Rent Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition for 3DS
view large frontback

Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

843 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Very Good Game

posted by lune385 (ROBBINS, IL) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game play is very smooth, it looks and feels as if i was playing it on my xbox 360, but the only thing i hate about it is the freakin online play. I COULD NEVER WIN....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by HotJohnny (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2005

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I have played 3 3ds games so far, and this is by far my favorite (over pilot wings and ridge racer). This is a wonderful translation of the full game, and a really impressive street fighter on a hand held system. The character models are beautiful, and the gameplay and combos remain faithful to the full version.

I have not tried any vs yet, so I cannot comment on the online component of the game, but I am just having fun playing street fighter whenever, wherever.

The touch screen button mapping works well and is a good use of the touch screen. I am a bit of a street fighter purist, so I don't think it's very fair. You can do one button super and hyper combos, and you can also do charge moves (guile's sonic boom) without charging. Both are not fair to the opponent.

At any rate, I love this game. I think it is the best launch title for the 3ds and a must for any street fighter fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good port of a good game.

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Jan 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Super Street Fighter IV is one of my favorite entries in the Street Fighter series, and this handheld port doesn't fall very far behind the console version. Other than being on a handheld system, this is essentially the same exact game that you were playing on the consoles. Which overall is pretty impressive in terms of hardware, porting a console title directly to a handheld system has never really been done before. Then again, the 3DS is significantly more powerful than the regular DS, but it's still an impressive feat nonetheless. Graphically, there's marginal difference from the console version. Accept for the fact that the backgrounds don't move. On the console version you may be in an African safari with animals roaming around, or at a night club with a crowd of people cheering on the fight, but here they're just standing there as awkward looking statues. However in terms of gameplay mechanics, it feels incredibly similar to the console version. And if anything it's a little easier, because you can tap the touch screen to pull off special moves and combos. If you already own the console version, then there's really no point in spending your money on this one. However if you don't own either and you want to know which one to buy, it essentially comes down to whether you like playing games on a full-sized T.V., or while you're on the go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super Street Fighter IV: 3D Edition

posted by Blade1006 (BATH, PA) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Okay, yeah the 3DS just came out today so what? I can review a game. All right here it goes:
Basically, this game is a suckish port of the console titles right? Wrong you'll be surprised to here that not only are all 44 or so characters from the console titles here but: now their in eye-popping 3D! But however, there did have to be sacrifices to be able to "Take this Outside" the stages are no longer animated unfortunately, do they lose a lot of there dynamics. As I said the 3D effect is amazing earlier today I was facing against Seth as Ken. Well, I lost the fist time around and when I pressed Start to Continue it literally looked like Ken was reaching his peace sign out AT me. It really was phonominal, at fist I didn't know what to expect from the 3D but you really gotta see it to believe it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing awsome graphics awsome videos awsome game.

posted by york78 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

amazing gameplay awsome 3d graphics everything is awsome about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you like single player fighting games..

posted by RobGee (LACONIA, NH) May 17, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Before you move your eyes to the next review, this is an online multiplayer fighting game. BUT, the online is very lackluster in the aspect of playability. Don't get me wrong, there is no lag at all. It runs super smooth. The part that sucks is the actual players. If you choose anyone besides Hadoken users or Guile, you're dead. You will be unable to move because Capcom decided this game needed no skill thanks to the bottom 3DS screen.

No longer do you have to memorize move combos, now you can just hit the biggest, baddest moves in the game in a matter of seconds. Need to use the Ultra Combo in a pinch without actually learning the button combos? No problem! This game totally has the inept covered. So unless you enjoy playing fighting games alone or with close friends, just pass this one along, it's not worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for highly skilled Arcade/Console players

posted by Marky5000 (GARLAND, TX) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Do not waste your time. I play this game religiously on the 360 and arcade versions. I master Seth, and I can win with half of the roster. Although I avoid using any character yelling Hadouken, Chun-Li, Guile... I am no stranger to their move sets and strategies. This game is meant for the people who have NEVER played Street Fighter, SUCK at Street Fighter, or NEED a game and the next best games are not yet available. The LITE controls (which are unfavored by many PRO players) have no cool-down. Require no charge or extra movement and may be performed without any work whatsoever. Characters who shoot fireballs and have an anti-air move that capitalize on quick-frame recover (Guile or Ryu) can spam fireballs all day, adjust speeds based on opponent jump distance, and hit you immediately with a 1 button anti-air move. I returned this game to the retailer after winning a total 147 games and 11 losses. 7 Losses straight were a result of playing a Guile player who only performed 2 moves to win: Sonic Boom (the fastest recovery move), and FLASH KICK (fastest and longest ranging anti-air counter). Combo exhibitionists who excel in Arcades and Console versions like myself (able to perform 12-25-47 Hit combos) with ease should know that in the 3DS version any anti-air attack can counter a combo within the first 1-2 hits. So if you want to win you MUST set LITE controls and forget about skill.

LITE controls should require at least a cool-down period for ALL MOVES aside from Supers and Ultras to stop the game from becoming a Third-Person Shooter action game. I thought I was playing Super R-Type Fighter 4.

Otherwise, the unique new features for 3DS earned praise, the ability to port every fighter with less outfits than the console was a bit of a disappointment. The D-Pad is horrible and should be avoided. The Circle Pad did eliminate some disappointments but the chance of pulling off the move you'd like to do is 55%.

The game scored 4 for just being Street Fighter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad!!

posted by cdaleh (SAINT FRANCISVILLE, LA) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 20 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

The controls are difficult, it is hard to take it out of the box and start playing, plus it is so hard just to play a simple computer, but it is just so boring as well because the moves are the same thing over and over again! just think about it before you waste your time waiting for this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lacks Robust Single Player Features

posted by superless2 (GOSHEN, IN) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Nov 2005

This is a great adaptation of the Super Street Fighter IV game. I am not criticizing the adaptation so much as the original source. Fighting games have lost a lot of their single player feature set because these games have promoted e-sports and competitive gaming rather than the casual gamer. For example, I would have loved to see only 1/3 of the fighters unlocked from the beginning and have the rest unlockable by playing the game and completing various challenges. As it is, there is little compelling me to play this in single player mode. I only play local multiplayer and the fact that this has download play, but only allows your opponent to fight on one map and with only Ryu is a complete let down. I expected much more from the source game, hopefully next time we can get a more robust single player experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

As Good as the Console Version

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

For anyone who's a Nintendo fan but wanted to play Street Fighter IV like I did, this is a great opportunity to do so, and on a handheld for the first time in the series. For those who are annoyed at the downplay of graphics from HD to this, since when does Street Fighter even need HD graphics? It's definitely worth playing, I recommend it, even for beginners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

First of all

posted by Pootz11 (OAK LAWN, IL) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

First of all I didn't want this bogus game I've played it a million times on my ps3 so why in the world would I want to play it on a little console just stupid what I really wanted was Injustice street fighter you really deserve a 1 rating

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by Corex21 (SAVANNAH, TX) Oct 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This game was alright it had its up and downs but it was still pretty easy to control granted that it was on the ds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Super Street Fighter 3D

posted by sundmorgan (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Nov 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Super Street fighter was a good choice for one of the game that nintendo chose first your the 3Ds. But this game should have a storyline. All you do is just pick a person and then you fight like half of everyone. But this is a good game so I am giving it 8 star game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

On the move

posted by Seisen (Mesa, AZ) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

This edition of the Streetfighter 4 finds us on the Nintendo 3DS system. I have both the PS3 version, as well as this one, and I have to say in terms of MOST graphics, they compare rather well.
Naturally, the 3DS has some limitations as it doesn't have the sheer horsepower the consoles do, but it made the sacrifices in the right places that you can easily overlook them. An example is the backgrounds are, almost without exception, completely static and immobile. It looks as if the fighters are having a brawl in one of those photo studios at the mall with the various backgrounds for 'gag' photos. The HUD is a bit different too, small blocks replacing the meters for the combo system, though combat/combo animations are mostly the same, save for a flash or bang here and there, so there is no real loss in that department. The controls are a little hard to get used to on the handheld unit, as the 3DS isn't very ergonomically fitting in the hand, but some grips might help with that.

In terms of playability, the difficulty settings are a pretty true to their names, easiest being extremely easy, and hardest being quite a challange. This doesn't apply to the final boss however, who is always extremely difficult after the first round so be ready to control the desire to throw your DS into the wall.
One of the only big problems with the game is the versus and online system. Because there is a 'lite' control scheme that allows you to assign any move to one of four touch-screen buttons to execute at a single push, it takes away the need for people to learn the combos and moves, letting players who are more concerned with wins than the actual game itself. Unfortunately, they seem to outnumber the honorable players by far, so if you are going to play this game online, expect to see the same four moves spammed over and over. It might be nice if there were a special lobby for players who use only the standard style instead of the 'lite' config, it might make online play better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kinda sucked

posted by TeamWarBeast (SAN JACINTO, CA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The only part of this game that was 3d were the cutsences and fighter titles, the actual fights were not. i ad hopes for this game to be unlike the other street fighter titles but it wasnt. the only difference was you can use your special via touching the touch screen. i would give this game a 6 out of 10 only because the graphics were good for a ds title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Fighting Game!

posted by Faye453 (OMAHA, NE) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game is Great im going to try dead or alive Dem. Next to compare them But this game is good. It gets a solid 8 cus it has fast loading times street pass and spotpass great Idea 3d on this thing is GREAT makes it look even better its just a great game one of the best on the 3ds without a doubt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

lesser games will die a thousand deaths!!![akuma]

posted by shoconnor (ANTHEM, AZ) May 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

this is a very polished version of super street fighter 4. basically you chose a fighter,your favorite combo, your difficulty and make a a bunch of combos to beat the competition. i recommend playing dynamic mode. though it doesn't add much, it makes the 3d more comfortable and accessible. and even though he's very hard, after you beat seth you just want to plunge in and fight him again. theirs a new option where you use the pen to pull of moves like hadoken. i only use it for the super and ultra combos. and online people found a way to cheat by just using hadoken over and over again. I find it very annoying because it requires no skill.the online had no flaws and lag. even in 3d versus.the only problem with download play is you can only play as ryu.i found the figure rather addicting. over all it deserves to be the highest rated 3ds game. HAAAAAAAAAADDDDDDDDDDDDDDOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEENNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best fighting game to hit a handheld console

posted by NyQuiiL (SUITLAND, MD) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

Almost a perfect port of it's console counterpart. Hardcore Street Fighter players will most likely not mind the motionless stage backgrounds, lack of leaderboards,replay channel, and most of the other features in the console version. The online multiplayer is flawed by the fact that you can't see your opponents connection to you. They did add a rematch button in ranked matches so if you run into someone with a good connection you can play them again. All in all great port.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for veterans

posted by RoboBedpan (AURORA, IL) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

someone new to street fighter may find this fun, but anyone who's played previous street fighters will find the 3DS controls very poor for a fighting game, and will no doubt consider the easy mode super move macros to be very cheap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The only launch game worth buying

posted by Buster_Muffins (SUNRISE, FL) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

the rest of the launch titles are not as polished and seem rushed. The only other games worth playing are pilotwings and tom clancy ghost recon shadow wars. They can't compete with street fighter though. It has fully functioning online multiplayer, wifi multiplayer with another 3ds, and street pass utilization. It is like you're playing the console version, but in 3d. I love the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Haaaaaaaaaaadoken!

posted by Kane300 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Apr 18, 2011

Member since May 2008

OK this game right here is amazing!!! I played the console version and to my despair it sucked...I have SF2 Tournament Edition for the classic Sega Genesis and thats the best SF ever but for the 3DS this comes really close to it with the dynamics and the background. Both are visually stunning and the flow is killer. Definately a must rent for 3DS users as its hands down the best game out there now until Ocarina of Time comes out that is so enjoy this and I hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THis Game!!!

posted by ChuninJ (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

OMG...This was a great game, it revived a lot of the old school street fighter tricks and contained like all the characters from all the games. I loved and wanted to be good at it. The only reason this wasn't my first 3DS game was because of the internet. I played a lot online, and I learned some things. I won sometimes and loss a lot not due to my skills but the community. Any failure can get online and just combo you to death really draining the appeal on the match. But besides that really game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME KICKS ASSS

posted by antwontwiz (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) Apr 5, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2011

I GIVE THIS GAME 12 OUT OF 10 STARS, WHY? CHECK OUT COOL 35 ALL PLAYABLE CHARACTERS, 3D GRAPHIC, 2D SIDE STYLE, OPTIONAL ON OFF 3D ANYTIME AND ADJUSTMENT ON 3DS. WIFI 1 ON 1 BATTLE IS ADDICTIVE, FIGHT IT OUT, I JUST THINK HOW CAN U GET SUPER STREET FIGHTER 4, IN HANDHELD PLUS THE 3D STUFF!, U GOT TO SEE THE NEW FIGHTING ANGLED VIEW IT GOT. VERY COOL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Buy It.

posted by Xzalor (PENSACOLA, FL) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

One of the 2 launch games I bought. This is really the only quality launch title and next comes Nintendogs + Cats (which I bought). This game is great and it a must buy for the 3DS. The best launch title for the 3DS. So go and buy it. :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »