Rent Super Swing Golf for Wii
view large frontback

Super Swing Golf

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.5

1175 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but not great

posted by Jfecrpko (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game really didn't catch my attention right away. It doesn't give you very many options as far as players, courses, etc... There are unlockables, but it seemed to take forever to rack up enough "Pang" points to purchase items in the shop. The game play itself was fun and a little different than Wii Sports, however, it seemed that the players "stats" tended to take over at times and really mess up your shot. This wasn't cool at all. One nice thing about the game is it is kind of like a giant putt-putt course as you can ricochet off of other items for multiplied "Pang" points, but when you risk going out of bounds or dropping it into the water, it doesn't seem worth the risk. Overall, I would say this game would be good to own so that you can play it when you're bored with the "fun" games and it would make worthwhile of collecting the items.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I wanted to like it...

posted by Oldgamer80 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) May 11, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like Super Swing Golf. I didn't want something bogged down with stats and "realism" like Tiger Woods, so I expected Super Swing Would be great. I figured if it was only as good as the wii sports demo, Super Swing would be worth the money. Unfortunately after a few hours, I can't say Super Swing's got anything going for it. The controls are counter-intuitive. If you want to hit a ball, forget swinging the remote like a golf club. Instead, push several buttons in a row, going to up to 3-4 different in-game views to line the shot up, then "lock" the power at the right level, and swing the club. The since the swing's power is pre-set and you've spent tons of effort positioning the shot on other screens, the actual swing only gives you an opportunity to mess up, and if you slice it, you slice it bad. Putting the ball gives you a crazy heads-up display that completely obscures the entire green and removes even the slightest bit of gamer immersion. It's highly unrewarding.

Making matters worse, if you play solo, you've got to play against a computer opponent, who golfs slowly and you cant skip through their turns. Watching the computer players golf just isn't fun, and if you play one player, that's what you're going to be doing for most of the game... watching the computer play golf slowly while you wait for your turn.
If you want a good fun golf game, stick with the free Wii Sports Demo. Super Swing is a great example of a sloppy, negligent port over to a console. The developers should be ashamed of themselves. I'd be hard pressed to think of a less fun way to play golf, and I once owned the old golf game for the Atari.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you are easily frustrated, stay far far away.

posted by zzzxxx (CHICOPEE, MA) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

If you come into Super Swing Golf expecting a nice, laid back, easy, pick-up and play experience, this game is NOT for you. Thats what I expected, but hit a brick wall. This game takes a lot of time and practice to learn. At least 3 hours will need to be put into this before you really have a handle with what you are doing. The cheap AI opponents don't make the game any easier. Whatch as they take 10 hits to make 1 hole, then get a hole in 1 on the next. Putting is probably the hardest part. There just isn't enough on the screen to be able to tell how the green slopes. The graphics are nice, but they aren't neccesarily impressive. The characters and level designs are definately a breath a fresh air. If you take the time and learn how to play, Super Swing Golf can be tons of fun. But a lot of players are going to give up quick and I almost did. Only for the people who can dedicate a bit of time to playing and learning the game will enjoy Super Swing Golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustrating and Fun

posted by RedShoe (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

As with any game on the Wii - there is some learing to do with the Wii Controls. I thought it was simply going to be a 'grip it and rip it' type of situation with this game. I was wrong. This game is more complex than Wii Sports Golf but not as invovled as Tiger Woods PGA Tour on other gaming platforms. Give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not too thrilled!

posted by logan10 (BLOOMFIELD, NM) Jan 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I thought this game would have been more fun, but it was way too complicated. I really tried to enjoy this game and give it a chance but the controls are way too sensitive and there are way too many choices. I was also disappointed in the fact that the characters in this game all had a very feminine quality to them. Over all I think that this game had nothing to offer in the way of fun or originality. I rated this game 3/10 because I fought more with this game than I did actually playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hard to control

posted by WiiRFamily (MIDLAND, TX) Jan 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm a fan of the wii and it's obvious advantages over other systems when playing sports games like golf. While the characters in this game are charming and cute, the game lacks any real personality. The only personality the game shows in when you make it to the hole (or not.) The character will celebrate or act totally dejected.

Now being a parent, I have to caution other parents who's kids are attracted to this game like mine was. The game is hard to control and will lead to many failures until the child gets the controls down, but what I really didn't like about the game is the way the game's little character that is swinging the club will throw an outright tantrum when it doesn't get a good score. Not only that, but also the game "gives up" on a hole after several unsuccessful strokes. A child needs a sense of accomplishment and forcing them to "give up" just leaves them hanging and feeling like a failure. I would have preferred the game give you an option to turn off the give-ups and killed the tantrum animation when you don't get par or better.

Putting the parent soap box aside... the game is hard to control (realistic), but the backswing is better IMHO than Wii Sports Golf. The game adds arcade "power swings" and "special moves" to the mix which for me kind of ruined the golf experience.

In short, if you like golf for the game and scenery. don't get this game.
If you are getting this for your kid, make sure they have lots of patience and try to ignore the tantrums the characters throw.

If you enjoy a difficult challenge, like cute animated characters, enjoy golf and don't mind an arcade-like experience then get this game.

No, you can't use your Mii's to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a great golf game.

posted by Aultra (MARSHALL, WI) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying, I hate the Wii Sports golf game. The controls in it don't work well enough for me.

This game has controls which work excellent for me! Of course I cannot hit a perfect shot EVERY time, but I find that to be exceptionally realistic. It does help to follow some of the hints given in the manual, such as always swinging with two hands on the wii-mote.

I find the story lines to be very engaging and the matches are challenging, but not too hard. Unlockable items and characters keep coming at a regular enough pace that I keep playing just to see what I will get next. So far, I would say I have put about 5 hours into the story mode, and can say I probably am only 25% of the way through it.

There are plenty of items and customizations to work toward as well. Most of the items have to be unlocked by playing through the story mode. Most items will automatically add a certain amount to your stats. Further customization "slots" are given by some items and are shown by the number in parenthesis. For instance, Spin 2 (1) will automatically increase your spin by 2. However, you can further increase your spin by purchasing a customization for that character in the my room mode.

The one downside of the game to me was the fact that very little of the game is documented very well in the manual. However for someone who doesn't mind a little trial and error to figure things out for themselves, that isn't a big deal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Slow, awkward, boring

posted by Tequila (KING OF PRUSSIA, PA) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The biggest problem I found with this game is the sheer amount of waiting required to play it. There's a long delay at the beginning of each hole where you have to wait while the camera pans around, your player stretches, and finally you get to line up the shot. If you're playing against the Wii, you also need to wait and watch the other player do the same thing. This is not a game for the impatient, since there's no way to shortcut past cut scenes and delays to get to your shot.

The control scheme is OK, but I found it very annoying to have to keep alternating between a golf stance and pointing at the screen. And the slope indicator for putting is so bad as to be almost useless.

All in all, Wii Sports golf is better by a mile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ALMOST: Super Swing Golf

posted by Sargespam (NEWHALL, CA) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This was a great starter golf game for the Wii. The controllers work great and the game was very, almost too, easy! Graphics are basic, no frills, but not cheap or cheesy. My children and I all enjoyed this game very much, and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lack of commitment kills it.

posted by PunchAndPi (ROSCOE, IL) Dec 23, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

A good attempt, but frustratingly bad controls killed this one. I can only hazard a guess that the support for button-only style play required the controls to be as bad as they are. For instance, when swinging, you draw back and press 'A' to lock in swing strength, and then the actual distance seems to vary based on how hard you swing as well. Why am I locking in power if my swing speed effects it as well? They should have picked one or the other (preferably the more natural swing speed = power). Also, your shots hook and slice wildly, but there is no indication on screen of how you club face is aligned, nor a reference in the tutorial to indicate how one should hold the wiimote. The lack of a mini map on the main screen is also irritating, requiring one to flip through 3 different camera views and slowly scroll around to line up and gauge distance for each and every shot. Putting is made awkward by the lack of a simple line to indicate the precise direction you are aiming in. (There is an arrow, but it is often obscured by your character's head...even when you toggle on 'Transparent' mode...sigh)

Very clunky, very non-intuitive, very much NOT an example of the type of game that makes one want to own a Wii in the first place. I would have to say that Wii Sports Golf is a far simpler, but far more on the mark type of golf game. I can only hope that Tiger Woods Golf does a better job than Super Swing.

Rent it, see what you think, but ultimately expect to go back to Wii Sports for your golf fix for the time being.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bleh

posted by krodness (STILLWATER, OK) May 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had so much potential for being a great game, but the game play is absolutely horrible. If you're thinking of getting this, then you already have a Wii, and you've played the golf game that comes with the Wii. That game is so much better than this one in so many ways, from game play to course layouts. This game is colorful, but you can feed a cow some rainbow grass and he'll give you colorful s#!t. That's pretty much this game wrapped up. Don't waste your time with it for even one hole. The best thing about this game is if you use it as a coaster, you can keep liquid off your coffee table.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Even as Good as Wii Golf

posted by DocMac100 (NASHVILLE, TN) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Strike 1: Big Eyed Anime, where even the guys look like girls

Strike 2: Instead of using the force of your forward swing (which is the whole point of the Wiimotes), they use a power meter to determine the distance the ball travels.

Strike 3: The power meter mentioned above is based on how far back you pull the remote.

Thank Goodness Tiger Woods came out today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its ok, but theres room for improvment

posted by jajajon (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I’ve been playing the PC version of super swing golf, AKA Pangya(JP), Albatross18(US), for a little over a year and I was really excited for it being ported to the wii. Its wildly popular all over the world, I.E. Japan, Korea, and Brazil and I’m expecting with the motion controls, the experience would be more enjoyable.

I’ve played wii sports golf and for my personal tastes, I think I prefer super swing better. Although the swing controls seem a little weird, it takes a little while to get used to making the right swing. It was a good idea for tecmo to include normal press the button control, great for beginners or in my case too lazy to move haha. I’ve heard many complain about the putting system but coming from the PC version, I feel right at home. I even played with some of my friends and they didn’t seem to have any trouble with it. One major gripe I have about this game is the pace of the game. It takes soooo long just to get through 18 holes. An option for fast forwarding during cpu shots would be greatly welcomed. I always loved the fantasy setting for this game. Very unique courses that are very out of the ordinary and at time can be very frustrating.

So basically, if you’re looking into an anime-ish, hot shots golf type game, then super swing is worth a try, if your more into the authentic look and feel, tiger woods is coming out real soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not So Super Swing Golf

posted by elgonzo247 (PLYMOUTH, MA) Jan 12, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

One of the first actual golf titles to hit the Wii (not counting the one that came with the Wii Sports disc) was expected to be an awesome game, but I'm not saying that's it's not but just saying that it didn't exactly fall into anybody's top 10 games to play but to stand corrected it can be a very fun game to play with friends and just for something to swing that WiiMote to. Ok for starters; the game's cartoonish/anime look is suitable for everyone and can sometimes be a little bright on the eyes but who's judging, and the overall presentation of the game looks good but gameplay wise it did not get a hole in one. One quirk that i found in it was that when you are playing in story mode or just about any mode that you play against the computer you cannot skip through the cpu's turn you have to watch the cpu go through it's turn until it is your's. Overall the game is fun with people but can be quite time consuming against the cpu.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Stop Being Babies

posted by Goatar (LAKELAND, FL) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I opened this game at 7:00. I did the training, and yes some of the camera controls are a bit different, but the controls are intuitive.
By 8:00 I already played 2 3 hole games, I didn't win but thats due to getting accustom to the controls. So far I like it, but probably not for little kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as bad as everyone makes it out to be

posted by jquan1 (TINLEY PARK, IL) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game takes a little time to get the grasp of, as others have stated. But all in all it is a good time. As already stated driving isn't as realistic as one may like, but putting is actually really easy. They put dots in squares on a grid on the green. Where they put the dot in the square (left, right, up, or down) is the direction the ground is slanted in that area of the green. Generally one can just line up the last dot with the hole, and make the shot (not real difficult, right). Anyone, and I mean anyone who couldn't figure this game out invested absolutely no time in it! I would suggest this game to people who enjoy golf games. Just don't expect Mario Golf (that it definitely ain't). Oh yeah keep the controller as straight as possible for bonus points and power shots.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It made my kids cry!

posted by DeezUU (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is going to sound extremely pathetic but this game was so frustrating it had my kids in tears! This game arrived today and we were excited for it's arrival because we all love golf games but after an hour of confusing game play > it went directly back into the shipping envelope. Maybe if we gave it more than an hour to get use to it would be a bit more enjoyable, but personally I don't think it should take an hour to learn the basic controls on ANY game. No more golf for us until TigerTigerTiger Woods Yall !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dum.

posted by batfan (RONKONKOMA, NY) Jan 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

from the looks of this it looks like a cheap imitation of wii golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Triple-boogey surpise

posted by Tankman (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

Super Swing Golf is a ok game though it has its pros and cons more cons then pros if u ask me. i'll start with the AI...the AI is slow to swing but man is it cheap the wind doesnt effect your opponents ball and it seems to know just how much to put in its swing just to putt, u rarely ever get pang(money) to buy good stuff and the wind being mostly 2mph seems to send your ball flying in the opposite direction that u were swinging towards. But the graphics r very colorful and the characters and landscapes give it a miniture golf cousre feel, but over all i would stick with wii golf if u want to play a golf game thats easy and fun at the same time.
(fun Fact) Super Swing Golf or better known as pangya in korea was a popular golfing mmo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Did not like the way you swing the club.

posted by hockey74 (Minneapolis, MN) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I am used to the Wii sports & Tiger Woods way of swinging the club. I didn't care for this game at all. I was glad I only rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great fantasy golf game..

posted by reddevi1 (GLENNS FERRY, ID) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

I actually love this game. I have played it through and unlocked all of the characters. It can be frustrating when you are trying to beat the computer players. They are better than they should be but its a good challenge. If you don't like having to swing you can change to button mode. My mother in law has a bad back so when we play I swing and she uses buttons and its alot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a shot

posted by hortons95 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game was pretty fun if you are not looking for a golf sim like tiger woods golf. Alot of unlockable charecters and weird club(baseball bats,umbrella's) sets and balls are available and as you advance in the tournament modes it does get more challenging, which makes it hold your intrest a little bit more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weird

posted by acsgamer (DENVER, CO) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

A very "Weird" golf game to say the least. Clunky controls, strange boy/girl models that look very um...metro...to say the least.

Two characters to start that both look the same.

I don't know. It was not much better then the Wii Sports golf except for the more colorful levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The hardest game to ever get into...

posted by purdyluv79 (VINELAND, NJ) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I was looking for the fun golf game to get into after playing wii golf, and what i found was an almost impossible to swing golf game. Alot of wii games i rent, I have my child in mind and it looked like a fun game like the ones that use to come out on ps2. man was i wrong. Not only could he figure it out, but it was almost impossible for me to figure out. After about 20 minutes I was finally able to get the ball a few hundred yards. Also the golf swing is nowhere near tiger woods, which i didnt expect, but it was also light years behind wii golf, which was sad. hopefully the 2nd super swing will be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I prefer Wii Sports Golf

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

Pros
- Friendly universe, great for family fun
- More in depth that Wii Sports Golf

Cons
- I personally prefer the Wii Sports simplicity
- Friends did not seem interested in playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse