to play but in the second game they improved almost everything so it is much more enjoyable and the controls are better than most xbox rts games like command and conquer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by timetoplay (HENRICO, VA) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is a lot of fun but the story was bad ONLY GET THIS GAME IF YOU HAVE XBOX LIVE.

i know the first one was terrible but dont let that make you stray

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

supremley awsome!!!!

posted by reviewr000 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I simply love this game! it was totally better than the first one! you can use resaerch options to unlock some amazing experimentals so can knock your enemy down! I also like that you can build faster than the first one! finally, an RTS game people will like! I also love the battles that you and an online player (or an A.I) can be in! and my favorite faction is the cybran. my most favorite is launching a nuke at your enemy! so lets see the notes
-awsome gameplay
-good graphics
-awsome factions
-you launch nukes at an A.I without worrying about an anti-missle...finally!
-fun playing against your friends or A.I
-cool experimentals
-best game ever
so even it isn't new cause its been a while, it is a must get game!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The SC2 that should have been...

posted by gAm3Rx (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just as i build up my army and get ready to attack my enemies base, i find myself turning off the console and putting my controller down. The is something in this game that leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. For some reason I cant play this game for more than a half hour, and i cant quite figure out why. Maybe it's the controls... oh the controls, oh the horribly clunky controls. Why couldnt the creators of this game postpone its release another 2 months and work on the controls. Even though the units are pretty cool, the lack thereof does turn me off quite a bit. If only there was an option that allowed you to create your own units in-game. All in all, this game isn't the worst I have ever played (that honor goes to Earth 2160) but it isn't the best either. It needed quite a bit of polish and though I dont recommend it for a buy... its worth a rent if there are no, and i mean NO, other games that you want to get before this one...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome RTS

posted by iTooGood (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. You will love the graphics and very thought out controls for playing the game. Well balanced factions and fun multiplayer! This is the new bar for RTS. Similar to Halo Wars; I loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great RTS! don't listen to lower ratings!!!

posted by SUP3RM4N (WINDSOR, CA) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game at first to me seemed to big and confusing, but hey every game is at first. After one game i got used to the controls and units. The AI will launch nukes at you but only if yoyu make them angry off lol but you can defend against them with nuke defense silos or nuke em right back if you have one. There are 3 races; UEf, Cybran, and Aon(Illluminant). I like them all I have a hard time choosing which one to be because they all have different units and upgrades, there are endless possibilities to make an army and a defense. You can either choose land, air, or naval units to build, each having to be made in different factories. This game takes a lot of skill and thinking to be able to achieve. I highly recommend this game to any RTS fan and some one who enjoys massive battles and being able to nuke your enemy. Thanks so much for taking the time to read my review and hope you rent Supreme Commander 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun, if you like RTS.

posted by Notsean808 (HONOLULU, HI) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The story is a little less then par, but the skirmishes and the online is fun if you can manage to find a game! In fact I wrote this while waiting for a match!! Overall worth renting, or even buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excellent gameplay versus shoddy presentation.

posted by TimKing (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) May 13, 2010

Member since May 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

First off let's be clear I love RTS (Real time strategy games) so I am biased at least in that respect when judging the merits of this game. The game play is addicting because the controls make it easy to command an impressive army for what is usually typical for a RTS. The control mechanics for this game are really well done. Zooming all the way outside the map is easy to do and makes commanding your units that much easier. The story line is like a really cheesy sci-fi cartoon from the seventies. Unlike games like Command and Conquer that have FMV (full motion video) cut-scenes the ones in Supreme Commander are animated and poorly done so. The voice talent is simply atrocious except one enemy who goes so over the top that you really want to like his character except the dialogue he is given is nonsensical garbage. This is not a bad game as much as it seems the overall presentation seems to be for really young kids. So if your twelve years old or younger this game may be awesome but if not skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why?

posted by mob85kcb (NOVI, MI) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Why would someone take an amazing game and turn it into that? Now, I can't say I hate everything about the game, but I can say that you destroyed an amazing concept with an absolutely terrible game play. It seems like Enix hacked up supreme commander 1 threw some new components into it and never tried it once. Honestly the game can be best described as who can pour the most units towards the enemy wins. The game says they focus on strategy but all the Ai does is build two factories and set the way point for the center of your base. So for anyone who played TA Supreme commander 2 puts shame to the franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

mmmmmmmmmm

posted by MadMethods (DUBLIN, CA) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

well, graphics nice, gameplay far improved, interface good, but the multiplayer maps are tiny. The largest multiplayer map in part 2 is smaller than the smallest map from part 1. If you are looking for a decent rts against a pc go for this game. If you want a good multiplalyer game, play starcraft or warcraft. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Buggy and bad controls

posted by Distortion (RIO RANCHO, NM) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I went into this game with high hopes, and needless to say they were crushed by the time I even completed the tutorial.

Right away I noticed such bugs as the camera and pan abilities would be frozen after selecting a building or unit, and you'd have to mash buttons or pause and unpause to get it to unfreeze the camera.

The controls themselves are thick and slow, making it very hard for real time combat.

The graphics are substandard for this generation of games, and the arc of the main story has yet to impress me.

The tactical map overlay is pretty neat. But it does not make up for the sloppy presentation and interface.

Enemy AI just blunders around and slow to react to attacks, and is unable to develop new tactics or counter measures.

And levels are uninteresting and very linear, even for this type of game.

You would be far better off playing 'Lord of the Rings Battle for Middle Earth II', Command and Conquer, StrongHold 2, or even StarCraft.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

reminded me

posted by GeeBaba (ORANGE PARK, FL) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it reminded me of a game i have played which was cool called total annihilation, if i spelled it right, but that game was 10 years old, just seems like they updated the graphics and added a new faction. with all the new stuff available to people these days i thought they would have been able to do alot better then remind me of something 10 years old or more, an alright game to play for a lil while, but i wouldnt buy it, like the graphics though, they just need to learn to add more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very underwhelming

posted by BuzzLiteYr (ESSEX JUNCTION, VT) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

RTS games are my favorite so I was looking forward to something new to add to my collection. Unfortunately this will not be one of them. I was bored with the gameplay after 10 minutes. I was very turned off by the graphics quality of the units. I'm sure it was done the way it was so that a higher unit count could be achieved. I played the tutorial but still remained confused on SC's take on the building process. This was particularly annoying to me as someone is a veteran of RTS games in general.

In all fairness though, my experience has been entirely on C&C games of which I have every single one. I compare my experience similarly to the MAC vs PC war. Many similarities, but key differences and it will be difficult to change one user to the other.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Eh

posted by Brandong (WILDOMAR, CA) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 21 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I didn't really want to rent this game, but it was on my que and i got it today, and really boring. I really like RTS games but eh.

Basically playing this game all i could think was Eh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Kinda boring.

posted by Umbra_di_Angelo (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The game has awkward controls which, if you can get over, are quite touchy. If you can get pat this, the lack of story makes this game amazingly dull. On top of these issues, the game has horrible graphics for a game of it's era. Quite a horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Supreme Commander 2

posted by Battle154 (WHITE PLAINS, NY) May 16, 2012

Member since May 2012

Hi like this game. :) It's awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse