Rent Super Street Fighter IV for PS3
view large frontback

Super Street Fighter IV

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.9

2299 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome fun

posted by Serjury (LORENA, TX) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played Street Fighter since I was a little kid. This is an excellent addition to the series, the new fighters are great. The online play is pretty smooth, except that I have trouble finding matches. I have to try 5 or 6 times before it lets me into a match instead of telling me it failed to join the session.

I really appreciate fighting games that dont force you to do all kinds of ridiculous feats to unlock characters.

If you are a street fighter fan you'll love this, and if you've never played a street fighter before... this is a good time to start.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Arcade to the console

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) May 13, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game will make any person who spends time at the arcade, spend less quarters.
Super Street Fighter IV has all the old button mashing executions and a lot more to offer since it is a widely played online game. All of the old characters and more new ones.

If you are new to the game, Street Fighter is a old title that started out on the old nintendos along with Double Dragon games. Over the years Street Fighter has adapted super combo moves. The game is only 2 dimensional, moving only left and right.

You select your character and begin the story mode. Each Character has their own storyline and ending.

Super Street Fighter IV has implemented the tag-team ability in this title, with online ability, and if you were ever a huge fan back in the day you will still find many other great additions to this continuing series..

The few things I didn't like was the ability to play the arcade and accept online requests while in game. Sure it is great to have a New Challenger, but you do not get to accept or decline the request. -- Making it impossible to just play the arcade while the accept request is turned on. I would have requests in second-intervals of each challenge. I would finish a online battle, return to the game and blam "New Challenger has entered the ring"
There is a few other online problems, like sometimes the frame rate stalls during lag and other times you can spend a good minute finding a online game -- Which only lasts a minute before you have to search for another game. There is no online lobby once you finish fighting someone you have to search for a new opponent ~ Very annoying.

However, if you love the game you will find it continuing nicely. If you are new you might have a few problems but once you get the hang of it this game is rather fun... I only played the nintendo versions and I still get a kick out of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Streets are rough

posted by crtruth (KODAK, TN) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is really good. I love how they brought back classic characters,but theres one thing that hurts this game for me. thats the ai spamming moves. I mean it just never ends. Take seth in arcade for an example he only does 4 moves. Zangiefs powerbomb ryu and kens upper cut sonic boom and the 17 hit combo kick thats it. now te games real good but this just gets annoying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fighting at its best

posted by chinod (READING, PA) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a great next gen fighting game. if u liked the first then u already know what your in for. The only real difference between this one and the first street fighter 4 is the new characters. A couple of which are excellent editions. So if u dont have the first street fighter 4 u should definitly pick this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

For Street Fighter fans, Perfection

posted by tclipse (OAKTON, VA) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you aren't really into the Street Fighter series before getting this game, the learning curve can be pretty steep, and you will get DESTROYED online at first. It's a lot about timing, but once you get it down, the game is a total blast.

That being said, if you're already fan of the series and have played before, this is simply a must play. Period.

This is arguably one of the top two or three fighting games (and series) of all time.. my group of friends has been playing this since the original SF IV came out, and still haven't stopped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game screams to be played!!!!

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Street Fighter has to be my absolute favorite game of all time. Ran out to buy Street Fighter 4 the day it was released, ran out yesterday also, even if I was hesitant. Alas, this game is awesome!!! Totally worth the $40.00, the most impressive part is the online competition that emulates the arcade feel of having a match interrupted, putting your quarter down watching a match while waiting to play against the defending champion. This game is AWESOME!!!!!!! Thank you so much Capcom!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but I must have outgrew SF

posted by Radiofloyd (ROANOKE, VA) May 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rented this game since I did not want to back track and play SFIV since I missed that release.

The graphics and design is superb, I really liked what they did with the game since the 90's when I played the game as a kid. I didn't care much for the 100 different difficulty modes.

Online was great, I enjoyed it a lot until it became challenging. I could be burnt out from playing Tekken 6 for 3 months straight, but I just couldn't get into this game as I do with Tekken.

I must have outgrown Street Fighter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Casual Gamers need not apply

posted by jpacs999 (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A lot has changed since the first Street Fighter came out. I actually became a big fighting game fan since I played my very first one which is Fatal Fury about 15 years ago. Now everything is really technical and I could not just get into this game for the life of me. Seeing as it has a great hardcore following and if you are a hardcore fighting game fan then be my guest and play this game. If you like Street Fighter try it out. Personally I didn't have the patience to delve myself into a character to be great at it.

Graphics - Departure from the Street Fighter games of the past save for SF EX series. Overall it's pretty good but personally I don't like the design myself. It's just weird.

Gameplay - Technical fighting fans and hardcore gamers please apply. Casual gamers don't.

Features - It has a great online mode where you can take turns and sort of create a virtual arcade atmosphere with people waiting in line to fight the champ. I thought that was pretty neat. No lag at all and I was using DSL.

Overall if you are a hardcore fighting game fan try this, if you are intrigued in anyway shape or form about this game you should also give it a try after all that's the beauty of renting. I personally didn't like the game enough to play it for more than 2 or 3 days but I didn't regret renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

sonic bum

posted by nesmo720 (MONTEREY PARK, CA) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

good ol' street fighter. thats about it, its still the same moves with the different fighters. classic game, pretty good as a "i have alittle time to kill" game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So sad players who play this don't play these.

posted by Mabans (VISTA, CA) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

1st off if you are playing this to somehow experience something you haven't experienced before don't bother. All too many times you may see how it maybe not be worth getting, or how it's just a super. But take for a moment an MMORPG and how any slight change to any particular class can have a wide effect across the board. A few things if you are planning to rent this game you should remember..

1. Fighting Games are not meant to be played alone. If you are looking for something like that go play UFC or something. Any and all true fighting games shine when played with someone else.

2. Becuase of 1 the 2nd usually suffers. There is no real story but honestly it's hard to tell a story in such a way fighting a 2/3 bout makes sense. But again this isn't what the game is designed for.

3. Those who have rated the game average or lower don't play fighting games. and it's fair, this game isn't meant for everyone. I don't expect a hardcore madden fan to play WoW and "get it". Some reviews come off as disingeinous..

If you are really into fighting games and aren't afraid to experiential then pick it up, chances are you will not be disappointed but don't expect it to play like Tekken, VF and don't expect a deep engaging story like FFXIII. The game does nothing new but refines and balances the game to where it's tight fun to pick up if you are casual but allows for vasts amounts of depth if you are willing to put in the work into animation frames (Cool downs in RPGs), Dmg scaling, and effect combos.. Capcom has delivered again and if you are into fighting games like sports games, RPGs, action games in terms of their relative genres you will enjoy this game.. I didn't bother renting this game, I out bought it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game with control problems

posted by Myownsun (AUBURN HILLS, MI) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This isn't a review just a warning to anyone who rents this game, almost everything about this SSF4 is fantastic except using the ps3's dpad/analogue stick to pull off some of the more complex moves.

You know the old saying practice makes perfect that does not hold true in this case, pulling off about 50% of your fighters moves with 95% efficiency is darn near impossible so you are basically gimped when fighting against the cpu and the world(online Opp)

BEWARE if you dont have a special gamepad or arcade stick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

the game

posted by BloodyHeck (HOLCOMB, KS) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i loved the background and the characters

the finishers are a little hard to do for the casual gamer

this is for the more hardcore gamer or person with not alot time

that and you really want the joystick controller for it since it is difficult to play with a regular PS3 controller

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Velveeta doesn't make things this Cheesy

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) May 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was stupid and I got bored with it within a couple hours. I thought the character models looked cheesy and outdated like they were ripped out of the super nintendo version and just cleaned up a little. The barrel breaking and car destruction bonus levels were boring too, and I remembered them fondly from the game close to 20 years ago. Shoulda left 'em there in the past.

I recall Capcom vs. SNK for PSone like 12 years ago, and that one is still a WAY better version than this Super Street Fighter IV.
(Yawn)... I'm getting sleepy just thinking about this game. It's hardly even worth commenting on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super Street Fighter IV

posted by otie798 (RODEO, CA) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Not for a button masher. The CPU will stick with power combos every couple of seconds if you're in the lead. Very good AI.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

didn't like it

posted by jay7928 (LAWRENCEVILLE, IL) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I did not like this game very much combos were to hard to do the game seemed to move slow computer to good on medium level

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just not my kind of game...

posted by looplijuh (MAGNOLIA, KY) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I rented Street Fighter IV, and when I first turned it on, I was pretty dang excited. I don't play this type of game very often because usually they don't appeal to me. This one did. But after about 20 mins of play, I had to turn it off. First off, I didn't know how to block, and couldn't find it in the controls. So I would fight and never hit the guy and get pummeled. Granted, I am definitely not a pro at games like this, but still I should be able to pick it up and at least beat the first 5 guys on easy! And lastly, there just wasn't enough play options. All you could do was fight arcade style against the computer, fight online against people, or play combo challenges. The arcade was what I spent most of my time with and it didn't blow me away. Challenges on this game where VERY difficult. I beat the first 10, but then it just got crazy.

Overall, if you are in to games where you have to train yourself to beat the first 20 people on easy, go for it, rent it. If not, this game is not for you.

Graphics : 7/10
Depth : 5/10
Game Modes : 4/10
Gameplay : 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun,but long wait.

posted by osution25 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is fun and I enjoy most of the characters awesome moves and stories. But the waiting is long and usually freezes. Maybe the disc or system I don't know. In the end I five it 9-10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks!!!

posted by yusei2603 (GREENFIELD, IN) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Every time i tried to do a ultra combo i did it perfectly and it still didnt work. so i reccomend dont buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Highest end PS2 graphics ever!!!

posted by txmike25 (AMARILLO, TX) Jun 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

If you've played one Street Fighter game you've played them all. There are a few new character skins but all of the moves are the same as they were in the early nineties and the graphics are premium for 2003, quite literally nothing new for the basic game. If you've played the new MK expect this game to be a disappoint.
The online feature is more annoying than functional, it is supposed to work like being in an arcade where it comes up as "a new fighter has entered", unfortunately it seems to only get you against another player just as you are about to win a match. The fight takes about three minutes and then you are back to VS cpu until it happens again.....fight computer and just as you're winning fight person and then right back to trying to finish a cpu fight before the next player grabs you. Wash..Rinse...Repeat.
After I turned off the annoying online mode I finished the game with Ryu in less than an hour and sent it back. If you're fighting game obsessed or want a kick of nostalgia this might entertain you for a few hours, otherwise don't bother renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by rennoc (WEST JORDAN, UT) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this game is really good it is street fighter 4 which is awesome and just new content like new charecters even awsomer but this game means buissness and if you want to buy it it is pretty cheap i really like this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I was hopin

posted by Arshus1 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

I had the stand up arcade of super street fighter in my garage for 3 months when it first released. I put give or take 1008 hrs into it. From then on i was street fighter god. Later as more titles released i felt at home dominating and taking names all the way up to marvel vs capcom. I left the series in exchange for rpgs, shooters, and other genres. I awaited this title in hopes that i could reconnect to the series. I tried so hard to enjoy it and for the most part that was achieved however, there is something amiss. The graphics are beautiful, and it has that old school feel but, the flow is broken by miss cues. I like when i hit something to actually hit not be over trumped by a grab or worse like the action just didnt happen. No aerial pops, no continuous flow to combos, maybe I am just being over critical. Ill leave this review on a final note that the online is fun but drawn out with loading, game play can get old (not because of the genre), I had fun with this latest title just wished I could do more in the fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

street fighter 5

posted by AZEAZEL187 (ORANGE, VA) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

this game was so bland it made me want to vomit i got board of this game withen ten minutes of playing it.most of the moves that are done on the game are the same but with different characters this game was a total disapointment to the street fighter franchise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If I was still 13 this game would be rad

posted by ChazinPA (BLOSSBURG, PA) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

Great game, but the Street Fighter days have passed my by I believe. If I was still 13 years old I would play this till my eyes bled though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A bit too hard

posted by jdavidtz (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Great graphics and awesome selection of characters.
Owning this game would be fun, because it would take FOREVER to master all the character moves and specials.
I think that the actual gameplay is lacking.
Cheezy, still life character story lines, along with a COMPLICATED moves list, makes this game kind of annoying after 30 minutes of play.
Anyone who has never played (or is OKAY at fighting games) will have a hard time with Street Fighter 4.
Too many ridiculous specials and impossible moves, with the fact that the PC is set to WAY to hard. By level 3 you are done :)
I had this game for 3 days, but am ready to return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Chidori14 (PLAINFIELD, IL) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

This is really bad controls, literally everything is bad and nothing is good. DO NOT GET IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse