Rent Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz for Wii
view large frontback

Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
5.1

2144 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Monkeys in Balls, you do the math.

posted by Cheese (WOODINVILLE, WA) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Super Monkey Ball is a time based puzzle game where the player must tilt the world to roll their monkey down some rather inventful levels while collecting some bananas along the way. The original Monkey Ball game for the Game cube sneaked under most peoples radars, but thankfully, the game is alive and well and better than ever on the Nintendo Wii.

Thanks to the Wii's control scheme, controlling the monkeys is pretty darn simple. All you need to do is tilt your Wii-Remote to tilt the world. Thankfully, there is now a jump button, which is default to the 'A' button. If it wasn't for the new jump feature, Monkey Ball would have felt more like a bland Wii remake of the original Game Cube game. Sadly, the jump button just is not used too often in the game. Most of the puzzles just ask you to get from start to finish.

Also new is the Boss battles, which just become repetitive and monotonous after a while. Each boss is a game of jumping on a specific spot to do start some sort of event which will damage the boss. Not too exciting.

The big surprise to the game is the 50 mini game collection. All 50 games are available right from the start, for those who don't want to bother with the main campaign. Each game is different from the last, but over half of them feel like they control the same. There are only about 10 games which seem to really stand out as fun, the rest just end up as a chore as you fight the wacky controls.

The graphics are relatively good. The game looks like a game cube game, which isn't a bad thing. I mean, how detailed do bananas need to be? Sound also sounds like it was ripped straight out of the other games. A "Best hits" collection of Monkey Ball rolling madness. The built in speaker spits some little blips and beeps at you, but you learn to ignore them after a while, or just turn the speaker off.

Overall, it's a fun game with some fun mini games, but you'll be in for a bundle of repetition with this game. If you liked the first, you'll love this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Out of control

posted by 35yrgamer (CLIFTON SPRINGS, NY) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lets get one thing straight right away, this game plays much harder then it should. The Wii is a great system, the wiimote opens up a door to a whole new world of gaming. However with this game, that door slams shut pretty fast. The control is so twitchy that it often sucks the fun out of the experience. My son, who has played, enjoyed, and beaten other MB games, got so mad last nite that he cried. Today the game is in the mail and on its way back to GF.
You could spend hours "learning" the new controls on the Wii. You could, but why should you? Most other Wii games are pick up and play and are fun right away. Not MB. You can clear the first world, w/o too much trouble, but after that it becomes obvious that something is wrong. Once we got as far as we could in story mode we hit the mini games. And that was when we decided to stop playing altogether. Most of the mini games are just plan broken. Like in golf, where you can't stop your monkey ball from rotating side to side to properly line up your shot. Or in bowling, when you have to repeatidly make a throwing motion to get your MB to go down the lane(forget about aiming it). This game is filled w/mini games that you can't control and can't enjoy.
Look, I am not flaming the system. But I am not going to lie about it either. I fully expect some games not to work well with the Wiimote. The thing is MB:BB shouldn't be one of them. This game should have taken off and been an awesome gameplay experience on the Wii. And that is why I am disapointed in it. I don't see how anyone who is being objective, could recomend this game. I can't. And again my wife, my kids, and I all enjoyed, played and beat the stuffing out of every MB game we have played before this one. Rent/play at your own risk, you have been warned.

And btw, you pause the game using the + and then the - buttons, Hold them both down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute game for kids

posted by MoniQAZ (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 25, 2006

Member since May 2003

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This game is very cute, and my daughter (7yrs old) loves all the mini games in it. For adults, it was more fun to watch than play, but then again I like playing more complex games. This is definitely something for the younger crowd.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SMB:BB is fun but rough around the edges

posted by alexeirrm (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Having played Super Monkey Ball on the GameCube, my sons and I were really looking forward to the wii version of the game. The graphics are a step up from the GC version; the scrolling is smooth and fast, the details and colors are good.

The gameplay is like that of the older game: you have story mode or mini-game mode. The mini-game mode is far more stocked than the GC version, and most (if not all) games are unlocked from the start.

My main complaint about the game is that we can't find a way to pause of change options while in-game. The default volume on the wii-mote is LOUD, so you need to drop that down a bit.

Overall a good value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mediocre Game, Defiantly for kids.

posted by rarrarrar (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Dec 2, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I am pretty glad that I didn't buy this game and that i rented it first. My faviiorite part of the game is all those minigames to choose from. The main game on the otherhand has a weak story, with hard controls. I like the other monkey ball games for Gamecube and DS more. In the end this is a fun game for the kids to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wicked Fun

posted by MrCoolguy (FORNEY, TX) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The control scheme in the main game just feels so natural. I actually prefer it to the traditional controls on previous consoles. The party games are pretty fun as well. Some of them have a steeper learning curve than others, but they are definitely worth learning how to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Super Monkey Ball (insert joke here)

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you're not familiar with the series, Super Monkey Ball combines the fun of rolling balls with the wackiness of primates inside of them. Oh, there's no particular reason given as to why monkeys have such an affinity to these balls. Maybe they think they're hamsters.
Anyway, Banana Blitz continues the SMB legacy, but this time you use the Wiimote to control the playing field. Tilt left and right, up and down to move your obstacle course and press A to jump. It's that simple... in theory. In practice though, the camera is thrown all over the place, which in turn changes your control directions. So, you often wind up swinging around like a monkey (ironic). On narrow spaces, these controls become impossible.
If you're not hooked on the story mode, you can try a whole bunch of mini-games, but controls suffer here as well. Most of the time, you don't know what the controls are. Once you do, you realize that they don't work very well.
It's a nice concept, but badly implemented. Though geared toward the younger set, I don't know most kids who would have the patience to deal with this game's flaws. But the monkey back in the ball and roll him out the door. His services are no longer required.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gameplay and Controls Don't Get More Intuitive

posted by Fusiliryan (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm not sure why this game has been rated so poorly. Perhaps many of the reviewers hadn't played a Super Monkey Ball game before and didn't expect what they got. At any rate, this is a very good Super Monkey Ball game. For starters, Banana Blitz received a much needed graphical update. It looks much better than previous titles.
In Banana Blitz, they have also added the ability to jump. Some levels are made to accomodate this ability very well. It is surprising how much a simple ability adds to the gameplay.
As usual, Banana Blitz has plenty of mini-games to play with your friends. Classics such as Monkey Bowling, Target, Boxing, and Racing are still there, but several great ones have been added. With so many mini-games, however, there are bound to be a bad ones, which is true here. You may find that you only play some mini-games once and then never again. Along with that, some games don't work well with the Wii-Mote.
Finally, and most importanty, the controls are easy and intuitive. Tilting and twisting the Wii-Mote to manipulate the world works perfectly. Overall, if you enjoyed the previous Super Monkey Ball games, puzzle games, or multiplayer games, I don't see why uou wouldn't love this game too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz

posted by gamesblue (MCKINNEY, TX) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fun but the music is annoying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad Choice

posted by seandon (CASSELBERRY, FL) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I rented this on a whim and was sorely dissapointed. The single player is okay, but not compelling. The minigames are horrible, though. The semi-enjoyable ones are too short. The bad games are long and you are left without a way of quitting the current game. I sent this back a.s.a.p.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

100% FUN!!

posted by trarocks (TRENTON, NJ) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game rocks!! There are tons of options, and many stages that get progressively harder. Fun for parties or by yourself!! Challange yourself and play with your opposite hand-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hate isn't a strong enough word...

posted by beopenguin (GLENDALE, CA) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So far, the Wii has been extremely entertaining. Well, until I brought Monkey Ball home. The controls are so super touchy you can hardly control your onscreen persona. I found the graphics to be subpar and the music was the equivalent of nails on a chalkboard. It's been a long time since a game made throw a controller. Thank goodness it has a strap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Ace250 (SOLVANG, CA) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game just for the mini games. I had my fill of "marble madness" back in 1984 on my Atari so I didn't care to play the main game although I tried it. The main game is actually much better than the mini games but like I said, I didn't rent it to play the main game. So, the mini games.. lets just say "frustrating" doesn't begin to describe the mini games. 50 games, of which 40 are completely unplayable (4 adults tried, none could get the controllers to respond). That leaves 10 that you can play.. of which 7 are just bad.. 3 have some replay value but not much. Just imagine picking Golf in the mini game.. nothing you do can get the ball to move then you just through the controller down on the couch and look.. 200 yard drive.. huh? Then your stuck with 10 shots per hole and you have to play 9 holes.. that is 90 shots you have to take (because chances of even getting it close to the hole are slim to none) with no way to quit the mini games besides resetting the Wii. Seriously.. did anyone of the developers even try playing this game before releasing?

My score. Actual game 3/10 (again, this is a 22 year old game polished up). Mini-Games 1/10 and that 1 is generous just for the 3 mini games that were playable and somewhat enjoyable for 3 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Control

posted by frcrash (HOMESTEAD, FL) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

i'm really glad I did not buy this game. the controls are very hard to get use to. and some mini games did not work well with the wii remote .. not worth buying or renting !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pretty bad

posted by Silverwolf (VANCOUVER, WA) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Well, I can't help thinking that the last hour was a huge waste of time. The single player game controls take some getting used to, and they don't seem very responsive at all, which is a bit detrimental in a game like Monkey Ball. I will try a little bit longer, but I am quite glad I rented the game, and didn't buy it.

The mini games.... wow. Seriously, they are terrible. Having 50 terrible games doesn't make the game good. 5 good games would have been sufficient, and many of the games are a bit redundant anyhow.

I had high hopes for this game, but its a huge disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rent it, don't buy it

posted by Dargon (OWENS CROSS ROADS, AL) May 21, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I found the base "MonkeyBall" game to be very boring. I never want to even try it again. The mini-games are a mixed bag. Some are fun but many are not, and all are very short. Monkeyball is a good party game but not much fun on your own and it will get old fast. Worth renting it for a party, but I don't see any reason to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Terrible

posted by Wulfen (GLENDALE, AZ) Nov 23, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is not worth renting, nor buying.. The single player game is weak, its short, boring and just plain out hard to control.

The mini games are OK with other people to play with, alone they are terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ok game, rent don't buy.

posted by TheIceman (HANOVER, PA) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you are a Monkey Ball fan as I am this is gonna be hard for ya. Why? Because I really want to enjoy this game. But only part of the game I enjoy is the standard Monkey Ball. The standard Monkey ball with the Wiimote control is not too bad. But I think they were drunk when they made the Monkey Ball mini games. The controls are very confusing. They are different for every game. They attempt to show you how to use the wiimote before every game. But it just is not enough at times. Some times I wish I could see someone play them the right way before I try each mini game. At times I am just lost. The controls feel really loose and at times it feels like I have no control. This is a big disappointment because there are tons of mini games in this game. I just got this game yesterday in the mail and I it may last till Friday. So overall I must say stay away from this game. Good idea, but not very well planned out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Super Monkey Ball:Banana Blitz

posted by lazersnake (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This will be quick.

Main Mode: Control is very awkward. They could have done a lot more with to utilize the controller to make it a lot more fun.

Mini Games: 50 choices of boredom. There are a lot of games to choose from but most of them are repetitive motion with no real reward. Like the Hurdles for instance.

Rent it, have some friends over, maybe have a party. But its not worth dropping $50 for a few mini games that might be fun. Over all its a pretty weak launch title.
Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz

posted by TravisVick (VANCOUVER, WA) May 27, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game sucks super monkey balls and bananas. This game creator had an opportunity to work with some of gamings most creative technology and decided to phone this one in. It is as fun as diving into a pool of molten metal and as cumbersome as swimming in quicksand. If you want my recommendation pull it off your selves and never rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER

posted by tiny41607 (PIKEVILLE, KY) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is way too difficult. It gets old after a while too. Some good advice, don't rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't rent

posted by kiwi76 (MONTGOMERY, AL) May 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

i hate the motion controls and .........................................................jumping!!!!!!!!!!! bosses what is this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse Game Ever

posted by gdubngr (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Nobody in my family could play this game. It was difficult to control, the graphics were horrible, and the game was repetitive. I pegged this for a child's game but none of my children control it. The content was geared toward the younger crowd but they did not find it very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

monkey ball banna

posted by wtpb0814 (BANGOR, ME) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

hi that game is to hard to control with the wii control I hope the other game of monkey is better the graphics were great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

damaged

posted by cmoniquek8 (DUNDALK, MD) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I just tried to play this game and it is very scratched. I would not play on my system at all. My WII is brand new, and other games play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse