Rent Summon Night: Swordcraft Story for GBA
view large frontback

Summon Night: Swordcraft Story

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.4

191 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Summon Night Swordcraft Story

posted by Jing0000 (KAYSVILLE, UT) Sep 29, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was one of the best gba titels ive played in a while
you will spend most of the game making weapons and crawling through dungeons the game has a good story line that can keep you entertained for most of the game and for a gba game it has decent graphics the only thingthey couldve done better is make it longer i beat it in about 11 hours
some ppl have been saying u cant save but yes you can there are save points in the game and it dosent delete your files

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The End of the Summer Drought

posted by SmartBombs (DECATUR, AL) Aug 18, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Go to the smart-bombs website!
Anytime somebody shows the GBA a little love, I'm happy. The latest effort to keep the system alive is a little RPG called Summon Night: Swordcraft Story. You'll play as a boy or a girl, depending on who you choose from the outset (it doesn't change the story apart from some minor dialogue differences). Your character is a "craftknight," a sort of fighter who also makes their own weapons. During the course of the game, you'll explore one gigantic labyrinthine dungeon to collect materials to forge your weapons, and then use the weapons to participate in tournaments to become a "craftlord" like your father. You'll also be paired with one of four "Guardian Beasts," which is decided by a series of questions at the beginning of the game. Yeah, the story's no Pulitzer winner, but it's good enough to keep you interested. That's a success in my book.
The combat is much like a dumbed down, but faster paced, Tales-esque interface. There are no additional AI controlled party members and no pop-up menus. You equip four support actions, either spells or items, and you can also have up to three weapons (Swords, axes, spears, drills, or knuckles) equipped that can be cycled mid-combat. Battles are usually over in seconds, which is good, because random battles happen way too frequently. Tournament battles, on the other hand, are a blast. Too bad there's only a handfull.
There are a couple of other short dungeons in the game, but the bulk of your time will be spent in the horribly drab fifty level Labyrinth. The floor designs are so boring; if I didn't know better, I'd swear they were randomly generated. There are no puzzles, and only a couple of bosses. Also, It's a shame that the supposed main draw, weapon crafting, is so simple. There's just four types of materials that are broken down from items, and then it's as simple as having enough to forge the next weapon. If you have the right item, you can also choose to infuse it with a random element.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Summon night

posted by lonewolf00 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 8, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 19 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I tried the game. At first it looked like a really good RPG. But once you lose the first match GAME OVER and you have to start all over again. Whats with that?! And you can only save when you leave the game, but when you come back it auto deletes the save :-(. If you are a really really hard core RPG fan rent it, if not don't even look at.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Summoning Nite

posted by Thrall204 (PINE GROVE, PA) Aug 8, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

When I first started playing it seemed like a fair RPG that I would want to keep. But after I lost the first battle and it said GAME OVER and you have to start all over again I had second thoughts. The game does have good quality with the Summoning Beasts and Magic but other than that this game is just another failed RPG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fine game I guess.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Aug 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

Summon Night Swordcraft story is about either Cleru or Pratty (Whichever you choose.) who is a craftknight apprentice. They have to make weapons and stuff. But they enter a tournament to become a craftlord. And have adventures with the guardian beast they choose. (Suger, Rasho, Kutty, or this robot thing!) Thats the point of the game. But I love how the story changes a little when you answer questions or stuff! Mostly you just crawl through pointless caves to find stuff to make weapons! Then fight people who get stronger then you! I can't get any farther then the fight with Razzy so I don't know what happens afterwards! My favorite character is Keon or whatever his name is! But I hate RAZZY SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My favorite of the guardian beasts is Rasho. He makes the story seem pointless but he is great at making Bron mad! But anyway the second Summon Night Swordcraft Story is way better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Near perfect RPG

posted by Suphafly (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Oct 2003

This game is an all around solid RPG, it wasn't to lengthy, and I was entertained all the way through. Complete tasks to gain materials and new weapon making techniques in your ultimate quest of filling in your father's shoes of Craftlord of Iron. If you lose a battle, you have to restart from your last save, so save at every opportunity. Its a very unique game with a nice variety of monsters and game play, the best RPG I've played for the GBA since Golden Sun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »