Rent Super Monkey Ball Step & Roll for Wii
view large frontback

Super Monkey Ball Step & Roll

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

471 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by GTpyro (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

If you have the previous game (banana blitz) this game is worthless. There are 21 mini-games in this version (compared to 50 or so in the previous one) and most of them are EXACT COPIES from banana blitz. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not To Bad

posted by pigster (WAUNAKEE, WI) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

i don't recomend anyone buying this game but i do recomend people renting this game. It is really easy to beat it takes about 2hrs if you go non stop and if you bought it, it would get old very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lack of coordination

posted by armyman81 (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Just got this game in today and it is going back in the mail tomorrow. Granted, yes I am playing with the controller with this game since I don't have the balance board but even at some of the levels are so picky with having to move the ball just right to get it to go. I didnt enjoy the game. My wife couldn't even play it. The seesawing of the ball and the world tilting made her ill. Sorry Sega. Normally all for a SEGA title but not this junk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Game

posted by cjstaud66 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked the game I just couldn't do it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst game I've ever played!

posted by Firekirby (REXBURG, ID) May 7, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not worth getting! First off, let's look at the wii balance board element. Having a game made for the wii balance board is fine, but not super monkey ball. I played the entire first world with the balance board and died on the bonus stage! After that I immediately played the same level with the wiimote, anyone wanna guess what happened? First off, with the wiimote enabled the game puts totems in the stage to hinder you, which means their beta testers considered the game hard on the balance board as well. I liked the gameplay with the wiimote, however, there is only one thing that pushed me to stop playing after stage 2, THE PAINFULLY LONG CREDITS! So they have a song playing and a little minigame that requires no effort whatsoever, BUT THERES NO WAY TO SKIP IT! Nights used to be the worst game I ever played and I LIKED IT! If you're looking for a good game to play and you can't get T-rated games, I recommend nights Wii instead, SINCE AT LEAST I COULD STAND THAT ONE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sucks!

posted by beaver (WOODHAVEN, MI) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i played thi age for about 20 min and i returned it the day i got it. The game is so redundant and repetitive it get old after about 20 min. This is just my opinion some of you may like it. the controls are a bit odd as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better then the first on

posted by l14gtgh (PASSAIC, NJ) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It is so much fun. I play it for 6 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

pretty good

posted by amyray (MCCOMB, MS) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

it was ok but banana blitz is better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by android13 (TWENTYNINE PALMS, CA) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

worst game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Monkey ball for wii isn't that great

posted by kjlandnam (BEAR LAKE, MI) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I have always been a big fan of monkey ball games. We have all of them up to the wii one. I'm glad that we rented it before we tried it because i will for sure not be buying it. We thought that it was cool using the balance board for the main game but they took off some of the mini games that made us fall in love with monkey ball in the first place. Monkey fight for example. The first time we played this on game cube years ago. I laughed til i peed my pants! How could you take a mini game like that off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Young fun

posted by sarrowteam (ENCINO, CA) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Has a variety of games for more than one player. Doesn't split screen most of the time which is pleasant. Not too many "ball" type games for young players, but few available are fun. 5 year old says, "good."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pointless sequel to Banana Blitz

posted by Duncan76 (DALLAS, TX) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I read the reviews and lowered my expectations, yet I was thoroughly displeased with this game. I think the Banana Blitz game is still moderately fun and I'd still play it again, but this Step & Roll is just irritating and pointless. The graphics aren't up to par and the mechanics are just plain sloppy. Plus I noticed some grammatical errors in some of the directions; you'd think Sega would have thoroughly proofed the wording before launching a game with their name on it. I think it was just underdeveloped and rushed to market too fast.

I know this game is more of a family type game for all ages, but I just don't see how this game would be that entertaining to everyone, especially the party mini games.

I am not a hardcore gamer by any means but I recognize a poorly developed game when I see one, and this is definitely one of those.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Marble Madness?

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

This one was rented to play with my fiance. She thought it looked fun and is all about things that use the balance board. Though I don't think she realized that Monkey Ball is fun but can be fiendishly difficult since she had never played it before.

The first thing she mentioned was that it reminded her of Marble Madness on the NES. Great game, but really frustrating.

The controls are typical of the Wii if you just use the wiimote. So I'll spare you that.

When you switch to the balance board things change. Obstacles are removed since control is not as precise with the balance board. What I will say is you have got to have some seriously good balance with that thing to do some of the levels. It starts to become so frustrating to even bother with.

Move forward to speed up, lean back to slow down / turn around and left and right are pretty self explanatory. The trick is implementing this smoothly in one of the levels. It works great in level 1. You have bumpers and rails all over the place. But once they remove the rails and the levels get tricky the downfall of the balance board's controls shows up. Don't get me wrong, I'm not hating on the balance board. ( I think it works great with stuff like EA Active and Shaun White Snowboarding. ) Monkey ball just requires controls that are to precise to create on the Wii's balance board. The game is still fun, but for a casual gamer this might not be something for you.

My fiance said it all when after using the balance board, completing world 1 then getting stuck at the start of the second level of world 2. ( they took the rails away and it pretty much became impossible) "This game is to hard send it back to gamefly".

So there you go. Fun game as long as you don't use the balance board. Stick to Shaun White Snowboarding for that. ( that game pretty much has the best use of it that I have ever seen )
If you've played Monkey Ball you know what to expect.

Verdict: Rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Frustrating wit the Balance Board

posted by sjk6574 (Los Angeles, CA) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Way too sensitive; playing the Wii Fit balance/tilt games are much more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Controls suck, mini-games aren't bad

posted by msugirlie (FOWLERVILLE, MI) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I agree with the other reviews... the controls are very hard and the balance board is terrible!! I thought it would be fun, but it was just really frustrating. The levels are a little boring and if you play in co-op mode one person just shoots things that are in the way, but it makes you dizzy since you can't control where the guy moves and since the controls are really touchy, you are constantly shooting, but missing. The only thing I didn't mind about the game were the mini-games. They were pretty fun. I wouldn't buy this game and only rent it if you don't want to keep it very long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

LAMEST DUMBEST GAME EVER!!!!

posted by gamer1256 (LAKE ARROWHEAD, CA) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

FIRST OFF the controls suck and the wii board is more horrific. Gameplay repetitive, annoying and all around horrible. I just got this game about 15 mins. ago and i hate it already!!!! DO NOT RENT HIS GAME IS AN EPIC FAIL IN EVERY WAY!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »