Rent Summer Sports 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Summer Sports 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.7

191 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Good idea - Just really lazily done

posted by WiiRay (SAN MATEO, CA) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Concept is good here to have almost an extension of Wii Sports with fun games that are easy to play. However, there is only 7 games and the two basketball games are just dumb and unrealistic.

It's almost like they started doing this game and then had a deadline and just wrapped it all up real quick.

Pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

"Summer Sports 2" little variety

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The timing of the release of Summer Sports 2 is perfect - if you live south of the Equator. Those players can really relate to the scenery and games this collection has to offer.
I know, the game makers had no control over that problem.
But there are other problems that Summer Sports 2 have that they do have control over.
First, we don't get 12 unique games, we get 7: Bocce, Target Football, Archery, Shuffleboard, Golf, and Basketball.
So why do the game makers say we get 12 games? Because there's five different basketball games: HORSE, 2 on 2 competition, Around the World, Slam Dunk and Shot Clock
And two different shuffleboard games: regular and Target Shuffleboard. That makes 12. They say you get a different experience with each of these selections.
I say you don't. The basketball games feel mostly the game; shoot a ball into a basket by waving the Wiimote about. Same thing goes for Shuffleboard; the slight differences between regular and Target isn't enough to justify calling it a "different" game.
There are other content issues here, too. The Golf game only has nine holes and there's only one field for each event (all basketball and shuffleboard games play on one field each).
Besides, the controls for basketball, shuffleboard golf and soccer are stiff at best and clunky at worst. The only games I liked of the bunch are Bocce, Archery and Target Football.
Three games isn't enough; Summer Sports 2 needs much better quality games and more of them. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BORING GAME

posted by naughtyca (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Jan 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

the only game that is a little decent is the football throwing which will last about 30 min after that all other games were boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time

posted by simplyme77 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

The best advice I can give, if you absolutely have to try it out for yourself, play it as soon as you receive it so you can return it for a better game. I got busy and wasted two weeks before I could finally test it out.

I liked the idea of the game and was really excited when I saw Bocce on it. However, the game is sluggish and sensors are quite up to par. The directions for each game wasn't explained to well and could not find a way to show directions again. Also was disappointed with the archery game. It has you hook up the nunchuck and I couldn't figure out why because it didn't seem like you used it. Also you don't pull the bow back like you would do if you were really shooting archery. And again... you point and aim where you are shooting which is unrealistic.

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS GAME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stupid stupid stupid

posted by GameNanna (AUBURN, WA) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

I sent this crummy game back the day after it arrived, Thats how bad it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not much there

posted by macguyver (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

They make it sound like you have a wide variety of games, when in fact you have 4 games with 3 versions of each. It needs work, let's say that. The controllers don't respond in a real-time (yes I have new batteries) so that your movements which need to be detailed are less than due to the workings of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Summer Sports 2 (Wii)

posted by ajcatch18 (GARARDS FORT, PA) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

this game did not work bc it has nicks all around the side i got it on monday an it was back in the tuesday so i think u might want to check it.

Summer Sports 2 (Wii)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »