Rent Super Street Fighter IV for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Super Street Fighter IV

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.0

2427 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What you would, and should, expect.

posted by tronsta (ROSELLE, NJ) May 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

As with past "Super" iterations of existing Street Fighter games, this latest entry into the lineup does what it is supposed to do...fix what was broken, leave alone what wasn't broken, and add lots of new shiny things. It does it wonderfully. Let's hit the good stuff first:

1) 10 new characters. These really are not simply bolted on characters, they are fully developed and each are genuinely dangerous in the right hands. But at the same time, they all play so differently from the original SFIV cast.

2) They balanced everything else out. I won't go into major detail, but lets just say they tweaked everything in such a way so as to avoid there being any truly overpowered fighters.

3) The online component is vastly improved. You can battle in groups, alone, and an improved tournament mode will be out shortly to download for free.

4) Everyone now has 2 Ultras to choose from, giving you further tactical options depending on who you are fighting.

5) Everything that was great from the first version of SFIV is still there.

Now on to the bad stuff:

1) While the online component was tweaked and updated, there's still a lot of connection problems. Not sure why this is, but often when going through potential matches I still receive a lot of "Unable to connect to session", just like in the first one. I connect with other games no problem, I highly doubt it's my network. Not a game breaker, but annoying.

2) You're going to hate playing this game with a controller. You almost need a joystick of some kind.

Overall it's one of the best 2D fighters of all time, an instant classic. And the 40 dollar price tag makes this a no brainer. Buy it! Just be prepared to get destroyed online!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SUPER STREET FIGHTER IV IS EPIC!

posted by Jmaster67 (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Street Fighter IV (4) returns with an all new expansion with new characters, all of their alternate cotumes, bonus stages, new online content, and new kick butt finishers! I've played ALL of the Street Fighters, and I can say that this is the all time BEST next to the Alpha series.

If you haven't played the first one and are looking for a great fighting game, go ahead and get the SUPER version, not the original because this tops the original street fighter IV! Btw, for the people that hated the super cheap Seth from the original - don't worry, hes watered down this time around.

Another thing is that the original IV was 60, you can buy this for $20 dollars less and it has way more content than the other. Thank you Capcom for bringing the gamers a fighting game that will be remembered for generations to come.

Simply put: great rental, excellent buy. If you don't like this game, then you must not like true fighting games.

9.25/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If you have to wonder, don't bother.

posted by MasterMo (PORT CLINTON, OH) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

29 out of 41 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Do you like fighting games? Are you good at them? Then this review isn't for you. You probably already have and love this game. If you don't already have it, rest assured you'll probably like it.

This review is for people like me, who enjoy the occasional fighting game but aren't all that good at them. People who are just looking for a fighting game to try for the weekend and maybe play with a few equally-skilled friends.

To you, I advise you, pass on Super Street Fighter 4.

You see, this game is hardcore. This is an in-depth fighting game with plenty of combos and strategies to use. Which is what you would expect coming from the Street Fighter series. It's a game that rewards you for putting in the time and effort to practice and perfect your technique.

But if you aren't willing to put that time in (and if you are renting it, I assume you aren't), this game hates you. This game will not forgive you for not being able to perform intricate combos on a whim. And did I mention that combos require perfect timing? There is no leeway in terms of when you can input attacks. It has to be absolutely perfect.

Case-in-point, I went into the challenge mode, which gives you specific combos to perform. I had significant trouble with a few characters chaining a standing mid-punch to a standing high-punch, or other simple combos. While I'll admit fighting games aren't my strong point, something that simple shouldn't be so hard to time properly.

I don't mean to say this is a bad game. I really don't. But I will say this game is not a good rental. If you are looking for a good rookie-friendly fighting game, one that is easy to pick up, yet hard to master, this is not the game to pick up. Check out Tatsunoko vs. Capcom or Blazblue for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Street fighter 4 has definately gone Super

posted by Nykon0 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Remembering the original release of SF4, It was a good game, but it lacked. ALOT. Well dear fighters, request have been answered and a bunch of new content is added: Online lobby(now you can finally watch the fight while waiting and chatting with people), Team battles(2v2, 2v3, 1v3,5v5 ect), 10 NEW CHARACTERS(most of them old school fighters, and a few new ones), A Replay system(rewatch those epic fights).

With new content added like this, plus a $40 retail price($28 from GF) This is simply the one to get and add to you collection. This will definitely quench fighter-fans thirst. Capcom is on a roll, and they just keep on plowing through with the announcement of Marvel Vs. Capcom 3. What will this ingenious company do next?!

In short, Buy SSF4, Keep SSF4, Love SSF4. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Super bad game

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Sep 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow the only thing super was my headache after playing this game. It's the same as the last one, but some how it managed to get way worse.

I would suggest staying away from this game. If you are extremely loyal to these types of fighting games I bet you'll still like this pile of super hot trash, but if you're new to this game stay away. Don't even think about wasting a rental on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Super flawed fighter

posted by Killimajig (TAMPA, FL) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2005

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

After playing SSF4 for a while, a few good and bad things stand out.

For starters, this entire game could have been DLC. I know that Capcom and a lot of Street Fighter fanboys will tell you that it was impossible, but that's simply a lie. This was, at it's core, a nostalgic cash-grab.

When you consider how much was changed from SF4 to Super SF4, and set that next to what other game companies have made as DLC, the math simply doesn't add up. Games like GTA4 and Mass Effect seemed to have no trouble making huge amounts of content available for DLC, so unless Capcom is just horribly inefficient at coding, this could have been an update via DLC to Street Fighter 4. Capcom seemed to have no trouble immediately making several alternate costumes available for purchase, so they know how to add content...

Secondly, if you do not own a joystick, you'll find most of the game inaccessible. Most of the special moves require classic inputs that are difficult to pull off on the analog stick and nearly impossible on the 360's lousy D-pad. Forget playing online entirely unless you own a joystick.

If you're a huge Street Fighter fan, and if you own a joystick, and if you were wise enough to skip shelling out $60 for Street Fighter 4, then this game is worth a rental. It's not bad for a fighting game, far from the best fighter of this generation, but not bad.

It's just too bad that it's unplayable with the normal controller, and it should have been DLC, but I guess then they couldn't justify jacking an extra $40 from fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not All That

posted by GamerFace (RICHTON PARK, IL) May 7, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

The graphics are good but the controls are rough and hard to learn and will leave you feeling fustrated some moves seem almost impossible to do and the story line narration is terrible and cut scenes look bad. I loved the SF series but this game was a let down rent it first before you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It is what I expected.

posted by GamerDaddy (LAKE STEVENS, WA) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I loved SF2 when I was a teen. I was excited for this game because of the nastalgia. I guess in that sense, the game delivered. Boasting all of the classic fighters I remember, and even a few that were new to me plus two brand new fighters exclusive to this game, it defanitely has a huge selection of fighters to keep things interesting. All the fighters have the classic moves you remember from your youth but the charactures now look even better and some of the special move animations are kinna cool too.

Ironically, the same reason that I like this game is also the reason I don't. What I forgot was how painstakingly difficult it was to master the special moves of each characture and basically that same issue holds true to this one. Even with more buttons at our disposal, I still somehow find myself in the training mode for what seems like an eternity trying over and over and over to get that zig-zag thumbstick pattern and button combo down, to no luck. Maybe its cause I suck at this or maybe I just dont have the patience but if I can't even execute these moves in training mode, how do I ever expect to pull it off in battle. Then again, what did I expect. If they changed it all for this game, then those who played the classics would be dissappointed.

My recommendation...Rent it on Gamefly. Play it for the nastalgia. Have fun remembering. Then once your thumbs hurt and you get frustrated and break your joystick, send it back and get something else. If you LOVED the originals and you are one of those sick psycos that actually can pull off these moves, then I guess this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this sucks

posted by gmoney215 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

look the graphics are bad and they can speak english i hate this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Been there...Hudoken! That

posted by XBLRadio (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

It seems as if I have played this before. Wait...I remember now: Street fighter1, 2, 3, and 4. They are all the same. Mash this quicker than the AI or Opponent and you win!. Or if you suck: buy the advanced controller and have an advantage over most of the Xbox controlled gamers. YAWN!

Fun for a few rounds, but really the graphics and sound are so common in this series. Sure it's better than the last version. But unless you rae just a die-hard fan of this (ARCADE INTENDED) gameplay, wait for a better fighting game like the upcoming 2010 UFC!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

super yawn fighter 4

posted by BAPEKING5 (DETROIT, MI) May 14, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

its the same ol same ol nothing new but the multiplayer stuff and people thats it....i can't believe i have every achievement for street fighter 4...well i wont be doin that for this one.......super heck nawww

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Street Fighter 4

posted by tycronsmit (CLARKSVILLE, VA) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

SSF4 is the best game on the planet please support them so they can continue there Legacy in fighting games that no other company has been able to Top yet. Support capcom For SSF4 So we can see more like this in the future of Gaming

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super Street Fighter IV

posted by ThePope1989 (ARLINGTON, WA) May 31, 2013

Member since May 2013

This is a really fun game, i have really enjoyed it, not really into fighting games but still had a great time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Review by a newcomer

posted by Dyltron9000 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I don't even know how to describe this game. It's as if Capcom believes that every gamer in the universe has been playing Streetfighter forever. I however have not, resulting in a rather miserable experience.
When I first got the game I gave it my best, I tried out a few different characters (Akuma, Vega, and a couple others) but couldn't make heads or tails of anything. The so called "Tutorial mode" is not a tutorial at all, but instead a practice mode which does not even attempt to teach the player anything.
The command list was also quite infuriating. The text and symbols are very small and blurry (I've heard that this is not a problem if the game is played on a HD TV, but I do not have the cash needed for one of those puppies) and even the symbols that I could make out made very little sense. There is an "explanation" button, but it only shows the player what half of the symbols mean, leaving out one of the most important parts, what symbol means which button.
The game wasn't all bad though. The graphics and stages were rather nice and some of the character designs were okay (you know, the ones that are not just a gorilla sized man that lookes like a copy/paste of ryu with a different head) and the announcer, while really annoying, was kind of silly and put a smile on my face.
While I'm sure that to experienced street fighter fans this game was probably quite fun, to me, a noob as some would call me, it was just absolutely awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A lot more fun to watch other people play

posted by Kittles (MAGALIA, CA) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I don't have the energy to learn another fighting game ://

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

MK>SSF4

posted by stone1 (CLINTON, IA) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

I only played mk untill i rented street fighter and moving the anolaog stick to a spacific quarter circle and a button tap seemed to hard when i usually jump and air punch nothing more than 25% of the time and then really started to get nick picky. There was really no charecters i liked or could play as, in MK you have a cast of serious charecters and deadly fighters that everyone loved. Even if it was sub-zero or baraka there were charecters you liked and always liked playing as. In super street fighter you dont get any Scorpion or Raiden. Instead you get 3 types of fighters, Roid monkeys,adverage but still to big,and a girl,...chose your destiny. I get why this is godlike to some people but pressing down foward and X is just expected in all my fighting games.From a personal backround 4/10 If i knew how to do a SUPER move i guess 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Street fighter

posted by Shermain702 (HENDERSON, NV) Aug 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is really fun but only with local friends to me. The online is fun but some people take it way to serious i think. people still spam same moves. I am a huge xbox fan but i have to admit this game is better on ps3. The playstaion controller is easier to pick up and play with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

SSF4

posted by chrisjshatto (BOTHELL, WA) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I was let down on this one hopefully 5 will be better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

"Super" Street Fighter IV, a copy of regular SFIV.

posted by GameReviewGuy88 (GARY, WV) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

You wanna play an unbalanced fighting game, than pretty much any NEW Street Fighter game is for you. If you've played regular street fighter IV, remember how the game allowed someone to hit you if you got knocked down, not allowing you to get up, and pretty much getting obliterated, yep, that's still in "SUPER" (Note the quotes) Street Fighter IV, The only thing that's super about this game, is the more terrible characters and storylines they put into the game, and changing a couple of hard to do combos.

SUper Street Fighter IV is just a Street Fighter IV copy paste, still broken, with poor japanese mechanics. Don't get this game, go buy an AMERICAN fighting game, like Mortal Kombat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Super Street Fighter 4

posted by dtayenka99 (CANTON, NC) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This Game You Sent Me Does Not Work It Will not play and it has white spot on side of disc looks like paint aint to happy about this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Super Street Fighter 4

posted by UKnowWho92 (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The controls are kind of hard and confusing...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What Happend???

posted by sebi11 (PACOIMA, CA) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Something terribly wrong happened with this series, nothing like the good old SF2 oh well dont recommend buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Super Street Fighter IV By Far My Fav !!

posted by Chivitas9 (DALLAS, TX) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Ive always enjoyed playing this game since i can remember. And now when i play this game with my kids and i tell them this game has been out since i was 10 years old, they are very surprised. Especially when they see i can play this game easily, being there mom and all. Great graphics, sound is excellent. Different players to choose from and places to fight at. Over all 8 out of 10 stars.....AWESOME!!! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Superior Street fighter 4!

posted by Jedislayer (ESCONDIDO, CA) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game is completely amazing! As a street fighter fan I was really excited when they announced of doing a super street fighter 4. With extra characters from the original game it will keep you occupied. The challenges are fun and time consuming and will train you to become a better fighter as being a new player or a veteran. The music is awesome bringing you back to the original days of street fighter. As a fan of the franchise I recommend this game to anyone if your looking for a good fighting game to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boring

posted by souljaslim (PALMETTO, FL) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

it's boring , i expected more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse