Rent Super Mario 3D World for Wii U
view large frontback

Super Mario 3D World

Rent

Keep for: $49.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

GF Rating
9.3

457 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

A gameplay masterpiece

posted by irvingjohn (OGDEN, UT) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I expected this to be great. I was so hyped up by the various reviews online. Most of the time, that leads to disappointment for me. But not here.

This is a gameplay masterpiece. Nothing gets tired because every single level introduces some crazy new mechanic. The controls are fluid. You'll never lose a life due to poor controller or environment responsiveness. The difficulty grows as you get further along(obviously), but it never gets frustrating or annoying.

The graphics are outsatanding. The colors are so bright and beautiful. This game is aesthetically perfect. So much so that in the final boss fight, I actually felt kinda terrified and anxious! It was amazing to feel that way while playing a video game. I don't even feel that when playing survival horror games.

I beat it on single player first, and then I invited a friend over and we beat it in one (very long) sitting. I recommend the multiplayer. Get a friend involved and somehow this perfect game gets even better.

I am so glad that I rented this game, and was very sorry to drop it in the mailbox and send it back. This is my 2013 Game of the Year, without a doubt.

Grab all of the green stars and stamps! It will prolong your experience, which is a very good thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

no subject.

posted by Ledw408tn (MEMPHIS, TN) Dec 17, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is really fun to play!!! I love it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game on the Wii U

posted by XxCepixX (SAN FERNANDO, CA) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I didn't expect this game to be anything special, but this game is a masterpiece. The visuals are top notch the levels are all well designed and it's fun to play. It's a great game for all ages, the only problem I had with the game is its 3D effect. Sometimes I couldn't tell where I was going to land due to the camera being in awkward places. Super Mario 3D World is defiantly worth buying and renting. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Honestgamer15 (PORTAGE, IN) Mar 8, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game is amazing, especially when you play with a group. the graphics are great, the gameplay is fun, even when you throw your teammates off of a cliff. It's a great game for family and friends to play together. I give it a ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Definetly not the best.

posted by Cman236 (RIPLEY, TN) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

I had high expectations for this game but I was very disappointed when I got it. It is increasingly more difficult than others I have played. Also, the 3d effects make it hard to dispatch your enemies efficiently. I wouldn't recommend this game to any casual gamer. I can't even play it and I am a hardcore gamer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Inspirational Words

posted by KyCoDi25 (LAKELAND, FL) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This is the 3d/HD mario game that we've been waiting to see for all these years and they definitely didn't disappoint. this is everything us nintendo fanboys have been dreaming of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game

posted by PipsMcClawski (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Feb 21, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

I don't even like Super Mario, but this is just a darn good game. The level designs are creative and looks great. Its especially fun to play with friends and local couch co-op makes it a winner in my book. You cant go wrong with renting this or buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 17, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

This is an awesome great game. The mechanics are perfect and the art work is second to none. I you need a pallet cleanser for all these dark dreary games this is the one to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Mario 3D World Review

posted by SonyKL (CHANDLER, AZ) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

I've had my Wii U for about 8 months now. Most of the games for it have been about average in my opinion. I thought Zombi U was interesting, but not groundbreaking, and New Super Mario Bros U was fun, but not amazing. Then, The year of 2013 turns everything around.

First, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker gets remastered. I played a little of it for the Gamecube and thought it was fun, but it is so much more accessible in my opinion on the Wii U. I was sure that this was going to be the signature title for the Wii U. Then, Super Mario 3D World came out. All I can say is: BEST... WII U GAME... EVER!! Everything about the game was amazing: the multiplayer, the powerups, the secrets, etc.

I know that a lot of people have mixed opinions about the Wii U, mostly because it had a less than stellar launch, but 3D World changed everything. It is a game that cannot be missed, and a game that I enjoyed every second that I played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Mario Game I Have Played So Far

posted by Fridge355 (POCATELLO, ID) Feb 6, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Essentially the title of the review says it all. The HD graphics are amazing. There is more than enough levels to drown the hours of your day with. The multi-player is the best I have seen on a Mario game so far (I personally didn't like the multi-player on the side scrolling games, such as New Super Mario Bros U). All in all, this game is not only worthy as a must rent, but it is a must buy for any WiiU owner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario: Nintendo's lesson never learned.

posted by giuseppesc (WARREN, MI) Feb 1, 2014

Member since Jun 2004

I'm going to keep this simple; if Nintendo put the power, money, dedication, and foresight into their other games as they always do for Mario, the WiiU would not have failed to meet their sales forecast. This game is beautiful, fun, and keeps the franchise well loved. Knowing they can do games like this, and then NOT doing it, makes me not feel so bad for Nintendo. Eggs-in-one-basket situation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Super Mario 3D World: A Bigger Land

posted by Breazy (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Jan 21, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

This is a Mario game. If you've played one somewhat recently, you know what to expect here. Joyful, fun, tight platforming through unique levels with a co-op / competitive multiplayer built-in. Tons of collectibles, hidden paths, warps, etc. Super cute. Lots of time-value here.

You will likely immediately notice the cat suit on the cover of Super Mario 3D World and for good reason. This is the one big addition to 3D World over its predecessor on Nintendo 3DS (3D Land).

Outside of the obvious (and absolutely beautiful) improvements in the graphical department and new-ish levels, I couldn't help but feel like I'd played this game before. That's not to say it isn't a ton of fun - it is - but the DNA of 3D World is clearly 3D Land (duh) with a slight hint of Galaxy. There's also quite a bit to do here. If you were to collect all the stickers, green coins, etc., you could probably eek 15-20 hours out of this game, and that's before touching time trials or multiplayer.

Speaking of multiplayer, I applaud Nintendo for being staunch supporters of couch co-op gaming, but I can't help but feel like they missed a huge opportunity to make this playable online. It prevented me from purchasing because I simply don't have time to have friends over to game regularly.

I can't fault Nintendo for sticking to a successful formula, but the newer Mario games have never hit the same notes with me as Super Mario World or Super Mario Bros. 3. Definitely worth a rent, possibly a buy if you're really into exhausting all the content in every game you play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

3-D WORLD = :D

posted by Chird (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 19, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Amazing game, had a blast playing. Really creative. I was definitely surprised at how goo and fun it was. Playing with friends = LOL's all night long

PRO: Great visuals, creative lvls, fun costumes but many of the basics from the originals are still here. The point system with friends made it very competitive that we were fighting one another for flag pole position at the end

Con: Boss battles are lacking, facing them a few times throughout the game but its the same battle each time. Online?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good playing alone; amazing playing with friends!

posted by superwildcard (MENIFEE, CA) Dec 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

A multiplayer 3D mario has been what fans of the seres have been seeking and this game delivers a great deal of fun. The vharacters, enemies, power-ups, and level designs are creative from start to finish and there are plenty of goodies to collect. The game has a great amount of replay value and the difficulty is consistent throughout. The most enjoyable way to play is in a room with your closest friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »