Rent Super Mario 3D World for Wii U
view large frontback

Super Mario 3D World

Rent

Keep for: $49.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
9.0

921 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A gameplay masterpiece

posted by irvingjohn (OGDEN, UT) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I expected this to be great. I was so hyped up by the various reviews online. Most of the time, that leads to disappointment for me. But not here.

This is a gameplay masterpiece. Nothing gets tired because every single level introduces some crazy new mechanic. The controls are fluid. You'll never lose a life due to poor controller or environment responsiveness. The difficulty grows as you get further along(obviously), but it never gets frustrating or annoying.

The graphics are outsatanding. The colors are so bright and beautiful. This game is aesthetically perfect. So much so that in the final boss fight, I actually felt kinda terrified and anxious! It was amazing to feel that way while playing a video game. I don't even feel that when playing survival horror games.

I beat it on single player first, and then I invited a friend over and we beat it in one (very long) sitting. I recommend the multiplayer. Get a friend involved and somehow this perfect game gets even better.

I am so glad that I rented this game, and was very sorry to drop it in the mailbox and send it back. This is my 2013 Game of the Year, without a doubt.

Grab all of the green stars and stamps! It will prolong your experience, which is a very good thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game on the Wii U

posted by XxCepixX (SAN FERNANDO, CA) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didn't expect this game to be anything special, but this game is a masterpiece. The visuals are top notch the levels are all well designed and it's fun to play. It's a great game for all ages, the only problem I had with the game is its 3D effect. Sometimes I couldn't tell where I was going to land due to the camera being in awkward places. Super Mario 3D World is defiantly worth buying and renting. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

no subject.

posted by Ledw408tn (MEMPHIS, TN) Dec 17, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is really fun to play!!! I love it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Incredible 3D Platforming

posted by 72_Hours_Remain (OREM, UT) Oct 23, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

While this game may not have the flag-ship capacities that the Galaxy series had, I was blown away by the depth, detail, and beauty of this game. This FAR exceeded my expectations.
Whether you're looking for a casual platformer or an intense one, you'll probably love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super Mario 3 D world

posted by iHaveBigBenOnna (SPARTA, WI) Oct 15, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Wouldnt even work though the disk was over all clean... Very displeased.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kinda disappointing

posted by briancnort (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Feb 2005

This is the first Mario game in a long time that disappoints. Galaxy was a masterpiece, New Mario was outstanding, this is just kinda "meh..." Don't get me wrong, it's not bad, it's just not what I was hoping for. No variety, little theatricality, and predictable levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by kirby_player (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 12, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

This game is so amazing, words cannot describe it.The level design is outstanding , the graphics are beautiful, and and the music is wonderful.If you recently bought a Wii U, this is the first game you should get. Nintendo really showed the best they could make a game with Super Mario 3D World.
Also, It's name has world in it for a reason. It really feels like a world, the map, because each world is connected to each other in some way, either by a clear pipe, a rocket ship, or a bridge.This game is the reason you should buy a Wii U.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun with friends

posted by LordObsidian01 (DUNLAP, IL) Aug 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

Not quite as fun as New Super Mario Bros, the 3D aspect is hard to get a sense of where you are jumping. Still a lot of fun with friends tho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad Disc

posted by jreece77 (SHAWNEE, OK) Jul 24, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I tried for over an hour to get the disc to work to no avail

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love

posted by Kwcjr91 (GRIFFITH, IN) Jul 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Such a fun mario game. SPOILER. ... Crown world is impossible, especially comparing to the rest of the game... UNSPOILER I love the kitty bell costume :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Wii U Game Up to Date

posted by thetank210 (CONVERSE, TX) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

This is the most fun and challenging Mario game I've ever played. fun for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nothing special

posted by Fedor (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 16, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

The game isn't anything special. If you have kids, they'll enjoy. It is the perfect game for Gamefly, for it isn't worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best mario game

posted by Angrybirdsfan (CORONA, CA) Jun 2, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Possibly the best mario game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

3D World

posted by SunnyShores (WAUPACA, WI) May 27, 2014

Member since May 2014

I haven't had so much fun with a Mario game. with the new power ups and addicting levels, this game will keep you going and collecting green stars throughout the levels for days and weeks. best game for Wii U....for now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) May 20, 2014

Member since Apr 2006

who doesn't want this fun wiiu game in their wiiu collection? very easy levels the cat custom is cute and the clear pipes good point is it is fun for any mario fan or anyone the down side the toad levels are hard can be upsetting at times this might be the best wiiu game of 2013! i give super mario 3d world 5 meows out of 5!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for the family

posted by llKingNothingll (NASHVILLE, TN) May 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I'm not a typical WiiU player but my kids have one and i decided to get this game while waiting for another Xbox One game to release. Hours of fun, especially with 4 players. Good luck not knocking each other off the maps though haha! Good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow

posted by MovieMan (PEARLAND, TX) May 13, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I was very impressed with how long this game was. The game adjust the difficulty if you have trouble getting through levels and when you think you are done, think about. Another world to beat. A must play for Mario fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Big, Colorful, & hours of Fun.

posted by MrSche (MEMPHIS, TN) May 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

Probably the best Mario gamed Ive played yet. Its Big & colorful. Nothing more to say...its just fun. If you love Mario and 3d plat formers, this is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

liked it

posted by KingSettle (MANASSAS, VA) May 1, 2014

Member since May 2014

Just stopped working

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Honestgamer15 (PORTAGE, IN) Mar 8, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game is amazing, especially when you play with a group. the graphics are great, the gameplay is fun, even when you throw your teammates off of a cliff. It's a great game for family and friends to play together. I give it a ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Definetly not the best.

posted by Cman236 (RIPLEY, TN) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

I had high expectations for this game but I was very disappointed when I got it. It is increasingly more difficult than others I have played. Also, the 3d effects make it hard to dispatch your enemies efficiently. I wouldn't recommend this game to any casual gamer. I can't even play it and I am a hardcore gamer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Inspirational Words

posted by KyCoDi25 (LAKELAND, FL) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This is the 3d/HD mario game that we've been waiting to see for all these years and they definitely didn't disappoint. this is everything us nintendo fanboys have been dreaming of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game

posted by PipsMcClawski (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Feb 21, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

I don't even like Super Mario, but this is just a darn good game. The level designs are creative and looks great. Its especially fun to play with friends and local couch co-op makes it a winner in my book. You cant go wrong with renting this or buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 17, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

This is an awesome great game. The mechanics are perfect and the art work is second to none. I you need a pallet cleanser for all these dark dreary games this is the one to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Mario 3D World Review

posted by SonyKL (CHANDLER, AZ) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

I've had my Wii U for about 8 months now. Most of the games for it have been about average in my opinion. I thought Zombi U was interesting, but not groundbreaking, and New Super Mario Bros U was fun, but not amazing. Then, The year of 2013 turns everything around.

First, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker gets remastered. I played a little of it for the Gamecube and thought it was fun, but it is so much more accessible in my opinion on the Wii U. I was sure that this was going to be the signature title for the Wii U. Then, Super Mario 3D World came out. All I can say is: BEST... WII U GAME... EVER!! Everything about the game was amazing: the multiplayer, the powerups, the secrets, etc.

I know that a lot of people have mixed opinions about the Wii U, mostly because it had a less than stellar launch, but 3D World changed everything. It is a game that cannot be missed, and a game that I enjoyed every second that I played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse