Rent Super Smash Bros. Brawl for Wii
view large frontback

Super Smash Bros. Brawl

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

17446 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yet another awesome Brawl!

posted by Nogard27 (CENTRE, AL) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

35 out of 36 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

I wish I had kept ahold of this one. It was truly an entertaining game, and rather addicting.

Gameplay-
Repetitiveness, no way. This game has an engaging, although rather dry, storyline to it. It definitely keeps you entertained and loving it. Going through levels at times seems rather grr-some, but after awhile, it's all easy-going. The boss fights are killer fun, and a little challenging, depending on your difficulty rating. I went through this whole game on hard, with the thought process that I had done the others fairly well. Not as easy as I thought.

Control- Very simplistic, and the moves are rather redundant. I kept it in control most of the time, although at times you wish that the more advanced moves could be a little harder to trigger.

Fun Factor- Overall, a very fun game and quite entertaining. The multiplayer is enjoyable, and the online is laggy at times, but hey, it's the Wii online, what'cha expect?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic Excitement

posted by Ghillie (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

45 out of 47 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

This game was just what i was expecting, a game where you can get dragged into by just a glimps at the possibilities. The Brawl itself was just simply amazing and the addition of the smash ball is extraordinary. Good for all ages, espesially at parties!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Smash Bros Brawl, A Super Game!!!

posted by pokemon234 (CANTON, MA) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

42 out of 44 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This was one of my favorite games a while ago. I would play it all the time. It was soooo addicting. I can't believe it's for teens, even though . I can't play this game anymore due to a very scratched disk. (cough 6 year old cough), but it was very compelling. This game never gets old. I can't find anything wrong with it except, either the CPUs on some of the events are too hard or I'm a bad gamer. The story mode is long, and I like how you can unlock characters. It modivates me to play more to play. Overall, this is a great game for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Nintendo Game Ever!

posted by Awesome130 (PARADISE VALLEY, AZ) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall -9/10: This is probably one of the BEST games that Nintendo has ever made.

Graphics - 10/10: The makers of this game put a mass amount of effort into every detail of everything. It didn't matter how big or how small each thing was either. The graphics are incredible even for a Wii game!

Controls - 9/10: At first the controls are hard to get used to but, after a while, it's easy to do the controls quickly and immediately. Each character has a large variety of their own unique moves, combos, and taunts, so it's fun to try out each different character.

Sound/Music - 10/10: Not only do the sound effects match everything perfectly, but this game also includes a large collection of some of Nintendo's best music work from many different games.

Presentation - 10/10: It has a great opening when you're first turning the game on and I don't see how it could be any better than how it is already! Nothing is too plain or too dramatic; it's how its needs to be.

Replayability - 8/10: There is so much to do that it's ridiculous! You could be playing by yourself or with a friend; no matter what this game is totally awesome! You could be playing for hours and still not want to stop! Plus there are a ton of things to unlock, so that can take a while too.

Gameplay8/10 - Playing by yourself is just as fun as playing with one or three other people. Its absolutely spectacular. The only problem is that online fighting can lag a lot, but that's because it's the Wii and the Wii's just like that.

Difficulty - 6.5/10 - It can be really hard for someone who never had any experience with the Smash Bros games. But after a while its gets easier and it gets really fun when you're actually good at it.

Buy/Rent?: This is definitely a buy game because its so fun and you'll practicaly never get tired of it. Renting it is not the best choice because if you want to beat the whole thing then it will definitely take a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutly PERFECT

posted by wiiwiiwii1 (OROVILLE, CA) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love to play this game with my friends when they stay over. It's toatly addicting, and NEVER GETS OLD. I end up jumping up and down on the couch when the final smash comes, Not the best way to get it. Amazing Chariters, Increadible Graphics (for a wii game), and AWESOME stages. All we do when they stay over is play AND PLAY AND PLAY. BEST GAME FOR WII EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Why are people rating this low for NO REASON?

posted by XBoxFan095 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so much better than Melee. Those who rated this game 1, 2, 3, even 4, are Nintendo haters.

Pros:

Graphics are impressive. Those who don't agree are stupid.
Character roster is AWESOME! (Sonic, Solid Snake, Mr. Game & Watch, etc.)
Great stage choices
Items are excellent
Multiplayer is awesome
Custom Taunts on Nintendo WFC

Cons:

Doesn't take full advantage of the motion sensor (that's not a biggie.)
Other than that, this game is perfect!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super Smash Bros. Brawl

posted by timothyrulze (GRANTS PASS, OR) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the third game of the "Super Smash Bros." Series. I thought it was just as good at "Super Smash Bros. Melee". It has much more items and stages. But they got rid of some on my favorite characters and stages. Still, a good and fun Action Game. One of Nintendo's best animation games. Was the "Fighting Game Of The Year" in 2009. With an adventure mode, you can unlock the characters who join your team. If you like action with characters from several different games, pick this one. They even have "Sonic" from Sega, and "Solid Snake".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game/ Better Than Expected !!!

posted by sefquin (HOUSTON, TX) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great Game better than expected ... not just a one-on-one fighting game but an actual co-op action/stage game .... big number of nintendo characters including other hidden non-nintendo characters .... easy gameplay, cool moves and up to 4 players!!! what more could you want ?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I cannot believe the gamefly rating is only 8.5!!!

posted by Jakentink (OSKALOOSA, IA) Jun 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

26 out of 29 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This has got to be THE most awesome Wii game ever!!! Our entire family LOVES this game, even our 4 yr old daughter who isn't particularly interested in gaming loves this one! A must buy for any gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by cate9140 (TOLLHOUSE, CA) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i recomend this for anyone its a great game and its fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game.

posted by veteran_gamer (MUSKOGEE, OK) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this not thinking much at first but when i popped it in,picked my character,etc it got me hooked.I played all day yesterday and today.Me and my little sister love this game,and i am actually thinking about clicking the "keep" button.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

against the previous one, this came out w/ victory

posted by STB123 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Brawl had to be better than melee. so what did they do? they got better!

First: gameplay 10/10

Crisp and awesome! that about sums it up. fighting is still of course just as awesome, but with several more characters, and a new smash attack thing. Each character has their own attack. You can also create your own map to fight in, play a new map, or play a map from the melee.

Next: storyline 9/10

Compared to melee which had basically no story. This one has a huge, long story. And its great! I wont give anything away but its pretty cool how the story is.

Testing..1,2: sound 10/10

Just as awesome as melee. Great sounds, great music, ect. You'll be familiar with some of the songs. and all the sounds sound familiar character-wise. In one word, its great.

Overall: 10/10

I thoughly enjoyed the game. Sure theres not that much to it, its just fighting, but they do it in such a way that you can have fun with it for hours on end. Pick it it! I think everyone will enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love this game

posted by kginob (AUBURN HILLS, MI) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have always loved the smash bros titles and this third installment was no exception. from the old characters to the new i was thrilled playing this game. Would have loved to have seen shadow though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Top 5 games to get!! Best game!

posted by CritScott (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pure action & excitement from the moment a match starts till several hours later when you have to sleep, eat, (or work.) For me, introduction to a long list of Nintendo characters was a plus, as I missed out on a lot of years of Gamecube and previous systems. Once you get familiar with the controls - 1) nunchuck 2) side wiimote [my favorite] 3) classic or 4) gamecube control options - you can literately play any control style you choose. I wish all games supported these options. I understand this is for past fans of Super Smash Bros, who probably are used to the former control setup.

Trying not to repeat the praises already posted, Super Smash Bros Brawl is the kind of game that should be in every gamer's library, with the quality and high standards, it's a keeper, and worth the investment. Every aspect can be configured to match your skill level and preferences. I could not find any dull moments, flaws, or issues of any kind. Even the music is great! I rarely will give a 10, but I'm doing it for this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Game You Will Never Throw Away

posted by monkey54 (MARTINSBURG, WV) Dec 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games for the Wii I have ever seen! If you are looking for a great Wii game this is your pick. There is so much extras that you will be playing for months! Don't just rent it,buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Smash is like a LifeStyle now! 10/10

posted by Tophat (TACOMA, WA) May 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

10/10 It's great fun and even better fun if you have friends to play it with. Eversince the N64 it's been an addiction and Brawl is a worthy title of the Super Smash Series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PERFECT

posted by whoppin (DELTA JUNCTION, AK) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the best brawl game since melee! This game does not deserve a 8.2 It deserves a 10 ! this game was what i have been waiting for for a long time! The grapics 10
THE gameplay control 9.6
The chareters 10
The levels 9.3
The story I dont think ther ewas really a story i did not really pay attenttion lol the game overall the best!
Buy not rent I bought it and i am happy get get get it it it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the reason to get a wii

posted by nerfguy98 (OAKLAND, TN) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i own the game it was the second game i got for mine acualy i loved the n64 one the gamecube one in my oppinion was ...lacking this was definatly the reeboot the series needed if they make another i would definatly jump on it and get it cmon 1 its online enabled 2 it has many charaters from great series's it has zelda mario fire emblem game and watch and many other great characters its a great game for fan of the trilogy OR fans of any of the characters will love the game its self atleast rent it a see if you like it its semi decent story mode is quite fun and a easy way to get all the characters hint hint it has chalenges in the form of kirby air ride checklists a very fun game 11/10 best game 4 the wii in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best super smash ever!!

posted by masmas (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love it. the one for the gamecube was okay but this one is perfect the graphics are really good but the only bad thing is you can only move side to side, otherwise best game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection on 9.4GB

posted by Tswanace (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Do I really need to explain this game? It's the game that forges the trilogy between itself, the N64 and GameCube incarnations.

And what a perfect three-peat Brawl makes.

Characters? Check. Online play? Check. Great graphics? Check. The same, addicting level of appeal in the gameplay and Nintendo mythology? Double and Triple Check. Nearly 2GB of soundtracks are on this disc, as well as a level creator, messaging system, co-op mode in Adventure, and thousands of hidden gems and callbacks to some of Nintendo's finest (and worst) history, complete.

If you don't have this game and you own Wii then you seriously need to get your head checked.

10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by calebgodwin (LILBURN, GA) Jan 9, 2012

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game is awesome, it is very addicting. I spent hours and hours playing this game. It has great playable players and arena's. You can even make your own arena! I rate this a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best fighting game ever!!!!!

posted by megaaustin (COSTA MESA, CA) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

pros

. way more game modes
. final smash
. You can make stages

cons

. no motion control
. bad online mode

gameplay/feature= 10
game modes= 10
control= 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very fun game

posted by soccerstar100 (CATONSVILLE, MD) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is one of the best wii games i have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easy to learn. needs skill to master

posted by Faye453 (OMAHA, NE) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Simply The Greatest fighting game you have every played. don't even look at many reviews stop waiting don't even rent. JUST BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dumb reviews

posted by BoBo24 (ARLINGTON, TX) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game should be at a 9-10 but instead its at a 8 because of dumb people who think this game is only about button smashing or just for kids. This game is amazing and will keep you entertained for a very long time if you have friends to play it with it's not the type of game you should get if your alone it's definitely meant for 2-4 players and is great fun from kids to adults who still enjoy video games. This game can be beaten with button smashing (not the last boss to much) but it is easy to counter button mashers if you have any skill. So don't blame the game if you just suck.... :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse