Rent Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz for Wii
view large frontback

Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.1

2142 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

100% FUN!!

posted by trarocks (TRENTON, NJ) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game rocks!! There are tons of options, and many stages that get progressively harder. Fun for parties or by yourself!! Challange yourself and play with your opposite hand-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Monkey Ball

posted by sklarfam (CHICAGO, IL) May 29, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game is awesome. You can be a range of different characters and you can play the main game or you could play the party games. The main game is the best one but the party games are cool too. If you get a chance to rent the game or buy it, you will be amazed at how cool this game is. In the main game you get to roll in a ball with the wii remote and you try not to get a fallout but it is okay if you do. There are like ten worlds and 8 stages in a world. But when you finish the 8 stages you will have to face the boss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by bubbles316 (CRAIG, AK) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I enjoyed Super Monkey Ball on Game Cube, and Nintendo DS, but its awesome on the Wii.
I know of some people who don't like the mini games, because of the selection difference. I enjoy the mazes though.
after one week with this game, i bought my own. I find it worth buying. People of all ages enjoy the game. Its also played many times over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SweatGame

posted by SweatGame (MENTOR, OH) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

SweatGame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Monkey Ball Bitz Review!

posted by wheels4san (SANTA MARIA, CA) Apr 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

I have a Cerebral Palsy..I can play this game with assisted. I move my hand and the money goes. FUN game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FREAK!!!!!!!THIS GAME ROX MY SOX!!!!!!!!!1

posted by Eilte543 (CHANDLER, AZ) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is sooo kool

posted by gameteller (BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI) Jan 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This fame is really interactive and a lot of fun!!!!!! I recommend this game for everyone!! It is a lot of fun and I am almost positive you will like it!! :) very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game

posted by MMGJLM (CADYVILLE, NY) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

Some of the Boss Stages are Frustrating but all in all a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wicked Fun

posted by MrCoolguy (FORNEY, TX) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The control scheme in the main game just feels so natural. I actually prefer it to the traditional controls on previous consoles. The party games are pretty fun as well. Some of them have a steeper learning curve than others, but they are definitely worth learning how to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MY KIDS LIKE THIS GAME!

posted by shorefam (FLUSHING, NY) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

anything that occupies my 2 and 4 year old sons simultaneously is a good game in my book. we got this from gamefly 2 hours ago, and i've already ordered our own copy. perfect for our house.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the kids loved it!

posted by wiierbunch (MCDONOUGH, GA) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

the kids are 7 & 8 & loved it. there are so many games to choose from. they never got bored with it. some were challenging so it didn't get old quick. will be a definite buy for us!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good family fun!

posted by ReallyChic (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

My son (6) absolutely loved all the mini games, and I must admit i kind of enjoyed them to. Very easy to get the hang of and great if you have kids and don't want them to entertained and not disappointed by the difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super Monkey Ball makes its way on the Wii.

posted by twister782 (LINDEN, TN) Oct 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

One of the better released games when the Wii introduced itself in November of 2006. Great multiplayer mode. Single-player mode is good. I wouldn't let the appearance of the game scare off the older players. It's fun for all ages. Makes great use of the Wii remote and nunchuk. The only few flaws:

-In single-player mode, when in a certain position, the camera doesn't show enough to help out.

-In multiplayer, some of the mini games are too long if played with 3-4 players. Certain games would have been set to have more than 2 players.

Great buy. If you are cautious, they I would definitely reccommend you rent it. It's just too fun to pass up on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by pugfan (WESTON, CT) Jul 20, 2007

Member since May 2007

Not sure why all the low scores. I also find it funny how people complain about this game being too hard when it's actually pretty easy for the most part. It might take some time to get used to the sensitive controls but once you do the game is a breeze until around world 8. The levels are much longer and more interesting then in previous Monkey ball games. Theres 100 levels but a few of them are locked which might upset some. This Monkeyball game has enemey's and the ability to jump which adds alot to the Monkeyball series. I will admit the party games are lame compared to previous monkeyball games. Only a handfull work and it seems like there was very little effort in making these.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kiddy? Well, What do You Expect?

posted by Abras1 (CLEVELAND, OH) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

I was new to the monkey ball series when i first picked this up, and now I think I'm hooked for life.
A very fun game, although I get the impression that it's just like every other game in the series.

Yes, it was definitely kiddy, but I'm not the least bit surprised. One look at the box cover tells you all you need to know. A renter or a buyer? I bought it. The combination of a lot of mini games and a fun and difficult single player mode makes it worthwhile to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Monkey Fun

posted by Scurik (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Nov 29, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

Having never played a Monkey Ball game before, I would have to say that it was a good choice to pick it up. Some of the mini-games feel unresponsive, but I can't say I tried them multiple times to see if it was me or the game, as I wanted to experience all 50. This game is a lot of fun with the multi-player aspect, and the single-player mode after two worlds is a good challenge for how the game controls.

The learning curve for the wii-mote in some areas are steep, but the overall ideas are there, and if you are looking for something to do for fun with a few friends, this will surely keep you busy for hours on end.

The only downside I could find for it so far after a few nights with it is that there does not seem to be much unlockable content, but at the same time it is a plus as I was never a fan of having to unlock the mini-games I liked more in the Mario Party series. There could be some unlockable content in single-player, but I haven't played through enough of it to say for sure.

I would recommend this as a game for someone who likes to have friends over, or if you have kids. I could see this being lackluster to the solo-player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SMB:BB is fun but rough around the edges

posted by alexeirrm (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Having played Super Monkey Ball on the GameCube, my sons and I were really looking forward to the wii version of the game. The graphics are a step up from the GC version; the scrolling is smooth and fast, the details and colors are good.

The gameplay is like that of the older game: you have story mode or mini-game mode. The mini-game mode is far more stocked than the GC version, and most (if not all) games are unlocked from the start.

My main complaint about the game is that we can't find a way to pause of change options while in-game. The default volume on the wii-mote is LOUD, so you need to drop that down a bit.

Overall a good value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mini Games Make the Game

posted by BrianSmith (SAN MARCOS, TX) Oct 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

The actual game, a monkey in a ball trying to make it to the end of a path without falling off and picking up bananas along the way, is ok, but the 50 mini games are what makes this game worth owning. You are sure to find at least a dozen games you like playing and another dozen you like playing with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated - You should give it a try

posted by Wiithard (STAFFORD, TX) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I think this game is good fun. At first it may seem simple as some reviewers have noted, but just keep playing. It gets quite difficult later one. Me, I'm stuck on 7-5... it's tough. I've had the game for a little over a month, it's not bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Greatest Monkey ball ever!!

posted by MIGamer1 (MACOMB, MI) Apr 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

Greatest monkey ball game ever made, this game has great multiplayer, pretty good single player, its work the purchase, not worth the rental, its multiplayer will keep you busy for hours, friends will love this game, the wii remote is very sensitive, which makes the game very precise, which is good, which some games don't have the precision that this one has. This game is definitely on my considering to keep games. The main thing is that if you have friends to play with, this is your game. If your playing by yourself I would probably say this game is not for you, but the single player is at least worth a rental for anyone who plays the single player games all the way through, some of the puzzles get very difficult, its work at least renting if not buying. Good luck on your monkey ball adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun with lots of mitigates

posted by MacAhan (PITTSBURG, KS) Jan 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This is a game with tons of fun mini games. Game play is easy to learn. To play this game with the Wii remote is how it should been all along. played other Super Monkey Ball games with traditional controller and to get to play this game with the Wii remote is how it should been played all along definitely a game that plays best on this console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by Aros12 (GIG HARBOR, WA) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

I thought it was fun but, they came up with 50 party games and most of them look like they did not look they put much thought. I thought they were pretty fun though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gameplay and Controls Don't Get More Intuitive

posted by Fusiliryan (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm not sure why this game has been rated so poorly. Perhaps many of the reviewers hadn't played a Super Monkey Ball game before and didn't expect what they got. At any rate, this is a very good Super Monkey Ball game. For starters, Banana Blitz received a much needed graphical update. It looks much better than previous titles.
In Banana Blitz, they have also added the ability to jump. Some levels are made to accomodate this ability very well. It is surprising how much a simple ability adds to the gameplay.
As usual, Banana Blitz has plenty of mini-games to play with your friends. Classics such as Monkey Bowling, Target, Boxing, and Racing are still there, but several great ones have been added. With so many mini-games, however, there are bound to be a bad ones, which is true here. You may find that you only play some mini-games once and then never again. Along with that, some games don't work well with the Wii-Mote.
Finally, and most importanty, the controls are easy and intuitive. Tilting and twisting the Wii-Mote to manipulate the world works perfectly. Overall, if you enjoyed the previous Super Monkey Ball games, puzzle games, or multiplayer games, I don't see why uou wouldn't love this game too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ok game, rent don't buy.

posted by TheIceman (HANOVER, PA) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you are a Monkey Ball fan as I am this is gonna be hard for ya. Why? Because I really want to enjoy this game. But only part of the game I enjoy is the standard Monkey Ball. The standard Monkey ball with the Wiimote control is not too bad. But I think they were drunk when they made the Monkey Ball mini games. The controls are very confusing. They are different for every game. They attempt to show you how to use the wiimote before every game. But it just is not enough at times. Some times I wish I could see someone play them the right way before I try each mini game. At times I am just lost. The controls feel really loose and at times it feels like I have no control. This is a big disappointment because there are tons of mini games in this game. I just got this game yesterday in the mail and I it may last till Friday. So overall I must say stay away from this game. Good idea, but not very well planned out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Slightly fun and very challenging

posted by 911mom (CENTREVILLE, VA) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game was OK but it wasn't what we expected. First it was difficult for my kiddos to set up the multi-player feature. The games were a little more challenging than my 9 & 10 year old expected. We only kept the game for a brief time because it was a little too difficult for them to master some of the challenges and the game became more frustrating than entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse