Rent Super Mario Advance 4 for GBA
view large frontback

Super Mario Advance 4

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.3

891 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the greatest games of all time - portable.

posted by LukeFlora (BASSETT, VA) May 2, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Super Mario Bros. 3 was the pinnacle of the NES and certainly a highpoint in the pudgy plumber's career. The improvements to graphics and gameplay (being able to save) make the game a great pick up and play title. The only bad thing about renting this game is that Gamefly doesn't have enough copies to sell.

Introducing a world map, powerups that could be held in reserve, airships, and a whole brood of Koopalings, this game was revolutionary as a Mario game and a platformer. As a result, a lot of cool features have been carried into other Mario games. Additionally, this is the game that really solidified the Mario characters we know today.

The only lows in this game are a few levels that still feel cheap because of the quick speed at which you're forced to move through them as well as some of the mazelike fortress levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An Absolute Gem

posted by Seph912 (LUTZ, FL) Aug 15, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

At first I had raised my eyebrows when I watched people play this game on emulators, Wiis, etc. but when I finally got to sitting down at my own Wii a few months ago and start playing it, I was just about sucked in. It was like I was enjoying a Super Mario World with better gameplay yet lesser graphics and, to my greatest dismay, lacking in a save feature.

However, I put this in my GameQ and got it and I just couldn't put it down. The game here has received both a complete graphic overhaul (while still sticking to the original style) making the game look absolutely gorgeous. Doors don't just look like big dark brown rectangles that look more like walls than doors, they're fully detailed. Backgrounds, ground textures, everything. It looks, feels, and plays a great deal better. And to top it off: it has a save feature now.

As said before, if you're familiar to the gameplay of Super Mario World, you'll enjoy this game's feel. You'll also enjoy, however, the mini-games scattered throughout and the numerous kinds of power-ups (there's your standard mushroom, fire flower, starman, but there's also a tanuki [raccoon] ears/tail and suit [the suit allows you to temporarily become a statue to avoid being seen by pressing, I believe, B + down], both of which allow you to fly much like the cape, and there's even more beyond that!)

If you have ever played ANY mario game, then know this is the cream of the crop and, with the possible exceptions being Mario 64 and the original, is the absolute best in the series. If you haven't picked it up yet, then you should really consider it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but not great

posted by VGguy1 (LEHI, UT) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i rented this game because i had never played the nes version and i love mario games, the graphics on this game were pretty good, at least for GBA, the one thing i didn't like about it was that i got to world 7 of 8 and got stuck, oh well, im happy i got that far, anyway, i would probably buy this game(for under 20 bucks) just so i can beat world 7-6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The perfect game

posted by Falcon4 (FRESNO, CA) Jul 5, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If there's one thing the Mario games got right, it's the controls. Modern games are so impossible to control, it totally ruins the fun of the game. Come on, a 3-dimensional game with joystick-like controls? It just doesn't work! Too bad everything is 3D these days!

And SMA4/SMB3 is just the perfect ground. As most people would know, it's a simple 2D platformer - -the- original and best platformer ever. For SMA4, they took SMB3 and filled in its deficiencies from the almost unplayable (by today's standards) original from the NES, and added pretty much every possible new feature without affecting the gameplay in the slightest.

Well - almost. It seems like Nintendo poured a little too much effort into their E-Reader campaign. There are a lot of little curious option submenus about "cards" in this game. What's wrong with that is that the GBA doesn't even have an E-Reader built in, so why does Nintendo hard code that into their game? It's just sitting there laughing at me, like "ha-ha, you don't have an E-Reader, you can't enjoy the full game". Kinda stinks, in my opinion... -shrug-

Awesome new features for the GBA include micro-saves, where you can save your exact position to be restored once; game saves, a la Super Mario World on SNES; standby mode, for "I uh, I wasn't doing anything!"; and many more sounds and improved music. It's the perfect SMB3 experience and it really shows off what that old GBA can do!

(ed.: Underscores and asterisks are "problematic" language?)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but ....ughhhh....read the review

posted by regguy43 (BARRINGTON, RI) Jul 11, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I love this game a lot, just a good simple mario game, but it's just so frustrating!!!!!!!

Like i've owned the game for six years and i got used to it, but for the first 2 and a half years playing that game, i was so frustrated because it's like theres actully someting wrong with my GBA, beacause when i jump on a ledge or try to jump on someones head (ect. it just doesn't work and i die!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

as sweet as pie

posted by pizzaboy (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Tis game rocks, it is the same game that's on the NES. It rocks! If you love Mario games buy this trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Game Ever!!

posted by gamegod09 (NEW HAVEN, CT) Jun 17, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

What's not great abt the classic of the Super Mario Bros? i love this game! i used to play for hours in my room and now i can play for hours anywhere else cuz its now portable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Enough!

posted by seamus (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This GAme Is worth renting. It Is VERY ADDICTIVE.
I played it so much I got a slight case of
CarpoTunnelSyndrome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

should have been releases as a Classic NES Series

posted by suchalady (YUCCA VALLEY, CA) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

SMB3 is a classic but I think this GBA re-release should have been released as a Classic NES series. SMB1 was released that way. My main and only problem with SMA4 : SMB3 is there is too much updating. it is still worth owning but with all this updating, it doesn't make the game the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ugh, A Disappointment

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jun 26, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

NOTE: I had never played the original version of this game.

The Super Mario Bros. series takes Mario on adventures where you have to rescue Princess Peach from Bowser, and in this case, his kids.

I had hopes of this being like the original Super Mario Bros., but it wasn't. One BIG reason this disappointed me was NO FIRERY MARIO. They replaced him with some stupid thing where you have to grab a leaf and it turns you into something that looks like a fox that supposedly flies, and it doesn't help you at all. That automatically takes away from my rating. Other than that it's pretty good. The graphics look great. Their are sometimes levels that take you on a mission, and that is an improvement since Super Mario Bros.. The gameplay, as I suggested earlier, got worse, though. But I do recommend this to anyone who likes Mario-style action. I give this game 6 out of 10. 3 points were taken from that score because of the exclusion of Firery Mario, and another was taken just because of the disappointment it gave me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok game

posted by JPCCool (Shiloh, OH) Apr 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

the game is OK.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok, but so old fashond

posted by yoshigamer (VISALIA, CA) Aug 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

sure i'm a big mario fan but it is so 1992. it has good stages and worlds but i hate having a so old like game its not bad... but its so 1992

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mario bros 3 for the gba way cool

posted by mariobrosZ (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

mario bros is cool for the gba

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best Mario games in history

posted by MarioWario (WHITESTONE, NY) Aug 22, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This truly is one of the best mario games created. There is a wide variety
Of power ups, Like the classic power flower, and then there are new power ups ( listed below)

- racoon suit
- super racoon suit ( p)
- frog suit
- takooni suit (bear)

- hammer bro suit

I think this game is to hard in world eight. I also think it's unfair in certain places
Still a good game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW AND FOR A GBA GAME WOW

posted by whoppin (DELTA JUNCTION, AK) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

WOW I WOULD HAVE NEVER THOUGHT OF THIS GAME TO BE GOOD AND ON THE GAMEBOY!
Absoutlutly one of the greatest marios ever i had real blast and loved collecting a costume after another a real enjoyment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty good

posted by floopes (GALAX, VA) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

first off its been a while sence ive rented this game and im just now getting around to writing reviews so lets start this one. This game is simply a remake of super mario bros. 3 which what can you say its mario. I like that fact that this is one is handheld because it makes things easier and nice for car rides. So overall this is a good game. if you a mario fan then rent this you will not regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is a bad game

posted by Wowfan (IMMOKALEE, FL) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

For me This is a Horrible game the reason i gave it a 1 is because i didint know what to do i couldnt play it its just confusing if you want to play a mario game i would recommend Super Mario bros. Deluxe, now that's a good game. couldnt even last 1 hour with this game tried it out didint liked it and shipped it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mario Bros. at their WORST!

posted by gamer5 (LAVEEN, AZ) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Shouldn't my title say it all? This game is horrible! It's not meant for the GBA. It's better for the SNES or NES. What's with Mario Bros. on it? All the other SMA titles have this and Mario and Luigi Superstar Saga. Rent that or Partners in Time. Try the other SMA titles, like #2, but not this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »