Rent Super Monkey Ball 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Super Monkey Ball 3D

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

288 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

OK Gameplay, Bad mistakes

posted by GameGuideGuy (BALLSTON SPA, NY) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Another one of the Super Monkey Ball games brings disgrace to the series. This game would not be suggested to any of the Monkey Ball Trainees. This game is easy to master, which would draw newbies to it, but sadly it is too easy. This game can be completed in less than an hour. There are 3 Hard points in the game.

1. Special bananas. They sound easy to get, but they are really tough. There is one for each world. It could take longer than couple minutes to get these.

2. Monkey Fight. It adds a new suprise to the game, but it is very poor. If you have ever heard of Super Smash Bros. Brawl, and love it, this will be a major downgrade.

3. Monkey Kart. Two difficult, but important, abilities. Steering, and Picking up items. Unlike the Mario Kart series, the tracks are almost completely flat, and have no intrest.

The #1 problem for Monkey ballers, New and Old, is the fact that there is absolutely NO way to delete data. To wrap it all up, here are the bad facts: Bad 3D graphics, Monkey Kart, Monkey Fight, Too easy, no way to delete data, and ripping of Nintendo's games. If you are a "OMG SUPER MONKEY BALL ROCKS!" freak then get this. Just note that you are renting a completed game. SEGA is doing two things: Either freaking out that they forgot to put a DELETE DATA button on the game, or forgetting to put a way to delete data on the upcoming game Sonic Generations.

Sorry for how long this is. Get back to gaming! Just not this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Confusing

posted by iJarritos (CUMMING, GA) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game and everything was beaten right away. There is no way to delete data, so getting from level to level wasn't hard at all. there weren't any instructions (Not that it's very hard to figure out) but that might be a problem for some people.

The way the screen was lpaced was very confusing. They need a way to change the view to above. The 3D on it was okay, but you might want to turn it on 1/2.

The normal Monkey ball on the Wii is awesome, so I'm not putting down Monkey Ball itself, just on the 3DS it's bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't rent, whatever this is...

posted by Scootercoconut (AURORA, IL) May 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong. Super Monkey Ball is really fun. Just not this one. With the time, skill, and effort you could beat this game in a matter of hours, but with so little to offer you probably won't want to. There are 8 worlds, with 10 levels in each world, less than 60 seconds per level. You can therefore beat a world within minutes. Also, if you lose all of your lives, they take away all of your points if you choose to continue.
Sega has added two more modes into the game, Monkey Fight and Monkey Kart. Monkey Fight is like the coin battle in SSBB, only way worse. You fight other monkeys in hopes to collect more bananas than them, the controls and graphics make that impossible. In Monkey kart, you race to the finish, using items to screw up other players. Steering and actually getting an item are very difficult, and I find myself at the back of the pack. Neither of these modes I have played more than three times.
3D graphics are terrible, and this was the only game where the 3D hurt my eyes. Other than that they're very sharp and colorful. I have nothing bad to say about audio. If you absolutely HAVE to rent this game, go ahead. Just know that you won't be keeping it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Monkey Ball 3D

posted by sundmorgan (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is a very good game. It has 3 game modes on it. One of them is monkey fight. It is where you try and get the most fruits. Then there is racing on it too. Then there a game mode just to go through levels.But I would rent it if I where you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Proceed with Caution....

posted by Soccerdill (DAYTON, NV) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

First and foremost there is one big problem with renting Super Monkeyball 3D. For whatever reason Sega didn't include ANY way of erasing data for this game. So needless to say when you get this game, most likely ALL of the levels and collectibles will be unlocked already. Now for me thats a big problem, because I like to start a new game with a new file.

I suppose if that doesn't bother you, and you like monkey ball go, right on ahead.

But if you're a new comer, like myself, you should probably try something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth renting!!

posted by KratosxYuan (KENTON, TN) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has excellent effects, but prepare for vertigo because it will make your head spin like a roller coaster! If you're not into that kind of thing, the game is best played with the 3D slider at 1/4 to 1/2 of the way up. I beat this game in under 2 hours. It was fun, but there's very little replay value. In the "Monkey Fight" minigame, the object is to gather more bananas than your opponent. The game is something like a cross between Super Smash Bros. and Sonic in that the level looks like the side-scroll-style levels in SSB, and if you get hit, you lose bananas like you lose rings in Sonic. Unfortunately, unlike SSB and Sonic, the Monkey Fight minigame isn't much fun, and it gets old fast. Then there's the Mario Kart racing game--because seriously. It's just Mario Kart with different graphics, but then, Mario Kart was a good game! The Super Monkey Ball racing minigame is cool too. Overall, Super Monkey Ball 3D is a pretty fun game. It's not worth buying at $40, but it's definitely worth a playthrough!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not fun

posted by BubblePipeMedia (NEW YORK, NY) May 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I felt either under challenged or over challenged. Nothing really fell into the right area. The graphics were surprisingly pleasing, but having played monkey ball since the original, I quickly decided this wasn't worth my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very short

posted by Torque (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Apr 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

I have played many of the other monkey ball games, so maybe I'm biased, but this game is very easy and very short. Its 8 worlds with 10 levels each, but the most challenging level's are on the easy side of the other games. I got this in the mail after work, and finished it the same evening.

Only about an hour and a half of game play.

The racing and fighting games feel like they were just tacked on after they realized how short the main game was.

If you love monkey ball then go ahead and rent this, but don't buy it unless it can be found for $5 or under.

Graphically, the 3D effect is pretty un-exciting, and at times makes it harder since this game has a tendency to make you lean your DS around. And in the gryo mode then you have to have the 3D off or its impossible to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst Super Monkey Ball Title

posted by MakoTheWolf (MINERAL, VA) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I have played all of the Super Monkey Ball titles, and these one is absolutely terrible. The levels are boring, and repetitive. There's nothing new about it. They have added a racing game but the tracks are flat and boring with little to no detail. The entire game screams "rushed" and I was finished with it after about 4 hours of play time. It's okay for a rental, but that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Do Not Rent!

posted by Skeax (GOLD HILL, OR) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Ok I played a few Super Monkey Ball games some of which where fun... this is not one of them! the gameplay is dumb down beyond belief. the game is still good if it has a good storie right? Wrong this games storie makes me want to Vomit. So unless your into collect Arabian Bananas (its a collectable) Don't even rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »