Rent Super Mario 64 DS for DS
view large frontback

Super Mario 64 DS

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

3131 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect remake of the BEST GAME EVER

posted by YourMom (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

21 out of 22 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

There's no way you can convince me that there is, or will be another game that comes close to being as good as Super Mario 64. Even if you are just running around, doing nothing with Mario, it's still extremely fun. This game is the best ever, and now I can take it with me wherever I go because it's portable. MUST HAVE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST DS GAME EVER

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 16, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

24 out of 26 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. PERIOD. If you never played MARIO 64 be prepared to be amazed. If you are like myself and did play MARIO 64 this game has all that was included with that, plus some. The new characters are really great, and the mini games included are fun as well. This is not a renal. This is a must-buy!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Mario 64 DS

posted by MissyGee (SMYRNA, DE) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was sorry to have never gotten the chance to play the actual 64 version, but this one was just as excellent. (Oh, excuse me, perfect.) Despite the fact that it took me FOREVER to beat, it was well worth the patience. This was the very first game I ever bought, and I hold it dear to my heart. Mario fans will love this title. And those of you who love long, challenging games-get this game. It's a legendary game that keeps on getting better with each play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mega Mario 64 DS

posted by Gamer5000 (IOTA, LA) Sep 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was awsome. best mario game yet.

WARIO-Punch

MARIO-Kick

LUIGI-Run

YOSHI-Toung

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by rickslick (BRUNSWICK, MD) Dec 10, 2006

Member since May 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

this is a great title the ds really captures the 64 version with its own twist. playing and unlocking the other characters is a blast. a great game for a handheld system worth a play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Mario 64 DS

posted by Apokalypse (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Great, you won't be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by RobnAust (MANASSAS, VA) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is fun!I was so hooked on it that i got to the last broswer and almost beat it but guess what i lost it lol.Never saw it again but still a fun game!Thi sone is easier than the 64 one because lugi,wario, and yoshi gives you a andvantange.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Revamped Super Mario 64 is Great But Not Perfect!

posted by Blueblur (MIAMI, FL) May 30, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

So for the DS's launch, Nintendo went out of their way to revamp the classic Super Mario 64. So how does it fair?

Well, as a game it does fairly well. The new characters change the gameplay a little bit as now specific characters use specific power-ups instead of Mario using all of them (no longer does Mario use the Wing Cap, the Metal Cap and Clear Cap). The game uses the DS stylus for a few mini-games that you unlock by playing the main game. While they're fairly fun, since this game launched Nintendo has put the same mini-games in other titles (such as New Super Mario Bros.) making the mini-games an unimportant part of the game.

But as a whole, Super Mario 64 DS is a strong 3D title and is great for new Nintendo DS owners. In fact, platformer lovers in general should give this revamp a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Game you have to Get

posted by westell (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The sequel to the 1996 version on nintendo 64
But more characters like yoshi,luigi,and wario
You start off with yoshi and save mario then mario saves luigi then luigi saves wario then you can cycle through characters to defeat bowser once and for all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It is one of the games I am for sure going to rent

posted by banghenr (CINCINNATI, OH) Aug 6, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have a DS and I like mario and there's just something about games on N-64 that I love. I think it rules.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Super Mario 64 DS review!

posted by Nintendork (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Super Mario 64 DS is a great game, and contains more
features than the original. Like being able to play
as Yoshi and Luigi. Each character has his own abilities [Luigi can jump high, Wario is stronger than the others etc.] Moving with the D-pad isn't as
smooth as a joystick which can lead to awkward moving at times, but you'll get by.
Overall this is a great game to add to your collection, and I give it an 8/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it's like all other mario games, but in 3d

posted by theburner (FOLSOM, CA) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

in super mario 64 ds, all u do is save princess peach, and that's the good part. it is cool that u can play as yoshi, wario, mario and luigi, but they don't have amazingly different skills. the bad part is that it is not replayable. u can play it again, but its really boring because u know what's going to happen. they should add special powers like stars and mushrooms and fire flowers to give the game more action and fun. using the touch screen is hard and for me is non existent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Miserable controls mar faithful port

posted by FakeTrout (FITCHBURG, WI) Jul 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This is a great and even improved version of Mario 64, but the DS just doesn't lend itself to the correct control scheme to play the game. The simple intuitive controls that made most people's first 3D game great are gone and replace with complex and frustratingly innaccurate approxiamations.

Extra rooms and stars be damned, I'll stick with the N64 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good port, bad controls.

posted by Douglas (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a fine game, really. But the control scheme didn't translate from the N64 very well. I really missed having a true analog stick for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dont have 64 vesion? well it doesnt mater!

posted by superg (BLAIRSTOWN, NJ) Jul 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well this game is even beter than its father! great grapiths, more playble caraters, fun co op, no one couldeve thought of this but whoevere did heres a message for him u are the BEST GAME MAKER IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by gboudx (ROCKWALL, TX) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was just bad unless u like horrible graphics and slow walking

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Remakes Aren't Always Better

posted by ReviewCo (NAHANT, MA) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has the same greatness as the original, except for one thing: THE CONTROLS ARE HORRIBLE!
This game just wasn't meant to be played with a D-Pad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I don't understand how to play this game.

posted by Linkinpark (TOOELE, UT) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I tried to get past the bomb-omb painting and I can't even figure out how to get to King Bomb-omb. I wish they could've made the controls a little easier too. It was good overall but I just wish I could get past the first painting. I feel stupid because i am really good at videogames and this has to be the only game I can't play and I'm a girl which is rare. Oh and P.S. I LOVE CHESTER BENNINGTON and MIKE SHINODA and PETER LEWIS KINGSTON WENTZ lll!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It' OK

posted by spitoon (PLYMOUTH, MI) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is fun but it moves a little slow. Could be the memory or something. I found it hard to steer the characters in the right directions.
Good game but could be better and smoother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not happy

posted by golightly (BOULDER, CO) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I can not stand this game. I love Mario 64 and I have ever since it first came out. But it just dose not work with the DS controls. I tried all 3 controller settings and they were all equally horrible. The standard controls were slow and awkward. The touch screen made absolutely no sense. It's a good game that was ruined by putting it on the DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Mario 64 DS

posted by monkey28 (MECHANICSVILLE, MD) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The game is really good but it is hard and the camera is really annoying. I'm not saying its bad but there might be to many cheats. Also how do you get Luigi and Wario out of their painting?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good game to rent.

posted by KH2fan (ANTELOPE, CA) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game is a good game.Its not what I thought it would be.It still is a good game to try out. I would say that you should try it.It is just missing some things.If it had more abilities it would be a great game to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

That's It?

posted by BratGirl (WARRENVILLE, IL) Jul 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2003

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, I'm into Mario and all, but this game was... Every level was redundant, and it was way too hard to control your character using either the touch screen or the keypad. Apparently the only way to fully control your character was with the wrist... thumb-pad thing... which I don't have. There are some of us who aren't rich as Bill Gates, y'know. Overall, it was an okay game. I wouldn't play it anytime in the near future, but I played it once, and that was enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Something to do when your bored.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) May 31, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It's mostly something to do when your bored. I thought it was great for while! .....Then I found myself playing it when I was bored. All kinds of litte minigames where on it. Mario was cool, but Wario was really lame. I was sure I was about to win the game one time! ......Then it turns out it wasen't the end yet. I just couldn't beat it so I sent it back. I'm done with this review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i just don't know about this one

posted by VGguy1 (LEHI, UT) Aug 24, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

after beating "New Super Mario Bros.", i was dumb enough to think this would be as easy if not easier, i was wrong.....

the way the characters move in this game is not my style at all, and i couldn't even get past the 2nd boss because i had no idea how to defeat him, in all honesty this game was a waste of my time

i gave this game a 5 only because its mario and the graphics are not that bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse