Rent Super Mario Galaxy for Wii
view large frontback

Super Mario Galaxy

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

18642 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Fun Game

posted by MrWeekend (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best I've played for the Wii so far. I have always liked the mario games, but have been slightly disappointed with the last few I had played. This one reminded me why I like the series so much.
Overall: Very innovative game. Super fun. Defiantly a must for any Mario fan. My only complaint with this game is that the camera is a bit annoying sometimes. It is often locked off or displays Mario upside down when on smaller islands in space. Needless to say, I got use to it and still loved the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Mario Game on the Wii!

posted by madmike908 (GARNER, NC) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow this game is awesome, when I first saw the whole Mario-space thing I was like "eh..." but then I actually played this game and realized how much fun it is! they keep parts retro by having the 2-D side scrolling levels in some parts of the game and the old music as well from all mario series! The graphics for this game are exceptional for being on the Wii and everything looks crystal clear..(if only the Wii could input true HD..). There are a couple things about this game I wasn't too happy about to be honest though. Sometimes the camera could be screwy depending on where you are and where you are trying to go, and this occurs more often when you're underwater. There was one part of the game containing lava and I knew where the secret was to get around a corner but I couldn't turn the camera so I basically had to guess jump around the corner and risk being burned once or twice by lava to get to the secret. If you're a veteran mario player like myself, then don't expect too much difficulty early into this game, I mean for me I'd never say the game actually gets really hard, and the most I've probably died trying to complete on specific star would be about 10 times. But all in all, anyone who has or is a mario fan should play this game. You won't be disappointed, it's definitely a must buy game for anyone who has a wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SUPER AWSOME GALAXY!!!!!!!

posted by ssonic (RENO, NV) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

super mario galaxy is a GREAT game and it takes me all the way back to super mario 64. the boss battles are really cool. the controls are perfect. they really utilize the wii's control system and the graphics are really really good. I think this is one of... scratch that. THE best super mario game I have ever played. the only thing I didn't like is that you can only take 3 hits unless you get a life shroom which bumps you up to 6 life points. anyway if you are a mario fan then you will love this game no matter WHAT! RENT THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A must-have Wii title!!!

posted by WreyzerX (ORANGE, NJ) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I sad to say that I'm JUST playing this game. This is one of the most impressive Wii titles I've come across. The mechanics are wonderful and the graphics are amazing. After playing so many of the other Wii titles I was thoroughly impressed at how this looked (Nintendo goes that extra mile when developing for themselves).

I really wouldn't recommend it for a child though. My 4 yr old tries to play it and for most part he does pretty well but there's a moderate amount of reading to do for the story & the instructions so unless you plan on watching over your child playing I wouldn't recommend for children that do not yet read.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsume Game!!!

posted by rhrhtt (LEWISBURG, PA) Mar 8, 2010

Member since May 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really fun I mean really fun! There are a few things bad about it BUT the only way there bad is if your a expert gamer (like myself).Ok so its a pretty easy game the bosses are easier than just normal levels and the movie clips are pretty long.The other thing thats bad is if your player 2.Player 2 only can grab star bits and fire them (star bits are like gun bullets) they couldve at LEAST let player 2 be luigi with like a split screen mode (once you ulcok him). Over all awsume game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not to chalanging or easy Not to long or short

posted by atic4games (WEST PARK, FL) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was perfect. It was so good I got it on the 21st and beat it on the 25th. I know what you're thinking,that was short. Well think again. One time I played it for 18 hours straight. That is how addicted I was. You need to get this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Super Mario Game!

posted by RpgGamer4Ever (NASHWAUK, MN) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i started to play this game i had many expectations for the game such as, would it be like Super Mario 64 like i have been hearing it was like, but it passed every expectation way over the limit :) This game is a great addition to the Super mario family. I would recommend just going out and buying this game instead of renting it's that good trust me :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of Mario's greatest adventures yet

posted by MSfanatic (CHAMPLIN, MN) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games ever by nintendo. I loved this game so much. The storyline was beautifully made. And i think nintendo's music in this game was the best. The music was truly genius some of the best composed music in a video game i have ever heard. It made me shed a tear once and a while. The story moved me.

It is alot like the new Super Mario Bros game. The way the levels are. The graphics were great Super Mario galaxy. The levels were cool how they are in 3 dimensional. And there is a lot of excitment throughout the game.

Buy this. It is worth the buy in so many ways. Plus there is alot of stuff you can do after you are done with the main story mode. Including many cool suprises and secrets i wish i could share. I would also suggest buying this if you like the new super mario bros game because the level are played out kind of similar but still i think the levels in this game are alot cooler.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super mario galaxy

posted by NightFury (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) May 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Super Mario galaxy was a very fun game. The story is the same from most Mario games, Bowser kidnaps Peach. The funnest part about super Mario galaxy is the gravity in some of the level, you jump off thinking your going to fall but you end up at the bottom of the platform, its crazy. Most of the bosses are a little bit easy. Thats all I have to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Mario Galaxy

posted by MissyGee (SMYRNA, DE) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was one of the very first games I rented from this very website.
And guess what? I ended up BUYING it instead. This game absolutely
wowed me. From the graphics to the power-ups, from the new characters (Rosalina RULES!!!) to the impressive storyline, this game is not only Mario-lovers Heaven, but true platform gamer heaven. This is a game that should not be ignored. If you own a Wii, there is no excuse not to get this game. This game is all-around excellent.
(Oh, I'm sorry. It's PERFECT.) [I have to keep it connected to the rating system.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game but

posted by Giusto69 (HAYDEN, ID) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

kinda gives me a headache with the running around the world i know get over it but for a kid this game is great any 5 through 16 year old will love it heck im 20 and love it good story very interactive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MARIO......

posted by funannoyin (BRONX, NY) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

BEST MARIO GAME THAT CAME OUT UP TO DATE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Mario Galaxy

posted by gamer1256 (LAKE ARROWHEAD, CA) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game and was not dissapointed it was one of the best games I have ever played for the wii. Its super fun very long and chalk full of suprises. Graphics are pretty good sound is awsome. Really the only bad theing about it is it gets a little repetitive sometimes. But other then that awsome game I highly recomend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Review from My 8 Year Old Son

posted by inSANEmom (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jan 21, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My son, 8 years old says:

This game is very good. I like the graphics. I liked the Surfing 101 level and working on getting Grand Star #2. It was easy to learn the controls.

I can't think of anything bad about this game except that it is a bit too challenging for my 5 year old sister.

Any kid my age would like this game. I want my mom to buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario does it agian

posted by fattybarba (WEED, CA) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I havn't really been playing console games in a while, so to welcome myself back i popped in Super mario galaxy. What i found was an awesome, pure and uniquely fun experience that i have not had since Shadow of the colossus for the PS2. Control is tight and excact as should be expected of the nintendo icon. The wii-mote is intergrated to collect the star chunks and shoot them, make mario do some special move, and the stages of almost mini-game status keep the controller an intergral part of the game-play. Graphics are the best I've seen in a Wii game yet and make me wonder whats this little system still has yet undiscovered in its ability to produce colors and sharp visuals. Story-wise this is top-notch, unusual fo a mario game. All in all a reason in itself to own a Wii that no one should be without a play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What makes Nintendo Nintendo.

posted by wannagame (BARRINGTON, IL) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

It's finally here. It's been anticipated. It's been wrote about. It's been blogged. And now its on shelves. This is What makes Nintendo Nintendo. It's Super Mario Galaxy.
The first installation in this franchise of 3D gaming was the famous Super Mario 64. When it hit us, it hit us hard. It became the must-have game for anyone owning the 64. If you didn't have it, you were shunned. It truly was stunning.
And then the franchise continued with Super Mario Sunshine. While not as good as 64, it still packed a punch.
Then we get to here, Galaxy. Nintendo has made it perfect once more.
While not a much different storyline as other Mario games ("Peach has been kidnapped! Aah!"), this installment still brought something new to the table. And this time, it was gravity and planets.
I have to assume that this was probably the hardest Super Mario to make. Having to deal with gravity and the atmosphere was probably very stressful. Although, Nintendo seemed to have fun with it. With gravitational changing plates and close, little planets, this game was probably one of the most fun to design.
On to gameplay. This is the first game that permits two player action. While the second person doesn't do that much, (all they do is collect star bits and throw them at things, really) it's still a good excuse of saying that you "let your brother/sister play." Anywho, the game makes somewhat use of the motion capabilities of the Wii remote. To spin, you shake the Wii remote, and to pick up star bits, you simply put your cursor over them. The motion controls and attack controls are simplified very well.
Like any other Super Mario game, there are puzzles and challenges, and the goal is to once again collect enough stars to battle Bowser and get Peach back. You may find yourself occasionally stuck, but chances are you won't. The high number of galaxies and star opportunities is endless. Hidden stars, mission stars, special stars, you name it! Ooh, running out of space. Get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Mario Galaxy better than I thought!

posted by Xodiacwolf (LANETT, AL) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to play the first part before playing part 2 and I wasn't disappointed. The graphics are crisp, colorful, and fresh. The controls only took me a few minutes to get adjusted to and the fun began. I recommend this game to anyone that is a lover of the genre and a fan of Mario. I can't wait to play the second part now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

True Mario Bliss

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Dec 29, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game took everything that made Mario64 great and increased it ten fold. This to me is the best of all the 3D mario games. I have completed all 120 stars and their is such a wide variety of tasks to complete that you can never get bored. I have started to go back through the game and I am still really enjoying it. I can not wait to the second one now. Mario rules the Galaxy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Sequel to Super Mario 64

posted by shananies (CANTON, MA) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed playing this game. I think it is just as good as Super Mario 64. The levels are great and each is different from one another.

One thing I found somewhat disappointing is the ease to beat each level. I recall playing one level of Super Mario 64 at least 7-8 times before finally earning the star. While there are some challenging levels in Galaxy I don't feel it was 'tough' enough for the avid gamer. It would be great if Nintendo included difficulty levels in future editions especially since their goal of the Wii is ease of use for all ages.

While I did finish the game over a 2-3 week period I can happily say I am still playing today because of the addition to play all over again as Luigi. Playing as Luigi does seem to have points where it is more difficult particularly in the stages that require fast stopping, Luigi seems to slide longer before coming to a complete stop.

I would recommend this game to anyone that enjoyed Super Mario 64.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Wii game I've played yet. My 8yr old loves it

posted by Hotdogman (TELLURIDE, CO) Mar 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. I'm 37 and I think I like it more than my 8 yr old son. Not extremely challenging but great graffix and a lot of replay value has made me buy it. First console game I've paid to keep in years. I' d recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Galaxy...

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 2, 2008

Member since May 2007

20 out of 27 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I am going to have to agree with a lot of reviews here. There are both ups and downs for me with this title.

Though, it is easy to pick up and play there are certain levels where it is difficult to maneuver; especially when you are walking around with the moving camera angle and I could never get used to walking upside down. Jumping was a major problem for me when walking diagonally, I would usually fall off or get killed. And swimming is another story. But, no matter how much time I spent playing this game, I could never get used to all of these things.

This title is essentially made up of many mini-games for single players. They are pretty short and have many variations to them. At first, I thought they were very easy to complete. However, it does progressively get more complex and difficult. After midway through the game, I was finding myself repeating some levels half a dozen times. Not that it was extremely complicated or difficult, but I would die trying to figure out what to do. And, of course, walking diagonally and upside down didn't help me much to survive. I think this is the repetition many reviewers are talking about.

This game was very addicting first half of the game. But, repeating levels became tedious work after that and the addictive game-play was almost completely gone out of me. I did not care to finish the game. A tale-tale sign that the game is too long.

There is no speech, but don't fret because subtitles are short winded. During a level it does auto-save at certain points. However, be warned that you will not completely save the game until you have completed the whole level and after you have collected a star. Otherwise, you will start from the beginning.

When I was playing, I had accumulated around 20 lives. I wondered when I was going to need so many. Believe me, in the latter half of the game you will certainly be glad that you did. This title may be more of a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game ........for all ages

posted by wiiwb3000 (Springfield, MO) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I bought it 4 months ago and i still play it all the time. it has amazing graphics, a great story, somewhat simple controls, and challenging gameplay. I highly recommend you buy..... or at least rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Mario Game

posted by Frankrizzo (Reno, NV) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I must say that I thought I wouldn't like this game. I was way Wrong. I am so addicted to this Mario game that I can't put my Wiimote down. This game is a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ever!!!

posted by shadow1218 (MISSION, TX) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

i highly recommend super mario galaxy i noticed no bad errors or bugs and even thoough its a little easy it will never get boring i mean once you get 100% of the game complete you get to do whatever you want and you also have another challenge when you beat the game you have to beat it again but as someone else if you have the game and need a lil help contact me someway=]]] the best game ever!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Classic Restored!

posted by knickfan92 (WASHINGTONVILLE, NY) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Super Mario Sunshine wsa a good, although not very smart, new direction for the Super Mario Series. Adding the FLUDD backpack and cleaning up his mess wasn't really a good idea compared to other games in the series. Thankfully, Super Mario Galaxy is a great game, the real sequel to Super Mario 64, which is the best game of all time, period. The Controls are flawlesss. While they don't use the Wiimote for EVERYTHING like some Wii games, it is used quite a bit, particularally to point at things and to move from planet to planet. The Graphics are superb, even considering from a Wii game, and the levels are vast and colorful. This is the best Wii Game by far, and a definite purchase for all Wii owners!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse