Rent Super Mario 3D Land for 3DS
view large frontback

Super Mario 3D Land

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

2190 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great For All

posted by bFly2001 (WASHINGTON, DC) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game for all ages in the family to get lost in hours of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Mario 3D Land = Best Super Mario Bros. ever

posted by Sonic211 (THE WOODLANDS, TX) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The 3DS's first Mario game exceeded my expectations! Let me add that some of the Gamefly reviews on this game are not accurate!

The game starts with Mario finding out that Bowser has kidnapped Peach once again, and of course, our mustached hero sets off on another adventure. Super Mario 3D Land has graphics as good as the SMG series, the new Star Medals are from the SMG series, and for the first time, Mario's best-selling series has a 3D platform game! As far as the enemies and power-ups go, old classics such as the Super Mushroom, Fire Flower, and the Tanooki Suit, and for the enemies, Goombas, Koopas, Boos,and Dry Bones, as well as new ones, like the Boomerang Suit, and other variations of the Tanooki Suit, like the Statue Leaf, and the Super Leaf, and new variations of old enemies. Also, Nintendo brought in MagiKoopas from the SMG series as enemies. Also, 2 new bosses, Boom Boom, and Pom Pom, taking turns as the Airship bosses, while Bowser is the World Castles' boss, and Dry Bowser as the Special World Castles' boss. Cosmic Clones (from the SMG series) also make their debut in the Super Mario Bros. series, chasing you in some of the special worlds.

In another Gamefly review for this game, he/she stated that there are only 8 worlds with 5 or 6 stages each. That is only HALF of the full game! Why? Because there are 8 special worlds! There are 48 stages in the World stages, and 47 stages in the Special stages. Plus, the Crown stage, the hardest stage of all time in Super Mario history. This level has no checkpoints or Star Medals, and is only accessible if you play every stage as Mario and Luigi, get every Star Medal and the top of every Goal Pole in every level. So, that equals 96 stages in 16 worlds! And yes, I said Luigi, too. When you beat Dry Bowser in the Special World 1 Castle, you will unlock Luigi as a playable character.

Overall = A PERFECT 10/10!

P.S. I bought the SM3DL guide, so I know where all the Star Medals and secret areas

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super Mario 3D Land

posted by gameguru937 (BRISTOL, NH) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Can the first official mario title on the 3DS hold up to all the hype? Well super mario 3D land is here and it delevers. This 3D mario sidescroller puts our old school plumber in an all new adventure. The storyline is... well you could have guessed. Mario is saving the princess. He sets out through 8 new fascinating worlds. Now, one thing all mario gamers love is the power ups. The clincher of this game is that it has brought back the famous tinuki suit/racoon suit. besides that mario has the fireflower and boomerang flower for power ups. Thats one thing about this game it has few power ups and foucuses to much on the racoon suit. that being said, it is still a good game. The boss fights are less then amazing. Basically, there are 2 koopa kids, and the bosses get re-used alot. Fighting bowser is like a chase scene across a bridge. The graphics are compareable to mario galaxy and the music is amazing like always. This is a solid game recomended for every mario fan out there. Overall I give it a 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by maximus5 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This was better than I expected.The graphics are great but the controls are a little confusing just a little but great game it is worth buying and renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

super mario 3d land

posted by killtrocity117 (SOQUEL, CA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This mario game is the best one yet!My nephew has a 3ds and he keeps on asking for me to let me play! 10 stars!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Anyone who rated below 10 knows nothing of games.

posted by nategrey (SOUTH OZONE PARK, NY) Dec 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This platformer is at his best. Mario goes parkour in this latest installment of SuperMario 3d land. As the game progresses, it gets difficult. But they still keep it entertaining. using the 3D is useful, not a gimmick in this game. It actually looks better. Anyone I put onto this got addicted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cooool new mario game wow mario no kart i see

posted by mariobrosZ (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

new power ups new bad guys so cool but the 3d...wow!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what I expected.

posted by Kutaius (APO, AE) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

As I am an avid Super Mario fan I will tell you that this game sort of follows the motif that one would expect from a game from this series. My opinion is that this game is fun to play, but not very challenging. Its way too short (I beat it in about 3 hours), and from what I could tell was designed for an audience of pre-teen and younger. The reason I say this is because if you die enough on a level, the game will give you a "golden leaf" that makes you invincible for the remainder of the level so you can beat it. This will happen all the way through the game even to when you fight Bowser. Another point is that I remember that Raccoon Mario can fly and I was looking forward to this but was highly disappointed because in this game... he cannot. So I recommend the game as perfect for Gamefly. Rent it, play it, then afterwards your most likely going to want to get rid of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario's 3D Adventure

posted by NMH1118 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Mario is back in a all new adventure saving Princess Peach using all new power-ups like the tanooki suit,boomerang suit and propeller box.Next,Mario runs around in 3d levels facing new enemies,searching for star coins.Last,extra challenges are challenges where you trade mystery boxes and this is why you buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME MARIO GAME

posted by Adoboy5 (PITTSBURG, CA) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

THis game is the one of the best mario games ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MARIO AT HIS FINEST

posted by Drizzy89 (COLUMBUS, OH) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

this game is great addition to the mario franchise and also makes great use of the 3D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

unique but not the best

posted by chadd8 (WINDSOR, VA) Nov 20, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

ok, their are 8 worlds with about 6 short levels.
GOOD....

1.a 2d mario classic with 3d movement
2.easy to get lives
3.the graphics are ok
4. the game has old mario music with a new twist to it

BAD....

1.easy to beat bawser
2.3 bawser castles
3.need a sertent amount of star coins to unlock levels
4.easy to get lives(i know i put thes for good)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best 3ds game i played

posted by Jonathan4275 (CANEYVILLE, KY) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I love this game so much, it is one of the best 3ds games i have ever played. I will be beating this game soon and I recommend this game to any Mario fan out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

3DS version of 3D World

posted by jackjackisback (LISLE, IL) Apr 12, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This game is just the same as the Wii U version aside from the fact that 3D World is better. The multiplayer, items, and extra characters make 3D World better than 3D Land.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally - A Game to Justify A Gamefly Membership

posted by rshadix86 (DAYTON, OH) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

There isn't much about Mario that most people don't know, so this review will be short and sweet.

Combining the best of the old with the best of the new, and adding a few great twists of its own, this game is spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure Fun

posted by treywar25 (FREMONT, OH) Dec 22, 2013

Member since May 2013

no complaints, super fun game and is a little bit easier than older marios which I liked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, But Short

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

This game is fun and enjoyable, but it's easy to beat. First time I got it, I best it in a week. Of course you have extra levels after beating the main ones where you can play as Luigi, but it still feels lacking, and the street pass doesn't give you much. But it's not a bad game, it's definitely worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty good mario platformer

posted by thegamerkirbies (BATH, ME) May 13, 2013

Member since May 2013

Let me start off by saying this is a really good game for casual relaxing fun with some challenge in the later levels for the more hardcore gamers

I rented this game thinking it would be like mario 64 or sunshine, a collection platformer, that was my bad I didn't look into it enough. What I got was a game representing classic super mario bros., and super mario bros. 3 for the nes, but in 3d with new graphics.

The good: the graphics were great, really colorful and shiny, pulled off a good atmosphere along with its fantastic sound track of old songs, re-mixed songs, and a few new melodies(at least for me). The 3 coin system in every level gave a sense of collectivity and achievement and completion that is missing in the originals, not very fancy but its nice, really makes you experience all of every level. Lots of replayability, similar to megaman battlenetwork 3 there are 5 stars to unlock by completing several challenges and completion levels, along with 2 playable characters its pretty fun.

The bad: The replayability seems a bit old after your second playthrough of all the levels when you are going for 100% to unlock the last level. Very few boss concepts being 2 baby koopas, bowser imposters, and bowser himself which is barely more scary than his imposters, and limited power up suits, heck super mario bros 3 on the nes had way more outfits and unique boss fights, and the map layout for super mario bros. 3 is non linear and feels like a world, super mario 3D is very linear on a straight line level to level. There are 6 buttons to play with on the DS and 3 actions mapped to those 6 buttons, meaning each action has 2 buttons that do the same thing it seems like old school sega where all the buttons do the same thing. They even managed to downgrade the backflip from its mario 64 version, you now have to hold L or R for a few seconds before performing the backflip, makes wanting to backflip very frowned upon.

Over all?, could be better but its still very fu

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A 3D New Super Mario Bros.

posted by Viewtiful_Josh (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 1, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

That is what this game really is. If you think you're going to play something close to Super Mario Galaxy or even Super Mario 64 (as in gameplay), then you won't be playing that. That doesn't make it bad, but it's a misleading title. The game plays like a NSMB where you have 8 worlds and you have to clear them all. That's it. It is very easy to complete this game, but at least you get tons of levels to play (even though they are all somewhat similar). One thing that really disappointed me was that there are only 3 bosses. That includes Bowser. The way you beat them is the same each time you fight them. Bowser is sadly too easy to beat, since you will defeat him in the traditional "button at the end of the bridge" way players used to defeat him on the NES version. It's not challenging at all, even if you die five times in a row, you will get a Gold Leaf which makes you immortal. So you can stand next to Bowser and chill for as long as you like. Even though it is easy, it's still fun to play the levels.

If you're looking to beat levels after levels, with no challenge at all but still having fun, then this is the game for you. There are a ton of levels to keep you busy. I would recommend buying it if you decide to complete the game to 100%.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Mario since Mario 3

posted by craniumcruncher (FARMINGTON, NM) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I loved this game. Perhaps my favorite campaign of any game this generation. Easily the best 3DS game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

super mario 3d land

posted by jackeaton44 (FALLS CITY, NE) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

this is the one ofthe best games for the 3ds and is the best mario game for 3ds, you should really get this game it is
very very very very good. I would even buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GET THIS GAME NOW

posted by Jesse978908 (WAXAHACHIE, TX) Jan 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Easily the best 3DS game on the market and the best handheld game I've ever played.

If you loved mario galaxy or super mario 64, stop reading and get your hands on this game.

I'm serious. Its great.

The levels are perfectly suited for portable playing, the 3D is a selling point rather than a gimmick, the level design is classic, and the music is just right.

This is mario at his very, very best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easily the best yet.

posted by CrazySteve88 (EDGEWATER, FL) Jan 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

<B>TL:DR<B/>

The games great, offers a lot of replay value and is challenging but not so much that it takes away from the fun which you'll have a lot of. Oh and it looks amazing too.



<b>3D Effect:<b/>

The game offers 2 options for 3D. Normal(Default option) and Extended. You can switch between these two types at any time by pressing Dpad Up(Normal) or Down(Extended). I found the 3D to be good and then I noticed I was on normal and switched to extended and loved it even more.



<b>Sound:<b/>

The Sound was top notch. I'd easily compare it to Super Mario Galaxy but for a handheld game it's made even more impressive. I highly recommend you use headphones or even hook the 3DS up to stereos though. You'll miss out on some things.



<b>Graphics:<b/>

Impressive, very impressive. Again I'd like to compare it to the Galaxy games and for a handheld it's just great. The models and textures are nice. I was playing on a 3DS XL though so there's no telling if it looks as good on a regular 3DS.



<b>Replay Value:<b/>

There's a TON of replay value here. First off every level has 3 medals you can collect which I didn't have too much trouble finding and they weren't so much out of the way that it became annoying. After beating the first 8 worlds you unlock the Special levels which is yet another 8 worlds. You'll also unlock Luigi. You have to beat the game as both Mario and Luigi, get every medal, complete every level as Mario and Luigi AND then and only then do you unlock the last level. There's about 20-30 hours here.



<b>Final Thoughts:<b/>

You probably noticed I didn't talk about the game play. It's a Mario game so you know what to expect. It's IMHO probably the best Mario handheld game since New Super Mario Bros. My only issue? not that many power-ups. Mario games might be getting dull to some but I would highly recommend this game



<b>Score: 10/10<b>

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but not perfect

posted by jffrywad (CLIFTON, NJ) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I wanted to like this more, but I find the levels are just too quick to finish. You can almost open up all the levels in a good weekend of playing. Wish the worlds were bigger.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SM Galaxy+NSMB+SMB3= 3D Land= GENIUS!!!

posted by hyperzach (Spokane, WA) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2007

Ive played this game and beaten it 100%, and ive really enjoyed every minute. I also love how this game combines 3 good Mario games into one Master Piece. The graphics from Super Mario Galaxy, The need to explore the area head to toe for Star coins like in New Super Mario Bros., the unique power ups and some of the music that spinoff from Super Mario Bros 3 really work out well. This game really Is worth buying if your a mario fan, and it won't disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse