Rent Super Mario Galaxy 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Super Mario Galaxy 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

11409 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

disappointing

posted by nikinaka (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

i loved the first mario galaxy, just didn't realize that i would be playing the same game twice with the second one. the only cool feature is the fact you can use yoshi. was looking forward to something a little different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by Angrybirdsfan (CORONA, CA) Jun 3, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

A must add to your collection

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The weaker, younger sibling...

posted by Rockafeller20 (BURBANK, CA) May 9, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

Don't get me wrong, it's a decent game. The problem is they got lazy. It's more of the same and the gameplay and premise of the game seem less thought out than the original. Sequels require a level of advancement to live up to the first…this one is lacking. No controller support, no useful two player mode. It seems that Yoshi is the only major improvement…I had high hopes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

two words:awsome,game

posted by sup1 (GLENNS FERRY, ID) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Best game in the world. I hope they make a movie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

As fun as the first one

posted by Quicksilver84 (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Jul 23, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

The Good: Just like the first one's story, but you got the ability to have Yoshi around at some stages and other times play as Luigi! Also the challenges aren't nearly as insaine.

The Bad: Its a retell of the first game, not really a sequel.

The Ugly: One of the easier Mario games out there. I do enjoy playing it, but the challenge isn't like what I was worrying about at first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Mario Ever

posted by jaygatsby21 Jul 22, 2013

Yoshi + Mario in 3D. Need I say more?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game star

posted by Abdrew07130 (BERGENFIELD, NJ) Apr 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

one of best mario games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...

posted by highguy (PAPILLION, NE) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

game didn't work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

what happened???

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Mar 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

first of all the first boss was near impossible and the second was really easy that doesnt make sense the transformations like ice mario are gone that really made alot of people extremely mad myself included so far the only good transformation i encountered is cloud mario but flying mario beats it but nintendo just had to be stupid and take that out to they basically took out all the good ones and added in completely pointless ones yoshi isn't that good either unlike what most people led me to believe you rarely get to use yoshi without a more pointless and frustrating powerups like chilli peppers for example which makes yoshi go turbo speed which is near impossible to control thats really all there is to say they took galaxy 1 and made it not fun frustrating and pointless nuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"Thank you so much for a playin' my game'

posted by Animatedjss (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Love this game, I beat it, but I didn't get the all the stars! The comic cosmos were tough!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very good game

posted by dudeguy87 (STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

just what could I say about it exelent almost perfect game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by Ahardin871 (TRENTON, NJ) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best mario

posted by joeturbo (TURLOCK, CA) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Oct 2003

Best Mario in the franchise hands down. It continues directly from galaxy and added much much more diversity. The game is simple enough for all ages to play, but obtaining the stars and other collectibles satisfies the hardcore (like myself)with unique scenarios and impressive difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Meh

posted by MrMochi (YORBA LINDA, CA) Dec 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I only recently played the first Mario Galaxy and absolutely fell in love with it. It is one of the most polished and amazingly stylized games I've ever played, and with fresh and inspired game play in each galaxy. So of course I was excited to get my hands on it's sequel. I went into playing this game with very high expectations, and was sadly disappointing. I'll start off by saying this is in no way a BAD game. just a bad SEQUEL. Although this game has 3 times the upgrades and abilities, it still feels some what lacking. Maybe it's the absences of the amazing hub world from the original, or maybe it's the repetitive, uninspired worlds. There are honestly at least 2 copies of each galaxy, making it feel like you're just going through the motions. Also, the plot line is literally the same from the original. Even with the addition of Luigi in this one, you can only use him in rare conditions and his controls are just so slippery, you'll be slipping every where, which gets pretty annoying. If you're planning on playing the Mario Galaxy series, i definitely suggest Mario Galaxy 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nintendo slacked on innovation in SMG2

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

If you've played SMG1 before playing this one, you will know after playing SMG2 that this has some serious faults when considering new and unique features. 90%+ of the time playing this, I felt like I was playing the first game of the franchise, but with a extended bonus pack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My sons love it

posted by skylertroy (BALDWINSVILLE, NY) Dec 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

My 4 an 5 y old love this games an I love the no fighting over it :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

supermario galaxy2

posted by littlebits (LAKELAND, FL) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

well lets first start with problem that you have too use the num chuck.. and the game remote.. one for each hand is just too darn hard !! why cant i just use the paddle for both !!!i played the game for all of 10 min!! my hand gave out !!! thanks but no thanks !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

wish i had a numchuck

posted by BigBear89 (RAYMOND, MS) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

i didnt get 2 play this game i sent it back same day because i dont have a numchuck 2 play it. but i wish i had. Mario Galaxy was Awesome i can only imagine how cool 2 was

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by Darkanda316 (LAKEWOOD, WA) Sep 19, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

this game was fun for about 10 minutes and then it just became very boring. played it for about 15 minutes turned it off and then sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

scratched game

posted by pasco (LUTZ, FL) Sep 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

My boys were pretty bummed they couldn't play the game it was scratched: •(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A nice game.

posted by minstorm340 (ROCK STREAM, NY) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game was pretty good, so here's pros and cons

PROS:
Its long,
challenging,
and it does(SPOILER ALERT)have Luigi

CONS:
it gets boring after a while,
frustration is everywhere,
and its a pretty long game.
I got bored near the third universe, but maybe i just wanted to get my next game

All in all, this is a pretty great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brannon Breining

posted by Brannonrocks (SANTA ROSA, CA) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is really awsome! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by smj1394 (CAMPBELLSBURG, KY) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I really liked this game. I like the Bowser fights and boss fights. I like smashing open Yoshi eggs. Quick loading speeds. Ages 7 and up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by mid12 (MONTGOMERY, NY) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

yup

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Wii Game Ever!!!

posted by nscott1234 (COLLIERVILLE, TN) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The Game Had Perfect Controls And Superb Graphics I Think It Is Worth A Buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse