Rent Super Paper Mario for Wii
view large frontback

Super Paper Mario

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

10100 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Platformer with a new twist. 9.7/10

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Apr 11, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

72 out of 80 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Well, Nintendo sure does know how to make a nearly perfect platformer for our hero Mario. Super Paper Mario is one of the best games on the Wii so far. With great game play, artistic styling visuals, and a nice refreshing challenge, this game has plenty of pick and (re)play value.

For starts, this game is hard! If you've played New Super Mario for the DS, and just walked through it, I think you'll enjoy Super Paper Mario. With having multiple characters to choose(All with different abilities) from at anytime in the game, and the ability to go in and out of 3D, there are so many possibilities in the games puzzles.

I thought they did a few really good things with the controls. Before I bought it, I was worried that you may have to jerk the Wii-mote upward to jump. Thinking of all the finely tuned jumping involved in a platformer like this had me a little worried. Thankfully, it's just a regular button jump. It does utilize the motion controls in some areas, but not over doing it to make it feel tacked on. The RPG element is also nicely done. Earning progress from killing anything, and adding to Mario's attack and HP among other things.

The visuals are almost a non-issue. You really can't mess up a game that's meant to look 2D. But it does have some details in the background, and the creatures also have some fine detail. My only complaint in this department is in the 3D environment. It seems very barren, and plain.

The only thing I didn't like was the miles of dialog in the first few levels. For levels 1-1, and 1-2, it seems that is ALL you were doing was talking. It has a nice twist from the normal save Princess Peach story line in a typical Mario game, but there seemed like a lot of unnecessary talking going on in the start.

Overall,a great Nintendo title. I have high expectations for Nintendo's first party game, and as always they deliver in this game. Lots to do and with the RPG element, it has plenty of replay value. Great game, I'd just go buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Keeping Mario on His Toes

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Apr 13, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

31 out of 34 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

The Paper Mario series is proving to be a great alternative to the regular Mario series.

This game looks fantastic. The artistic backgrounds, vibrant color palette, lively character models, and imaginative level designs stand among those found in the very best platformers. From the first level, I was visually impressed, and the game only looks better and better as it progresses.

The controls shine. I'm sure everyone knows about the 2D-3D switching, but you really have to play this game for a while to see how much this affects level-design and puzzle challenges. It's amazing. You're also given a wide variety of added abilities via your "Pixls" and other characters (Peach and others). These add to the variety in the game, and make for some fantastic challenges.

I do, however, miss the turn-based RPG-style fighting of The Thousand-Year Door, but there's enough added play in this new game to make up for that loss. As others have also noted, the game can be a bit heavy on the dialogue, but it's easier to skip through in this game than in the prior Paper Mario game.

The storyline is fun. I appreciated the incorporation of multiple dimensions into the storyline, paralleling the multiple dimensions of gameplay. Great stuff. I also like that the Paper Mario games continue to introduce new villains and character types beyond the familiar Nintendo-created ones.

Intelligent Systems (the second-party developer responsible for this game) is proving to be an important part of the Nintendo brand. Apparently, this company designs much of the "middleware" used by Nintendo. They've also taken over development of the Mario Kart series, they produce the WarioWare games, they created Fire Emblem, and they made the Advance Wars series. With all of these great games, they're starting to give Nintendo's own developers and designers a run for their money. Great stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario isn't the only one flipping

posted by Saviour (MANCHESTER, CT) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What can I say about Super Paper Mario? Excellent? Fantastic? Incredible? find me some sort of word that combines all those and thats the words.

This game is beyond addicting and fun. Nothing pleases me more then being able to use my own thinking power as well as Bowser's raw fire-breathing power, Peach's glide, and Luigi's Super Jump.

The characters (with the expection of one) where every bit as lovable as the next, evil or good. there really no side quests other then collecting the cards and getting all the pixils, but the storyline, the music where all fantastice regardless of how childish it may look.

My sister isn't into games but she couldn't put this one down when she gave it a whirl. The music really did me good, in a sense, I hope theres a soundtrack somewhere.

To some people the odd assortment of colors may freak people out but can be forgiven added they also had they're playful charm.

There is honestly nothing bad I can say about this game, its impossible to dislike.

That'll do Plummer, that'll do...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Mario Yet!

posted by Spikedup06 (DOWNERS GROVE, IL) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I cannot believe this game isn't at least a 9! The different variations of the items, the storyline, and the characters are all very original. The way that this game was created by the side-scroll to 3-D was very creative, I was amazed by the way this game was put together. There was only one downfall, the need to switch back and forth between pixls and characters was a bit of a problem with the progress of the game. Although the challenge was a little on the normal/easy side, I still enjoyed switching my Wii on and busting out some SPM. Hope there's a sequel, and possibly multiplayer? That would be perfect!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Classic Mario Revived!

posted by RocketGib (OWASSO, OK) Jul 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love Super Paper Mario. This game brings back many childhood memories of the NES and SNES Super Mario Brother games and I thought that it played quite well on the Wii.

The only downside of this game (along with several other Wii titles) is the extremely long forced tutorial and storyline. I wish there was a way to skip all of this and jump right into the game even though the storyline is very interesting!

My favorite part of SPM is when Mario gains the ability to "flip" into the 3rd dimension. There are many new secrets and tricks you can perform while in 3D mode, but beware of your HP meter!

If I had the money, I would have kept this title just because I found it very addictive. Maybe when I get some extra money I'll go purchase this one. It's worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Last Great Gamecube Game, First Mario Wii Game!

posted by Gugliemo (HOLMDEL, NJ) Apr 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

You wouldn't except a Paper Mario game to be the first Mario game on a console, but it just happened to be so. Despite not being the Mario game we all are waiting for, this game still delivers strong.

Super Paper Mario has a handful of new features you should check out. First off, you get to play as 4 characters throughout the game: Mario, Peach, Bowser, and Luigi. Each character has a special move: Bowser breathes fire, Peach floats using her parasol, Luigi jumps extra high, and Mario flips the world to 3-D. Their wasn't any typos here, with Mario you get to flip to 3-D! You also get to use these things that follow you called Pixls, which gives your characters different abilities. One gives you the ground pound, one shows you info when you point at the screen, and one enables you to use bombs. There are also cool items like the Mega Star, which turns you into a giant 8-Bit Mario.

In Super Paper Mario, instead of using Wii-mote/nunchuk combo, you hold the remote sideways like a NES controller. You press 2 to jump, press 1 to use your Pixls ability, press A to flip to 3-D, and you use your characters ability as well as move with the d-pad.

This game, unlike the 2 other Paper Marios, has more platforming and less RPG. However, there are still many RPG elements in this game. You hold items like Shroom Shakes in your pocket that recovers health, and there are many sidequests in this game. You can also cook, and get cards that makes it easier to defeat a certain type of enemy.

Right now, this game sounds flawless to you, but it isn't. As you get more characters and Pixls, it is going to get more annoying to pause it everytime to change your characters and Pixls. Also, since Mario is the only one that can flip to 3-D, your going to play as him almost all the time. There is also way too much dialogue in this game, but I didn't mind it though, since it was funny. These problems shouldn't stop you from playing this game, however.

PS: The game is 1 player only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wonderful Game

posted by LuigiLove (CLEARFIELD, UT) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I absolutely loved this game.

I can't believe some people are complaining about some dialogue. I've played this game three times and I read every single word each time (except the Sammer Guys, they were kinda boring). And if you're not a reader like me, it's really easy to skip. If you guys would grow up and read a little, you'd probably find that you really like the story of the game.

I hope people won't see this game and think it might be fun, read the reviews, and decide not to get it. I really think that you'd love this game if you gave it a chance and got over the dialogue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow . . .

posted by KiLLaKoMp (SOUTHFIELD, MI) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is the best Mario game I've ever played in my LIFE! I was so sad when I mailed it back the other day... I'm def going to buy this game when I get a chance!! This is one of those games you need to have!! It's games like this that keeps the Wii on in my house!!

There is alot of conversation in the beginning of the game... but it's nothing you can't get thru with rapid tapping of the '2' button. The storyline behind the game is EXCELLENT though... the features, music, gameplay... ALL of IT! Don't rent it... BUY IT!!

'Nuff Said!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great, but not like other paper marios

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Apr 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I played Paper Mario 2 The Thousand Year Door on Gamecube all the way through three times. It was one of my favorite GCN games. I was looking forward to this one quite a bit. However, this one seems to lack the humor the last one had. I haven't laughed quite as much and the humor seems a little too focused at young teens.

I love the mechanics of this game. Switching into 3D was a genius idea and allows for so much more expansive gameplay. All of the power-ups are really cool.

The downside of this game is that some of the levels are just annoying to play and you can't wait until you're done. Like the outer-space level. Also, you don't equip items anymore and leveling up is basically gone. So the aspect of RPG is almost gone from this game. I'd say it's about 10% RPG where it used to be 60%. It's more of a platformer now.

It's a great game. If you are a paper mario fan and you go into this looking for paper mario RPGesque gameplay, you'll be a little let down. The game is fun in itself for what it is, but with what I expect a paper mario game to be like, this just isn't paper mario. Maybe they should have called the previous ones Paper Mario RPG? I like that Mario RPG style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great mario game

posted by cmoney13 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Apr 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game plays like the First super mario except you have to go 3-D. Ive heard complaints that the 3-d looks terrible/flat but if you had something 3-d what would it look like from above anyway?? I think the answer is flat...so second of all you get to play as BOSWER!! I cant think of the last game you got to use him. He blows fire and is the strongest of the four-you get peach as well. i haven't beaten it yet but im not returning it until i do!! Go get it or rent it..you wont be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Really Let Down...

posted by kkl2004neo (GARLAND, TX) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I was really let down with this new game... It does not follow the Paper Mario themes that we know and love!! when you touch an enemy you start a battle anymore. All you can do is jump on the enemy. It is just not the same. I think that they really messed up on this game....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slow... Boring...

posted by RaiderGame (PETALUMA, CA) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

played it for about four hours...felt like 10 hours. the levels were creative enough to want me to keep playin, but it was slow. dialogue was tedious. if u a die hard fan u'll love it, but if u looking for some "mario world" type fast paced action. don't bother... like me, u'll be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good on paper.

posted by gamerfan06 (ANAHEIM, CA) May 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you think this game is just for kids then your seriously missin out on something. The writing is very whitty and the game is everentertaining over all. The game isnt to long so you could probably finish it in a couple of weekends. Took me about 30 or so hours. Yes, there is reading, but who cares great game and if you cant handle reading a line or too every once in a while then maby you should the controller down and go back to preschool.

The motion sensititity is used very little in this game but when is its actualy pretty fun, especialy the minny games.

Over all a great game, funny writing, and very entertaining. If you have a Wii then this is a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun But Why couldn't the bad guy be Bowser

posted by Baddog0890 (UDELL, IA) Jul 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This mario game was really fun to play and pick up easily if you've never played a mario game before. But any way The Things I liked about the Game:

1. The Gameplay
2. You have different Characters to choose from
3. Some new attacks that can only be done with faires.
4. Going from 2D to 3D

The Things I didn't like about the game:

1. Why wasn't bowser the bad guy
2. Some lvls you will get stuck on are quite frustrating
3. Why could they have put in the original themes to the game.

Overall I Give this game 7.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not so fun

posted by barney (HOUSTON, TX) May 31, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Got the Wii so we could all play together.
This game is nothing like the Mario from back in "the day"; basically it sucked.
There was so much dialog, we couldn't stand it. Then when you finally got to play, there was nothing but simple running around with little point to it.
The old Mario was a fast-action game. And one of the last ones my wife and I have played it years. Maybe we were just expecting too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It talks the talk... and keeps on talking.

posted by Mooglewing (BLOOMINGTON, IL) May 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying this if a fun game, when it is a game. The main problem is it gets wordy in its story telling, and there really isn't much of a story. The dialog goes on and on and the only thing that really kept me going all the way to the end was some really classic levels and fan service funny dialog in a couple levels. I think I might have set through more dialog than actual game play.

The game itself is overly simplified and I really wished it was either a rpg or a platformer not both since it never really felt like it got either one of them right. The rpg side is really easy to get past with enough items and the platforming gives you a taste of past nes glory but never really gives it a chance to get going. If you really look at the levels they are really short, but this is deceptive since the game will take you around 18-20 hours to play. They just fill the entire game with fetch quests to expand the simple game mechanics and small levels.
While I will admit there is some really great moments in the game (the ending by the way really isn't one of them) I can't help wondering if I kept playing only because it was Mario and one of the few 10 hour plus type games outside of Zelda on the Wii right now. It is worth a weekend rental or so, but buyers beware the replay value isn't there and there will be much better mario games on the Wii in the futer and this one will be only and memory of a foot note in the Wii history.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GET IT!

posted by fidofsw (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you own a Wii you must own this game. It plays like a classic Mario side scrolling game but with a twist, you can switch into 3d. This feature adds a lot more depth into the game and makes it much more interesting. It's a very well made game, the graphics look nice and the controls are simple and very responsive. Since Super Mario Galaxy isn't going to be out for a while this will defiantly hold you off until then.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NOT ENTERTAINING

posted by outlaw17 (KINGSLAND, GA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was not fun at all. It was slow and boring. Not only did I dislike it but all 6 of my kids thought it was very slow and boring. Not recommended at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best in the series

posted by monkeyman7 (NEVADA CITY, CA) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This is definentaly the best game in the whole paper mario series. It is really fun and its is also hilarious. It uses the wiimote well, and it is not too confusing. This is the second best game for wii so far (the best is Zelda, of course). :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by WarMuncher (GORHAM, ME) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Text...text...text...text- ...walk to point b...text...text..text...t- ext...maybe action, nope, false alarm...text...text...text.

Maybe this game picks up after the first 4 hours of text and walking around. I couldn't make it past the first 30 minutes and I was zooming through the text as fast as I could. All of the needless dialog is a huge drag on this game. I was expecting more of a platformer experience with some Roll Playing elements. Instead of got what I illustrated above. Unless you are into reading a lot in your video games I don't recommend getting this game. I returned it the day after I received it. I'm even considering selling my Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nice looking game but lacks

posted by gokoulv4gt (DARDANELLE, AR) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I found that this game had a lot of good qualities such as the graphics but got really boring. I understand its an rpg ish game and so there is a lot of dialog but most of the dialog i found to be mundane and boring. I know this is mostly geared toward kids but this game couldn't keep my attention for more than an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super paper mario

posted by Dorian (SYCAMORE, IL) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Decsent story line, but there is more talk and conversation then actual play. so in conclusion, the game was extremely boring an horrible chance of actually participating in the game without having to have a half hour of conversation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just for kids (or those with comparable minds)

posted by JDShkolnik (BROOKLYN, NY) May 19, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I started Super Paper Mario and got sick of it in a day (I got up to 3-1). It doesn't make much use of motion sensing although that's not why I dislike it. There is SO MUCH text dialogue you have to click through it's enough to drive anyone insane. Worse still is that the dialogue is inane bs targeted toward kids under 10. On top of that the game is small on the action. You just run around a lot clicking through that insipid annoying text dialogue and every so often jumping somewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing!

posted by Tricky12 (DULUTH, MN) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

There is nothing better out for the wii right now. Super Paper Mario is Great...I Would just go out and buy it if i was you, i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I didn't like the game AT ALL

posted by jenmndonf (BATAVIA, IL) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Granted I did not play the game for a long period of time, but for the short time that I did play the game I didn't care for it at all. "Paper Mario" is a very fitting name. Graphics stink. Slow pace. Long story line. No one to kill/fight, just follow a butterfly..? LAME..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse