Rent Summer Sports: Paradise Island for Wii
view large frontback

Summer Sports: Paradise Island

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.3

682 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by mandasabs (BRICK, NJ) Sep 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I usually love sports games, especially the regular Wii Sports game. But this game was just absolutely dreadful. The controls were shotty and the games were honestly just boring. After giving it a shot, all I wanted to do was turn it off and send the game back. Not at all as good as I'd hoped. Don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really, always 4 players?

posted by LuvRTay (RIGBY, ID) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In every game, we had to have 4 players even though there was only 2 of us playing. The others had to be CPU. Who cares what the CPUs can do while playing mini golf. Some of the games were dumb because you really had no control over what happend and there was no consistancy with the game controls. This is a very bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no fun

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 23, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was no fun as you were competing against the computer if you didn't have 4 players so you lost all the time. The controls are horrible. I tried to shot hoops and used the remote like it directed you before you play the game but only got one basketball to fly out of my hands. The next player (computer) comes in and is getting basket after basket. I stopped this game as it wasn't fun. I tried mini golf but didn't go beyond the 1st hole as I was beaten by the computer again. The computer pretty much won all of the games I tried. Therefore I found it boring and no fun what so ever. Nice concept but just doesn't work. Don't bother to rent this game as the controls don't work right. I tried to taunt other members but it didn't work. I didn't play with this game long before sticking it back in the sleeve to go back to Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Slooooooowwwww

posted by mklak34 (BURBANK, IL) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The idea of the game is great, "summer sports" who does not want to play that!
But the game play is extremely slow from player to player and no quick pass button on the computer player so you must watch them as they slowly put the ball and it slowly rolls into the hole ect....
overall good concept bad play speed
it also should be a 1 player option if you do not want to face the computer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth buying, not worth renting

posted by bubbatex (KATY, TX) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game stinks. don't waste a game rental on this game. the game set up provides no way of truly interacting. you shoot the ball and trust the designers algorithm to statistically give you a made shot. There seems to be no way of only plying two players. You seem to have to fill the four available slots with players or computer. This means you get to wait on the computer to take a turn. So glad I can rent these games before buying b/c there seems to be alot of dawgs out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

waste of money!

posted by nbay600 (MONONGAHELA, PA) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

made the mistake of buying this one, total waste of money. I'ts a slower paced,worse graphics, horrible music, ripp- off of wii sports. Dont get me wrong; I loved we sports but this game sucks and the publishers know it. They claim to have 7 games but its really only 4, horseshoes is the same as lawn darts, batrmitten is the same as volleyball, and mini golf is the same as croqeut, and as for basket ball; just flat out stupid.The camera angles in some of the games make you feel like your playin your old super nintendo. If you really want it, wait a month and buy it on the clearence shelf for 19.99 cause trust me it's a flop.
Wii sports = 9.0
paradise sports = 1.0
no compairison

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A real shame.

posted by VegasRiv (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game COULD have been a great party title, but it fell short due to awful gameplay, terrible graphics and about as much replay value as an hour in a torture chamber.

Some of the games are quite novel as I don't think I can remember any other games with them in them, for instance horseshoes.

Just another example of what rushing a game onto the market end up in.

A semi-decent weekend rental, but not something many people would HAVE TO HAVE for their collections at home.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

3/10

posted by NxxDefiant (SANDY, UT) May 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I saw this game had bad reviews across the board but my wife is an avid volleyball player and I wanted to get a game that we could play together.
This game is really bad. The graphics are below normal, the games aren't that fun and the game controls are horrible. The only game that had decent controls was the Lawn Darts. So, if you're into lawn darts this game may be worth renting.
The rest of the mini games controls were so awful it made the game unplayable IMO. The basketball controls were the worst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WII Summer Sports (paradise Island)

posted by babydoll79109 (FRITCH, TX) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Worst game I have ever played (BORING)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

gamefly is awesome

posted by Chadolac (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

except for the fact i received my game... and it doesn't work... and they have no customer support over the phone...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time

posted by horrible5 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I rented this thinking it would be fun ut it was far from fun playing it. The players didn't respond to the game like they should and it took forever to load. Don't waste your time on this game. It's absolutely horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Below average

posted by Roanewolf (KNOXVILLE, TN) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Did not like the fact that you had to have 4 players no matter how many people you had. Wasted a lot of time waiting on computer players to finish. Only game I liked was the mini golf and it was hampered by slow play from computer players and inconsistent controls. Stick with the original wii sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

could've been better

posted by NJCritic (JACKSON, NJ) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

All they had to do was follow the controls that the Wii Sports game had and this game may have been better. My kids played it, and was frustrated within 10 minutes. So i played it and was equally frustrated. i wonder....do they ever have people other then the ones that worked on game test it, if not (light bulb).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was alright

posted by JayL63 (LAPEER, MI) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

There aren't a lot of games to choose from. I liked most of the games, but I don't like how slow my character moves when I try to move it over. In the golf game, my son's character kept disappearing and he could not see where he was hitting the ball or anything for that matter. It is alright, but I would not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointment

posted by WiiRay (SAN MATEO, CA) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

If only more sports games could be like Wii Sports. This game has two basketball games that are essentially the same. Basketball is really dumb I might add.

The one plus is that you can play with (4) players. But the game is so bad you'd never be able to find (4) players who would be willing to waste their time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't even bother!

posted by kkaschke (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

This game is really bad. I'd give it a 0 if I could. Don't waste your time on this. Just skip right over it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

don't play alone

posted by cherryred (KILLEEN, TX) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

this game could be fun if you were with a group of people. all games are done in teams and always have four players. i played alone, so all games are me and a computer against two other computer players. wow thats fun! and it takes a long time to get around to the next turn, and controls aren't that great, not that bad either though. just have your peeps over, lol!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that good

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jul 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

I pretty much knew this game would be bad because almost all other wii sports games are bad. So when i played this game i didnt have high expectations. Its not the worst game for the wii. But its not the best either. This game has many different games in it like basketball, mini golf, volleyball, and horse shoes are just a few of the 6 games in this game. The majority of the games are pretty junky. But horse shoes are kind of fun but its really long to play. Mini golf is fun but its really hard to hit the ball very short and i always got it very close and then hit it softly and it went all the way across the map. Which can be very fustrating. I only liked those two games. I would prouble suggest that you dont play this game unless youve played every other game on the wii and thats all you have to play. And dont even think about buying this game because your just wasting your money. Its not worth your time. Big Beach Sports is way better than this game and you should try that game if you really want to play a sports game. Check out my review for that game too. That game isnt perfect or even good but its better than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Summer Sports: Paradise Island

posted by JC2556 (SAINT JAMES, NY) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

ITS SUCH A HORRIBLE GAME DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY RENTING IT. WHEN YOU PLAY AGAINST THE COMPUTER, IT IS SO UNFAIR B/C THEY ALWAYS HAVE THE ADVANTAGE OF WINNING. THE GRAPHICS ARE BAD AND THE CONTROLS ARE EVEN WORSE. IT SAYS THERE ARE 7 GAMES BUT ITS REALLY NOT SINCE MOST OF THE GAMES ARE REPEATS OF ITSELF LIKE BASKETBALL ETC. IT SUCKS SINCE THEY TRIED TO COPY WII SPORTS BUT FAILED AT IT . THEY SHOULD TAKE IT OFF STORE SHELVES SO PEOPLE WONT GET TEMPTED TO BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not very good

posted by rvalimont (CAMBRIDGE SPRINGS, PA) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

this game was ridiculous the badminton sucked the players are to far away to see the shuttlecock in order to hit it, the throwing dart game is way to long and boring, along with the putt putt. this game is all around lousy.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cool concepts not done right

posted by Paoloa (PLAINVILLE, CT) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

what can i say,
i only played mini-golf,croquet,badminton and horse shoes.

the concepts are awesome...but here we go
not quite what they seem.
one thing prevelant in all the games...slowness. you have to wait,nothing speedy.also forced to play with computer characters, no solo play.
i havent tried this with another person so i cannot say wether or not actual person vs person play is fun

-Mini-golf is 9 holes...the computer sometimes glitches.you can never hit perfect or good, its either to hard or 2 soft. i figured like in mini-gold use the arm and move it back, but a slight wrist snap does it just fine, alittle too fine.
badminton... can only swing once. and sometimes the -guys dont run to where the birdie is...awesome? of course,dont bother trying to swing down..wont happen, ull miss most likely miss
-croquet, another one of those awesome games where u can either hit it to soft or too hard, never in between.
-and of course horse shoes...same thing too hard or too soft.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad controls = bad game

posted by Thikone (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

When I first saw this game I thought "wow that should be fun", and my niece, whom I play with frequently, thought it would be great. We both had the same opinion in the end.

The controls were right next to horrible. We tried for several hours to figure out the games but came to the conclusion that it was all a matter of luck. Take horseshoes for example: We tried throwing it hard or soft and ended up with the same results almost every time. Badminton was almost unplayable. When we played basketball, it took us at least 15 shots to even get a basket and then it was purely luck. The only game we enjoyed was croquet, and even that had its issues.

The computer opponents, even when set to 'easy', were very difficult. They beat us soundly on almost every game. The music was kind of fun at first but it was repetitive and annoying after a while. The graphics were halfway decent but could have been better.

Over all, I wouldn't recommend this game to my worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

There's no "Paradise" in this game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

If you want to get away from it all, then ... go to a real life beach. SUMMER SPORTS: PARADISE ISLAND won't do you any favors.
SS:PI has seven dull and lifeless games that you play using a generic guy or gal. Each game has to be played by four participants, which means solo players have to put in three AI opponents, and thus watch each of the AI opponents take their turn, adding misery to the experience.
Let's take a closer look at each game.
First, we have BASKETBALL. It doesn't matter if you play H-O-R-S-E, Round the World or Shot Clock, the controls are some of the worst I've ever seen (turn the Wii Mote upside down and flick it? No thanks.) You'll have more success going out and playing a real game of basketball in a park or gymnasium.
Next, there's VOLLEYBALL. The controls are better, but in the heat of the moment, I would accidentally hit the ball over the net when I wanted to set up for a spike.
Then, there's BADMITION. The controls are okay, but constant up/down motion takes it toll on me.
Moving right along, we get to HORSESHOES and LAWN DARTS (who plays lawn darts anymore?) The controls here are very imprecise. I have little say in where my horseshoe or dart would land - this game relies more on luck than skill.
Last, we have GOLF and CROQUET. Controls for these games are clunky (easy to add power to my stroke, too hard to take it away.) The golf course consists of nine average holes, not "fun and wacky" ones the game advertises.
Save your $30 for a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Summer Sports: Paradise Island- Wii

posted by kdii02 (ROYERSFORD, PA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

The overall idea is cool: Have 6 games to play on one disc, but the games and controls just don't cut it for me and I found everything but "horseshoes" to be virtually unplayable for any period of time. Even for the price I'd rather just stick to Wii sports until some of the other game companies can get the feel of the controls right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Worth the rent, except maybe for young kids

posted by BntyHntr40 (MASSILLON, OH) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

This is another in a growing line of games for the Wii that are just pointless. I rented because it had party game potential but the controls are beyond simple, the graphics are horrible and it isn't fun to play. It's a no-budget game that uses Wii's motion sensing abilities but doesn't bring anything substantial to the table.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »