Rent Super Swing Golf: Season 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Super Swing Golf: Season 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

361 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Not So Great...

posted by Loc_Dee (LOMPOC, CA) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

I am looking for a golf game similar to the popular one from the other console, and I decided to give Super Swing Golf Season 2 a try. The game is hard to play and learn. The controls are very awkward and makes to game not fun. Just because the Wii has motion control does not mean the game should be control by motion. Poor game control leads to a poor game...I returned it as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by TheFletch (NORFOLK, VA) Jun 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This was one of the worst games I have ever played! I wanted a game that was an improvement on the Wii Sports golf and all I got was a really wierd anime game with horrible controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Annoying.

posted by DonStar (TALLMADGE, OH) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

There is way too much time between actually hitting the shots and the sounds were annoying. We played for about a half hour and then sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Between Challenging and cartoony

posted by dasilodavi (WATERTOWN, MA) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

This is a good Wii golf game, perhaps not the most accurate swinging mechanics, but still very fun. You have special items, upgradable characters, a bit of a story, and fun gameplay.

The changes from the first SSG are minimal. The camera controls are different, and it's a bit more awkward to adjust your shot. You can no longer click a map spot and zoom to it. The game looks and feels just like its predecessor, but with a couple new game modes.

If you like golf games, this one's a better one than the first. If you already have the first one, try this, but don't expect huge changes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I liked It

posted by texasangie (FREDERICKSBURG, TX) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I liked this game. I had doubts after reading the reviews that other people wrote. I tend to like games that aren't fast moving because my eyes are slow to focus so I'm not a major gamer. I liked the controls because I found them easier to control as opposed to WII Sports golf, because I have a difficult time keeping my swing straight on that one. The story line is a bit confusing since you don't actually meet the people their talking about. I plan to purchase this game as soon as my budget allows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW! Horrible!

posted by JJV1976 (FORT MILL, SC) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2003

This. game. blows. I mean reaaaalllly blows hard. Worst golf game in quite some time. Epic fail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

super swing golf season 2??? hmmmm!

posted by ctwarden (CARSON, CA) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Well I had to compare this game to the other golf games I've tried and it just didn't keep up.
The tutorial was good, easy to follow nice tips and things, but this game employs a whole different motion/action sequence than say...Tiger08 or 09. Three people tried it at my house and none of us cared for it. We all found the stroke motion too different from what we're used to, that we decided to send it back after just one day. Now we all gave it a fair chance, each spending an hour + each to try to get the hang of the swing , with only poor to fair success.
Sorry there just wasn't enough to hold our attention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing

posted by emgrif2 (HONOLULU, HI) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I felt that this game was sub-par at best. First of all there isn't a large selection of characters to choose from and secondly the controls seem clumsy and difficult to use. I played the game for about an hour and for the life of me couldn't hit the ball straight or gauge distance for any of my shots.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same as Season 1

posted by zeppray (SURRY, VA) Aug 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Just as bad as the first game! If you like baby type golf games this is it! Tiger Woods and We Love Golf are much better! The caddies are so stupid in this game...save your time and money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awkward!

posted by ddewelt (JOPLIN, MO) Aug 24, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game was too little like actual golf for my taste. I found the swing mechanism too awkward to get used to. I will admit I only played this game casually a few times, but I simply couldn't get comfortable enough to enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you dont kow Albatross 18, don't even bother

posted by Devinsdad2 (SHELBYVILLE, IN) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

For people that are looking for something like WiiSports golf, this is not the title for you. This game is a console version of Albatross 18, the free to play (kind of) MMO from Pangya. If you can open yourself up to playing golf with exploding holes and rocket boosters, this might be the game for you. I have been playing A18 for a couple of years and I enjoy this game. The only thing is that is NOT online enabled so you don't have the fun of playing against real people like you do online. If you can play this game without comparing it to WiiSports or you are already a Albatross 18 fan, its worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Playable and challenging

posted by NiiRobii (DUBLIN, OH) Jun 1, 2008

Member since May 2008

I was hoping to find a simple golf game that expands on the Wii Sports 9 hole course.

I was not fond of the way the motion controls work but was happy to find you could play with button controls.

It was easy learning how to play this game except for figuring out the "special power shots" and how they should be used.

Apparently you need to stop in the Pro Shop to get club, clothing and other upgrades to tackle some of the courses with their 575 yard Par 4 holes, yes that's right Par 4.

Anyway, compared to Tiger Woods for the Wii this game is more fun but can be equally frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Wii-make of a free game.

posted by Lamune (WOOSTER, OH) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

Super Swing is a remake of a Korean golf MMO called PangYa. The English title is Albatross18. The game is available for free to download and play versus others online, though like most of the flood of "free" Korean MMOs it includes a pay-to-play element. (You spend real money to get the upgraded clubs and equipment.)

Still, if you have any interest in a anime-like golf game, save one of your rentals and just look for Albatross18 and download this for the PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is the worst golf game ever.

posted by Homerjay (METHUEN, MA) Apr 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

There is nothing redeeming about this game. Its incredibly overblown. Stuff just pops up everywhere. There are random graphics like that paper bag with a face. The controls are just awful. There is nothing at all good about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No replacement for Wii Sports Golf

posted by simonides (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This title looked promising; I guess I was hoping for something more along the lines of Wii Sports Golf but with a little more variety and a full 18 holes to play, at the very least.

It's possible I didn't give this title much of a chance but I found myself getting irritated at the poorly translated dialogue and other distinctly Japanese features of the game.

The controls aren't terribly difficult to master and the scenery is fine, but there wasn't an overall map displayed so you could get a sense of how hard you needed to hit the ball. When you get a good swing big block letters pop up with the words "Pangya!" and when the ball is finally in the hole a bunch of Mario-like coins pop out (I guess you use these to buy pointless, mainly aesthetic upgrades for your character).

In short, I already had this title back in the mailing package a few hours after opening it. Maybe someone with lowered expectations may enjoy this title more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »