Rent Superman Returns for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Superman Returns

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS, Xbox
GF Rating
4.9

2687 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

FUN.......(for about 15 minutes)

posted by Ricoflo (SANTA MONICA, CA) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I had a lot of anticipation waiting to play this game. I was initially wowed......the visuals, and flying effects are amazing. Clearly the excitement was in flying freely around the city. I was again wowed when I came to find that after only about an hour of play, I was already 25% completed with the game. Fighting gets quickly repetitive. Overall, fun right outta the box, but it's all downhill from there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good start but , where is the rest?

posted by Cruisr (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the game for the first hour or so, then it just got repetitive. You find your self doing the same thing over and over without really getting anywhere. I played to 85% complete before deciding there really was not any new exciting thing around the next corner.
The graphics are great and the city is interesting to fly around for a while, but the great graphics and landscape did not have any meat to back it up for game play. If there was more thought put into the game play, this could have been a really good game (9 or 10 maybe). Unfortunately, it was all show and no go.

Pros: Top notch graphics
Detailed free Roaming landscape
Hey, You get to be Superman

Cons: Repetitive game play
Control difficulty during fights

Over all, this is a renter. I would have been very upset if I had put my $60 down and bought this game. I only enjoyed to for the first 30 minutes while I flew around exploring the city and fought the first few, of which would become many, robots. Of course I played it for a few hours expecting there to be more to the game then flying around and fighting robots ( which, by the way, I didn't remember seeing any of these robots in the movie. Maybe I missed that part.).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

only worth playing for 1 hour

posted by FilmYak (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Be prepared to enjoy the first hour of gameplay thoroughly. Then be prepared for the realization that hours 2-50 are identical.

This is a fantastic game engine... they just forgot to put a game in it. Weak, weak, weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Highly Disappointed :(

posted by Fbishop (SUNNYSIDE, NY) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Ok, I'd like to start by saying this: I'm a DIEHARD Superman fan, period. However, having read the reviews coming from both the press and as well as the general gaming public, my expectations towards this game were understandably low. Recently, I've had the opportunity to play the game and unfortunately, the game is even worse than I had originally feared.

First off, and I know this is nit-picking, but the John Williams musical score is noticeably absent, replaced with a kind of generic knock-off...close but no cigar (sorry, but it isn't "official" without the motion picture theme music, Bryan Singer was smart enough to realize this as well).

Secondly, the game has very little to do with the Superman Returns Movie, instead, it seems to focus on fighting wave after wave of robots, robots and more...robots (minions of Metallo, or so we're told). The constant bombardment of robotic foes becomes, at first tedious, then boring, then ultimately...ejection of the game disc in favor of another game.

The sad thing is, the game has so much potential. Decent graphics, fluid animations, a huge city to explore/defend. However, potential is nothing without proper execution, and this game falls flat on it's cape in this department.

To summarize, this game is just plain boring. Although flying around the city, especially at Mach speeds is a blast (literally), there's just nothing else left to do beside fight the same old enemies over and over again. Eventually, you'll find yourself destroying the city you swore to protect out of sheer frustration...Daily planet-bowling anyone? With more time and proper development, this title could have been just as good, if not better than Spiderman 2.

It seems the wait for an all encompassing, fun to play Superman title is still something that we as Superman fans, are once again going to have to be patient for. In the meantime, I'll be watching the Collector's Edition DVD's I recently received for Christmas...thanks Mom and Dad!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Mixed Bag

posted by Karmakaze (TEXAS CITY, TX) Dec 23, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Superman has one of the deepest and richest histories of all comic book heroes, dating back over sixty years. And yet, when it comes down to it, there's never been a good Superman game.
If there's one thing Superman Returns does right, it's making you feel like the Man of Steel. Hurtle through the skies at over 800 miles per hour with the game's stellar flight engine, blast foes with your heat vision, freeze them with your ice breath, and use your super strength to throw them into the stratosphere. All of these things are in the game, and yet I still found myself wanting more. The melee combat, for one, is weak. Superman's amazing abilities can be countered by simply putting one's forearms up, apparently, taking away from the experience of being the strongest hero ever. The plot is merely a string of loosely related events, and follows no story whatsoever; even the movie's tale is only displayed in a smattering of short cutscenes. However, all faults aside, the game does have some other redeeming qualities. For one, all of the enemies are of superman caliber. You don't fight any bank robbers or purse snatchers, and every foe has the capability to do serious damage to Metropolis, which is something you definitely don't want. Because Superman is indestructible, the developers at EA didn't provide a health bar; instead, failure or success is determined by how much damage Metropolis takes. While a good concept, and more faithful to the Superman story, it nonetheless makes the game too easy; an especially annoying fact since the difficulty can't be adjusted.
If you're looking for the perfect superhero game, this is not it. But for once, we're able to really feel like Superman, with all of his powers and abilities; and for that, I consider a few problems a small price to pay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Superman 360

posted by sportsfan (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Once I played the demo I knew the game wasnt going to be good. The graphics are pretty much standard for the 360 game console and they look the same on my hdtv. But in this case the graphics are not the problem, the gameplay is. You feel trapped going from place to place. The levels are pretty much the same as you beat up robots or whatever they are. After sometime the game gets annoying and boring. Throughout the years there has been some good and bad Superman games and this time around we've gotten one of the worst Superman games ever. If you are a Superman fan like I am this game is a letdown and only a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pretty boring

posted by ElvisL (WAYCROSS, GA) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game had some promise and after playing the demo I tried it out. If you liked playing the demo I really hope you liked fighting the robots because you will fight them ALOT! The enemies are really monotonous and boring. You don't really even to fight anyone cool except Bizaro. In short the game is very repetitive. most of the achievements are not to hard so it might be worth the rent if you want to up the old gamerscore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The curse continues...

posted by Bojixl (CINCINNATI, OH) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy beating up robots the exact same way for a few hours without wanting to jab your eyes out with an ice pick, then Superman is the game for you. Sure, it's fun to fly around the HUGE city, and some of Superman's powers are neat to mess around with, but ultimately the game succumbs to the Superman video game curse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wow, really bad

posted by Dekack (RENTON, WA) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well, I have played some bad games but this one is really bad. I almost put the game back in the sleeve and sent it back after the first part with the meteors but after I finally found a controller configuration I could work with I was able to play the game without having to go downstairs and around the complex, across the railroad tracks to fetch my controller that I threw out the window in a fit of anger. This game is boring and the city, while it is very big, looks the same. One block looks the same as the last. The controls are bad, it was very frustrating trying to fight someone that didn't fly because Superman wanted to fly after every move you did and while airborne it was very hard to attack them. So while trying to land you would fly a half block away and in the meantime the enemy would be destroying the city. The mini games are awful and it took some commitment to beat the game. After I beat it I wasted no time sending it back. I would strongly recommend passing up on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Promising disappointment

posted by Pyrceval (PETERSBURG, VA) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had hopes for this game, really I did. The demo I downloaded on X-Box live actually gave me some hope that some simple beat em up action could be had with a version of Superman that felt right.
The good news here is there are some promising aspects that could one day be turned into a good game. Superman is, actually, invulnerable for the first time in a game. He flies like he should and his powers are, mostly, executed very well. However, he does nothing during this game that makes you feel like you are actually Superman. The city itself is lacking in appeal and the camera moves a little too...freely sometimes during combat. Control wise he works great...except why cant Superman do a loop in midair? On the ground he controls worse with his super speed runs almost impossible to pull off without running into a building. Also, why cant you go into the water?

The game lacks any reason at all for you to get excited about tackling metallo and his minions for the thousandth time. Overall, its fun to fly as Superman and maybe blast a baddie or two with you heat vision and occasional interesting combo...but really, after about 20 minutes you've seen and done it all. Download the demo of this game and you've seen really all you need to see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Rental At Best

posted by jasong (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you love Superman, or even liked Superman Returns, don't buy this game. If you rent it, don't expect to battle Lex, save Lois, or even run into any of the more important characters in the Superman genre. The gameplay is decent, although you get the feeling that things become repetitive after the first 30 minutes or so. The sound is great, and the graphics are decent. Like the title says, this is a rental at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Is it really that bad?

posted by Montana (WICHITA, KS) Jul 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The answer is yes, it's really that bad. With all the hype I read about the game a full year before it was released, I was sure that the folks at EA had finally figured out how to make a good Superman game. I was wrong, dead wrong. I am a fan of all comics so these type of games are typically right up my alley. It turns out they just made a lot of empty promises about resurrecting Superman's dismal video game career. Superman Returns starts off bad and finishes off even worse. The camera is horrible, the control setup is horrible, and Superman looks and feels like a robot. On top of that this robot doesn't give you any sense or feeling of the true power that Superman should wield either. There is also a serious lack of real interaction with your environment and to much restriction on where you can go and what you can do. You fight the same stupid enemies over and over again and take breaks to be a fire fighter. The boss battles are just as painful and equally unimpressive as every other aspect of Superman Returns. Everything feels very artificial and generic. The graphics are not good enough for the 360. The story is weird, stupid, boring, and has little or nothing to do with the movie. It simply is terrible as a whole. The only half way good experience you will have is the flying wich gets old quickly. Kids 12 and under will probably like it just because it's Superman, but everyone else should pass. It's not even worth a rental. I felt like I had to fight my way through this torture all the way to the end just to justify the money spent. I will never play this game again, it just wasn't fun at all. I feel sorry for Superman.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

He flew it was awesome

posted by Tivey (METUCHEN, NJ) May 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Superman flies. Insane

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Superman

posted by richard777 (POMONA, CA) Aug 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

My 11 y/o son, a game guru says, "Too many battles one after another with no storyline in between". I watched him play it and give up on the game early on. Superman is not very super. Normally my son completes all games, this one lost his interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Curse Lifted!

posted by DAVELLE1 (DALLAS, TX) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

7 out of 24 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

As we all know, Superman has had a long standing curse on its back in the videogame world. Well that curse has been lifted. Superman Returns the game is by far not a perfect game, but what game is? SR is a fun game for the averge gamer, and a great game for Superman fans. EA Tiburon did a great job in making Superman a playable character you can enjoy, not a Superman character in another game thats a pile of junk. While there are flaws in this game, I believe they will be improved upon on the next go around. So thanks Tiburon for lifting the curse!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Man of Steel

posted by smidge1000 (MINNETONKA, MN) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

8 out of 32 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Finally a really good superhero game... this game blows all other hero games out of the water, you can go anywhere in metropolis, pickup and throw anything, and with the combo system it isn't like most other button masher games. I highly recommend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I'm lovin it!

posted by welzy9819 (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 24, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I did not rent this game. I'm a big fan of DC and when I heard this was coming out I got it. Trust me the people who made this put a lot of time and ideas from the comic books. Fans of Super man will enjoy this game as I am today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

THE BEST SUPERMAN GAME BUT BEING THE IS NOT THE...

posted by 360reviews (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

GOOD THIS GAME LACKS GOOD STORY. THE STORY ON THIS GAME IS I DON'T KNOW STUPID THERE LIKE 4 STORY SHOVED TOGETHER AND THE GAMEPLAY IS NOT GREAT BUT IS NOT BAD I THINK THIS GAME COULD OF BEEN BETTER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

go mach 2

posted by expyeb (GARDENA, CA) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

A GTA type game where you don't to have drive around like a moron to get place to place. You get to fly and break the sound barrier. Metropolis is huge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

superman

posted by jacob2379 (GRAND RIVERS, KY) Oct 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

they should stick with movies not makeing games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

life

posted by levi01 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) May 15, 2013

Member since May 2013

this game is good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Love Superman, but this needs an update!!

posted by LuvPBnJ (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

So it was fun for about 10 minutes, then got boring real quick. It needs a storyline, and better controls for superman..the flying is cool, its the best part. We need a new 2013 edition!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome superman game except ITS SHORT!!!

posted by iamironman777 (GALLATIN, TN) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I LOVE this game! I like the free roam and moves but the game is short and i wish they dont just put monsters and robots.COME ON HE FIGHTS CRIME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

hard and lame i hade to

posted by mushyman29 (MARICOPA, AZ) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I played it its bast on the movie enywhas on the first level ther whese assdrods comeing out of the wredo sky. The assdrods where hiting the crapy city. So wach out for that. The movie is comeing out in augest someing I dont no so chek on the what is......................HO. youtube and im going to get sleeping dogs for M MUCHUR . HO. Im going back to the games so come to my hous if you have a ds pc pc3 pc2 other stuf and a origanl xbox cuse im geting spiderman1 so I have to talk abot superman retuns thats WHY I CALL IT LAME

I HOPE YOU LIKE THIS SAME AS ALLWAS IM A LITLE BOY AND MY PASWOD IS BABY23 OR BAY29 so im done bye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Doesn't hold up

posted by djchangchild (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I was pretty excited to give this game a try. I've been a huge superhero fan and Superman is a personal favorite. I didn't own an Xbox 360 back in 2004 so I never had the change to play this game and since the movie flopped it fell off my radar. Reading some reviews prior to playing this game I wanted to give the "sandbox" Superman game a try since this had very little to do with the movie.

Sadly, this game did not hold up well. I still play a lot of older games so the fact that this was older had nothing to do it. After AMAZING superhero games like Arkham City it's just hard to play something that feels mediocre in the controls, voice acting, and gameplay. Hopefully Man of Steel (2013) will get a game as worthy as the Arkham games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse