Rent Super Monkey Ball Touch and Roll for DS
view large frontback

Super Monkey Ball Touch and Roll

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.9

190 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but has some flaws

posted by Strongbad1 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Dec 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would buy this game if it didn't have the following flaws:
-Although there are 120 stages, you have to sit through the aggravatingly long credits after every 5-10 levels, which is very frustrating.
-Some of the stages are on previous monkey ball games...
-The controls on the mini-games suck. In the main game using the d-pad is a requirement (touch screen is not nearly sensitive enough).
-The music is really annoying at times.
-The opening menu is downright insulting!

Other than that stuff, it's a fairly good entry to the S.M.B. series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

hard/frustrating/highly addictive

posted by jessiKUH (MURRIETA, CA) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game almost made me break my ds. because the puzzles are so frustrating. it's either you can't put it down, or you get so bored of it you wished you wouldn't have rented it. final say: decent, if you have patience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool.

posted by marioman86 (TEWKSBURY, MA) Jun 29, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game has awesome level design!But the graphics could have been better. It wasn't 3D enough. The mini games are fun'but a kid who I was doing multiplayer said the AI are babies.Buy it and like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DSi XL improves this game

posted by Venger (BEND, OR) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I just got the new Nintendo DSi XL, and this is the first game I have rented for it. The larger screens are especially useful in games like this where you can fall off the edge very easily. The graphics look good for Nintendo DS standards, and they are bright and colorful. This game has a few good tunes, and I like how the first stage plays the music from the first Super Monkey Ball for the Wii. I mostly use the directional pad to control the monkey, but sometimes it makes it easier to switch to the touch screen controls. A good time to use the touch screen controls is when you're guiding the monkey across something very narrow. "Super Monkey Ball Touch and Roll" is one of the best 3rd-party games for the Nintendo DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cute game

posted by foxy42 (YONKERS, NY) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The graphics are attractive and the idea of rolling the character around through the different challenges is unique but it requires someone with much faster reflexes and hand/eye coordination than I seem to have. So I recommend it for young people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Already Beaten...

posted by Jake18 (BUFFALO, NY) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I started up the game, and there was no way to delete the last person's saved game...what fun is playing a game that's already been beaten. All the maps were completed and everything was unlocked. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Monkey rolls and more

posted by hookshot10 (ATLANTA, TX) Jan 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

OK first off great game though the way the monkey rolls on the touch screen isn't as good anymore. The courses are all nearly the same. Its a bit to easy too. Now the good things. Great pong game and monkey wars. unique or however you spell race tracks. Oh and another bad thing is that on monkey race you should be able to use your d-pad.I love the area chooses function as well. Overall you get get this game to try and have fun but you will lose intrest pretty quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ummm its ok

posted by DarkNinja (BIG LAKE, MN) Aug 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

im one of the monkey ball fans but id have to say this game is the worst. I mean your character is 2d while everything else is 3d which sucks.

its only a game good for rent not to buy....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Finally!

posted by lazlazer (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

Monkeys are flying in the air in Balls? Wait it's another super monkey ball hope this is good. This game is good and it's kinda like a same old monkey ball game. You hafe to finish before time runs out on whacky corses and collect bananas along the way. But theres a twist, you control the ball by using the stylist. At first it kinda gets frusterating but as soon you get the hang of it, This will be a great game. Im kinda sad that they didnt put wifi in this but you also have the same minigames which are battle and race and etc.
So it's not really new version but it's still alot of fun and alot of balls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MONKEYS!! YAY! SUPER MONKEY BALL DS! average

posted by Marioman (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 20, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

Super Monkey ball for the gamecube is easily one of my personal favorites. The clock ticking always made sure you worked fast, of you would fail. You had to move over thin lines, or you fail. It was very addictive and had you turn off you gamecube, only to turn it on again in 5 minutes. And the monkey party games were AWESOME!!
Super monkey ball DS is a port with 100 playable maze, 6 monkey games, and no story, so you feel no reason why to make sure your monkey is the greatest ball roller ever. The puzzles are so easy untill the final 20 mazes. the game also wants you to try to control your monkey balls with the touch screen, making a monkey ball rolling veteran (JK) very mad. The alternitive is to use the d-pad, but since you can only go 8 angles, it is not good either. The mazes are design nicely with OK graphics, so why is my monkey all a blur of pixels. sirously, my ball is 2-d, and the enviroment is 3-d, making an odd looking game.
The monkeyminigames are not fun due to the fact that you use the touch screen. Special reconizion for the worst game is monkey race/fight/golf. Ok games are bowling, air hockey and first person shooter.
So even though this is a short/bad controlled game, if you get use to it, it s a good game.
My verdict: rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »