Rent Super Mario Sunshine for GC
view large frontback

Super Mario Sunshine

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.0

2035 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Mario game.

posted by colinkurt (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game rocks!!!!! It is a very good Mario game. You have a new character FLUDD with him you can squirt water at enemy's! This game is so awesome you also collect blue coins to trade in for Shine Sprites. Awesome Mario where are you next?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wonderful Surprise

posted by Oakvale4 (PALMDALE, CA) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My first take on this game was how wonderful it was to explore the charming world Mario was in. Each world has multiple missions to it, meaning you can go back and there may be something changed to that world.
Gameplay is much like Super Mario 64 just not as difficult, so it is more relaxed and not as many trial and error moments from years ago.

Any Super Mario fan should really play this game, they will not be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game must have!!!!

posted by sonicfan11 (Ferndale, CA) Apr 22, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the first game i ever played in my life i remember loving it. i also remember coming home from preschool and playing it and to this day i still love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mario saves the day!

posted by bogyshi (HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

another great game of mario and very addicting for alot of players. The only thing i would mention is that when you loose flood and u do a maze it is fun but can sometimes get frustrating. Like me i almost broke the controller in half. Everything else was great and they should definetly make another.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun and entertaining

posted by wavelinck (BRONX, NY) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This one is a keeper, but what's to expect from the mario franchise.
Cons: The game is so huge, you will need a strategy guide to complete the game 100%
Pro: The game is so huge it will provided many hrs of entertainment. It's water fighting technique is innovative. The game is not so hard as to get you discouraged but at the same time easy enough as to hold you attention for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever!

posted by hunterkiller712 (BROOKESMITH, TX) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When will they let us rent it, its unrentable. It is sooo much fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a very good game

posted by jss1234 (LIBERTY, KY) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is very good it's got an addictate quality to it that you just can't seem to get enough of it's long challenging and has tons of replay value the graphics are great for an early gamecube release it looks much better then half of the games for the wii though the voice acting is lousy the voices do not match the characters Bowser's makes him sound comical and not threating Peach's makes her sound like a blonde ditz FLUDDs voice is too boring although he is a robot so that makes sense the only good voices and Toads voice makes him sound like a girl and will make your eas bleed[not literally] and imo the only good voiceare Toadsworth's and Bowser jr go figure their new to the series anyways the music is very catchy overall I say this game is worth a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good mario review from EXTREME sonic fan!? Loozur

posted by Loozur (GASTONIA, NC) Jun 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

9... an excellent 9.
this game deserves every bit of that big fat 9!
this game is a very good game and i would reccomend it to people who like not getting bored. this game is fun either way, following the story or wondering aimlessly. this game features a BRAND NEW CHARACTER "F.L.U.D.D." (Flash Liquidizer Ultra Dousing Device) FLUDD is more like a multi-functional water jetpack water Squirter of awesomeness(MFWJWSOA) but those initials don't sound cool. i don't know exactly how to describe this game because i am a total Loozur. so i will rate this in stages.

graphics 9
gameplay 9
storyline 9
new character 9
star collecting 0
worth replay 10
worlds 9

all in all i give it a big 'ol 9 (only sonics and all time favs are to get 10's)

Sincereley
Loozur
look for more reviews by Loozur (Check out my review on "Frogger ancient shadow")

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mario rocks on sunshine

posted by adamgh3 (STUART, FL) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

okay, this game is filled with lots of secrets, secret levels and hard enimies. i pretty much play the game every day. every time i find something new.if you like mario (and if you like super hard levels) you should rent super mario sunshine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SUPER MARIO SUNSHINE

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Nov 11, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had played but not the game SUPER MARIO SUNSHINE. POSITIVE: this game is so AMAZING!! The graphics are pretty well done for the NINTENDO GAMECUBE. You get to play as Mario and your equipped with Fludd and clean out the mess in the island and fight your enemies. You can explore Island Delfino, there are alot of secret places to find in this game. I dont have any negative things to say about this game. This game is INCREDEBLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best mario games ever!!!!!!!

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Super Mario Sunshine is one of the best video games ever you can play it over and over again and not get bored of it!!! The missions are fun and exciting with loads of color and awesome stages!!! Secrets around every turn and puzzles that take a creative mind to solve are perfect for anyone and Mario's signature jumps have expanded!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Counted as one of the best

posted by Deary07 (FRESNO, TX) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This one falls in the top ten mario games ever to be made including smash bros brawl and mario galaxy with all the new upgrades you can use like the water pack and and you get to ride on yoshi
this game is a must buy to add into your mario collection

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Fun-Filled Adventure

posted by Roxiie (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Feb 26, 2007

Member since May 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game. Its many levels start off easy and move up in difficulty. I think this game was well thought up and unique. I think this game is worth it, the game is a little witty and comical which makes it entertaining though some parts are challenging its so worth your time and money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Mario on gamecube to date

posted by likegame23 (MESA, AZ) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I love this game. Not as good as other mario games that will remain nameless. The storyline was a tad bit weak but was cleverly thought of. I realy liked the use of flood in levels. This game is a must rent, for people of all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than some think

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) May 28, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

For a Super Mario adventure, "Super Mario Sunshine" has always gotten a bit of a bad rap. Okay, so the water-spraying gimmick might not be for everybody, and the introduction of Bowser Jr. is a burden that this game will always have to shoulder, but really, people, this is a good game. Beautiful graphics, tight controls, and lots of stuff to do. And it's definitely the most challenging of all of Mario's 3D adventures; if you want to get all 120 Shine Sprites, you'll have to pull off some seriously difficult tasks.

If you're looking for a typically excellent Nintendo platformer with a little something different, move "Super Mario Sunshine" to the top of your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Party

posted by just1neluv (FITCHBURG, MA) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Well, to start off, this is a great game. To the person who posted "worst game I've ever played" about one page back, simply is not a Mario fan. If you have followed the Mario game, say since the early 90s you will enjoy it. Kids, of course they'll enjoy it! Its fing MARIO! You can't really go wrong, well besides some of the stuff they're coming out with now. Fun, exiting game that keeps you guessing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Mario Sunshine

posted by JasonM2012 (BROWNWOOD, TX) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game to me, Is an extra story about Mario that is an absolute master piece! if your looking for hours of fun, A mysterious, yet fun adventure, this is a game for you! This is definitely one of the best works / one of my personal favorites! if your a fan of Mario games rent this out, and give it a shot, almost guaranteeing that you will love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOOHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by luige360 (PALM COAST, FL) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this game is perfect i recommend it to all members its one of the best mario games ever get it and put on ur top game Q

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sick

posted by cromostone (UNIONTOWN, OH) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sickest mario you will ever buy rent anything you are guarenteed fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Sunshine

posted by Tophat (TACOMA, WA) May 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's fun. Need i say more? Really worth a rent or buy, it is truly a gem in the Mario collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by AIIGHtnomfest24 (ANN ARBOR, MI) Apr 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

very fun game i would definetly recomend to people back in 2003 awsome game then and now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game, sadly unobtainable from Gamefly now.

posted by hellno (PASO ROBLES, CA) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome, it still is. It's like Super Mario 64, it varies from the typical platformer and is much more fun than Galaxy. If I could rent/buy this from Gamefly again, I would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very good game

posted by gAMER252 (BRIGHAM CITY, UT) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it is a black sheep of the mario games, for two things,1. it a mario version luigi's mansion but not a part2 to luigi's mansion. 2. voice acting, it is a ok part of the game but bowser's voice is creepy! it is like super mario 64 X2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Time to clean dirt and chew bubble gum....

posted by MadSkillz (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) May 14, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Hey! its mario with a squirt gun! How interesting! SMS basically has the same plot as any other mario game with the princess being kidnapped. You must save her, but also clean the island for which u have been framed for messing up. This game is is good because of the fun aspects of drowning enemies! It relates super mario 64 but comes no where near to that greatness, but still this game is pretty good for a mario fan. The Good? Controls, Graphics, and creative levels. The Bad? your basically cleaning everything.... This game is not bad, you'll like it if your a mario fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as good

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is defiantly the weakest game out of the super mario bros trilogy. A lot of people say just that and it is a really bad game altogether. That is not true it is not a bad game, it mearly looks like one when you compare it to the legendary Super Mario 64.

Pros: Its still good ole mario, the setting is really bright, colorful and fun, and the music is great as usual.

Cons: Can't hold it's own with SM64, repetive, those annoying invisible walls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse