Rent Superman Returns for PS2
view large frontback

Superman Returns

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, DS, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.0

656 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Superman Returns ....The game to the Store

posted by SiddiousX (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Dec 2, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

23 out of 27 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Seriously, what a piece of junk. The camera is broken and it has a feature enabled from the start which makes it even more broken (imagine the camera whipping around wildly.) The first level where it shows your powers looked promising. Then I got to Warworld and hit the melee attack button. I then proceeded to cry for five minutes. The melee system is so blocky and choppy it makes Mortal Kombat on the Gameboy look like it had depth to the fighting.

There's maybe 5 different enemies (not including real characters a.k.a. important people,) and they all look remotely the same. Because Superman can't die, the city can. Basicly they blow up stuff in the city and you gotta jam a car in their face to repay 'em. The difficutly level literally jumps from impossibly easy to so hard they will put you on suicide watch.

There's only two different types of missions, blow fires out or beat robots up. Oh yea, Mister Mxyzptlk hid 100 cats around the city for you to find, because apparently collecting all of them will make him give you back your artifacts from the Fortress of Solitude or some half-done story like that. The worse part about these cats, they make your controller vibrate like no tomorrow, and during missions you can't pick them up, so if a battle is near one you might snap a wrist.

Music is cool, not really a Superman feel, but not a goofy comic-book feel so it's nice.

The graphics (I played on PS2,) looked like first generation PS2 games. Whenever a menu comes up, the screen becomes shaky and looks like it's literally trying to make you go into a seizure to stop playing this horrible game.

If you MUST play this game, rent it. Luckily I did so I'm not one of the poor souls who wasted money on this pile of garbage.

All in all, the real title should be called "Superman64 Returns"

Also, to the people who say it's good, you didn't play the game, or you're trying to funny and fail horribly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Superman Returns- A bit disappointing

posted by Afreet (SOUTH RIVER, NJ) Dec 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

As a huge fan of anything Superman (I replaced the "S" on my Suzuki with Superman's Shield), I was eagerly anticipating the movie and subsequent game.
Although the game was OK, I found it to be a bit disappointing, as the world of Metropolis was very dry and generic. Missing was all the flavor of the world's most vibrant, bustling, and greatest city.
Very few things can be directly manipulated during game play, save for vehicles, pedestrians, and a few landmarks like the Daily Planet Globe and some statues.
You fight the same enemies over and over, with little variety. There are no difficulty levels, and the default setting allows one to plow through the game with ease once you get used to the controls.
The first time through I beat it in a few days of on again, off again game play, the second time I beat it in 4 hours.
Perhaps the most redeeming parts of the game are Superman's abilities, which are for the most part rendered effectively. His heat vision and super breath actually work well, and the flight controls are "realistic". I expected him to be able to fly faster though.
The other great part of the game is Bizzarro. You get points for destruction, which is always a good time.
Unfortunately for the game, since it was based on the movie, the plot isn't all that great. The storyline actually touched upon the movie plot very briefly, while cut scenes carry the rest of the story along.
I was hoping for a much better resurrection of the Superman Saga, and I fear that with the mediocre presentation of the movie and the game, investors would be hesitant to continue the franchise.
Bottom line: Worth renting, but missing the longevity of other great games that offer an experience you'd gladly want to play a few times through, like GTA or MOH.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OH MY GOD

posted by parcemag (READING, MA) Nov 21, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

21 out of 29 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

When I first looked into this game i thought, thats insane, when I played it, i KNEW it was insane

As you pick up the controller the FIRST thing you will do is make superman fly. That is one of the best parts of the game. The amazing sense of speed that you get as superman flys through the 80 square miles of what we call Metropolis at a top speed of 800 miles per hour.

This game is in many was a GTA style game. You go around and you save people when you want to save em. Or you can completely ignore them as you throw cars up in the air and blow them up with your heat vision.

You also get a very unique sense of speed in combat. One move that superman uses shows him spinning around the opponent attacking at every turn.

This is truly a very unique experiance. Superman lovers and non Superman lovers alike will enjoy this gaming experiance IMMENSLY

perfect 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another potentially good game gone bad

posted by dken2311 (NEW CANAAN, CT) Jan 13, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I agree with the majority of the reviews I have read on this game (probably should have read them before renting it). I have to think that the people that gave this game a 10 did not play further than the first stage, and were somehow still overexcited about the concept when they scurried off to their computers to rave about how great this game is. The camera angles are terrible, and you just fly around fighting the same stupid machines. Like most others who rented this game, I waited in anticipation for it to be released and was, once again, disappointed by another failed attempt to make a Super Man game worth playing for more than a half hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Superman Returns to The Gaming Industry!

posted by Brohamm (EAGLE MOUNTAIN, UT) Nov 24, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

As a die hard comic book fan, I've always imagined being the Man of Steel. If you have ever dreamed of flying through enormous cities at breakneck speeds, battling super powered villains and just being straight up cool this is the game for you. Superman Returns is surely a great step up from the previous Superman games that were absolutely terrible. Superman Returns successfully plunges you into the world of the Last Son of Krypton as you rip through Metropolis taking on classic villains like Bizarro, Metallo, and of course, Lex Luthor and much more. The game serves as an exciting form of entertainment for only what seems like a few hours. Why? Mainly because Superman Returns lacks variety and has a few flaws that take away from the experience. First, the boss fights can be EXTREMELY frustrating at times and can result in multiple attempts until you slam the controller on the ground. Second, Metropolis is big enough that exploring alone is satisfying, but I couldn't help feeling like it need more detail and expansion. Third, it lacks the qualities that keep it fun and interesting. This is all really too bad, considering that a few months more of development could have completely worked out these problems. All in all, Superman Returns is a great deal of fun...only for the first 2 or 3 hours. I recommend Superman Returns for a rental, but certainly not for purchase.

6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

almost impossible

posted by bovinator (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i thought this game was going to be good, heck i didnt even rent the game, i played a demo of it and it sucks! the camera is impossible to control.its like the the camera was always in a seziure! the first level was fun at first then as i continued the level it got stupid. the controls were impossible, the powers were... okay i guess,and the graphics were sucky. now, i am usually easy to impress gamewise, but this game is a BIG THUMBS DOWN! you people who said this was a good game didnt play very long. PLEASE DO NOT RENT OR BUY THIS GAME, ITS A WASTE OF TIME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hulk returns?

posted by RICANPRINC (SANTA ANA, CA) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Let me preface this by saying that I did enjoy playing the game for the first hour or so. The use of the various superpowers and super speed were certainly a hoot. I also enjoyed the fact that I could travel to any part of Metropolis with no load screens and what load screens there were passed fairly quickly.

Now, on the negative aspects. The first thing I took issues with is the general washed out colors used. Every building in Metropolis looks the same, with that same washed out brownish tannish color. Granted this may have been done no purpose to draw attention to Supe's or the baddies he fights. but I found my eyes glazing over as I travled, looking for those blasted cats. If the developers were so concerned with creating a living, breathing city, they failed miserably. And as far as creative crisis resolution, I never once found myself carrying a fire truck to a fire as I found it much quicker to just use my superbreath on a blaze even as I was being attacked as I only had to press the triangle button to rejuvenate myself if stunned during the process. I also took issues with the fact that as you are battling the various baddies on the ground that civilians would randomly run into your field of fire, or curl up into a ball in the middle of a fight. They definitely lacked a sense of self preservation.

I was definitely underwhelmed with the quality of the in game graphics. I expected far more from all the hype surrounding it's release.

Here is my biggest gripe. How is it that I can rip the globe off the top of the Daily Planet, but I can't rip the brick smokestack, billboard, or cable dish off of a building?????

To be quite honest, if you have played the Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction, you have played this game. And you probably had way more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pretty lame and boring

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Dec 12, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful



This game I tried to like because I am a huge Superman fan and I liked the movie. This game started out having not a clue of what is going on, and the cut scenes only have what went on in the movie, but your objectives had nothing what so ever to do with the movie and it is repetitive.

Graphics are average and the sound is ok. Voice acting sounds a little scuffed, gameplay is easy to learn but off target and uninteresting. This game is ok to try out for the first 20 min but other than that you wont lose any sleep over this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WARNING

posted by boston92 (WESTPORT, CT) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Please make sure you read this before you rent this game
if you are hoping to have a good time flying around as superman in an open world, don't count on it. every moment of the game is just really annoying, if you want to just fly around, well to bad because every minute another attack on the city comes and you have to stop or else the city gets destroyed. there are only Three different types of bad guys which re-appear throughout the entire game. there are also only three bosses, the third being the inside of a tornado, and trust me, its boring. if you are planning on having a good time with this game, even if you are a huge superman fan, which i am, its still not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Superwhack Returns

posted by SRXAgent (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If this is Superman Returning, he should go back. This game was a discrace to Hardcore Gamers, and Comic Book Fans alike. This games release was held back because developers didn't like the finished product. If THIS is what they let get out? Imagine what they fixed? Here's the breakdown.

Gameplay: 3-10
The Gameplay in this game is fun for about the first hour. The first mission is the only worth while mission in the game. Being able to fly at break neck speeds, throw cars miles into the sky, heatvision, superbreath, freeze breath. All great touches, they're fun for a while. Being able to fly fast is cool but the sky scrappers are all over, you can't fly through them, or damage them in any significant way. Flying around is still pretty fun but there is no point to it. You have no where to go, or nothing to do. Basicly you patrol the skies until the same 3 types of badguys come and attack something.

Since Superman cannot die, the town can so you are constantly trying to save it from being harmed. You cannot harm people at all, and they aren't effected by your abilities. EXCEPT freeze breath but they freeze and then run away. Your abilities BARLY work on your opponents so having them is usuless.

Graphics: 4-10
It's hard to belive this game came out in 2006, looks like something they scrapped from the Ps1 graphics engine.

Music: 7-10
The music was kinda cool, it was very comic book like, and epic. So it wasn't very bad.

Overall: 3-10
I REPEAT! DO NOT! DO NOT! Buy this game, you will be dissapointed. I bought it and I'm so sad. I plan on selling before it's price goes down. This game was all hype and it face planted.

My 2-Cents: A switch would of been the ability to switch between Clark Kent and Superman, and take on mini-task and having the Duty's of superman aswell. More than 2 types of "Disturbances" would of helped. Maybe bank robberies? Shoot out? Something Superman like. A reason to be able to go 800 mph perhaps? The town is HUGE but nothing to do in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!

posted by GameDad28 (CARSON, CA) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This game is by far the BEST superman game ever the rest fall in comparison really RENT THIS or BUY THIS dont matter either way you are getting a great game....and this coming from a DIE HARD superman fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Superman Returns... for this?

posted by ebertps2 (Palmetto, FL) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Please accept the word of other players when they tell you that this game shipped unfinished and lifeless. Lousy graphics, flat voice work, clumsy controls, and a poor camera all add up to one of the more disappointing games I've played. Shadow of Apokolips was better than this, and that doesn't say much. Back it goes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Superman shouldn't have Returned

posted by venom1 (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Jun 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is fun at first, but is way to repetitive. All you do is battle the same enemies over and over and over again. Even the boss battles are lame. Over all this game is pretty weak!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Superman "Man of bad games."

posted by ScullyBan (BRONX, NY) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you get bored easy. I give you No more than 25 minutes of playing this game before the boredom kicks in. You fight the same creatures throughout the whole game. It's cool to fly but thats only for the first 24 minutes. Loosely Based on the movie which made me some what happy.Basically, The only reason I even bothered beating this game is cause of My goal of becoming one of the most well known Gamers this world has ever seen.Play Batman Begins if you want a good Superhero movie game.

Later

ScullyBan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game stinks

posted by tgingerich (AURORA, IL) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was waiting months for this game to come out with great excitement but was very disapointed when I got this game. The idea of being Superman is superb but the camera angles, gameplay, and story line all stunk. You fight the same robots over and over again and never get a chance to just roam Metropolis at you own free will. I sent this game back after a week and playing it for 2 hours. Don't ever buy, maybe rent but still not worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by mattburn21 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i got this that ive been waiting a week for and its scratched wont work at all!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Really disappointing

posted by jgoble60 (DOERUN, GA) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

-WARNING- PARENTS MONITOR YOUR CHILDREN! IF YOU OR ANYONE YOU KNOW HAS EPILEPSY, PROBLEMS WITH SEIZURES, OR SUFFERED SEVERE HEADACHES AND/OR SEIZURES FROM PLAYING SPIDERMAN 2 - I RECOMMEND NOT PLAYING THIS GAME, HOWEVER IF YOU MUST, PLEASE KEEP YOUR PLAYING TIME DOWN TO A MAXIMUM OF 1 OR 2 HOURS A DAY, AS CONCENTRATING ON A SCREEN MOVING SO FAST FOR A LONG PERIOD OF TIME CAN AND WILL CAUSE SEVERE HEADACHES AND/OR SEIZURES! AND IF YOU MUST PLAY, MAKE SURE SOMEONE IS AROUND TO CALL 911, OR TAKE YOU TO THE HOSPITAL IF THIS HAPPENS. THOUGH IT HAS NOT BEEN MEDICALLY PROVEN I BELEIVE THIS IS POSSIBLE.

I've been a fan of this franchise since I was in the womb, and I have to say I'm really disappointed in this game. I'll give credit where it's due, the amount of playable environment is quite remarkable, but the sacrifice that was made in devoting most of the game to the environment leave the rest much to be desired. The challenges you face are repetitive and boring. You will spend most of your time fighting the same enemies, over and over, fun for the first 10 minutes but after that suddenly being a virtual Superman isn't all that entertaining. Most hardcore fans will find this game enjoyable, but I say it's content doesn't merit hours of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best super hero game of 2006

posted by darthl1378 (SAINT HELENS, OR) Dec 9, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best super hero games that i have seen/played all year.The graphics are awesome so is the ai.

But i think the game developers could do a bit better on the building design.I think the worst part of this game is missions rapidly coming on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Playable, not good

posted by Supermane1985 (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Based on the movie Superman Returns, this is a step down from the other decent games like Shadow of Apokalypse and Man of Steel. Its playable, and parts of it are enjoyable, but the city feels empty and the combat leaves much to be desired. It an ok rent if you love Superman like I do but everyone else can (and should) pass on this mediocre tie in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Superman Returns

posted by Nikkiw (MARIETTA, GA) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I was so disappointed with this game. The missions are impossible. I wish I had read the reviews prior to renting. I sent it back the next day. Horrible is actually too high of a rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

super man returns

posted by gameplay10 (BOZEMAN, MT) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

it was so slow I coldent stand it so dont waste your time if it starts of slow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

: 0

posted by yhaoooooo (FRANKFORT, KY) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

oh god have mercy on whoever played this poo poo!Here's a list!It sucks!

GPARPHICS-7/10(WOW)
GAMEPLAY--1000000000/10
SUCKS-10/10
WANTING TO KILL YOURSELF AFTERWARDS-10/10
CONTRELS-5/10
COMBAT-1/10
SORTYLINE- -5/10
See how much it sucks?!:.(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Superman Returns

posted by 2015239 (SOUTH HAVEN, MN) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

Even though being Superman and flying around the city sounds cool you may want to leave this one alone. This game hasn't scored big with gamestop, gamefly members, and me! It's rating is 5 I'm suprised it isn't lower. It is fun flying around the city and stuff like that, but the general game was just, I don't know how to explain it.
Some of the reasons the general game stunk so horribly was PLOT sure it's based on a movie but if you haven't seen the movie and played it you would get lost in it. Let me explain it further they don't really follow Superman's story they follow the supervillian's story or whatever he's planing. All the game is is this came out of nowhere destroy it, he got out of prison send him packing, ext. ext. ext.
The second reason this blows is GRAPHICS. Sure the city is cool but you and others may find that characters with still faces during game play at this age is a little weird. What's the matter didn't want to spend the time to do some faces when he hits the robot.
Last but not least is ENDING. Gamefly doesn't want me to spoil it, so basicly it was Superweak I know that was a lame joke but thats it. I am done. Bye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

come on ea. is this the best game ever?

posted by momoman (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

i never thought this game was bad.superman returns kinda takes the fun out of games.the story starts off when you just fly around and hit people.lois lane appears in this game but she talk too much.your only chance of survival is to hit everyone.superman dies to easily when he stays awake and a car is coming at him.here is another sucky thing superman likes to talk to himself.the graphics are bad(it was worse than before).metropolis does everything you do(which is wierd because thats a glitch.i would not recomend this game to any who is not or is a superman fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Superman Returns Review By Richard Polinski

posted by kittypepsi (DICKSON, TN) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Hello This is a Superman returns review and i say the game was good but not long enough to be a real game. And saying that in the nicest way possible it Sucked you guys at the game development need to make the game look more real for the Ps2 its still a good console and it needs some attention and graphics need to look more real like the PS3 then the ps2 would be more worth playing now a days and some people have a Ps2 because they can't afford the ps3 or XBOX 360 so we need help for the Playstation 2. Superman Returns was fun at first then it gets sorta BORING all you do is Fly around in tights and you could tell when somebody looked fake and everybody looked fake! And Spider-man 3 looked real fake on ps2 but on all other systems it look awesome!!! so you guys need to do some work for the ps2 and release a new one it sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse