Rent Super Mario All-Stars for Wii
view large frontback

Super Mario All-Stars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

3123 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Controller lag brings the score down.

posted by BlueFlameBat (SAINT LOUIS, MO) May 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While it's nice to have more colorful versions of the classic NES/Famicom titles without (in my opinion) ear-assaulting voices, the controls aren't tight enough thanks to a noticeable amount of time between pressing a button and your character doing something on-screen. You may not notice it (especially if you're not using an LCD TV smaller than 42"), but for those who do (like myself), it takes some of the fun out. If a little lag doesn't bother you, pretend I gave this a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Plenty of all-stars, no super

posted by Aeroweth (MONTICELLO, UT) Aug 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll start by telling you just what this is: a compilation of the Super Mario games on the NES that have been given SNES graphics. In fact, this is the exact game that came out on the SNES. The Wii version adds nothing new. My advice in short: just stick with the NES originals of Super Mario Bros., Super Mario Bros. 2, and Super Mario Bros. 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Classics Remake

posted by timothyrulze (GRANTS PASS, OR) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Classics were fun but hard. The animation was I am guessing 16-Bit. This Game's original Platform was the SNES (Super Nintendo Entertainment System). The animation and sounds are the remake. This game comes with: Super Mario Bros., Super Mario Bros. 2, Super Mario Bros. 3, and Super Mario Bros.: The Lost Levels. All of these are 1-2 Players. So if you're an old school gamer, this is for you.

I give this a 6/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

super nintendo version wins

posted by Aquateen (WAYLAND, NY) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

while this does bring back classic games, it's pretty much set up like the super nintendo version. plus, the controls for this are delayed. you'd be better off not getting this, and maybe just buying them off of the wii market place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Suckness

posted by infidel137 (DALLAS, GA) Oct 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Is essentially a rerelease of SMB 1-3. The problem is that they tried to fix the "problems" with the original games, including removing the cheat turtle (infinite lives) on level 1-1. By reinventing the wheel, Nintendo removed some of the funnest aspects of the games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super Mario All Stars

posted by WOWmustdie (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I expected more of this title. I bought the exact same game 15 years ago for my Super Nintendo. If I knew it hadn't changed since then, I would have simply plugged the SNES back in. You cut me deep, Mario. You cut me deep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Glad I keep my old game systems.

posted by Madinferno (AUBURN, CA) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

$50 for a game most people with a Super Nintendo already own.
This is a direct copy of Mario All-Stars for that system with no upgrades to the graphics. If you have purchaced the first three games in the virtual console the only insentive is the lost levels (Japan's Super Mario Bros. 2) and the Super Nintendo graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed with the lack of enhancements

posted by joshtronic (TAMPA, FL) Jan 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

24 out of 32 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was surprised that this was a direct port of the original Super Mario All-Stars for the SNES. The graphics were not updated, and it didn't even include Super Mario World (which was included with a later release of the game on the SNES). Just sad really, if you're going to repackage a game, at least do something to make it fresh again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nintendo has done it again...

posted by CitiRaven (GRAND CANYON, AZ) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

23 out of 31 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

By "it", of course, I mean giving a classic game new box art and selling it for some holiday cash. By no means is Super Mario All Stars a bad collection of games, but this has already been done. Pixel for pixel, this is a straight port of Super Mario All Stars for the Super Nintendo. No facelifted graphics, no rearranged music, not even a redone title screen. The only thing new here, sadly, is the box art.

People lucky enough to snag the Limited Edition (myself included) are treated to a 20-track CD including main themes from Mario's biggest games and sound effects from the original 1985 NES cart, plus a little booklet with never before seen artwork and interview snippets with Mario's creator Shigeru Miyamoto, the composer, Koji Kondo, and producer Takeshi Tezuka.

Super Mario All Stars should be reserved for the younger generation of gamers who haven't seen Mario's roots, but I fear that the seventeen year old graphics and MIDI music selection may feel let down by their still-current-generation Wii. For the obscenely nostalgiac, this package doesn't disappoint. For anyone into retro games who has not yet experienced The Lost Levels (Japan's Super Mario Bros. 2, unreleased in the United States until the 1993 SMAS cartridge), you will find a more challenging platformer than you have likely played in ages. For those of you who, like me, played the heck out of the original and were hoping for at the very least a graphical update or a new music arrangement, stick to your SNES. In all cases, however, unless you're a sucker for limited editions (like me), you're probably better off renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent game if u haven't played orginal all stars

posted by StyleGamer (FOUNTAIN, CO) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Just a heads up to anyone looking to rent this game. If you have already played the orginal mario all stars DO NOT GET THIS GAME. It is the exact same thing as the orginal with no modifications what so ever. Some of the issues with the original also exist.

On the flip side if you have never played the orginal mario games or the all star version give it a try. Its pretty novel the first time you play it. Had I not played it before I would give it a 7.5/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Literally rewrapped

posted by qpowel1 (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

18 out of 25 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

I rented this game anticipating the SNES game w/ more features, updated menus, a better interface, and possibly having more games than the original.

What I got was literally the SNES game on a disc. The game was even dated in the 90's on the title screen.

Don't rent this expecting anything more than the SNES game because you will be sorely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pff dont even bother

posted by fozkraw (EL CENTRO, CA) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

repackage from the SNES!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

super mario all-stars

posted by last1ninja (CONCORD, MI) May 5, 2011

Member since May 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

now this was nintendo desperate attempt to keep you entertained but sadly you can buy this titles for 25 dollars on wii live so paying 50 dollars is a bit much even 30 but this was a pointless attempt to resell games you can buy for cheaper why dont they try to put a new game cause sadly i dont see nintendo surviven without a breakout title or something good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

super mario all stars

posted by karri71 (GUYMON, OK) May 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Absolutely loved it , plan on buying it . Brought back memories when my daughter and I played it when she was little.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brings back great memories from my childhood...

posted by GameGirrl3 (FAIRMONT, WV) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I never got to play the SNES version of all-stars,so this collection for me is AWESOME!!I went ahead and bought the game because I was concerned that it might be hard to find later.I sat in front of my TV squealing with delight playing these games earlier today....brought back some wonderful memories from my childhood.I liked playing the lost levels too.The graphics ARE dated,but if you're like me you'll enjoy
playing it and recalling when you were a kid.Some people might feel it's
not worth 30 bucks,but I thought it was.I don't consider myself a retro
gamer because I like the newer games over the old ones.But for me,this one is the exception.I'd say rent it,and if you don't like it or think it's dumb,then send it back and no harm,no foul.I bought this game
as a Christmas present to myself,and I'm happy I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yes, I gave it a 10. Read on to find out why.

posted by chemical36 (WHITMAN, MA) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Nostalgia.

For years, I have always looked back and said: "Boy! I miss Mario 2 or 3." Then it all came zipped up in one big package.

That is correct, you get all the classic NES Mario's and more, the Lost Levels. The graphics are as they were back then, no modifications, not updating just the raw game.

That said, there is not much more to say about it. I mean it is what it is. Any Mario fans that miss the games they grew up with should at the very least give this a rent. I didn't hesitate and purchased it right off the bat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

super mario allstars

posted by ollo (WYOMING, MI) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

its an ok game I think a 5 fits it good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

all stars mario

posted by keepergirl (SIDON, MS) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

its a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not mario all stars mario all the same

posted by juicypirate (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

all four games are all the same but the secand is the best because it saves your game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No Super Mario World

posted by Knight3K (ORLANDO, FL) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Would be a complete set if it had that game. Also the HD updates are the same as SNES except that version had Super Mario World included.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Exactly the Same

posted by Gorejas (GLEN ELLYN, IL) May 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Perhaps it's just me, but I expect more from a game on disc, particularly one that is for the Wii. If it's on the Wii, it should use the functionality it was designed to handle, be more social and add new fun twists to an old favorite. This should be just a download because it's exactly the same as it was before. Nintendo... seriously, if you want more market share, quit riding Mario into the ground.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super Mario All-stars

posted by rnadeau1979 (BRISTOL, CT) May 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this game was so lane, they didn't change or upgraded any of the videos graphics or the audio of any kind

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great collective for Mario fans.

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

What better way to celebrate Mario's 25th birthday than rereleasing his four greatest games? Though I will let you off with a warning, don't expect anything more than Super Mario Bros. 1, 2, 3, and Lost Levels, because that's really all it is. They're fun games anyway, but just don't get too excited, because as a game it's literally the same thing we've seen before. It's more for collective purposes than anything else, so there's really no point in renting it, you might as well just buy it. It comes with a Mario soundtrack CD and a history booklet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Eh ... Not Impressed

posted by cmb156 (AURORA, CO) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I suppose I'm just partial to the newer versions of Mario. Although I love playing some of the same games as a kid I'm also a little surprised I never even made it past world 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by ongaku2 (GARY, IN) Dec 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Even though i am a sucker for mario junk, this is actully awesome. There is 4 great older games i loved! even though the wii shop has the four games cheaper...
I DONT CARE! this game is 30 dollars! you get a history booklet, awesome game, and a soundtrack! You should rent it first because if you hate this game, you will not be changed by the add-ons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse