Rent Super Scribblenauts for DS
view large frontback

Super Scribblenauts

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

GF Rating
7.6

1239 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

hey, pretty fun

posted by youknow (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

18 out of 21 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

i can barely tolerate ds games in general and feel games in general have a long way to go, so i'm an idiosyncratic guide for you, but i do like the hope of magic in games (the magic of them, not necessarily in them, though that too!) and certainly super scribblenauts plays with that hope. i did not like the 1st scribblenauts with its fussy weird physics platforming that mostly seemed to waste its super clever create anything keyboard. but this one, this one is actually fun, much more of the wide open puzzle game the first one should have been, and the adjectives are kind of freeing. sure, sometimes you come up with a solution that should've worked and sometimes the rules seem a little particular, but sometimes you can draw way outside the lines and solve a puzzle anyway. that in itself is a small revolution in the history of adventure gaming. if it makes things occasionally insanely easy, well, good! challenge is the single most obsessed over and slavishly obeyed element in gaming and i am bored of it. i like some structure that i can tool around in and super scribblenauts is happily all over the place while maintaining its array of goals. it is actually stunning to see this game showing as available now 2 days after its release, but then i am pretty shocked to find i think this game is actually a better one than the just okay enslaved or castlevania, which i so looked forward to. sometimes, just when you are finally sure graphics are nearly everything, well, sometimes, rarely, amazingly, they aren't! really, check this thing out, it's a charming surprise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best game ever....for the DS

posted by gameking26 (LIGONIER, PA) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Wow. I got the first Scribblenauts of this game and I loved it. When I heard they were coming out with a new one I was so excited. Then once I got it I relised the had fixed the controls and made it more clear that you could'nt swear (and I was like what the 'censor'). You won't get bored of this game at any time. The world is you canvas. Only one minor flaw; it's for the DS. Now belive me I have nothing against the DS. Though it could do so much better on the Wii or Xbox 360 (Yes, fanboys I know Xbox 360 is not a Nintendo product.). Just graphic wise. I bet the could make a cool 3D platformer game.

Signed, Andy Nomus. Sorry about the 'censor'

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but limiting

posted by peppers (APOPKA, FL) Feb 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

According to the advertisement of this game, your imagination is the limit. That is "kinda" true. Originally I thought you could draw items into the game to interact with, but what you actually do is type the names of objects with adjectives into a notepad and it puts it into the game for you.

I rate this a 7 because it kept me entertained for at least 3 or 4 hours.

It only gets a 7, though, because I could not complete some levels because I could not figure out "what the game wanted". For example, one level wants you to create professors for a university. The hints are "Health, Language, Technology, Math, and Science Departments". But if you put "Latin Teacher", "Spanish Teacher" or "German Teacher", the game will not accept it because it thinks you are being racist. If you put language teacher, the game will also not accept it. If you put Spaniard, the game will not accept it. Health teacher or Professor of Health is not accepted, but if you put nutritionist, it's ok.

In the snowman creating machine, you cannot put a pipe, because the game doesn't want children to associate it with smoking. That's good I guess, but everyone knows Frosty the Snowman had a pipe, and that's a kid's movie.

If you need to get a knight across the water, and you create a submarine, the knight will not get into the submarine because the AI is not good enough and the submarine will sit there empty.

Because of the limitations I got frustrated with the game.

If you rent this game for your kids, make sure their spelling is really good, because the gameplay is typing in words.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the 1st, still not living to potential

posted by madthought (WASHINGTON, DC) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Way better than the first. Controls much better and your objectives are much more clear. It felt, however, a little too easy in spots, and overall, it feels like it's not yet living up to it's full potential. Good game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Creative Game with limits

posted by jhpayne (ROGERS CITY, MI) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

while it seems to have as many possibilities as you can imagine this game is more contained to the imagination and logic of the creators if you want to make a dagger you can make one but it will be the same as a knife, a shank, and a dirk.
if you try to make a brass knuckle you get a hand made of brass.
if you use awesome as an adjective it often spawns a bathtub with wings(not my idea of awesome)
it was very entertaining for the first couple of hours but it can be disheartening when your ideas don't match up with those in the game.

this game contains what are called merits that you earn for things like using different and unique words but they are shared between save games so you can't reset them by deleting the old saves and making a new game so if previous players already 100% completed them you will never earn any.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Scribblenauts

posted by patcchadam (LEWISTON, ME) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

good game uses your brain from one to ten i rate it a 7 because it can be difficult at times

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by til0502 (WEST MILTON, OH) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is sweet! i wish they make it for wii or something else!

=P =PGame review=P=P=P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

meh

posted by ffghtuugfd (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 20 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

at the beging 3 levles it's good then it starts to get really bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

revew

posted by cassie12 (DYSART, PA) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this game is not good for me but if you have a good emagination try it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game is very good because of the much better contrls than the first game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Scibble Nauts

posted by twins1199 (WASHINGTON, DC) Jan 28, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game was exciting at first but very easy to complete. The levels got sometimes hard and the vocabulary I knew it did not understand the context I was using it with. I wish you could have gotten to created you own avatar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super Scribblenauts

posted by dj4444 (PEORIA, AZ) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Super Scribblenauts is pretty good, BUT it sucks at it's dictonary and how it's adjetives HAVE to be place ticks me off! ( e.x.: Huge red polka dotted flying re tarded monkey made it look like this:Huge red flying monkey.) Down right: IT SUCKS AT CREATIVITY!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

posted by bobtheblob (DAVIDSON, NC) Dec 1, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Didn't Like It

posted by ladylibra92 (LAHAINA, HI) Dec 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I really didn't like the game, the TV commercial was very misleading. I thought that we were going to be drawing things and leading the character through some adventure but it's not a adventure type story, there's actually no story at all. Just play the levels and earn a star. If you gain enough stars a new hard level is unlocked and if you gain enough stars you get some special levels.

The only thing I liked about the game is the graphics and the interactions with the game is almost real life. For example if you put a prisoner and a cop together the cop starts shooting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool!

posted by dsrsuper (DENVER, CO) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

This game is great! But I think I ran out of ideas......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ehhhh

posted by catheal (ATLANTA, GA) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

puzzeles are ok but most are pretty weak only took me 2 days to gold crown all the ones with crowns but in all its fun...sort of

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

review

posted by 226746 (ORONO, ME) Jul 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

I reviewed hulk last time heres super scrribblenuts and supers right the only thing i dint like about this game was the diffucelty of some levels so have decided to list the things 1. graphics 8 2. aduio 10! 3.gameplay 7 4. overall apeal 9/2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SUPER SCRIBBLENAUTS

posted by AYO_NINTENDO (MEHOOPANY, PA) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I DIDNT like the first one but awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Huh?

posted by RubensMom (TACOMA, WA) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game was too easy...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the best

posted by hootiepatootie (BOISE, ID) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This ggame is not the best. I recommend that only super smart people get it. It is way to complicated. It is still a bit fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wasn't that impressed

posted by Zarcane (SYLMAR, CA) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I loved the first game and when I got the second game I was relatively excited, however; when I got it most of the levels were generally the same, with "adjective" levels where you needed to put a specific adjective in front of a noun in stead of you having your imagination to find a way to the "star" item and win. There were, however, some good levels that I enjoyed to play and didn't get too frustrated on. Overall I would give it a 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game; Good time waster, but thats about it.

posted by Physics (OWOSSO, MI) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Don't get me wrong.
Super Scribblenauts is a good and fun game, and is definitely worth the rent. But, thats only if you have nothing else to rent.

It seems like they spent a lot of time and hard work on this game-- but actually, they really didn't. I swear I spent more time on the title screen than I did in the actual game, and that really made me realize the amount of restrictions: I wanted to make a cave full of werewolves, and there would be werewolf families including the mother, the husband, and the son/daughter. But, even if I put in "female" besides "werewolf", she still looked exactly the same as the husband and son/daughter. I also wanted to dress up, or even be, as a werewolf, but of course there was no "werewolf costume", and I had to put on stuff that looked, barely, like one. After that, I'd wanted to make a city with a bunch of people and buildings, but the stupid cap got in my way. They could have increased the cap for the title screen-- maybe even made it infinite; its not like you're cheating a puzzle or something, and even added more items and characters.
There wasn't many puzzles in Super Scribblenauts, nor was there any way to get more unless you made your own or got one from a friend of yours. Actually, I don't even know exactly if the friend thing works, because like many gamers in the world, I have none. Go ahead, laugh, but Karma will get you back.

Besides those "little" things, I had a lot of fun playing Super Scribblenauts. I didn't play it for longer than a few hours, but I still had fun in those hours. I liked the uniqueness of the few puzzles they have to offer, and they always kept me wanting more when they were over in a short time. The graphics are nice for a DS game, and they are really quite "cute". Sometimes I wish we had a different sprite for Maxwell, though, so that I can dress him up like James Bond or the Matrix.

All in all, like I said before; its worth the rent, but only if you have nothing better to rent.
Happy Gaming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »