Rent Super Princess Peach for DS
view large frontback

Super Princess Peach

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

1523 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cute and Fun, but a dog with a tumor could beat it

posted by PsudoSpike (WENONAH, NJ) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Long live the DS! This title is fun and slightly inventive, horay for emotional disorders! It uses the touch screen sparingly for a dash here and a bit of flight there. You can also burn enemies, bridges, bosses or just use the recovery feature when your health gets low; which pretty much makes dying hard to do. It becomes a fast-paced 2d action platformer with fun but simple puzzles, perfect mario-clone platforming, kirby style enemy devouring, and some of the most vibrant colors you will see on any handheld ~yet (especially if you have a DS lite which I highly reccomend!). Have fun and don't take it seriously and after all is said and done they dare you to go back and play every level over and beat each boss again for a final bonus!
8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A classic.

posted by jljaxn (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jun 10, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Alot more fun than I hoped. This is a classic game that returns to the roots of the Mario universe. Simple and addictive gameplay keeps you playing for hours, but equally good in short bursts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cute, Fun & Easy to Play

posted by cmingeaud (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 10, 2006

Member since May 2006

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Super Princess Peach is a lot of fun. It's cute and the graphics are great. Great save feature for easy saving any time when you are on the go. I enjoy an easy fun adventure that keeps me entertained. If you are a hard core gamer this game isn't for you but if you enjoy a cute, fun, adventure this game is definitely for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super Princess Peach Review

posted by shaggy75 (FARIBAULT, MN) Mar 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After playing Super Princess Peach for the DS, I have to say that I was pleasantly impressed. What appears to be a game aimed toward the young and/or newer gamer, it also features enough depth with a twist on gameplay that even the most experienced gamer should take a look at this game. With enough items to find and purchase (and unlockable bonus stages), there is a high replay value with this game. A game done in true Mario fashion.
I would highly recommend this game to anyone that is in need of a break from the norm. A title that every one in the house can enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great DS Game, Different View Into The Mario World

posted by 0Zero0 (SALEM, VA) May 10, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very good DS game, uses excellent touch screen features. 4 very cool touch screen vibes to help you solve small obsticles through the game. I reccommend for all ages

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another solid DS game

posted by darthchris (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Super Princess Peach has the princess rescuing Mario this time. Bowser has stolen the magic Vibe wand and has used it to capture our favorite plumbers and its up to Peach and a talking umbrella name Perry to save them. Peach use her four "vibes" to solve puzzles - joy to fly, anger to burst into flames, gloom to cry and run faster, and calm to regain health. You can activate them using the touch screen.

The game has you using the different vibes to solve numerous puzzles, and to defeat enemies and bosses to rescue a ton of Toads that are trapped in boxes across the levels. In some off the later levels, you do have to think a little to find some of the Toads, but it never becomes to hard. That is one of the down sides of the game, it is far to easy. The end of the world bosses' weaknesses are even given to you, making the easy battles even easier.

This game was aimed at the younger audience, but even the older crowd could get into it if they give it a try. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Classic Mario Bros with a twist

posted by HotWax (IDAHO FALLS, ID) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

In a fit of irony, Nintendo has swapped the roles of Princess Peach and the plumbers-gone-hero Mario and Luigi. This time around, it's up to her to save them from Bowser and his goons. To do so, she is given a strange talking umbrella that will aid her along the way. Throughout her quest, Peach uses the umbrella to dispatch enemies, float through the air, and even uses it as a makeshift submarine. She is also equipped with the ability to change her mood at will, and each of her four moods grant her different powers and abilities. When she becomes angry, for example, she turns into a raging ball of flame and destroys everything in her path, while Calm allows her to regenerate health.

The controls of the game are standard fare for side-scrollers and work well for the game, with the exception of the underwater sequences which for some strange reason require the player to blow into the microphone to attack. A tap of the touch-screen switches between the four available moods, although the "mood meter" you begin the game with drains quickly so you'll have to keep refilling it.

The main game is quite easy. There are a few tricky areas but overall finding the items hidden throughout the levels is almost laughably simple. The bosses vary a little more in difficulty, but a handy talking block at the beginning of each boss level tells you exactly how to kill it, just in case the game wasn't easy enough already.

Even with the relaxed skill level and quirky underwater control, the game is still a fun diversion--at least for awhile. After a few levels of the same repetitive gameplay, you'll be ready to take a break and move onto something a little more entertaining. Luckily, the game does come with a few minigames that provide a decent break from the main story.

Overall, Super Princess Peach is a decent game that will probably appease fans of the series who are still waiting for the REAL Super Mario game that should be coming out for the DS next month.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fun rental

posted by heimburg (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 12, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is clearly marketed at girls. You are a pricess who uses the awesome power of her emotions to conquer enemies. If this bothers you, you should pass.

That said, it's a polished platformer set in the Mario universe. Most enemies you encounter have a "mood", which is funny. It's entertaining to see little crying bats flap by, and whack them on the head. But the happy bats, which flutter randomly around, are much more dangerous! Crying turtles can move pretty quickly, but angry turtles are more dangerous. And so on.

It's a pretty easy game, comparatively. When it presents challenges, they tend to be of the "figure out how to do this" vein, rather than being a tough-to-beat boss or a tricky jump puzzle. The different moods you have access to give you different verbs: you can stomp blocks when angry, float when happy, etc. This mechanic lends itself to puzzles that are reminiscent of Warioland 3, but much easier.

A good, fun rental that you can beat in a weekend without trouble.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh My Gosh! It's Super Princess Peach!

posted by ykbane (PRINCETON, WV) May 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is one awesome game! Not only was it awesome graphics, storyline (even though not much), and sound, but the fact that the princess was rescuing the guys this time! I love it when girls get to be the heroine. In fact, I wish that the video game peoples would have more girl heroines in games. This game has just made me feel like writing a letter to Nintendo saying "Thank you Nintendo for finally making a game where a girl is the hero!" Also, guys, this is a cool game for yall to play.

Oh! Before I conclude my review, I forgot to mention that: Princess Peach isn't emo! She has emotional powers. That is all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guilty pleasure

posted by Marioman (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I you might guess, this looks like a girly game, but try not to let that scare you off. Super Princess Peach FINALLY Has the all-to-easy-to-be kidnapped Peach rescue Mario and (who cares about) Luigi. The game is a platforming rop trough the Mushroom Kingdom. Princess peach, eqquiped with a talking parasol, goes out to defeated the paper mario like bowser.
The twist of the game is that Peach acts like a woman. She crys, making plants grow and putting out fires. She gets happy, and starts to fly to places she can't reach. She gets angry, and destroys anything in sight. But she has a limit to how often she could do this with a mood meter. Eat your enemys to refill it so she can cry at a chick flick again.
The Problem with SPP is that it is very short, clocking in maybe 6 hours. However, the Minigames included, the funny conversation, the plain fun of finally killing a goomba with peach make this a must play.
P.S. I did not mean to offend any women.
P.S.S. Guys, do not be afraid to play this game. I did, and many of my friends bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

im a retardddddddddddddddddddd- dddddddddddddddddd

posted by pooface (VICTORIA, TX) May 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had an Intracate storyline. After Mario and Luigi-face are captured by a meanie whose name is bowser, or in japanese, Koopa King, Peach embarks on a perilous quest to retrieve her close friends. The game co mpletely blew my mind. It's realistic graphics had me glued to my NES for weeks. Using her overwhelming emotions, Peach can kill her ugly fat, obese retardeddd, meanie-pie enemies. When Peach is not using her interesting powers to abuse koopas, she is whacking them with her powerful double edged umbrella of Doom. The game designers knew exactly what they were doing. In conclusion I think that any (crazy) person would definately enjoy this game.

P.S. Please get me out of this whacky Shack!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!

P.P.S. Bring a knife, I'm stuck in a strait jacket. (With Michael Jackson)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game, but it is hard

posted by pieninja (BRENTWOOD, CA) Jun 28, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well this game was good, but it had some difficult times. the bosses were hard, but you just got to figure out their weakness and you have to survive and you win basically. this game was also like normal mario bros but you get to attack and you really have health

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic side-scrolling fun

posted by pepeVision (EUREKA, CA) May 5, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Simply put, I can't get enough of Super Mario Bros-style side-scrollers. While we count down the days until New Super Mario Bros DS hits the streets, this is "just" another fine example of the Nintendo handheld magic we know and love. Add a rumble pack (which, really, should have been included - maybe a custom pink cartridge?) and you've got even more fun ahead of you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cool Game

posted by thegame020 (GLENOMA, WA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Super Princess Peach is like the nes and super nes mario bros. games. This time you get to play as princess peach, and you have to save toads, mario and Luigi. Pretty fun platformer. Rent this game and you will have some fun.
7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Peachy Keen!

posted by Writer83 (BEAVERTON, OR) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, so I, too, had heard how easy this game was. Yes, it is easy, at least at first..then it gets more challenging, about mid-game. And yes, they have these wonderfully elaborate bosses that you have to destroy, and the game does give it away (in the form of info boxes like they did in Mario World, hit them and they give you a hint, or tips) but if you want to have a bit more of a challenge, don't hit the info box when you enter the door or tube before a boss!
Want to make the game even more challenging? Don't buy any extra hearts or vibe meters! Play the game as is!
At Toad's shop, (accessible between levels) you can get extra heart containers, extra vibes meters, music room sounds and other things. The only thing I have done was buy an extra vibe meter (you'll always be running out!) but not hearts, so the game is (especially in later levels) more on-par with a Mario game in difficulty.
You don't have to do this, but I choose to, because the game was too easy in the beginning. Now, without extra hearts, I'm dying a lot in these later levels and bosses, and have to be extra careful..

Also, there are puzzle pieces to collect in each level, and three toads per level..sure, you could whiz by and beat it without, but it's a lot more fun to explore everything, use your vibes and find all three toads in each level. Puzzle pieces (12 per puzzle) are hidden one per level and when all the pieces are found, you can race the clock to put the puzzle together, rotating pieces with your stylus.
There are other fun mini-games you can unlock in the game, and in Toad's Store, you can buy up to 10 different difficulties of the mini games, making for some extra challenges.
It's fun to stomp goombas, Paratroopers and take out Piranna Plants, Bullet Bills..there's even pesky Lakitu! All the old favorites are here!
But, there's some new enemies, which I will leave up to the player to discover.
All in all, Peach does Mario proud in her first game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not enough to hold my attention

posted by hahalina (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Aug 24, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Using the side scrolling action that made Super Mario Bros. popular this game falls short of delivering any challenge. This game is clearly made for young girls. As a female gamer in her late 20s I had lost interest by world 2. One feature that I did like was that you have infinite lives. You do not start with so many lives and have to work to get more. You do have a life bar during the game but once you die you just start the level over. You can even pause and save in the middle of a level. Thus leaving little to no challenge to most levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game stinks!!!

posted by RowHard99 (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I cannot figure out why so many people liked this game. There is no way Nintendo made this game. They must have outsourced it to another company. Thank god I rented it and didn't buy it. It was painful to play. Nothing made sense. Then again, maybe you need to be a 12 year old girl to enjoy it. I'll just stick to the Mario games. Thumbs down on this terrible game!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

REMIXED MARIO BROS

posted by westell (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Our plumbers have been captured. The princess gets captured and they save her. But now the princess saves them. She finds a magical umbrella named perry. And her adventure awaits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horriablr

posted by aerosmith4 (Brighton, MA) May 31, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 28 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

very bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

spoof

posted by GAMELOVER12 (EMERYVILLE, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

fucken mario spoof its really reterded

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally princess peach saves the day

posted by dsi (MCHENRY, IL) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I actually have this game but it dose not work any more. So sad caused i love this game

8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fell through the cracks, but dont be fooled!

posted by DavidSKi (ROSEDALE, MD) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

This game came and went when it was released 4-5 years ago. I guess mainstream Nintendo fans don't like games that dont exploit Mario as the main hero in a game.

However, let their misconceptions be your reward. If you were a fan of Super Mario 2 on NES, and always wished there's was another game where peach did her thing, here it is!

With a nice plot twist of Mario getting kidnapped, this game will keep you busy for MANY MANY HOURS.

Rent and buy this classic, and add it to your permanent game collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Princess power!

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Though a little too easy for hardcore gamers, "Super Princess Peach" is a commendable platformer in the Mario style with fun gameplay, neat environments, and cool puzzles to solve. Peach's four Vibe powers each work quite well and are used often. The music and graphics stack up quite well, and there are extras (such as mini-games, jigsaw puzzles, and additional levels) to find and enjoy. Some people may not think it's a keeper, but if you're a Mario fan, it's at least worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT LOADING

posted by iritbm (WALPOLE, MA) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game is ruined could not load - didn't play at all sent back !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cute, but not as great as it could be

posted by i3urgundy (GLENCOE, IL) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Super Princess Peach is a fairly fun game. It's nice to see Peach actually fighting enemies instead of being trapped by Bowser as usual. It has some interesting platforming elements to it and Peach has unique abilities via her emotions (Calm, Joy, Rage, Gloom) that allow you to fight the bosses and get to secret areas. My biggest complaint is that it's too easy. One of her emotions allows you to regenerate health. You get unlimited lives, and sometimes when you die you don't even have to start over at the beginning of the level; just the beginning of that particular screen. Before every boss battle the game tells you EXACTLY what to do so there's no need to think at all. If you are new to platforming games this is a good game to start with, although I would recommend Yoshi's Island or any standard Mario game first. The music is good, the levels are colorful and unique and the gameplay is somewhat fun, but like I mentioned before, it's too easy, especially for someone with platforming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse