Rent Super Mario Galaxy 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Super Mario Galaxy 2

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

GF Rating
8.0

11353 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SMG2 Review

posted by laura1225 (SHERMAN, TX) Jun 2, 2010

Member since May 2010

44 out of 52 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Ok, so I have played this game, and right off the bat I loved it. I especially love the new powerups, like Cloud Flower and Rock Mushroom. I also like the addition of Yoshi because Yoshi in this game is awesome!

Starship Mario is pretty cool too. I mean, c'mon, a spaceship shaped like Mario's head has to be pretty cool right?

I would say more about the game but that would just ruin it for all of you who haven't played it yet. So all in all, I give it a 10 for...well...everything!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Mario Game

posted by Eristocrat (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

An absolutely superb 3d platformer. With this game Nintendo have refined their craft to near perfection. Each level features new twists and challenges but the objectives and rules are always clear. Levels change from 3d exploration to 2d platforming to traversing tiny planetoids which function much like platforms from a 2d game. And of course this game has some of the tightest controls ever, which is par for the course for Mario.

Wonderful references to pretty much ever Mario game whether it is redone music from each game levels based on the Sunshine bonus levels or an iconic level from 64. The graphics are about as good as the Wii graphics have ever been and while the textures cannot compare to HD games Mario's animations would make Nathan Drake blush they are so fluid.

If you have any interest at all in playing a 3d platformer this is the one to play, nothing else in the genre comes close to the expansiveness nor the quality of this game. This and Mass Effect 2 are the 2 best games I've played so far this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is what a video game should be!!!

posted by ineedmuzik (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

19 out of 25 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I'll maintain my excitement and apply the k.i.s.s(Keep It Simple Silly) theory to my review.. THIS GAME ROCKS!!!
From the ingenious selection of new villains-with their baby like qualities- making the game that much more family friendly, to the awesome new characters Mario can become; This game has it all!
MG1 was great but Nintendo really went the extra miles with this video game or should i say CREATION...The 2 player assist mode is the cherry on top of it all... Must have in your Wii games library! MUST!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

New Galaxy

posted by TheMouse (RALEIGH, NC) Jun 8, 2010

Member since May 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the first Mario Galaxy and I knew that this one would not disappoint. Perhaps it is too similar to the first one for a lot of people, but I left the first one wishing I had more levels to play. There are a lot of galaxies to explore, and there are even more stars to find (some easy, and some difficult). This game rewards you for continuing through the game more than any other Mario game.

Graphics - 8/10 - It's a Mario game. That said, the graphics don't need to be overly detailed in this game. They are really good for what they need to be.

Gameplay - 9/10 - It runs pretty smooth and Mario seems to do everything my fingers tell him to do. One drawback is the camera which usually follows you and rotates accordingly. There were rare instances where I got crammed or turned out of view, but this is not a gamebreaker by any means.

Replay - 8/10 - I will definitely keep playing this game way past the point of "beating" it...hopefully until I get the rediculous amount of stars; so in that way it keeps me motivated to continue.

Overall - 8.3/10 - I am an avid gamer and I enjoy the most violent and the most childish of adventures. This is a really good game, and although Mario continues down the spiral of cartoonish appeal and decreasing difficulty, I would recommend renting this game to about anyone.

(I give it a 10 because of some jaded fool who gave it a "1")

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great sequel if you LOVED the first!

posted by JessiFre (PLANO, TX) May 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

19 out of 27 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

When I first started to play, I was afraid that this game would be just new levels in addition to SMG1...but boy was I wrong!

While some of the levels may seem familiar, there is plenty to learn and many new skills to master. The addition of Yoshi, not to mention the cloud suit, just proves that Nintendo can improve on an already spectacular game.

I love the addition of checkpoints, which was a great feature in the New Super Mario Bros, and I'm glad they added it to SMG2.

The graphics, while a far cry from anything HDMI related, were vibrant and colorful...I commented last night it reminded me a bit of the music videos from Rockband: Beatles.

All in all a fun game that will no doubt command all of my freetime for the next month.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Galaxy 2

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Loved the first and had to try the second. Both my wife and myself love this game. Will have to buy it in the very near future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVE IT!!!

posted by neuris88 (Absecon, NJ) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I absolutely adore this game. It is very fun and entertaining. I love the new additions and that the second player can help in killing the enemies and you can fly on yoshi. I love it so much that im gonna keep it. I gighly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addicting

posted by Finale (MONROEVILLE, PA) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Very fun game. I am a hardcore gamer and enjoy the puzzles and the style of game. New suits added that make some of the puzzles fun. Great game for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Such an Epic Game

posted by Assassin18 (TUCSON, AZ) May 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

12 out of 19 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

SMG2 is absolutely amazing! The graphics are nice and colorful, the platforming has some nice added twists like going upside down 2d to 3d perspective at some parts that i've come across and better yet new abilities like Cloud Mario, The drill and of course Mario's pal, Yoshi.
Nintendo has done it again. The boss fights are quite epic as well.
This game is a must rent/buy, It just that incredible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best mario game ever

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jun 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

after trying out this game mario galaxy 2 i was amazed on how it turned out to be watching E3 2009 last year when they show mario galaxy 2 it looked hard then the 1st game and yes my favorite mario character yoshi is in it too i love yoshi mario galaxy 2 gets 5 fruits yoshi eat out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Mario Galaxy 2

posted by VanNasty (FLEMINGTON, NJ) May 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

If you thought Galaxy 1 was awesome and a 10, then Galaxy 2 is epicly awesome and a 15.

Enough said.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SUPER

posted by jacobB (PARKER, CO) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS IS SO AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than 1

posted by gigglez (OAK GROVE, KY) May 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've loved the game from what I've played so far. Its a great game and plenty of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dope!

posted by WiiNii (ROCHESTER, WA) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Played this all night after getting in the mail. Pretty much mastered it and returned the next day. I love being off for Summer! I can game all flipping night and eat/drink like a mad man.

Game is good, and I just might purchase this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by cromostone (UNIONTOWN, OH) May 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game. Next top game of 2010. Great graphics and controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic game!

posted by Gfuser1 (CLEMMONS, NC) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The first Galaxy game was a masterpiece, and untill now was the best game on wii. Now the sequel is out, and it bests the original in every way! The level design is what really makes this game shine. Fantastical gimicks combine with old school platforming to create a true gem that wii owners simply must play. This is the best game on the wii!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

blurry 480p rehash, oh my!

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well, this is about as exciting as it gets, at least half the game is the same as the first super mario galaxy game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

fun game with few differences..some good, some bad

posted by jjohn2478 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Jun 11, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2008

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I loved the first SMG and was excited to try this one out, but aside from a second player having more to do to help out, the rest of the changes fell flat.

The Yoshi levels aren't more fun, but just more difficult and annoying. The new cloud "power" is boring and hard to use due to horrible view controls. Aside from that though, the game is still great fun!

The new map system is slightly better and your "ship" is smaller so it's easier to navigate around on (even though there is still no real good reason to do so) and the same creativity used in making levels and challenges is still going strong. The best part of this one is that the second player can now hold enemies and traps for you and grab everything from coins to one-ups.

I would recommend at least renting this one and having a friend join you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

More then just the best wii game to date...

posted by rhrhtt (LEWISBURG, PA) May 23, 2010

Member since May 2008

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

THIS IS THE BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am not kidding after only playing 2 levels its already the best game that i have playd.This game has just about everything i wanted it to and more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever

posted by naruto100 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Never have mario been taken to another level is and always will be the best mario game ever enough said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Honestly, it's just DLC... lol

posted by Picudo3893 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I really liked SMG1, it was a new and fresh take on Mario. The iconic italian plumber in space? What's not to love?
But it really is just DLC, it's the exact same thing but now there are new levels, some fun new power-ups, you can ride Yoshi, and occasionally play as Luigi.
I personally don't think it deserves perfect 10's from so many reviewers(not only on GameFly, but also some magazines), but to everyone their own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Overall A Weak Game

posted by SethGames (CHILLICOTHE, OH) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

13 out of 39 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

CONS

1. Too much like the first one.
2. It pretty much had the same story as the first one. Barely changed.
3. The ending was pretty poor. I got to the end hoping something from the end of 1 or some surprise would pop up. I got disappointed there..
4. Bowser had same moves every time. (Got old).
5. The comet coins were annoying to get and the comets themselves are hard enough.
6. I wish the galaxies had more stars instead of 2-3 per galaxy.
7. I disliked a lot of the galaxies, some were really great, but most were boring.

PROS

1. Great Graphics.
2. Play as Luigi sometimes throughout the game.
3. Fun new mushrooms.
4. It took myself 15 hours of game play to beat it w/ 70 stars. I'm sure it would take longer if you wanted to get all of them. I would have gotten all of them as I did in the first game, but I just got tired of this game. This PRO is its a relatively medium-long game.

If you liked the first one, and just want to explore new galaxies even though its like the same game. (Just different galaxies and spaceship)
Then you should rent it. I had high expectations for this game. They just weren't reached by this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wait a minute, this seems familiar

posted by KlausGSD (SPRING, TX) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

In Super Mario Galaxy the First, we're treated to a real surprise: An innovative, original, fun and challenging game. The gravity effect that looked like a terrible idea on paper turned out to be a thought provoking new gameplay mechanic that surprised everyone.

What I was expecting from the anticipated sequel was more of the same. Unfortunately, that's exactly what I got. But instead of more innovation, the game takes from it's predecessor's genius and remakes it with some new bells and whistles that just don't make for a brand new game.
Everything, right down to the health bar, menu screens, characters, even music is an exact copy of Super Mario Galaxy 1.

Sure, there's some new stuff here and there. The Yoshi mechanic is sure to please fanboys, but it still feels like the first game plus Yoshi.

The story, however, is even worse than the first game, which had little story to begin with. I'm sure Mario fans are saying to themselves that Mario isn't supposed to have a story, but that's too convenient an excuse in modern times, where games like Final Fantasy, Zelda, and even Sonic have tried some semblance of a storyline to their games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Fun, but Very Similar

posted by samroolz (SAINT SIMONS ISLAND, GA) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I grew up playing Mario, heck my first video game was Super Mario Sunshine, so this game was a brilliant blast to the past for me. I also thought that putting Yoshi into the game was a nice touch. On the other hand, the game is extremely similar to Super Mario Galaxy and doesn't have a good storyline. But anyway, it is a good game and reminds you of the Super Mario Bros. legacy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

masterful

posted by shoeless97 (KELLER, TX) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i was amazed by the first galaxy game and my heart started to pump when i herd a sequel was coming out. i just got the game and it has proven to be an incredible challenge for beginners and experts. all 120 stars require a puzzle or some unique way to get it. this game requires thinking and brain smarts for all the puzzles in this game. this is my 2nd favorite game i have out of 10 but super smash bros brawl still proves its self to be my favorite title for the wii system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse