Rent Super Smash Bros. Melee for GC
view large frontback

Super Smash Bros. Melee

Not Rentable
GF Rating
9.0

4291 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

so amazing i cant put it in words

posted by critic4u (BELLE CHASSE, LA) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game gave me alot of good mammories i remember i loved how it brought my favorite games together originally i was pretty good at it untill my brothers friend came over and we had tournaments and stuff we instantly became friends and he helped me unlock alot of the characters we now have brawl tournaments on my brothers wii but now we cant cuz he moved out with his wii. but before brawl came out we played this and whenever he was over we had so much fun playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2nd best gamecube game EVER

posted by invincible (MONROVIA, IN) May 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Next to resident evil 4, this is by far the best gamecube game ever. Fantastic gameplay, great graphics for its time, and awesome music make this game unforgettable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Smash Bros. = Ultimate Multiplayer

posted by Timeshiftr (ROGERS, AR) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Super Smash Bros. Melee had to be one of my favorite games for the Nintendo GameCube. It is very easy to start, and as you progress you can become an extremely skilled player in a short amount of time. One of my favorite aspects of the game is the Multiplayer. Multiplayer has a variety of characters, battlefields, and items. After training in the Singleplayer for awhile get a couple of controllers and get some buddies and of course snacks, and let the onslaught begin. And last but not least the biggest Good-Bad is it has an extremely well done and solid Multiplayer battling - but Singleplayer does not have much of a story line if any at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Smashing

posted by Sariebear2 (MACKINAW CITY, MI) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game for the gamecube is great. Though now it can't compare to the one for the Wii, I still love playing it. I love all the moves and I like the characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

king kool

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Aug 1, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great! If you do choose to rent this, heres some advice. Unlock some of the characters, and maybe an arena, and then buy this. Take my advice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Smashing!

posted by gamerboy17 (BRUNSWICK, OH) May 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WOW! I'm in shock man, really! This is one of the best sequels ever. The first one was simply awesome and this one follows suit. From the massive amount of playable characters and little mini-game like matches are cool. Playing through the game has been one of my most enjoyable experiences of my gaming life! This game is absolutely amazing! Buy it? For sure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best nintendo games for the gamecube

posted by allflame (Waynesville, NC) May 31, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought it was good because it showed me series I never heard of. All of the colorful and detailed characters, fun stages, and cool attacks.
It made me want to play the series' games themselves, I like the background music (especially fountain of dreams stage). I also like the trophies and biographies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by FourFifth (South Yarmouth, MA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This could easily be one of the best multiplayer games I've ever played.

The only times I had played this game was at friends' houses and their superior skill owned me so I was skeptic at this game. After being able to build up my skill in single player mode I was able to enjoy this game much more.

If you don't have a Wii or Brawl is unavailable I would strongly recommend this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't go wrong with this rental!!

posted by g4m3rM (DES MOINES, IA) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This excellent game is one of those games that many belived wouldn't ever happen (that thankfully did) and happend to deliver so much more than it's predecessor!
More characters to play and unlock, new modes adding lots of replay value, detailed battlefields ripped from individual character's own games that look better than the original, awesome remixes of classic games background music and four player melee to get keep friends and family glued to your console for hours on end! Nintendo is known for it's quality first party titles that are easy for anyone to pick up and play and this game is no exception! I recommend this game to all Gamecube and Wii owners!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SMASH RULES! CAN'T WAIT FOR BRAWL

posted by Andrew12 (JACKSON, NJ) Feb 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS CERTAINLY THE BEST GAME FOR THE GAMECUBE. THE AMAZING ROSTER OF CHARACTERS IS PREETY AMAZING. YOU HAVE TO BE A PRETTY SKILLED PLAYER TO PLAY MELEE. THE GRAPHICS ARE EXCELLENT WITH ALL THE DETAIL AND JUST THE CHARACTERS ITSELF. THE ITEMS IN THIS GAME ARE REALLY COOL. MY FAVORITE ITEM IS THE HOMERUN BAT SINCE IT IS A INSTANT KO WHEN YOU HIT AT YOUR OPPENENT. THIS GAME IS PERFECT FOR MARIO LOVERS AND NINTENDO LOVERS ALL AROUND. IT GOES FROM MARIO TO LINK TO SAMUS AND MANY MORE OF YOUR FAVORITES. THERE ARE SO MANY STAGES TO CHOOSE FROM. YOU EVEN HAVE SOME PAST STAGES FROM THE NINTENDO64 VERSION. THERE ARE SO MANY MODES IN THIS GAME THATYOU JUST CAN'T TOUCH THEM ALL. YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT TO PICK BETWEEN ADVENTURE MODE AND CLASSIC MODE TO ALL OTHER MODES. YOU JUST NEVER GET BORED WITH THE VARIETY.AND TO THINK THERE WILL BE EVEN MORE MODES IN SUPER SMASH BROS BRAWL. HERE ARE A FEW SPOILERS TO GIVE OUT FOR PEOPLE WHO JUST GOT THE GAME. YOU CAN UNLOCK MR. GAME AND WATCH BY UNLOCKING EVERY OTHER CHARACTER. TO UNLOCK THE MASTER HAND TROPHY YOU MUST COMPLETE CLASSIC MODE WITH ANY CHARACTER"BUT I PREFER TO PLAY AS GANONDORF FOR THIS"ON THE DIFFICULTY HARD OR HIGHER WITHOUT CONTINUING. JUST A LITTLE WARNING FOR NEW SMASHERS THIS WAS PRETTY DIFFICULT AT TIMES. BUT ONCE YOU GET THE SWING OF THINGS YOU BECOME A BETTER SMASHER AND COMPLETE CLASSIC MODE. TO CONCLUDE THIS GAME IS PERFECT FOR NINTENDO LOVERS ESPECIALLY MARIO LOVERS. i THINK EVERYONE SHOULD EXPERIENCE MELEE AND THE UNIQUE FEATURES OF THIS GAME. IF THIS GAME IS PERFECT, I CAN'T IMAGINE HOW BETTER BRAWL WILL BE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

another great game...

posted by Joe123 (SACRAMENTO, CA) May 25, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well First of All this game is a great game and I am not mistaken either but I just wish they added some more things, but its just right for the second Smash brothers So now on to the review.

Gameplay score:8/10:
The gameplay is very Addicting and just makes you want more, but the only problem is that its pretty the same as The first super smash brothers. They threw in some new modes, characters, levels, moves, items, and etc but nothing else changed much. I thought that there would be more strategy, yes there is a lot of strategy but i mean like a more kind of strategy where you can actually take long to master a character. Otherwise the gameplay is awesome.

Multi player score:10/10:
I love it, I just love it. Usually when you have a party you play Mario party or something else. But This game would be better to choose. The multi player is somehow enhanced as I say because the Gamecube's controller design and the mass amount of characters. There are more characters then what we got in the first super smash brothers. If you have to pick something up, pick this up

Single Player score:7/10:
I thought the single player would be more fun since they added more modes for single player, but after you beat them, it gets kind of boring. So grab a friend and it will be a lot more fun.

Story score:?/10:
Nope no story, but it how would you make a story out of this kind of game. Even if they did it would not work, but it would be kind of cool to see a story. It does not really need a story, but it should have any ways

Sound score:9/10:
Yes the sound, I love. It could not have been better. It makes the feeling when you play it. So when you play this game, its like in a movie theatre, where the sound is surround and when you hear a smash move smash the guy, it makes a sound that just makes you go wow.

graphics score:10/10:
The graphics are most impressing and shows what the Gamecube can do. visibly good graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game EVER

posted by kamigy (DAYTON, WA) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can't stop playing this game I love it to much and I love it the characters are awesome stages are beautiful just go buy it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

posted by metsfan777 (ALLISON PARK, PA) Feb 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2003

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Super Smash Bros. Melee is so far the best game I have ever played in my life! It has everything you could hope for, Great characters, great gameplay, and just great FUN!!!I highly suggest you to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nintendo Does it Again

posted by BlackHawk5 (BATAVIA, IL) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For all of you that know Nintendo, and what they can do, this game comes as no surprise. Super Smash Bros. for the N64 was very good, I mean come on. Melee took that game several steps forward, by adding a lot more characters, more stages, more game modes, and better graphics. The controls are the easiest to figure out how to use, And just how you unlock the unlockable characters is cool. The ability to take snapshots is awesome. This game is just one more perfect example of what Nintendo can and will do in the Future. With any common sense, you would buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

still good

posted by Heonix (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am not really a big fighting game guy but this was the first game I got for the game cube and i loved it because as a nintendo fan I love all these characters from when i was playing the games as a kid but basically you have up to 25 characters from Nintendo history ducking it out across maps also that should be familiar. All I can say is please rent this game because I played it until the next gen came out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Look Out!

posted by MakayJR10 (URBANA, OH) Jan 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

DUCK!Man is this game awesome or what?It is sometimes hard, but mainly easy. There is a few unexpected things so watch out. There are millions of characters in the game.

Graphics:10
Game play:10
Characters:10
Stages:10
Game:9000

You will love it. I love the game so much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't wait for brawl!

posted by Mster24 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

10/10
Okay, I hate fighting games. HATE them. But Super Smash Bros. Melee is not a fighting game. It's a... combat game. Okay, so technically, this is a fighting game, but it's unique in every way possible-except for the theme of fighting, obviously. I was a little skeptical when I went over to my friend's house t play this... but once I played it, I fell in love with this game. The controls are pretty basic, and hence easy, and watching a cuddly dinosaur-thing fighting a rural warrior, it's pretty cool. I can't think of anything bad to ay about this game-it's that good! I can't wait to see how awesome Brawl will be!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favorite game in the Nintendo series!

posted by BrianK (STOW, OH) Dec 8, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so cool with Mario,Link,Pikachu,Kirby ect. The songs to DK jungle are cool.If only there were Wario and Diddy Kong i'd be more happy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

exellant

posted by SakoWii199 (TUJUNGA, CA) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is an awsome game 10 out of 10 5 star a must buy classic of our time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

IT WILL OPEN YOUR EYES!!!!....!!!!

posted by Draxxus432 (Pecos, TX) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is one of the first games i played when i first got the gamecube it is ADDICTING!!!
if i had to rate it between 1 and 100 it would be 100,000,000,000,000,000,0- 00,000,000,000,000,000,00- 0,000,000,000,000,000,000- ,000,000,000,000,000,000,- 000,000,000,000,000,000,0- 00,000,000,000,000,000.99- 9999999999 its that awsome it will open your eyes and you will pass it on to your children so they can experience the rush that you had when you played the game.........TEAMWORK!!!! team insane rulez!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game cube Game Point Blank

posted by RoCsTaR916 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am not one to write review about games but when it comes to smash bros. i had to. if you haven't already played this game and you have a game cube i have no idea what's wrong with you! this game was the reason i got one and i didn't know that til after i because of the lack of hit games on the cube, it ended up being the reason i keep it til i got my wii of course. i've worked in the game department at toy's R us and who ever had a game cube i would always tell them how great this game was, who doesn't like getting the legendary characters of Nintendo and smacking each other around with them! Intel "Brawl" comes out in December this game is a must have for any nintendo fan young or old if you don't take my word for it just look at the cover next time your in the store, "best Seller". Point blank best game cube game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a great game

posted by tonyking (CINCINNATI, OH) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so great.I even tried the n64 virgin and I liked it.If you were like me and played the virgin,you will be glad in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved it!

posted by kyle12 (REDDING, CA) Sep 9, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think my title says it all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best multi-player game... until brawl!

posted by jameshall4 (LAKE CITY, FL) Aug 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well this is one of those games i bought back when it came out in 2001, long before i had gamefly.

Well the first thing i'll say is that it is a huge improvement over the original. With 25 characters to fight as. (I won't go into unlockable characters and stages)

But its extremely fun, and if you got friends you can play multi-player.

Its great don't rent it!!!! BUY IT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow!

posted by WolfGirl09 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Jul 3, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game.I was over at a sleepover at my friend's house and they asked me to play this game.If it was not for the fact that I don't have a gamecube I would so buy this.I don't expect much from fighting games but this game is different.I think the best person to play this game would be anybody.A+++++++++++++++++- ++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse